We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday”
Review of Hotel Manar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Manar
Ranked #2 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at the Manar for a week, starting 27th May. Myself and my whole family went with 8 adults and 3 children under 6. We loved the selection of different pools, whether that was the active/noisy pool or the relaxing one. We also really enjoyed the snack bar at lunch times and the buffet restaurant - both had plenty of choice. The food was always of good quality and always hot. The children really enjoyed the entertainment, especially at night time. This hotel is prefect for families and I would recommend it to such but it would be too noisy for couples. Overall we really enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: We had a family room and it was very specious.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BethQ812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,087)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Manar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,207 - 1,213 of 2,089 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

Arrived back in rainy England on Sunday 3rd after a glorious week of Sun at Holiday Village Manar!
The Holiday Village is spotless, the rooms are fab, the food is great and nothing is too much trouble for the staff.
Our holiday started on the 27th May and the temperature was high 20s. Slap on the factor 30, keep hydrated and if you're burning then either sit in the shade or jump in the pool to cool off. Ignore other bad reviews as this is an amazing place to be. Life Guards are not on duty 24/7 there is a sign up when they are not there, but mostly they are on duty and do a good job.
Unfortunately our holiday was not without its glitches. I was taken sick for the first part of the holiday, and the on site doctor was amazing and even organised taxis to pick up extra medication from the chemist. The holiday rep Kirsty was very concerned, but I soon got back on track and enjoyed the rest of our holiday!
The kids clubs are great.., my 7 year old daughter enjoyed them, and they were organised very well and a fun way for me to get her out of the sun for an hour or so. There is a play park under cover too. The whole village is very well thought out.
Holly and Ben were amazing swim coaches, very professional, I would highly recommend! :)
Going for a paddle in the sea will usually attract the beach sellers, haggle to at least half their asking price or simply say 'no thank you'.
Lots of choice for food, there will be something for every taste, I was surprised to see nuggets and chips, not the kind of food we eat but it was certainly popular with the other children, the Chef told us that it is popular with the chidren and that he didnt want parents to worry that their children are not eating while on holiday, bless.
We did the Zulu evening trip, it was a fun trip, again..hats and suncream a must and comfy walking shoes/sandles. Take extra Dinars to tip the staff at the end of the meal ;) as they expect it.
There is something for everyone here and 7 nights is not enough and will definitely go again next year!
Oh, and no need to take beach towels as they are provided, as is shower gel and hair dryer...there is even a fridge in your room..happy days! :)

Room Tip: As far as I'm aware all rooms on level 3 have a sea view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkdiabolik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We have just arrived home from this hotel (June 2012) and had a fantastic time. The hotel and its grounds are spotless, every single member of staff so friendly and helpful, they cannot do enough for you. The rooms are cleaned to a high standard every day.The food is fantastic - cannot understand why some people moan about the food??? i found it better than most English restaurant - i am vegetarian - loads of food for me with different choices every night- and my husband and children are all meat eaters - the steak was the best they have ever eaten.We were always able to get sunbeds around the pools - which were cleaned every morning, My Daughter (8) and my nieces (5 & 9) all say its the best holiday they have ever been on. Only thing wrong with this hotel is the moaning holidaymakers, i heard someone say there were too many children - There was not! but even so its a family hotel and another moan that it was to hot and they do not like the sun!!! why go to a hot country! We cannot fault this hotel in anyway at all. I would definately recommend this hotel and will be going back again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louise k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Just got back from holiday village, Cant understand about last review. I am sorry to say a man did die he had a hart attack when he was swimming in to pool. there was lifeguard and more come when he radio for help. yes a lady did break her are but again help was at hand.
I never been to a hotel with so many rep to help you . The hotel was spotless and the staff was great.there was 15 of us from the age of 2 to 61 and we will be booking again. This is a family holiday so yes there is a lot of kids . if you want a peaceful holiday don't go. The entertainment could have been better the kids like it . The Bingo was at the end of the children bit and then follow by family entertainment. All the pools got lifeguards and the beach. we been to many Holiday village and this one is on the top of our list.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I along with my wife and 2 sons returned from the holiday village Manar today (3/6/12) I have read a lot of other peoples comments on trip adviser and have to agree with a lot of them!
Upon arrival at the resort you are greeted with a smile and fruit based beverage! From there it gets better and better.
The rooms are spacious and clean, to be honest clean is an understatement as where ever you went there was some one cleaning up after some one!
Facilities were splendid and plentifull, if you wanted to eat you could choose from the compulsory chicken nuggets and salad or endulge in local or international dishes which were always hot and fresh.
If you want activities there is a fully equipped gym along with almost every type of sport available to try at your leisure. Ranging from archery for kids to kayaking in the beautifully clear sea. Which is the back garden of the hotel!!
The Reps and entertainment team as a hole are supererb have to say how impressed we were with Nathanuel as he could entertain any one from a baby to some one that should not really be aloud out on there own!

Whilst we were there we did see/here of a couple of chaps being taken ill. As far as we can understand both are recovering well,as 1 had a heart attack and the other slipped and banged his head by the pool. So the resort or staff can not be held responsible for either event! Get well soon gents.
To sum up great value, great food, great weather, great beach, great staff, GGGGGRRRREEEEAAAAATTTTT VILLAGE, we will be going back.
TIP, do listen to the reps advise should you wish to venture off on your own to any of the markets as they can be a scary place if you don't know what to expect!

Room Tip: We stayed on ground floor away from the pools and what little noise there was in the late evening. S...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gonon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

we had a fantastic holiday here could not fault it the hotel was spotless everywhere the staff were amazing where ever you went very helpful we went with some friends and children and there was something for everyone i would highly recommend this hotel it was fantastic kids entertainment was first class .

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travellingfairy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

A holiday that gives exactly what it says and you really can't fault it.
Nice bedrooms, pleasant public areas, superb grounds with lots of sun bathing areas, great pools and good food.
We were particularly impressed by the friendly and efficient hotel staff who do a great job.
Facilities and entertainment for children is very good. My 11 year old got involved in things he had never done before and had a great holiday making lots of new friends along the way.
Kids clubs were good but do seem to go on until late at night!
The location is perhaps the only thing that lets it down with nowhere to walk out to. We did get into a taxi one day (very cheap way to get about) but were back after a few hours.
This was our first time in a holiday village but will probably go to another.
If you have got kids the Manar is a good choice.
P.S. Top floor rooms have the best views.

Room Tip: High floor rooms have the best views over the grounds and the sea.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TonyBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
2.2 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 118 in Hammamet
2,117 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#4 of 118 in Hammamet
702 reviews
6.0 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#1 of 118 in Hammamet
5,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
7.2 mi away
SplashWorld Venus Beach
SplashWorld Venus Beach
#6 of 118 in Hammamet
760 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Club President
Hotel Club President
#23 of 118 in Hammamet
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manar

Address: Route Touristique Mrezga, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: $116 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Manar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Manar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Manar Hotel Hammamet
Magic Life Manar Imperial Hammamet
Magic Life Manar Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing