We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, however...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Village Manar
Ranked #4 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice, however...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a very nice hotel, and all of the other reviews on here will tell you about why it's great. This review is purely intended to inform the public of the drawbacks I found so you can assume anything not mentioned here is of the highest standard.

1. Alcohol, and firstly - Beer. One for the men (and female beer drinkers). The "free" beer is of a very low standard and is only served in small glasses. If you're anything like me, nothing beats a cold pint of good beer on a warm afternoon but unfortunately, you won't be able to get that here. There is a separate "golf" bar, not included in the "all inclusive" where you can pay 4 dinar for 300ml bottles of Heineken. I found myself paying for these beers quite often, just to remind myself what real beer tastes like, and I certainly wasn't the only British male doing this. The spitits at the golf bar bar are not watered down like the ones at all inclusive bar which most certainly contain some H2O. You can also get decent wine here if you fancy a change from the vile free stuff. In summary, if you want decent alcohol of any description, you have to pay for it.

2. Breakfast. No option for an English brekfast, which I guess is more to do with being in Tunisia than anything. There are sausages but these are similar to the tinned hotdog sauges you get in Iceland for 50p. There is streaky bacon but most peices are around 85% fat, and that's no exaggeration. There are large white beans in a tomato sauce which I think is an attempt to replicate our baked beans but they really are disgusting. On the plus side, fried eggs are cooked in front of you, as are omlettes and both are up to standard. I don't think I'd have minded the lack of traditional breakfast, had there been some fresh pastries (Croissants etc) but all of these were completely stale and tasted like they were a week old. If you ignore the breakfast, the food was very good. There are lots of comments which contradict this but so long as you're willing to try their food and not going for chips/spag bol every night, you'll find that the Tunisian dishes really are very, very good.

3. "Relax" pool. There is a dedicated relax pool in which one would expect to be able to..well.. relax. However, I always found this pool was being used by young children and on a few occasions, people were playing ball games in here. If they want to dedicate a pool to people who want to relax, they should really have some rules to stop people from ruining it. The only quiet place to go was the indoor pool but but the sun does not shine here (literally)!

4. Indoor Pool Staff. Unfortunately, my friend found excrement in on of the jacuzzis by the indoor pool. Not the hotel's fault, obviously. However, when you point it out to the staff, you expect them to fish it out but when we pointed it out to them, all they did was break it up with a stick!! Lovely. As you can Imagine, we didn't go in there again. A couple of days later we noticed a very large insect in the indoor pool, which looked worryingly similar to a scorpion. Again, we pointed it out to the staff, and again, they did nothing about it. Shame the staff were unhelpful as the pool and jacuzzis were very nice.

5. The gym. Air conditioning doesn't work properly so it's unsuitable for cardio unless you enjoying feeling like your face is on fire whilst excercising.

6. Towel cards. There is a 20 dinar charge to replace your towel card, should you misplace it. Bit excessive.

If none of the above puts you off, then I'd definitely recommend the HVM. I know this review sounds extremely cynical but its sole purpose is to address the bad points rather than go over all of the good ones which are repeated over and over again in every other review.

Any questions, feel free to ask.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    441
    138
    35
    44
See reviews for
1,214
155
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Overall this is a fantastic hotel and resort. All the staff were extremely friendly and couldn't help you enough, The bar and restaurant staff especially were always up for a laugh and the common phrases out there are 'lovely jubbly' and 'oky doky'. Rooms were comfortable and kept very clean with a nice view from the balcony. The whole hotel in fact was always spotless apart from one incident I'll mention later. They have a market in the hotel every monday morning which is a greeat opportunity to buy some souveniers. The beach was beautiful with plenty of water sports available. There are a choice of 4 pools and 4 jacuzzi's which was nice but we spent most of the time at the beach. The hotel is obviously well geared up for children and there are all sorts of activities on throughout the day from football to archery and everything inbetween so it would be a great choice for a family holiday without a doubt.
The only negative points of the trip to me were that the breakfast every morning wasn't the best in the world...I know it's never going to be the same as an English breakfast but I still think it could of been better when compared to the amazing lunches and dinners. The other two negatives were to do with excrement...firstly the locals offer camel rides up the beach and they do mess along it but to be fair never seems to be there the next day, the second and worst point is that a baby/child had pooed in one of the jacuzzi's and instead of the netting it out the indoor pool life guard just swished it round to break it up. I think he was the only lazy life guard who would of done this as all the others bent over backwards for you but he never admitted it to be poo and kept claiming it was money...so why swish it around then???
Anyway all in all I would whole heartedly recommend this hotel as the pro's definitely outweighed the cons.
Hope this helps.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Staff were friendly. Maids clean the room and make the beds each day. Food is amazing. All inclusive option is great, they don't even charge for bottles of water.
Love the fact there's a quiet pool + indoor pool with 4 jacuzzis, and the hotel is also right on one of the best beaches I've been on and I've been to a fair few, the only ones that top it are the white sandy beaches in the carribean.
It was my birthday while we were out here, and one of my friends got the musician to come to our table and play happy birthday which was nice of the restaurant manager to arrange.
First Choice holiday reps are always on hand in the lobby.
Would definitely recommend this hotel and am already planning when I can come back.
TIPS- if you play tennis, bring your own rackets and balls because the ones they provide are rubbish junior rackets and flat balls, but it was better than nothing.
Also bring a Snorkel with you because the water is crystal clear and you can see the fish.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Where do I start? I had my reservations about travelling to Tunisia as a country, but the reviews from previous contributors had made me feel like I had made the right choice in choosing the Holiday Village Manar!
Flight from East Midlands was fantastic, Best idea Thomson/First Choice had was scrapping the in-flight meal service and taking the eatery, stuff was really tasty!
Transfer to the resort was speedy, 50 minutes and straight to the hotel, no drops at other hotels on the way.. Brilliant! Arrival at the hotel was welcoming, Holiday Advisors were stood outside to greet you off the coach, with music playing through the speakers and a lovely cold cocktail served upon entrance into the building, great way to start the holiday!
We were then given our room number, which was located in the Manar 2 building. The room itself was perfect, very spacious, massive bathroom, lovely view of the activity pool but the decor of the corridors seemed very out dated and the red carpet could have been hazardous as it was ruffled up in areas but this is a minor qualm!
The pools at the hotel were a good size, we spent most of our time around the one by the towel station, there are loads of sun loungers so you shouldn't have a problem getting one, although the towel station guy was very hospitable and managed to get our loungers each day!
The reps work tirelessly to ensure that every one is having such a good time! From morning til night, they are around, doing games round the pool, quizzes, hide and seek with the widgets, kids clubs, crèche and loads loads more! My little boy loved this entertainment on an evening, the shows were of a great standard. I also liked the fact that there was a holiday advisor waiting to answer any questions in the reception of the hotel at most times, meaning we had such a hassle free holiday!
Food at the hotel was fantastic! We dined in the Jasmine restaurant for breakfast and evening meal each day, and the snack bar at lunch times. I can't comment on the hot food at breakfasts but the continental side of things was very varied and was a great way to start the day. Snack bar food was repetitive but delicious, fresh pizza, burgers, hotdogs, nuggets and chips, plus more! So much more chilled than having to get dressed up to go back to the room for dinner! Also at the beach bar, they serve sandwiches which have been pre made for you to take back to your lounger. Again, we didn't use this but just thought I would mention!
The evening meals were brilliant, Italian, Asian, Tunisian and a White Gala night were the themed meals of the week, then a mixture in between. One night there was a roast beef sunday dinner! Yum Yum!
Little things that made the holiday were the staff being so good with our little boy, the little steps upto the bar so he could get his own drinks made him feel so independent. Staff always being on hand to help with questions, and being so knowledgeable about the local areas and never made you feel like you were a burden!
Great Holiday!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a Room in Manar 1. This building has a bar just downstairs in the lobby and looks alot more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michaela01262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Neots, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Really enjoyed this holiday
We are a family of 6 with children aged between 9 years and 16 years.
Hotel was very clean and the service was excellant.
We particulaly wanted to mentioned Momo - the life guard at the pool we stayed at for most of our holiday. He was fantastic!! Really couldn't be any more helpful. Made our stay really special.

Room Tip: Try and stay in Manar 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoTheLegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We went to the holiday village as a last minute deal after reading some reviews on trip advisor was not to sure what to expect, the hotel was lovely and the staff are so friendly! However the entertainment team made the holiday for us! with activities day and night there was always something to do for all ages and they made you feel really welcome by far the friendliest team we have met on a holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We travelled as a family of 8, 5 adults and 3 children aged 7 5 and 2..we had 3 family rooms with a sea view which was great...

Rooms.. toilet with separate bathroom, children's bedroom with bunkbeds, beanbags and plasma tv. You can rent a PlayStation and games for a returnable 50 dinar deposit. The tv had a preset channels in order for the kids to watch DVDs which are changed daily.

Main bedroom had super kingsize bed, plasma tv etc... Our rooms were always cleaned and linen and towels changed daily.

Food.. the jasmine buffet bar presented a good choice of food. Themed nights plus roast lamb, roast beef nights. Outside the restaurant was a BBQ which offered steak, chicken and other meats at night. Lots of desserts, ice cream and fresh fruit.

Swimming pools..2 small themed pools for toddlers and small children..water slide pool, activity pool, relax pool and an indoor pool...all clean and maintained with life guards..

Beach..lovely sand and clean water..

Entertainment...Besides the kids club in the evening we didn't stay afterwards so can't comment.

Would like to say a big thankyou to Ben and Holly the swimming instructors...who took Megan, Charlie and Amy for pre paid and private lessons....the kids loved it, even Charlie in the end..thanks for all your patience and hard work x x

Would I go again..yes, I know my kids and grand children would, they loved it

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lydiard61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
3.2 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#1 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
6.0 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#2 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,194 reviews
9.4 mi away
Tui Magic Life Africana
Tui Magic Life Africana
#7 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
7.2 mi away
SplashWorld Venus Beach
SplashWorld Venus Beach
#6 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Manar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Manar

Property: Holiday Village Manar
Address: Route Touristique Mrezga, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Village Manar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Village Manar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Manar Hotel Hammamet
Magic Life Manar Imperial Hammamet
Magic Life Manar Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing