We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of SENTIDO Phenicia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SENTIDO Phenicia
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from first visit to this hotel, we only went there as our usual hotel was full. Im so glad we did! The animation team are absolutely amazing! Always had us in fits of giggles - whether it was dressing up in stupid outfits or just the little games they played during the day. We never once felt hassled, if you said no they would accept it :) there was always something going on so even if you just wanted to relax it gave you something to watch! I would say the only thing that puts this hotel down is that it's not 24 hour all inclusive and that your only allowed to order 1 drink at a time. We found it to be annoying to be trying to watch one of the fantastic shows but constantly have to keep going to the bar for another drink. We only landed this morning and already we are looking to go back! The hotel caters for people of any age, including kids club and also has a seperate section in the dining room with kids food (chicken nuggets etc). The animation team are always on hand and constantly going round to make sure everything is ok - I don't know how they manage it, always on the go! Hotel is highly recommended, if you have any questions feel free to ask :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 07tori08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you very much - "amazing holiday" - we are more than happy reading your comment on
TripAdvisor. We apologize if we couldn't understand what you ment by "not all in 24h"? You get drinks from the morning (9am Main Bar) until the last bar closed (in summer 2am)?
We are delighted learning you recommend the SENTIDO Phenicia and you would like coming back.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,394
    1,211
    381
    130
    81
See reviews for
1,797
1,690
138
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (867)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was our first time in Tunisia, there were just the 2 of us girls aged 24 & 28. We visited Egypt last year and the Animation Team there were Tunisian and recommended that we visit. We werent disappointed.

We picked this hotel as we have stayed in a Sentido before (Rodos Maris in Kiotari, Rhodes), in my opinion the hotel was nowhere near to the same standard as Rhodes, however, Tunisia isnt a developed Country and we didnt expect it to be be.

Lets get the few bad points out the way first....on arrival all seemed great, we were greeted with drinks and the hotel staff do the check in for you, all you have to do is drink up and wait for your room key. Whilst they were busy doing this we got a tour of the hotel which was really useful. it all seemed to go a bit downhill for a while after that. They take the cases up to the room for you, however, ours didnt arrive for nearly 3 hours (we arrived at midday in the height of the sunshine, we wanted to get out by the pool) so this was really disappointing. We mentioned it to the reception staff 4 times with no-one offering a solution. Finally after we had waited the 3 hours we went down for the 5th time to find our cases just sat there, unattended, obviously they didnt make it up to our room and no apology was given, which again was disappointing.
We also paid for a safe and again it took 3 or 4 times of asking before a nice man came up to our room to unlock it for us...this was eventually done at 11.30pm!
Also note that the air conditioning is seasonal which again is disappointing. We are British and not used to the hot climate, in my opinion the air con should be functional from when the hotel opens. The rooms were extremely hot at night but not unbearable. For your information the air con is operational from June 15th.
All iNCLUSVIVE.........hmmmm make sure you read the fine print. Not entirely sure if this is the hotel or Thomson but the Phenicia has 4 restaurants including the main one and not all are included in the price you pay. You only get one visit to the Tunisian restaurant and the Asian and Italian were at a cost.....as mentioned above, I have stayed in a Sentido before in Rhodes and this was not the case there, absolutely everything was included. In my opinion if you are going to sell yourself as All Inclusive, make it so.

THIS IS NO WAY SPOILED OUR STAY, just a few things worth mentioning that need ironing out.

Now onto the good bits.......

Food - although we only ate in the main restaurant there was plenty of choice and you never go hungry. You also get snacks between 2pm and 6pm which include pancakes, pizza and cakes which are amazing!

Hotel Staff - apart from the initial issue with the reception staff (who we didnt need to speak with after the first day) everyone else was extremely friendly. The cleaners, barmen, waiters and pool men. There was a guy by the pool who brought the comfy tops to the sunbeds, as soon as he recognises your towel and where you sit (usually after a couple of days), they are down before you return from breakfast which was fantastic! Of course you have to tip for this service, but any amount you give he was grateful for.
SHOUT OUT TO BEN OUR WAITER.....Table 120. Ben was amazing, such a friendly guy and very accommodating. He was always there to greet us when we came in at lunch and dinner, pulled our chairs out for us and made sure we wanted for nothing. He explained the food, kept us with full glasses and was just an all round nice guy. We tipped him every night but he really deserved it, as soon as he saw you sipping your last bit of drink (and he always noticed) he was there waiting ready to top it up for you. THANK YOU BEN!!!

ANIMATION TEAM - these guys were amazing. They work really hard and we never go to a hotel without these people. There is plenty to do during the day, stretching, water polo, line dancing, salsa, zumba, belly dancing, water gym, darts, football, archery, volleyball, yoga...the list is endless. Now we rarely joined in these activities (mainly due to laziness to be honest) but this was never a problem.
We did however participate in Arabic lessons, such a hard language! So thank you (Shokran) Mido for this.....here goes.....'Aatini Daboussa Beer?!' :-)
The evening entertainment was also amazing! I think we were there for the Catz musical, Best of Musicals, Michael Jackson Show and the Comedy Show...which is a MUST SEE! Absolutely hilarious!
We ventured out of the hotel a few times with the team too, we did the train trip and also to the nightclub around the corner from the hotel and always felt safe and looked after so thank you guys for that also!
Special mentions for us have to go to the following in the Animation Team..........Super Mario, Mido, Nemo, Mira, Steve, Nino, Shaggy and Bibo. BIG THANK YOU!!!

Besslema Tunisia!
Hope to see you again soon.

Rachael & Amelia
xxx

Room Tip: Ask for a view when booking as we didnt do this. To be honest you dont spend alot of time in your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachie17882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for sharing your detailed review with us on TripAdvisor.
The negatives you mentionned had our greatest interest and had been forwarded to the concerned departments as well as your compliments: something went obviously wrong with your luggage and your safety box, we apologize for any inconveniences. This service has to be done as quickly as possible, naturally not after 3 hours. The AC is working already since last weekend – due to the lovely summer weather (supposed to work upon the 15th of June, please have always a look on the broschures). “All in” could be very different from country to country, as well as from hotel to hotel in the same country – again it may be always helpful reading the hotel description/broschure to avoid any misunderstandings.
We are delighted reading we met your expectations concerning the food, the animation, the service provided by our waiter Ben.
We would be pleased welcoming you again.
Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Phenicia from 26 May to 9 June. Had a wonderful holiday. From the time we arrived we were made welcome by all the staff, especially the animation team they were brilliant, Amin, Shaggy, Bibo, Super Mario, Mouse, Steve Nemo and the rest of the boys and not forgetting the girls, they were all fantastic and work so hard making everyone welcome. Keep up the good work animation team you were amazing. The selection of food was excellent with a wide variety of choice. The decor of the rooms were a little tired but are being updated. Pity there was no air conditioning (especially in the dining room) as at this time of year it was very hot but this did not prevent us from having a good time. From Diane, Robin and Michelle Goodfellow, Exeter.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guests,

"fantastic holidays" - that's what we are wishing to all of our guests - we are happy you got it!

The AC was to be switched on the 15th of June, due to the lovely summer weather the AC is

working now already since last weekend.

It is nice and cool inside now....

Best regards - we would be happy welcoming you back!

The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in a few different hotels in Tunisia and have never found any of them as relaxing. Yes the rooms could do with a lick of paint but with the amount of people using them its no wonder. The food at the hotel was excellent. Plenty of choice providing you didn't try a bit of everything on one plate. Service at the bars generally good with the beer being more than palatable. Rose wine went down very well at meal times. Breakfast and lunch at the beach restaurant with a view over looking the Mediterranean was to die for. We spent most of our time down on the beach second row from the front. Neither my wife or I felt hassled by the beach sellers. A polite but firm no did the job and they still said hello as they passed each day. Habib on the beach was a great man and looked after us during our stay there and we look forward to meeting him again. We never joined in with the activities but the animation team always had a warm genuine smile for you. People saying they find tipping annoying should try living on the small wages these guys take home. I never felt obliged to tip but did so to reward what was great service.
We stayed in the corridor over the restaurant and found this lovely and peaceful. Kirsten, I have used the main email address to try and request a room in this corridor but have received no response. Would you mind forwarding me the email address mentioned previously so that I can contact the hotel. We look forward to seeing you all again on the 7th of July.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank segasuas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guests,

we are already looking forward welcoming you very soon again. Please use the email we send
you - we will be more than pleased providing you a room over the Restaurants.
Thank you for sharing your kind review with us on TripAdvisor - wonderful knowing you had a
lovely holiday with us last year.

Best regards

The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallsend, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have just come back from 11 nights stay at the Phenicia for the second time and it was fantastic. iwent with my daughter and grandson and it was like being back home.
Was nice to see some freindly faces like Mouse and Amin who remembered us from last year.
All the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you.
We had pool view room 6021 it was really nice.was worried about room with 3 sharing but was plenty. The maid kept our room lovely and tidy and also done patterns with our clothes everyday.The pool man that gets the mattresses remembered our towels after first day, so every morning they would be on our beds which was very nice of him.
At tea we we seated with our waiter from last year Sammy which was happy to see us, always makes sure your drinks are topped up and makes sure your happy with everything. One night he even deboned my grandsons fish for him, would not find that anywhere else.
As always plenty of choice of food with kids menu and the deserts are amazing.
For me yet again it was the animation team that made my holiday so special.
Always happy and friendly. Plenty of activities to do and we were taking part in some of them this year. Darts with MARIO and NINO, what a laugh so funny them two.
Aqua fit with NEMO and STEVE was very good and always with a smile. My grandson loved kids club with TATA and doing archery with BEBO who is a very nice young man. Going to miss SHAGGYS shout outs for water polo. Definitely not a dull moment in this place.
They all work so hard to make sure you have a good holiday.
The nightime shows are really good, especially the comedy nights, what a scream.
We have met some wonderful people yet again and will be returning next year.
Like to say a big thankyou to NEMO,NINO,MOUSE,MARIO,SHAGGY,BEBO,MIRA,STEVE,TITI,TATA and the big boss AMIN for making my holiday so amazing. will hope to see you all next year
SANDY, CRYSTAL AND BENJAMIN XX

Room Tip: pool view rooms lovely but rooms near reception just been decorated so be nice to try them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Firstly, thank-you Phenicia for a fantastic holiday experience for myself and family. Before choosing the Sentido Phenicia, we read the reviews on Trip Advisor and most were positive, although there were a few negative reviews. As we were a party of 9 + infant, we were keen to ensure the holiday would satisfy us all and would cater for my niece`s young son Tyrese ( TyTy). Upon arrival we were greeted by the hotel porter who was welcoming and courteous and helped with our many suitcase without any complaints. This was followed by a welcome refreshing drink as we`d been up since 4 am.

The hotel reception staff were also very welcoming and our check-in was painless and prompt and we were led to our rooms without delay. The rooms themselves were cleaned daily by the friendly roommaid who left imaginative towel displays daily, although I would have preferred to be away away from the loading area - The reception did try to relocate us but the hotel was pretty full and we stayed where we were in rooms 7001, 7002 7005 & 7006.

Next stop was the expansive grounds which were very well maintained and clean and poolside where we quickly found was host to the entertainment team led by the personable Amin. The team were very friendly and engaging and you`d have thought they`d known us for years and they were especially fantastic with the kids and Tyrese. There are 2 pools, 1 quiet and 1 for acivities and FUN. There was always plenty of activities if required and it was refereshing to see the entertainment staff were not too pushy and let you join activities at your own leisure.

Our family enjoyed a variety of beach sports including Paracending, Crazy Horse ( towed by motorboat on inflatable), horse-riding, camel rides, beach volleyball, petanque, football and not to mention archery.

I must say a special mention to the very likeable friendly sunbed man Mohammed, who worked tirelessly all day ensuring guests had much appreciated sunbed cushions and or shades which were well received. Although tipping is not obligatory, I felt compelled to reward this friendly man.

The restaurants were well furnished and had a good variety of meals and desserts to cater for all, including plenty of fruit. Our only regret is that we were unable to get a table in the "tented" Tunisian restaurant near the beach due to the popularity and limited tents - so make sure you book early in your stay, the mealtime entertainment looked great.

Later on after dinner you can relax in the lobby reception areas & bars whilst waiting for the clubhouse / main hall to open wheren you will find a good variety of local beers and spirits together with the "Blue Bar" which facilitated branded drinks for a small premium. These areas were always busy and popular and added to the ambience of the hotel. If you preferred something different, there was also the local town which was 5 minutes away by taxi which was very cheap at approx £2.00 and was awash with shops and food cafes.

The evening entertainment was limited to events by the fabulous entertainment team who performed a variety of productions, which considering limited facilities were able to keep us entertained with energetic dance and song productions including the Michael Jackson show which was headlined by the fantastic Steve who was absolutely superb in his performance.
The whole team including Mido, Amin, Mario, Shaggy , Mira, Nino (who kept on jumping on my back), Mouse, TiTi, Bibo - sorry if I`ve forgotten anyone. This lot absolutely made the holiday great and are an absolute asset to the hotel, well done.

Others worth a mention at the hotel were "Captain" who promoted the Pirate ship outings which cost approx £16 p.p also The Crepe man for keeping most of the women happy with his superb chocolate and ice cream crepes and my breakfast eggs / omelettes. Thanks to the Concierge lady who was able to help to great satisfaction after a clash with a rather unhelpful onsite shopkeeper who point blank refused to change my towel despite the local cat deciding to use it as a bed outside our patio door, a very rude woman.

Overall, this holiday was exactly as you would wish for a family or couples holiday, would recommend whole-heartedly. well done Sentido Phenicia.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 7001 - 7010 due to possible vehicular noise in morings. Choose rooms 6001 upto 6032 for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guests,

the only we could say is "Thank you so much" - we are all very happy you had a fantastic
holiday with us - please forget the rude behaviour of the lady in the shop - the Holiday Concierge had a "conversation" with her when the issue happened and finally it resulted in a holiday worth waiting for. Thank you again!

We are looking forward welcoming you again - why not next year?

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We arrived quite late and the hotel put on a late meal for us this was a rather tired salad selection and other bits and pieces probably from lunch. The hotel itself looked tired too. When we got up the next day we were very pleasantly surprised by the general feeling of well being and welcome .The food turned out to be of a very good standard ,the animation team were not only friendly but performed a number of slick shows.All staff were friendly the concierge was great and very knowledgeable.The hotel attracts a wide range of ages ,backgrounds and nationalities which we enjoyed.We think it was great value for money but in need of a refurb over time .We had a great time thank you staff at the Phenicia!

Room Tip: We had a sea view room which was lovely -2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanettemorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you very much! We are very pleased learning you had a great time with us at the SENTIDO Phenicia. We apologize if the salads gave you the impression being "tired" - however our hygienic standards would never ever allow to offer our guests "old" meals - that would be hell!
We are happy informing you we already renovated the rooms of one floor ; just come back one day to discover the "new look".

Best regards

The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
3.1 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#1 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
4.1 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Holiday Village Manar
Holiday Village Manar
#4 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#20 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
3.5 mi away
Iberostar Averroes
Iberostar Averroes
#10 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Phenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Phenicia

Property: SENTIDO Phenicia
Address: Avenue Moncef Bey, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#2 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Business Hotel in Hammamet
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Phenicia 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated on the East coast of Tunisia, SENTIDO Phenicia spreads between a fine sandy beach and a garden of 11 hectares where mix generously Palm and Olive trees. For your comfort, the rooms of the hotel all endowed with balconies or terraces offer you fantastic views between the gulf and mountains of Hammamet, swimming pools, or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Expedia so you can book your SENTIDO Phenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Phenicia Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Phenicia
Iberostar Phenicia Tunisia
Iberostar Phenicia Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing