We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of SENTIDO Phenicia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SENTIDO Phenicia
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

My friend and I stayed in the Phencia Hotel march 22nd till 1st April. 10 Days were not enough for us as we found the hotel to be better than we have ever experienced. All staff are friedly and welcoming. It is a relaxing atmosphere and great night life.The hotel is central to many places and local taxi's cued to take us any where we wanted to go. The food was brilliant, we had a wide choice and found ourselves eating differnt things every day. The waiters where amazing and best we had ever come across. I would reccomend this hotel and its destination to anyone and everyone as it was trually the best holiday i have had. Every night there is something to do, the animation team (hotel entertainers) would put on a variety of shows each night, including belly dancing, salsa dancing, themed shows, pure entertainement. Through the day lounging around the beach on a sun lounger with a matress you can do other activities, such as volleyball and water sports. Me and my friend really enjoyed ourselfs and have recently booked to go again to the same destination and hotel. We would reccomend to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chloeNalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,392
    1,210
    381
    130
    81
See reviews for
1,794
1,690
138
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (867)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, Lancs
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

Just got back from a week at the Phenicia. This is our first time in Tunisia but not our first time at an Iberostar. Twice before in the Dom Rep.

I will be brief on the review.

Flights out ok from Manchester, no issues.

Monastir airport.
I think we arrived at the wrong time as it took about 30 mins to get through immigration, However this did give us time to fill in the visa cards. I don't know why First Choice don't give these out on the plane?

Transfer Ok, plenty of reps to guide you to the right coach. Dropped off at the Ocenaia first and then Phenicia, transfer took about 1hr 15 mins.

Check in at the IB went smooth, despite the time at 21:15 they kept a small part of the buffet open for the late arrivals, which I thought was a bonus. The 4 kids had something to eat. We then had to fill another set of forms in, which we did while eating. We paid for the safe and then paid the deposit on the towels. Either card or cash, I was concerned that is was they used the "OLD" imprint system so any body could view the full card details. They told use we could not pick towels up until after breakfast.

We had 2 rooms with an inter-connecting door for the kids, we asked for this on an e-mail. We had rooms 7005 and 7006 which is a short walk down the stairs from the lobby, there is no lift. Porters took cases and set up the safe ready for your own code. I noticed him put the code in and it was not the room number code, so I guess they use a master code to unlock the safes ready for use!! Having said that we had NO issues at all with the safe or security on the site.

Food / Buffet.

You are allocated YOUR table for dinner and evening meal, you may end up sharing if you are a couple as the number of tables does not match the number of guests.
Breakfast is in a seperate area near the outdoor pool, and this is a free for all. If like us you are in a party greater than 4 you will need to put two tables together. The food at breakfast is 90% continental, with cold cheese and meats. Explain that to a 9 year old!
Dinner and evening meals were ok, but very very repetitive and the same food came round every 2 days or so. The kids murdered the fresh pasta bar every day. Waiters were excellent they make notes on what you drink so as soon as they notice you arrive your drinks are on the table. Going back the food was ok, but the choice was limited compared to the IB's was have stayed in.

Pools,

Heated pool was a godsend for the kids, the outdoor pool was freezing, as you would expect. Not many sunbeds around the heated pool, despite this being a very popular area. I would have expected them to move a few more across from the other areas as many times people were on towels sat on the grass!! We found that you had to be around the outside pool for about 9am and no later other you stood very little chance. I guess during the summer months the opposite will be the case.

Bar area.

Here is where it starts to fall apart. There is plainly not enough space or chairs for even 10% of the guests to sit down in. The configuration is all wrong they are all set up in blocks of 5/6 seats. So you find that couples are sat down in a block using 2 chairs while the others cannot be used. We used to the send the kids up at 5pm to get us some chairs being 6 of us. Any later and you took your chances. We ended up playing musical chairs during the evening!!
The bar staff I found to be very abrupt, on many occasions they would see you waiting then disappear in the back room and come back minutes later to serve. I also noticed that they tended to look for wrists bands and serve the "payers" first before the AI's. I asked if they did a number of "simple" cocktails, black russian being one and they did not. I was even asked what a black russian consisted of !!! The wife stuck to blue ladys and me G&T.
My last bug bare on the bar was the smoking area was direct in front of the bar area, so you had to walk through and the wait in the smoking area while you served. Smoking was allowed at the bar as well!!!!

Evening Entertainment.

This was very poor and conisted of the day time aninmation team dancing around. But the highlight of the trip was a guy balancing pots on his head and then a ladder. Does not get better than this. The belly dancer was shocking. It was a shame as if they did this right it might take some of the people out of the lounge and free up some chairs!!
On the last night for us, 4 guests who had all had dancing experience joined the troop and they shone head and shoulders above the rest.

Other things that let the hotel down.

Simple things such as.

Lack of drawer space in the rooms, poor fitting of light switches, musty smells in the corridors, doors leaking the outside door went it rains, touts in the hotel grounds (not the beach) trying to sell you trips and gifts. The Wifi is expensive to use I was quoted 25d per day!!!! Instead a 5 minute walk out of the hotel to the right and you can find a free wifi on the main road. Great if you have an ipod touch!

They do try hard but the hotel is not that polished to be classed as a 4* hotel in my view. I would rate it a genuine 3* hotel compared to what I have seen elsewhere. Simple things let it down.

Th

Andy

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spudd_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2009

Just had an amazing stay from 22nd-29th March. The hotel is designed for total relaxation. We stayed on the all inclusive option and it was not only amazing value for money but excellent quality. All meals are buffet style which you either love or hate. As the hotel is very multi-cultural - not just Brits abroad there is a massive array of different foods which we love. If you are a traditional British breakfast and fish and chip eating person we would not recomend Tunisia as a destination unless you book without meals and use the local Brits abroad bars. There are a few close to the hotel but we choose not to use them as its not our thing and when the food is as good as it was in the hotel then why would you pass it up! Most evenings there is a grill and special dishes prepared which included lamb, rabbit, swordfish, hamburgers, couscous, ratotoui (cant spell it right enough) which were all excellent. There is an amazing salad bar put out each day which was so fresh. There is also chips with lunch and dinner if you wish. On the all incusive option there is also snacks each day put out which is mostly pizza, salad, cakes, ice cream and the fantastic pancake man who will make you a fresh pancake to order yummy. Im missing them already!! The hotel is great for sport as they have lots of tennis courts which are ash but excellent quality, 2 golf courses locally, table tennis, pool table, air hockey and my fav of all the heated swimming pool. The pool is designed to be used all year round as the pool flows naturally from inside the hotel to outside which means you can swim but enter and exit the pool from indoors which is great for those chilly mornings during the winter season. The pool is long so makes it ideal for swimmming and burning off some of those pancake calories. The hotel also offers archery which is good fun as you get to meet other guests while learning something new. There is a pitch and put area and a poor crazy golf which we did not use. The annimation team who are all very young and friendly try to encoruage guests to take part in beach volleyball, football, light aerobics and games. We took part in a few things which was great fun and also very sociable to meet people in the hotel. Its a no pressure thing and they only let you know its happening and its not loud so its not going to spoil any reading/relaxing. If just lying at the pool/beach is your thing then the hotel has loads of sunbeds with soft matresses and tons of space so you can feel like you have your own wee spot and not cramped beside other people. The beach is private but right at the sea it a public beach so there are people trying to sell the usual necklaces and watches which is a pest if you want to swim with no fuss. The hotel and grounds are immaculate and the staff work hard to keep it looking as good as it does. All staff in the hotel are friendly and honestly cant do enough for you. Taxis are cheap so its easy to go into the two local towns of Hammamet and Yasmin Hammamet. You can also walk along the beach to both towns in just over an hour. Taxis coat around £2 each way. A few negative points for us was the rooms do need a bit of updating as our room could have been doing with a paint and a chest of drawers. The rooms are very very clean and the beds are comfortable so its not unpleasant by any means its just not what you would expect for a hotel which is so good in many other ways. The bathrooms are spotles. You have to pay for the in-room safe and there is no tea/coffee in the room. It would not put us off going back as to be honest the hotel is so lovely that we sent most of the time in communal areas so spent little time in the room. Also the resort of Hammamet is an average travelling time of 1.5 hours from Monastir airport which adds a bit of time onto your travel time. If you opt for a sea view the sea is a good 100m away or so and there is many things in the way like trees, parts of the hotel etc its not the best sea view ever so maybe not worth paying the extra. All in all an excellent holiday

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sony-ericson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2009

my husband and i went on a week break 15-22 march 2009. we had such an amazing time. Before we booked the hotel i read all the reviews and i must say that everyone who faults this hotel, must be out of their minds. Considering that you are travelling to Africa and experiencing a different culture ( where most brits want their fish and chips, east enders etc, which i think is pathetic) this was the most amazing hotel with excellent service and tasty food.
i would definitely recommend an all inclusive holiday, as you dont need to budget whilst on holiday. you do need spending money though if you want to do excursions- trips to sahara, medina's etc. ( excursions ranging from £30-£170 per couple). the entertainment is a bit lame, but if you take your sense of humour and remember you on holiday, its actually a good laugh.
the weather in march obviously ranges, but we had an amazing week, with temperatures ranging from 20'C-25'C. with one day of rain. summer time is apparently extremely busy and temps of 45'C and more.
We had a wonderful time! met some lovely people and considering that we are in our late 20's and early 30's and the minority age group, we had a blast with some of the "oldies" .
this hotel is very family friendly aswell, so basically caters for everyone.
Would love to go again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank db08112014f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2009

Although the hotel is a bit isolated if you are looking for a totally relaxed chilled out holiday with friendly staff who cant do enough for you this is the place. I travelled with my husband and friends and this is our second year to Tunisia for a winter break and our first visit to the Phenecia. Tunisia like many countries has parts that are very poor so its best if you want to explore to go on organised trips. The hotel is very clean at all times and the grounds and pools are immaculute, not a bit of rubbish in sight. The beach is lovely and I would imagine in the summer the sea is beautiful much to cold in March. The food at the hotel is varied and there is plenty of choice and a lot of it is cooked in front of you and the pancakes cooked every afternoon as you wait are delicious. We had a lovely back massage which was very reasonable and the shop on site has everything you need including gifts to bring home. There are a lot of Germans and French but it makes the english be more friendly towards each other we met some really nice people. We had wonderful holiday here and we will definiately be returning next year. It was an absolute bargain for an all inclusive holiday.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBoylings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2009

The worst holiday my wife and I have ever had. read review 7th jan 2009 (WHAT A LET DOWN) as this saves me repeating the excellent true review of this hotel. Hotel clean, but in a very poor location. It is pushing it for a 3 star. walk out of the drive and it's like shanty town and dirty. Not a place to walk on a nite time or even day time. We did go on a couple of trips and saw what it was realy like.The meals are the same everday but sometimes cooked a little different and the cooks dont mind sneezing all over the open food counters. The hotel is FULL of Germans and French who do get prefferential treatment over the British at the bars ect. I had two verbal confrontation with Germans and i nearly got Physical due to there usual ignorance and arrogance. We met 4 lovely couples at this hotel and they too all could not wait to come home. At least 1 in each of the couples had bad tummy problems during the holiday. Go on the beach at your own peril, the touts are on you like flies. I woul never go to this country or this hotel ever again. Please read the review from 7th jan 09.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigboyLeedsYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2009

stayed there from 8th - 15th march 09 and although we booked last minute and got a good deal the service and the hotel were first rate,
good food and drink, cocktails included, snacks in the afternoon, cabaret /disco bar served drinks till 01.30 although we never stayed that late, but drinks were free,
moorish cafe serving tea, coffee, soft drinks and shisha all free,
all in all, a very nice hotel and would recommend it,
would defo go back there but when its a bit warmer,

Helpful?
6 Thank stanphil59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
3.1 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#1 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
4.1 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Holiday Village Manar
Holiday Village Manar
#4 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#21 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
3.5 mi away
Iberostar Averroes
Iberostar Averroes
#10 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Phenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Phenicia

Property: SENTIDO Phenicia
Address: Avenue Moncef Bey, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#2 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#2 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Business Hotel in Hammamet
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Phenicia 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated on the East coast of Tunisia, SENTIDO Phenicia spreads between a fine sandy beach and a garden of 11 hectares where mix generously Palm and Olive trees. For your comfort, the rooms of the hotel all endowed with balconies or terraces offer you fantastic views between the gulf and mountains of Hammamet, swimming pools, or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your SENTIDO Phenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Phenicia Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Phenicia
Iberostar Phenicia Tunisia
Iberostar Phenicia Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing