We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It all depends on your expectations”
Review of Dar Khayam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dar Khayam Hotel
Ranked #31 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Before we went away I did my usual thing of reviewing the comments on Tripadvisor and to be honest, I was mortified. There were headings such as “Holding pen for the Jeremy Kyle Show”. I even suggested to my partner that we should try to move hotels.
I think that you need to know who we are first of all. I am a 40 something lady who works in London in a professional capacity. My partner and I have one break a year where we splash out on a top hotel and visit historical places that interest us and one holiday a year where we look for things that will entertain my 9 year old daughter.
I had been to Tunisia twice before, in my younger years and knew that the weather was great so we decided to book a week away in Hammamet at the Dar Khayam.
First impressions of the hotel were that it was rather plush. The reception area is clean and swanky. The rooms are basic but all that you need for a base to leave your possessions and sleep. I have seen the pictures on trip advisor and agree that the grouting in the bathroom isn’t fantastic but when you are away for a family holiday is that really an issue?? The pool was great. There are shops within easy reach. All a family needs.
The food is fine. Yes I agree with other comments that it could be repetitive but if your fill your plate with a bit of everything every night, it will be repetitive! This is mass catering. They are trying to cater for a number of tastes and personally, I think they do a very good job. My fussy daughter managed to find something to eat each day and didn’t seem bothered by the repetitive menu.
The animation team are fantastic! Those young lads work all day long to involve everyone from the youngsters to us older guests in all the hotel activities. The choice is yours if you want to participate or not but you certainly cannot knock them for their efforts.
Yes – people do save the sun beds around the pool at 7am in the morning. However, there are more than enough sunbeds and umbrellas down on the beach to keep everyone happy. And the beach is lovely!
We went on the trip to the Aqua Park and Carthage Land and were disappointed. Not because it was a bad day out. It was good fun but the Thomas Cook rep had told us that it was the same as Alton Towers. It certainly wasn’t. However, it was a good day out and if he had not ”bigged” it up so much our expectations would not have been so high and we would have been perfectly happy. As for the 5D cinema experience, which we were told would be the most amazing experience we would ever have had – well that was a 10 minute 3D film with moving chairs and the occasional spray of water on the face. If you have been to Disneyland, don’t get your hopes up.
Likewise, he suggested a trip to the zoo and a restaurant with a three course meal and Zulu dancing. Yes it was a good day out but not the most amazing zoo we have ever been to nor the best meal we have ever had. However, it was a day out and we would have still gone if the rep had been frank with us and told us what it was really like.
Then to the camel trek. I read reviews that told of trips along the dual carriage way and the horrors of the whole experience. Well – we loved it. Did we laugh? Oh yes we did. We travelled beside a dual carriage way but it was not like a dual carriage way at home. The cars that passed us (one every five minutes) beeped their hooters at seeing the tourists on the camels. The organisersers tried their best to keep everyone happy. The whole experience was fun and just what we, as a family, wanted to do.
People have moaned about the tipping. Yes the locals ask for tips. This makes up a large part of their income. You are in North Africa!
If you are looking for fine dining and a top class hotel, book somewhere else. If you are looking for a real family holiday with dancing, water sports, bingo and family entertainment, look no further. Not for couples but a great holiday for any family who want lots to do.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool and beach. Yes it was noisy but it didn't bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DeeKingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

874 - 880 of 2,110 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my family. The hotel itself was clean, maybe a bit dated but I'm not one to really complain about this factor. The pools were great, always cleaned. The beach offered a range of activities. I felt that this hotel is great value for money. The only fault would be the food.. they could improve on this, maybe offer more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BELLA435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in 2008 with my husband and 4 children and a few family members....What can i say....I was abit aprehensive about coming to tunisia for the 1st time but regardless of the reviews everything about our holiday was fantastic..Rooms were basic but very clean,Towels changed daily..staff were always friendly and would work over 15hrs a day My youngest (3 at the time) adored sam,pools were always clean,Gardens were always clean...Food can be abit repetative but isnt most all inclusive hotels,The beach is lovely and clean with watersports going on most of the day...We went on a few excursions,the safari with dinner and dance,the pirate ship,and i must say it was never a quick nip out and back,they went on all day,People moaning about this hotel seriously need a wake up call....This is a poor muslim country......only allowed 2 drinks at a time,seriously how many drinks can you drink at once.!!...Queue's for drinks in the lobby bar...If you want something you have to wait your turn,we only found the queue's a problem at night...There are a few shops within walking distance,we found the orangina bar over the road was nice too,In all honesty your holiday is what you make it,and if you are hell bent on picking out all the nitty gritty then maybe you are all just too snotty and you should be booking into the "holidays with style" hotels,This is a clean and friendly hotel that works its socks off to provide you with what you have paid for...In laymans term "you get what you have paid for"......We loved our stay here that much we booked to go to houda golf in sept 2013 and upon reading the reviews we have now changed it to return back to the dar khayam...Cannot wait to visit you all again in just over 2 weeks time.....

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We got back from a 2week holiday 25th Aug. On arrival we was immediately approached by the porters, when we politely told them we didnt need help as I have 2 older sons and my husband to help they were very rude and bordering on aggressive! Then our rooms werent ready so we had to wait, when eventually given our room keys we were very disappointed to find our 2 rooms on different levels so our family was completely seperate! Food very repetative! The only positive was our waiter Morat who always had a smile for us and he worked extremely hard! Rooms very dated! Cleanish I suppose! Some barstaff ignorant! Pool area unsafe 2 people with broken legs whilst we were there! Constantly being asked to buy trips, massages etc etc. Poor entertainment for adults without a doubt I was in bed before 10pm every night!! We went on the pirate ship trip because we heard it was good, we enjoyed it but it was too full and because of that we couldn't get any food which was included in the price we paid! Beach lovely but no alcohol and 3 choice of soft drink and harrassed by sellers if not under a parasol!! Overall weather lovely but would not return even if it was a free trip!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princesstlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

First of all we read the other reviews and were a little dubious about the holiday, however we were pleasantly surprised as for the price you pay we found it to be good value for money.
Our room was close to the private beach, it was fairly basic but was kept clean and had everything we needed.
Our first day we spent at the pool and were targeted by the sales people, although it was intimidating at first they were pretty friendly and after saying no a couple of times they got the message and left us alone, apart from that it was relaxed wherever you went and on the beach we didn't get pestered too much (apart from the hotel spa people who got slightly annoying).
After reading some positive reviews we booked the pirate ship with the man selling it by the pool.. DO NOT MAKE THIS MISTAKE! We went on the Tuesday before we left and it was horrible, we were docked next to the Thomas Cook boat and wished we were on it, as we had no English speakers, their boat was bigger and generally seemed more professional. We were promised unlimited drinks, however this was not the case as we were offered four very small beverages during the four hour trip! Then food was served, this was couscous and a fish with its head still on which did not appear very appetising so we had a piece of bread.
We were happy to get off the boat after 4 hours, the trip was sold to us as being 2 hours and we feel it was a waste of our morning, so bottom line go with Thomas Cook as it was also cheaper.
A positive excursion we went on was the Bella Marina restaurant, if you are travelling with Thomas Cook your rep will recommend it to you in the welcome meeting, as there is free transport there and back so you only pay for the meal and drinks.
The restaurant is a good break from the food served in the hotel as this can be very repetitive and could be better, however in the Bella Marina the food is very nice with a wide selection and decent prices ( it isn't a cheap restaurant but also isn't expensive, i had steak which was 22 DT which is less than £10) it is also a good experience as a plate of lobsters are placed next to you when you choose and even if you do not want to eat one, you can have a picture with the biggest.
I have read reviews saying you cannot get sun loungers by the pool if you aren't up stupidly early, this isnt the case, we were up at around half 8 every day to go to breakfast, then got ready and were down by the pool about half 9-10 o'clock and still got sun loungers! Parasols were taken early but you can always get one on the beach if you want which isnt far away.
All in all we had a very good holiday after not expecting much, for the price you pay this is good quality and we would go again!

Room Tip: we were in 1318 which was near the beach and was quiet in between the beach and main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just arrived home from a 11 day holiday in Tunisia. The hotel dar Khayam is stuck in an 80's time warp. Very basic rooms which need renovating. The beach bar is alcohol free and has only limited soft drinks. The bar attendants at pool and lobby bar were miserable and you can only get max of 2drinks at a time. Our 9yr old daughter has burns and rash off chemicals used in pool. Food same throughout holiday. If you enjoy Beef and rice daily you will enjoy! Table allocated on arrival in restaurant however we never sat at same table twice. Came accross some very rude foul mouthed English guests who I challenged as they were swearing in front of young children. Some days were like a scene from shameless! This trip has put us off returning toTunisia as we had a poor experience. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whales1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

after reading some of these reviews I had a good giggle, all I can say is they must be snobs, we were a family of 16 an we had a fantastic holiday, we laughed from start to finish, we met some fantastic people, everyone in the hotel were lovely,rooms were kept very clean, our maid was so friendly and always had a smile, barstaff were lovely an some even came over to say goodbye to us, the animation team were fantastic, they even came to see us off, the food was nice an fresh every day, would recommend to anyone, would love to go back, thank you for a fab holiday xxx

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joanne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.1 mi away
Omar Khayam Club
Omar Khayam Club
#47 of 119 in Hammamet
836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Club President
Hotel Club President
#25 of 119 in Hammamet
1,716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Club Les Colombes
Hotel Club Les Colombes
#73 of 119 in Hammamet
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Nozha
Hotel Royal Nozha
#36 of 119 in Hammamet
224 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hammamet Garden Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Fell
Hotel El Fell
#45 of 119 in Hammamet
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Khayam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Khayam Hotel

Address: Rue Omar Kayam, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: $47 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Khayam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dar Khayam Is located on one of the areas best beaches, we operate a fun and friendly enviroment for our guests enjoyment. The hotel is for families, couples and single guests offering an amazing all inclusive package at a great price. Dar Khayam is centrally positioned between the old town Hammamet and the famous market town of Nabeul. Just outside the hotel entrance within a 300 metre walk are shops, restaurants, English bar, ten pin bowling, water park in summer and atm machines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dar Khayam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Khayam Tunisia
Dar Khayam Hammamet
Dar Khayam Hotel Tunisia
Hotel Dar Khayam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing