We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely family holiday but 7 nights was enough for us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Village Manar
Ranked #4 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely family holiday but 7 nights was enough for us”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just returned from the Holiday Village Manar in Tunisia after a very pleasant holiday. But 7 nights was enough for us.

ARRIVAL
We were greeted with a drink upon arrival, which was very much needed as we delayed by 2.5 hours. You were in you rooms within 15 minutes as all you had to do was get your band on, get your key and label your luggage (which was taken direct to your room about 5 minutes after you got there).

ROOMS
The rooms were a nice size and on the whole well kept and looked after. We paid extra to get one in manar 2 which had a balcony and overlooked the sea. it was well worth the extra money. It was quieter in the evening and the bedroom for us and 2 sofa beds in the lounge area for the boys made it a more spacious room for us.

BEACH
The beach is an absolute must for anyone staying there. It was a couple of minutes walk from the main complex area and was lovely and clean with a beach bar. My 2 boys loved having a kick around on the beach football area with their Dad - whilst I relaxed.

We went every morning to the beach and Mohammed - security guard on the beach - found us sunloungers (although there was always some available he would find the best area for us) and he would clean them down. This happened no matter what time you went down to the beach.

The "peddlars" were kept in check by the security guards and tbh we didn't feel to hassled by the majority of them. The bit of the beach between the loungers and the sea is public beach (Tunisian rules) so just be aware of what belongings are where when you go down there.

BARS
There are a number of bars in the resort. We only used the lobby bar once as it was situated in Manar 1. The pool bar was constantly busy and you had to "stand up" to be noticed (especially due to the number of children around it). The snack bar was busy but we were always served quickly. The beach bar was fantastic and really well kept and managed. Our favourite bar had to be the family bar in Manar 2 as it was only open in the evening and was quieter (well until after the family entertainment had finished - at about 9:30/10 and then it turned into a playground with children who could not be controlled by parents).

RESTAURANT
There was no excuse for not being able to find something to eat and anyone who says the food is awful has to be a fussy eater. I have dairy and egg intolerance and could still find food to easily. There was a different theme every night and my 2 boys (6 and 4) loved trying all the different foods. It was a shame to see so many children just walking round with plates of chips/pasta/bread (or all 3 at once) because there really was not excuse for it in my opinion.

Anis is a absolutely fantastic asset to the restaurant. The boys loved him and he served us for breakfast and lunch. He always knew what drink we wanted and always had a table for us. Our evening waiter was just as fantastic. We felt no pressure to sit in the same place every time and we only tipped them at the end of the week and still got the same fantastic service.

CLEANING
Only once did we not get our room cleaned and I think that is because we were in the room at the time they were doing our floor and we had our do not disturb sign on the door. Cleaners were always on top of the dirt that could easily build up with the number of guests there. The Gardeners kept the place looking immaculate and the little bins by each set of loungers meant there was very little general rubbish around. There were tray areas for you to but used plates etc on if you were by the pool. The only thing really was the fact that people seemed to think it was ok to just leave empty bottles lying around at the end of the day rather than put them back at the bar etc.

FIRST CHOICE ENTERTAINMENT/KIDS CLUB
Entertainment was not to our taste and we found it quite poor in quality and very repetitive. The childrens entertainment went on to about 10pm and then another show would come on. TBH we only went on 2 nights and felt we were not missing much for either ourselves or the boys. BUT if you are happy to do bingo and quiz nights then I am sure you will like the entertainment. We just went to the restaurant a little later and missed the mad rush of children there and that made for a much more pleasant evening for us. We didn't do kids club as the thought of queuing for 30/40 minutes to book them in was not something we wanted to do.

POOLS
On the first day there we went to the main entertainment pool and whilst my 6 year enjoyed the pirate treasure hunt and the canoes we found the whole experience a bit OTT and noisy. A bit like "Benidorm" really. But again that is not faulting anything it was just not to our taste and we found the relax pool a lot more suited to our needs as there was no music and the general atmosphere was calmer! And the lifeguard MoMo was fantastic as far as the boys were concerned.


THE DOWNSIDES
We were delayed by 2.5 hours so we missed the lunch. No one told us on arrival that the snack bar closed at 4 so by the time we had checked in and got sorted out we had no where to get food from for us or the boys (apart from some cakes and ice creams). We had to wait to dinner. All it would have taken was for a rep to say to us that if we wanted food to head straight for the snack bar!
We have young children but we have well behaved children. There were children running around everywhere who were not being controlled at all and it was at any time of day. Now obviously outside this is fine but through the restaurant and the bar areas was very annoying. Especially when on some occasions it was the reps who were encouraging it!


WOULD WE RETURN - PROBABLY NOT!
But only because we discovered we are not the type of family to stay on resort for a holiday and the excursions were expensive.

WOULD WE RECOMMEND? - YES
But we would advise only for a week and tell people to be prepared for noise during the day.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for sea view room with Balcony in Manar 2. It makes the difference to the noise level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaparobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    441
    138
    35
    44
See reviews for
1,214
155
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

we went as a family in mid june 2013 and really enjoyed it. the room was spacious, clean but basic. the restaurant was descent but very busy and sometimes crowded, food was ok. the pools where great especially the slides for kids. adult football was good to have. the beach was very nice and the sea was fantastic for kids. the grounds where kept pretty well. the drinks were very limited and definitely watered down which was my biggest gripe.the staff where quite help full but sometimes you couldn't help think it was for a tip. but this is a tip...dont let the baggage handlers take your bags at the airport unless your willing to pay them. good kids clubs, good high ropes course, good pirate ship tour but it costs extra. recommend a trip out to hammamat marina. over all good holiday.

Room Tip: get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Having been to numerous holiday villages previously I can honestly say that hotel Manar has been the best so far and we are already planning our next visit. From arriving at the hotel we were greeted by reception staff and first choice reps with arrival drinks and Alex the lion which my daughter loved . Check in was very organised and quick. The hotel and our room was very clean and modern. Brilliant views. The hotel has great facilities. Lots for children to do. The spa is amazing. We spent most of the holiday on the beach. Only a minutes walk from the hotel. Gorgeous white sand and very clean sea. Mohammed the security man at the beach was fantastic. Always found us sunbeds and kept the beach sellers in line. Food was good for all inclusive. Good selection. BBQ was very nice. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming. They all do an amazing job. The waiters in the restaurant work very hard. Very quick to find you a table, provide drinks and clear empty plates. Naz in the lobby bar always had a smile on his face and made the effort to chat to us. Overall I didn't encounter anything bad about this hotel and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

recently returned from a 10 night stay here. me my fiance and 4 yr old daughter. we had a fab time. hotel was beautiful and always clean, pools were great, food was good and always different choices, the staff were friendly and helpful. first choice team do a good job running the entertainment programme. best experience of whole holiday was the camel riding trip, a great day out and our daughter loved it. really enjoyed our time in tunisia and holiday village manar and would definitely return. only down side is the amount of russian visitors who are incredibly rude and ignorant to both the hotel staff and other guests

Helpful?
1 Thank kelliempitt
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We've been lucky to stay at a Holiday village 3 times in the past year but this June's holiday topped them all. After our first visit to HV Manar, we booked this 10 day trip within 3 days of return, then sneaked a winter's trip to HV Sharm El Sheikh so in a good position to compare.

We're always blown away by the quality of the service and staff. The kids absolutely love the kids clubs (one 6 and one 9 years old), and it's a joy to watch them having such a blast while we adults have a chance to kick back.

The food, service and all staff at Manar surpass themselves with their service, really making a holiday here feel special. They can't do enough for you and I really don't know how they find the energy to keep this going from morning to night all season long.

The majority of our days were spent by the activities pool with much going on. We'd break this up with visits to the beach (two minutes walk from the pool) where we'd have fun and games on the value-for-money watersports (Jet Skis, Ringos, Couch, horse riding, camel rides etc).

Dining was always a pleasure, breakfast, lunch and dinner. There's so much choice with enough variety to have a different meal every night for a month, let alone just 10 days.

Evening entertainment:

Really not certain about the Russell the Brussel thing (if you've been, you'll know what I mean) however, the icing on the cake on this holiday was Helen in the night time entertainments team. The rest of the team were pretty good but she's a voice in a million. She could read the telephone directory in the poolside radio shack and make it a joy to hear. To then hear her performing the beautiful "Promise me" and classic "Son of a preacher's man" at night was mesmerising. She somehow managed to make both tracks her own.

If you're going, don't miss anything Helen does, I regret not accidentally catching her dulcet tones until day 4 or 5. Shame we had to miss her Cab show the night we were leaving. One day if we know she'll be staying there?! I really hope First choice, please looks after this gem!

In summary, a fantastic time had by all. Thanks First Choice and ALL the HV staff. Hope to be back very soon.

Mark Buckingham
Corby

Room Tip: Manar 2 family doubles. Lovely views over the beach. Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark_ABCGOLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at Holiday Village Manar last year and had a nice holiday. This hotel was larger and had more facilities than other First Choice Holiday Villages we have tried. The reception and bar area is very large with an outdoor area with views over the grounds which are full of palm trees. Check in was painless as they give you a ice cold drink while you wait and you can meet the reps, sports coaches and Kids Club staff. Your luggage is delivered to your room. We had a family room with a lounge with sofa beds for the kids and a separate double room for us, it was nice and clean. We paid for a sea view so were in the Manar 2 block which is quieter and we had a lovely view out over the beach to the sea. The food was good, with themed nights, Tunisian, French, Italian etc, and plenty of choice. The main restaurant has a children's early dinner with their own food counter. There is also a snack bar between the quiet pool and the waterslides for lunch, this serves pizza, salads, pastas, burgers, hot dogs and ice cream.
Restaurant service was good and we found that if you gave your waiter a modest tip you would get flowers and napkins folded like animals for the kids as well as great service. The restaurant waiters are very attentive and you do not have to wait for drinks or to get your plates cleared.There is an adults only bar with branded drinks but we found the main bar good enough. The hotel has a large main pool next to an activity area managed by the FC Reps. This pool has a swim up bar and a babies pool. In the centre of the complex is a waterslide pool area with 2 pools and a series of waterslides. There is also a quieter pool on the far side of the hotel where it is easier to get loungers and a sandy beach with a beach bar. The a la carte Tai restaurant is OK but we preferred the choice in the main buffet as our kids are fussy eaters and there was always something there they liked. In the centre of the grounds there is a well equipped modern gym with air conditioning. Near to this there is a small gift ship and an air conditioned mother and baby room for feeds and changes. As a Holiday Village there is the usual range of kids clubs and evening entertainment. Our girls loved their swimming lessons, snorkelling, raft building, kayaking and aeroball. The evening entertainment is mainly aimed at the kids and they loved it. there is some family ents too and we particularly enjoyed the Tunisian Fakhirs with their sword swallowers, hot coal walkers and fire eaters. We found the staff friendly and helpful. If there was anything I would improve it would be the signal strength of the Wi-Fi in the bar/lobby and they could provide a few drinks water and beer in room minibar which is something I expect in a 5 star hotel, but these are minor points and I would consider staying here again

Room Tip: Book a sea view in Manar 2 block
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrantSkii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We are a very well travelled family two adults and our 3 year old daughter.

Good Points...

Gardens are well kept
Beach is clean
Indoor spa area

Bad Points...

Food is terrible, very hard to find anything decent. You must eat from the bbq or anything else is not worth it.

Lots of walking around the buffet area wth lots of kids running around.

Queues for everything.

Waiters are very friendly but its very obvious that its fake and they just want a tip.
If you do tip them then they expect you sit at the same area of the buffet every day and set a table for you. felt a bit intimidated by this.

Staff would serve men at the bar before myself im assuuming this is because i am female.

entertainment is ok for the first night but 14 nights of exaclty the same show we fell completely brain dead.

Daughter liked the park but even that had a broken swing and lumps of concrete sticking out of the sand.

Only saw one cockroach and was on our table at breakfast!

Had a trip on pirate ship - Pointless
Had a trip to Fruiga Park. This was probably our best day as we got away from the Hotel.

Would never return to Tunisia or a Holiday Village.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gulliver83Birmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
3.2 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#1 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
6.0 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#2 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,197 reviews
9.4 mi away
Tui Magic Life Africana
Tui Magic Life Africana
#8 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
7.2 mi away
SplashWorld Venus Beach
SplashWorld Venus Beach
#6 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Manar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Manar

Property: Holiday Village Manar
Address: Route Touristique Mrezga, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Village Manar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Village Manar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Manar Hotel Hammamet
Magic Life Manar Imperial Hammamet
Magic Life Manar Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing