We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was by far the best time that we have had at this Hotel”
Review of SENTIDO Phenicia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SENTIDO Phenicia
Ranked #1 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We have just got back from spending 2 weeks at the Phenicia we stayed from the 2nd June until the 16th June, this is the second time that we have stayed at the hotel the first time being 2 years ago. When we arrived we were handed a refreshing towel from a member of the reception staff who are always very friendly and curtious. And one of the porters even recognised us straight away from our previous visit.
The only fault that we had was that as my wife is a vegetarian there was not much of a vegetatrian choice at the evening meal in the main restaurant. But that is the only fault with this hotel, the waiters are absolutey fantastic, I used to have the Spaghetti Bolognaise from the pasta chef and even he remembered how I used to have it from previously.
And as for the Animation Team well we could not fault them at all, as they are absolutely fantastic and work very hard, and the shows that they do of an evening are very good, two shows that I would recommend to go and see are The Celtic Pride night but the one not to miss is The Michael Jackson evening, as Mike the Lead entertainer is Brilliant, and he is also a very good teacher as for the last week he was teaching a small group of us how to speak Arabic which was very interesting, as the group consisted of people from the UK, Germany, South Korea, Switzerland, and France.
As for the rest of the Animation Team they all also worked very hard there was Dido who did the Aerobics and Aqua Aerodics which my wife did everyday, Didi who did the WaterPolo, Mido did the Volleyball, Mix Max did the Archery, and there was also Donna,Mimo,MiMi and Rio. They all worked very hard for 14 hours a day and were always smiling even when you could see that they looked very tired.
Also the 2 pool men work very hard in ensuring that all the sun loungers have materesses on them and that the pool area is always very clean.
And if you take your Laptop there is also free WiFi, in the main reception seating area. The bar staff also work very hard as well, and are always very friendly. Even though the Air Conditioning was not due to go on until the 15th of June they did put it on about 5 days early as it was very hot in the rooms of an evening.
So overall I would definately recommend the Phenicia as the hotel to stay in, when visiting Tunisia, so much so that my Daughter wants to go back there in September for a week so that she can be there for her Birthday.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikejc48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,978)
There are newer reviews for SENTIDO Phenicia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,339 - 3,345 of 5,978 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2010

Most of the reviews on TA are pretty accurate so you should have a pretty good idea what to expect when you arrive. There were a few issues which we thought detracted slightly from the overall experience, but i'll start with the positives:

Good Points
All inclusive - everything you could want was available throughout the day. Main meals were excellent with a huge choice.
You also get a free ticket to the main a la carte restaurant which is fantastic.
Bar staff, waiters and groundstaff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you
Hotel grounds and facilities were well kept and perfect for our needs. There's just a short walk from your room past the pools to the hotel's private section of the beech.

Less Good Points
Reception staff are not friendly at all and seem to view guests as an inconvience
Rooms do not have AC until June 15th. I think this is a rule in all hotels in Hammamet but wasn't made clear to us before we arrived so made for some uncomfortable nights when the temperature was in the mid thirties
The animation staff are relentless in trying to get you to join in their activities which can be a bit irritating if you're on holiday for a relaxing time
Also if you're a couple, expect to share your meal table with another couple.

All in all this is a very good hotel for the price and having seen many of the other hotels in the area it definitely looks like one of the best.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

The Phenicia is clean, comfortable and with attractive grounds but the very best thing is the food! We stayed for 2 weeks and the main meal wasn't repeated once. The salads, fruit' cold meat and cheeses stayed a part of every meal but the main meat/fish dish was always different.
The service is second to none and the entertainment was good. You could join in with archery, volley ball etc as much or little as you wished. The 3 pools are lovely and there was never a shortage of sunbeds round the pools or on the beach. A nice man came as soon as you found you sun beds and brought nice comfy mattresses to put on them.
We walked along the beach to the marina in Yasmine, which was lovely. After having coffee or freshly squeezed fruit juice in our favourite cafe, we shopped at the fixed price supermarket. The prices were great and we got watches, wallets, bags, sunglasses etc at very reasonable prices and without all the hassle of haggling.. The yellow taxi back from Yasmine back to the hotel was about 5 dinars, which is about £2.50 at the moment.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ailsa050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Just got back from an all inclusive holiday at the hotel.
The rooms are dated, small and very basic.
Food is good and plentiful. Waiter service is good and very attentive.
If you are travelling with other females or teenge daughters, beware of some of the animators. They are very good looking, charming and attentive but they are out for what they can get. We heard from one girl on the bus back to the airport that they had gone to a disco with a couple of the animators and had been expected to pay for taxis, drinks cigarettes etc.
I would recommend this hotel for a chill out week but would not return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gadabout85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We thought this hotel was great, looked nice from the outside, the grounds are lovely and staff are really friendly and polite. We were on the ground floor and found the hallway a bit dull and dirty but the rooms were adequate for the prupose. The main pool is fantastic and the kids were in it nearly every day. The food was great with plenty of variety with snacks, ice cream and pizza available in the afternoon straight after lunch finishes. We walked along the beach both ways and didn't really get bothered by the 'lookie lookie men', just say no and they will leave you alone. For the kids the Animation Team are fantastic. They are very friendly and happy to everyone, always smiling. There is plenty of activities to do every day for children and adults, in the evening there is a mini disco and cabaret which is worth taking a look at as the Animation Team work so hard putting it all together. Now, on the down side you have the lady in the gift shop, what a miserable woman!!!! Don't expect a smile or hello from her. The rep that transfered us to the hotel was useless, she told us her name and not to drink the water and that was it for the whole hour and forty minute journey. They took my sons luggage off the coach at the wrong hotel but luckily my son noticed it before it got left behind. Some of the activities and services that were all inclusive in the brochure you had to pay for when we arrived as the hotel has changed hands since we booked it last year. Also you have to pay 15 dinar to dine in one of the a la carte restaurants, this is not included and there is a bar in the lobby area that is not all inclusive either, as you can imagine this was empty apart from when you have your welcome meeting. Thats about it really. I would recommend this hotel as I felt comfortable in the surroundings and it felt safe for the children to run around.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stayed here for a week with our 2 year old daughter towards the end of May. Had a fabulous time. The staff and the animation team were brilliant. From the moment we arrived we received very good service. My daughter still remembers her holiday and Mimi and Donna from the animation team. The animation team work very hard and they make your holiday with their activities during the day and their shows at night. We had rain for a whole day in the week and the animation team entertained everybody and all forgot about the rain!
For the first time we had booked a private transfer to the hotel as we learnt our lesson from Egypt last year (wasn't easy travelling with a 1 year old on the bus for a long journey). This is at an additional cost to your trip but well worth it as we got to the hotel (11pm), had dinner, were checked in and on our way to the room when the Coach from the airport arrived!!
The food and wine was excellent, especially for Vegetarians, the chef couldn't do enough to make you special veg dishes. Better than some of the other all incs we've been to. The cakes were delicious. Joanne, the FirstChoice Rep was very helpfull and made sure my daughter's birthday was celebrated. They made a special cake and the whole restaurant sang for her, it was a very special touch - made my daughter's day!

Wouldn't recommend the Asian if you want to make it to the children's mini disco and to the show after as the service is very slow and the menu is very limited plus you have to pay for it!! Definitely not worth for vegetarians.

Enjoyed the burgers, chips and shwarma at bamboo burgers (same place as where breakfast is served). It's only available 12 - 2pm and it free on all inc and eat as much as you want!
The pool was still a bit cold but you would get used to it after a while. The sea was lovely, well kept and hardly any sea weeds. A bit rocky as you walk in to the sea but then its shallow and clear.
We did the FirstChoice day trip to Nabul mkt and Frigua wildlife park. Would highly recommend the animal park for children as they had a sealion show and a dolphinarium has just opened next to it. Suggest going to the park in the morning as the animals are a lot more active and spending a bit longer then the 2 hours they give you so you can visit the dolphinarium as well.
We could easily have stayed another week! Already hoping to be able to go again next year although shall go a bit later in the summer to avoid any rainy days.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neevu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Just returned from a weeks stay at Hotel Phenicia.
Good food, good beach, lovely people. Good value for money.
Weather was really hot, 34 degrees at times. Very disappointed there was no air conditioning working at that time. Thompson Rep advised us that air con may be switched on by 12th June ..... a week too late for us! Rooms were very hot at night. Being on the ground floor meant we were unable to leave the patio doors open so found it difficult to sleep.
We booked this holiday in January on the understanding that it was a fully inclusive resort only to be told on arrival that the Al a carte restaurants and Piano bar are chargable but we did not let this spoil our holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CassieStaffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
4.1 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 118 in Hammamet
2,127 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#4 of 118 in Hammamet
708 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Manar
Hotel Manar
#2 of 118 in Hammamet
2,092 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet
3.8 mi away
SENTIDO Aziza Beach Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Phenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Phenicia

Address: Avenue Moncef Bey, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#2 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Business Hotel in Hammamet
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: $60 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Phenicia 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated on the East coast of Tunisia, SENTIDO Phenicia spreads between a fine sandy beach and a garden of 11 hectares where mix generously Palm and Olive trees. For your comfort, the rooms of the hotel all endowed with balconies or terraces offer you fantastic views between the gulf and mountains of Hammamet, swimming pools, or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your SENTIDO Phenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Phenicia Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Phenicia
Iberostar Phenicia Tunisia
Iberostar Phenicia Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing