We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect holiday”
Review of Hotel Manar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Manar
Ranked #1 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Three of us (2 adults, 1 child) stayed at the Manar 16-23 October.

First Choice staff: Fantastic group across the board from guides to entertainment staff.

On-site entertainment: Bingo and much more! Little bit cheesy in places, but a good laugh. Children in the club certainly had a brilliant time.

Hotel Staff: 1st class- from reception, to cleaners, to bar staff, waiters and lifeguards...all are helpful, cheerful and very friendly.

Hotel Room: themed room for us, gorgeous sea views. Really very nice (4* plus)

Food: a little bit repetitive sometimes in choice, that said it was all very well presented and delicious. Highly recommend the terrace barbecue outside the Jasmine restaurant.

Facilities: the pools were superb (especially the Relax pool that's staffed by Momo!!). Waterslides are fun, queues non-existant. Lovely beach too with a nice bar.

Excursions: Friguia Park zoo- was ok, being able to feed an elephant was special, but a zoo is a zoo really. Simply Sahara trip on the other hand- wow!! I've visited Tatooine and been to Luke Skywalker's home. Once in a lifetime trip for me :)

The only negative I can report on- hotel location is too remote to walk to local bars and restaurants (not close to town centre).

That aside, we had a great holiday and would certainly recommend anyone to give it a go. As the hotel is undergoing a £6 million pound refurb, it can only get better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oldwulf74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

655 - 661 of 2,124 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

we spent 2 weeks here in september with our 13 year old boy and had a good stay overall!
first off we were greeted with cocktails and african music playing which was great, we were then given our room keys and other stuff arranged for the safe which was all very easy! the room 1400 was amazing with 2 very large rooms and a large balcony which couldnt be faulted, unfortunately after this we could have been in a butlins in minehead no local entertainment and the outside ampitheatre was closed because of the bad weather!!!! { we had 1 bad day in 2 weeks } the evening entertainment in the lobby consisted of a pianist from 6 and a very average singer doing covers from 9 ! there was a quiz and karaoke in the sports bar if you wanted to pay for your drinks in an all inclusive hotel!! all other entertainment was in a different part of the hotel and we were not informed of this at all untill we asked why there was no entertainment!. the food was very good to look at but unfortunately it was the same most nights and we were all ill over the holiday as were a lot of the hotel, the staff on the whole were very good and some great characters, momo the life guard the manageress and naz in the bar to name just 3
to summarize a good holiday but the hotel is not 5 star as advertised, we were looking forward to some tunisian culture but sadly there was none in the holiday village manar !!

Room Tip: we paid £45 for an upgrade to a double room with sea view and ended up with a suite room 1400
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank achgardening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at this complex for 2 weeks in Sept/Oct 13 with our two boys ages 11 and 16. The grounds are very very well looked after,the place is super clean and the staff are exceptionally friendly.
The only let down for us would have to be the lack of entertainment on an evening, especially for my 16 yr old son. The usual kids disco and bingo was on every night,great for the young kids, followed by a performance by the holiday reps. This was amusing, but for the wrong reasons. Having said that, Nat was fantastic. I think he was the entertainment team leader and was great to watch. A very funny guy who captured his audience without trying...he also has a lovely singing voice and plays the guitar very well.
Another small gripe was the fact that my footy mad boys couldn't use the football pitch, unless they were signed up to the academy....which you pay for at around £20 for 2 hours. They were looking forward to kicking a ball around with each other as and when they fancied, but the pitch was locked in between sessions.However, a free session was available most evenings for adults, ran by Billy the rep who was great, very personable and a genuinely good guy. My 16 yr old son was able to play these games and even played the local Tunisian team, most of whom worked in the hotel.These were competitive games and again, very amusing.
The food in the restaurant was ok, but often warm not hot, so we ended up playing it safe with potatoes,and pasta etc.
The snack bar during the day was great, always hot,tasty and lots of variety from burger chips and pizza, to spaghetti dishes, fresh salads and pasta. Ice cream, cake and fruit are available all afternoon,and coffee and tea. We were always served with a smile,the staff are great.
We did take a taxi into Yasmin for the afternoon, and came back after 1 hour due to the constant hassle from locals, more than I have ever experienced before and quite intimidating at times.
Overall this is a great place to holiday and I would recommend it to anyone with children.
PS........

A huge mention to the cleaning staff is required, who work very hard all the time, especially the guys working in the lobby and toilets who never stop and are barely noticed....well we noticed you, and thank you.
Also the gardening team who maintain the grounds - fantastic! Again, probably un noticed by many, they work hard with their heads down doing a fantastic job, well done.


  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonzey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here for a week in October (6 adults and 3 teenagers). We had a fab time. The staff were lovely,very cheerful and couldn't do enough for us. A special word about the security guard on the beach.Every am he made sure our 9 sun beds were ready with fresh towels and he had a big smile for everyone. The kids loved the water slides and the water sports( so did the adults) and the paragliding.
The restaurant staff were very helpful and made sure we had a table for nine people.The food was very nice and there was a great variety. Breakfast was especially nice with freshly made omelettes.The beach bar had nice fresh cheese/ham rolls and drinks for anyone who felt peckish.
The rooms were cleaned everyday,and the hotel,pool areas and grounds were spotless.
It was my first trip to Tunisia and I would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mar47mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks holiday with our family including a 7yr old & 5 yr old....we have visited 4 other Holiday Village type locations.
The Manar was a great Hotel, very friendly & attentive staff, plenty of menu options and really saw no need to go offsite. Rooms were clean but yes, the place "looked tired" which is why its closing down in November for 6 months for a complete makeover.
Its "end of season" for the Thomson staff but they were always there to provide help & support if necessary - our only complaint was the appalling "so called" Entertainment from I 5 Live.
As other reviews have suggested, seeing children SO BORED was extremely disappointing - most young children were so switched off !! Thomson reps were "unable to comment" but it was obvious many guests had raised the same issue.
Just to mention the lovely "MOMO"....been the Lifeguard at "his Pool" for circa 20 years & made everyone his personal friend - he was by far the best entertainer for the children and we hope the Hotel management & Thomson realize just how much value he adds. We LOVE you MOMO was the cry from children & adults alike.

Room Tip: MANAR 1 was best location - high floor with Balcony had perfect view over the "quiet POOL"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Nine of us stayed in this hotel for a week in October and we found it to be perfect! Our holiday started on the new Dreamliner aircraft which was unbelievably comfortable. When we arrived in the airport there was a 2 hour queue to get through passport control which was a pain but that was my only issue with this holiday. The hotel was fab with plenty of things to do. My three teenagers were kept occupied at all times which says a lot in itself. The staff were amazing and couldn't do enough for us. We spent the week on the beach. We gave the security guard a tip everyday and we would come down every morning to our 9 sunbeds set up together with fresh towels on them. The restaurant and bar staff where also very friendly. They really looked after us and we never struggled to get a table together. The food was really nice with a new themed night every evening. The rooms were spotless and were cleaned everyday. The hotel even gave us three rooms next to each other which i thought was fab. Overall we had a great time and would definitely go back there again.

Room Tip: Try to stay in Manar 1 as this is the main building and it has all the facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have just returned (20 Oct 2013) from Manar and absolutely loved it, It was our first holiday with our kids ( 10months and 23months old). It is not five star but we didn't expect that for what we paid (less than £1000 for all four of us for a weeks stay) It's still very clean and our room was great, it was a family room with a double bed in the main area and two bunks in the middle area. They had already put two cots in ready on arrival so there was no waiting about for them when we got there(one in the main and one in the middle area) It was spacious and had plenty of drawers cupboards etc for our clothes. We had room 1516 on the 5th floor with a beautiful sea view, a nice comfy bed and a TV in both areas with various British channels inc cbeebies.There are numerous pools to choose from as well as the slides, some more relaxing than others and we choose the shallow pool that "MoMo" was lifeguard over most days, he was brilliant with the kids and very helpful to us every day. I enjoyed an hour long massage in the spa for £25.The beach is great with various activities inc Jet skis and you can get ham or cheese cobs down there (really nice and fresh) along with drinks/alcohol. We ate something different every day and really enjoyed the food. All the staff were friendly and well worth tipping, although they don't expect it. Our little girl can't eat dairy products and Sonia(manager?) arranged soya milk for us, no problem. Just outside the hotel are shops and again really friendly people that don't pester. The only bad point of our trip were the baggage handlers at Enfidha airport throwing pushchairs and prams around, we asked them personally to be careful with our NEW double buggy but when we got back the frame was badly bent and we are now claiming for a replacement! We had never been to Tunisia before but will definitely return to Manar..... but when the kids don't need wheels!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
3.2 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#2 of 119 in Hammamet
765 reviews
2.2 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#4 of 119 in Hammamet
2,164 reviews
6 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#8 of 119 in Hammamet
6,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Tui Magic Life Africana
Tui Magic Life Africana
#15 of 119 in Hammamet
890 reviews
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
7.4 mi away
Hotel Palace Oceana
Hotel Palace Oceana
#3 of 119 in Hammamet
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manar

Address: Route Touristique Mrezga, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: $83 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Manar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Manar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Manar Hotel Hammamet
Magic Life Manar Imperial Hammamet
Magic Life Manar Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing