We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant family holiday - not good for couples.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Village Manar
Ranked #1 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant family holiday - not good for couples.”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

A brilliant place for a family holiday but steer clear if you want a romantic couply break. We totalled 13 in our party occupying 4 rooms. The place is spotless, staff cleaning, tidying and wiping constantly. We went for an October half term break and the weather was perfect for us, one slightly cloudy day but bikinis the rest of the time and no need for a cardigan in the evening. Rooms spacious and modern, the 'den' for the kids worked well and we used it as a base for the 7 kids to watch a dvd whilst adults played cards in the main room. All (local ) hotel staff very good, nothing too much bother - the restaurant manager was very good, sorting us large tables out as soon as we made an appearance.
The reps are fantastic. They work very very hard and always to an excellent standard and my children - who were reticent about going in the 'kids club' could not wait to go in each session. Activities are happening almost every half hour, archery to high ropes, beach volleyball to table tennis as well as quizzes, dancing, bingo and performances. The beach is lovely and the sofa boat ( think banana boat but sit in like a sofa) was worth the 10 dinar each.
We visited Hamammet medina by taxi which was a good experience but you do get hassled a bit so be prepared for this. Haggling is good fun - you have to decide what you would pay for an item and not go above it. I went running with a friend outside the complex and felt completely safe.
Food - huge choice and if you want to stay safe with pasta, chips, nuggets etc you can but there is so much delicious local fayre to try it seems a shame. Salads are amazing, puddings/cakes delicious, none of us had any tummy troubles despite having ice in drinks. We ate outside a few times and the flies are a bit of a nuisance but not so it spoils anything.
Would def go again - this time for longr.

Room Tip: Rooms with a den are on the higher floors overlooking the beach/sea and do not have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarathonMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,242
    447
    138
    35
    45
See reviews for
1,314
178
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

we went as a group of 9 , 4 adults and 5 children ages 3-12 for 1 week from the 19th-26th oct , can honestly say we are really missing it today and wished we had booked for 2 weeks!
the hotel is beautiful and kept so clean , we were constantly dodgeing cleaners mopping and sweeping up! the entertainment is top notch and made us feel really welcome , we loved our water aerobics with richard , he just made us laugh all the time and smithy is hilarious! the kids club reps were all fab and our waitor every night in the restaurant always had our big table ready ( tipping does help though! )
we did go out of the hotel to visit nabuel market and the medina , you do need to be prepared to haggle and some of them really hate it and are rude but just walk away , you can get some really good bargains , i got a bag down from 165 dinar to 30 dinar which is 15 pounds!
we also went on a lovely horse and carriage ride and that was only 30 pounds for 9 of us!
the food is excellent , so much variety and cakes are beautiful!
rooms are spacious with air conditioning and we had one overlooking the activity pool, this is a lovely big pool where all the entertainment takes place during the day and has a swim up bar , we always put our towels on the sunbeds at 730am otherwise you would be left with a sunbed under the palm trees as they are everywhere! it only rained for 1hour out of our whole 7 days , averaged 26degrees every day which for oct is great
our only gripes were the flies , they are just everywhere outside and they should have done more to control them and the air cond was broken in the indoor entertainment venue so it was boiling!
other than that we could not fault our holiday and would definately return again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gemsie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2011

this hotel is really fantastic, you have so many facilities. We went with 4 kids and they loved it. At night they would go the show, so we would relax in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed for 2 weeks 28 September -12 October, two huge gripes the FLIES & a HOLIDAY VILLAGE turning into a 18- 30 HOLIDAY. Which is supposed to be for families! If we had realised either we would not have booked. The hotel overall very clean & the Hotel staff brill. I must say this is not the first holiday village we have stayed at, having stayed at Egypt & Dominican Republic, our Daughter has stayed at the Turkey Holiday Village as well, ALL BRILL. Why do they not control he flies as they do in Egypt by spraying over night never a problem.
Our main gripe it turning into a 18-30 weekend break for predomenately 300 young Tunisian Males, not their fault, they just booked a weekend away to have fun & did they!
Smoking in the lobby lifts & Bar. asked for more no smoking signs Nothing happened! Drinking around indoor swimming pool, leaving glasses on the floor for children to fall on. 10 deep around the bar area. We decided to go to bed at 8.30 as could tell it was getting heated. A fight arrupted over night with a young british women going to hospital. The next morning after breakfast in the lobby 2 Tunisian ladies!!! had a fight in front of our 12year old, with new guest's arriving. Dreadfull!!
If the 18-30 event had not happened this would have been very different, the reps very good only one letting them down really was Sarah who just could not be bothered.
We lost a weekend, just writing this as I think you should be told! Just wish we would have known.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank codice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Went to the holiday village on the 2nd of October for a week and loved it. I went just me and my partner and even though we have no children the entertainment was fantastic. The hotel was spotless clean and the rooms were lovely and spacious and balcony was massive.
The food was ok wasnt the best but some nights were better than others. The small waterpark was very good also.
I was going to Tunisia with the impression we wouldnt really be able to go out of the hotel but was really surprised to find a handful of shops about a 5 min stroll away and you could to go to a few markets which were a taxi ride away (cost us approx £5 per way per taxi)
The only thing i really didnt like was the flies they were everywhere but we were told its not like that in other months just sep/oct time.
Loved this hotel though and would thoroughly recommend specially to families as the entertainment team were fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xwelsh_abix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Went from 9th to 19th October, good flights over and back, no great delays. Hotel was very clean and the staff couldn't be more helpful. In fact when we arrived at the hotel, about 1130am, our rooms(2) weren't ready. Available from about 3pm. One of the managers then upgraded us to a Superior apartment, with large lounge and 2 bedrooms. Great. Food was very good and varied. The Entertainment team were excellent, well done to Linda, Lauren, Richard, Adam and Sean (Smithy), stars in the making. On saying all of these positives I have to end on a negative. FLIES. they were everywhere, especially at the poolside and quite a few in the restaurant. I did ask a rep about the issue and she said that they had only just become an issue, perhaps due to the wetter weather, 5 out of 10 days weren't too good. The hotel are very environmentally friendly and apparently won't take any action (insecticide I suppose) to deal with the issue. For these reasons , weather and the FLIES, we won't be going back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Holiday Village Manar and all I can say is " suberb "
From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we were treated like we were the only guests......everyone from the Gardeners to the Waiters to the Lifeguards were so polite and friendly. The hotel itself is clean and tidy with just about every member of staff making sure that it was kept that way. The First Choice staff were top notch keeping our 3 year old entertained for hours on end, Smithy is a Peter Kay in the making, with bundles of energy( a credit to first choice). Food was fantastic with untold choice every night. I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone who was looking for a great family hotel that was both safe and friendly.

Darren from Surrey

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flamtheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
3.2 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#2 of 117 in Hammamet
595 reviews
2.2 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#6 of 117 in Hammamet
1,984 reviews
6.0 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#3 of 117 in Hammamet
5,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Tui Magic Life Africana
Tui Magic Life Africana
#10 of 117 in Hammamet
842 reviews
7.2 mi away
SplashWorld Venus Beach
SplashWorld Venus Beach
#5 of 117 in Hammamet
601 reviews
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Manar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Manar

Property: Holiday Village Manar
Address: Route Touristique Mrezga, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Village Manar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Village Manar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Manar Hotel Hammamet
Magic Life Manar Imperial Hammamet
Magic Life Manar Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing