We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going to the Dar Khayam ?”
Review of Dar Khayam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dar Khayam Hotel
Ranked #33 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Going to the Dar Khayam ?”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I went to this hotel in November 2010 to celebrate my 50th birthday with my hubby and two friends, we had a great time, the hotel is very basic as is the food, but there is plenty of salad and fresh fruit and pasta if you don't want to try their meat lol. Ask for a ground floor room otherwise you could be walking up 4 flights of stairs to get to your room, the drinks are watered down as always with all inclusive, but the pernod isn't so drink that !!!! the pool bar has fantastic subs at night time, we used to get one every night at 11.30pm filled with bologne, cheese and alad they will wrap it up for you in clingfilm and then you can take it up to your room later for a midnight snack lol. We went on the pirate ship trip fantastic would highly reccomend this, we didnt like the two day trip away it was very expensive and i got kidnapped on a camel lol the staff are fantastic entertaining all day and evening they do a wonderful job for being amatures and have a kiddies disco every night bingo, and get everyone up on stage dancing the markets are scary they bully you into buying stuff, but the small shop opposite the hotel is lovely, he also charges set prices, which is rare for Tunisia. I love this place and am going back again this November with my hubby and daughter and we are meeting friends there, oh the pool is great to although you do have to fight to get a sun bed a lot of people would put a towel down first then go and get breakfast at least then you have on saved. The cleaners are wonderful, we found out that if you put a dinar out each day which is only about 50p they make a great job and will fold your nightie into pretty patterns, One other thing is there is only one plug in the room which a bit of a nuiscance, although the tv is great there is one channel that is 24 hour films so bring a drink up from the bar when its closed with your sub and curl up lol hotel is lovely, he also charges set prices, which is rare for Tunisia. I love this place and am going back again this November 2012 with my hubby and daughter and we are meeting friends there, I would highly reccomend this hotel for a cheap friendly holiday

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purplepassion1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    626
    378
    202
    234
See reviews for
743
648
51
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
poole
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Like many people I booked this holiday as a late deal. In fact, Me and my partner went to literally weeks after the protesting had finished. I try to remember to focus on the hotel but im certain all people who come here, or are interested in coming, want to know about the holiday aspect. I start with the positives first then the negatives.

Firstly, The hotel itself in pretty good shape. The room was generally clean and we had a small balcony at the front of the hotel. For anyone whose been away before, it was similar to any hotel, probably a 2/3 star to us Brits. The beds were quite firm but more than enough and the bathroom was also satisfactory. Shower and a toilet, nothing much more I could ask for.

Secondly the hotel itself is in good shape. The staff are very very good. I read alot of positive reviews about the tunisian staff and have to say I agree. If you have children they really do make the effort to entertain them and keep them occupied.

Thirdly, the nightly entertainment is hilarious and this is done through the staff who put on improvised performances. The staff clearly love this part of the job and although very quiet in the hotel, with a busy audience it could really make your night.

Fourth, and last point, if your looking for a quieter hotel this is a good place. Since the political movements Tunisia is still clearly recovering globally. In the hotel was a total of 38 guests.......in a 200 odd room hotel!!!! So we literally had the bar, pool and restaurants to ourselves.

Ok, heres the negatives.

1) Food - Im very laid back when it comes to the food because quite frankly when you go all inclusive you cant expect luxury or amazing different dishes every night. The food is very tunisan so you get to taste different things. The food is 'ok', they provide basic veg, rice and various meats, however I couldnt tell you what they are. I think for a week is fine, but I admit any longer you would prob need to eat out and this is the second problem.

2) Location - The location of the hotel is a bit of a pain. We are literally the last drop off of the all guests on the coach so it took 2hrs 15mins to get there! Also, you are not in a holiday resort part of tunisia as such, so once you step outside your hotel your very much on the streets and there arent many restaurants and cafes to go to. You have a small shop but if like, you enjoy that element of spending your evenings walking around the town or city, this doesnt really offer that experience. Another problem is again, if you do trips. Your the first pick up and last droppe off. I dont mind travelling long distances but me and my partner agreed that on the 2/3 trips we did go on, it did alot out of it.

3)Camel Trip - We did the camel trip that was on offer which was 40 dina each, so 20 quid. You certainly get alot of time on a camel but to be honest a number of things hindered it. The camels seem quite poorly mistreated and some camels were carrying two 'large' people and you felt how is this right as such. Secondly they do sell this as a magical mini safari but its not really, you go down the road, stop at a house and back again. Not great

4)The BIGGEST problem - Tunisian sellers are incredibly hostile. When we went to the marina close by, which is very nice, it was so quiet that they were extra desperate to grab your money. You MUST be blunt and forceful. A polite no thankyou doesnt get you anywhere, dont try anything or even ask for anything. Even if they offer to try a cap on, once its done, they will demand money. Im used to pushy sellers abroad and often its done tounge and cheek but the biggest thing that ruined this holiday was the sellers and market people. Things maybe better now, now its getting more popular again, but be warned.

5)The bar, pool and restaurant - We were lucky that the hotel was virtually empty however talking to the rep, i explained how lookign at how many people could fit in the dining room how they coped. The truth is, they dont, even if the hotel is a third full you will find ureself queing for drinks and queing for food. The bar is very small and the buffet tables at the restaurant arent enormous either.

Overall I found this experience pleasent but mainly because we had the entire hotel to ourselves it was difficult too complain but I wouldnt return. It never be as quiet again and I get the feeling they couldnt cope as well with more people. My tip would be, if your looking for a cheap deal, with no intention to really leave the pool and hotel then this is worth it at a cheap rate but I personally wouldnt go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank latinosteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I really liked this hotel. The room was very clean, staff were friendly and the food was good. A little repetition with the menu but that is always to be expected with All Inclusive. Right on the beach, beautiful views from the balcony. Daytime entertainment was good - a variety of activities not just for kids, we participated in the likes of beach football, archery, and table tennis and had fun. Evening entertainment was probably more suited to families than young adults but was still ok. Rep was good, plenty of advice on day trips, we went on two (would definitely recommend the Pirate Ship - a great day out!). Hotel was perhaps a little out of the way but still plenty of shops to browse around and some nice (cheap) places to eat if you fancy a change from the hotel menu.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicolaS739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Went over Xmas and New year, the food was constantly reheated. everybody we talked to had been ill with a stomach virus. Originally booked into El Fell, but when we got there there It was closed for the Winter but nobody told us till we got there. The holiday company I booked with was Complete holiday Solutions who advertise with Teletext. A dispute is still going on about measuring up to ones expectations of an holiday. Definately booking with high street shops next time such as Thomson etc.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DouglasRamsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hammamet hotels

New Cumnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

just returned from the Dar Khayam, Hammamet, 18/12/11 - 01/01/12, and will not ever go back.
the place is a shambles.the bath in my room, and also that of my sister, was badly scratched. the soap tray and a cover fell of the shower riser whilst i was taking a shower, on separate occasions. see photo.
there were glasses left all over the place and not collected for over 24 hours. there was also marks on the floor of the hallway that looked as if someone had spilt a sticky drink on it and it had set. it was all along the corridor.there was a window across from my sisters room that leaked every time it rained and it did so a lot throughout the holiday. there were towels laid on the puddle, it left, to soak up the water. the cleaner spends less than 5 minutes in your room, i was in mine a few times when she did the clean.
the food was terrible, i had went there because it had been recommended to me as it was supposed to be more UK friendly with the food.
i was all inclusive and lost 2 kilos over the fortnight.
there was a Gala night on both Xmas eve and new years eve and the choices on both nights were 'take it or leave it'. i complained the the Thomas Cook rep and she told all of us, that complained, to see the chef for an alternative choice.
we did and got offered 'salad' or 'omelette'. this for a Gala meal.
even the people that took the meal complained as it took over 3 hours for a 5 course meal. 45 minutes between courses.
the rep, Geordan, was as helpful as 'an ash tray on a motorbike'.
i am tea-total as i don't like the taste of 'drink' and i always take 'fanta' but their stuff even the 'sprite' was awful, more like soda water, and i was forced to take a shandy to cover the taste. or tea as i took more often than not.
i even got my beach towel taken from my room and they didn't care!!
i met a chap from Hamilton, the day before i left, and he had been there in September and lived on pasta for the whole stay because of the terrible food.
he came back for the sun but was in for a big disappointment as there is not much sun at the start of January. we got about three half days over the two weeks. when the sun did come out they were charging 2 dinar (£1) for a sun-bed mattress, per day.
the good bits? the animation team do a good job, the staff are mostly quite friendly and helpful. the pool and grounds are okay and the beach is just at the bottom of the grounds. i dare say that in the summer months it would be a nice place to go to but the food is a total turn off.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ballog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

just got back few weeks ago,first time in tunisia loved the country loved the people.had a brilliant time.hotel was very clean, rooms where clean also.the staff are very freindly,food is ok you just get fed up with it and you want somthing differant.animation team are brilliant cant fault em.with this hotel you do get what you pay for but well worth it.lovely grounds surrounds the hotel with a lovely beach.smart cafes and shisa lounges nearby. we enjoyed are week and cant say anything bad about it . miss it.

Room Tip: pool view bedrooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ellias m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

just got back from 2 weeks in the sun with my grand daughter just want to say a big thank you to Dali and MIMO you made our holiday .Great team ,friendly and fun hotel basic but nice staff friendly,and will help you with anything they can,keep up the good work see you soon sue and lauren

Room Tip: if you dont like what you see they are willing to change the room for you over looking pool are best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susieNWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hammamet
0.1 mi away
Omar Khayam Club
Omar Khayam Club
#52 of 117 in Hammamet
805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Club Les Colombes
Hotel Club Les Colombes
#50 of 117 in Hammamet
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Club President
Hotel Club President
#23 of 117 in Hammamet
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mediterranee Thalasso Golf
Mediterranee Thalasso Golf
#34 of 117 in Hammamet
538 reviews
3.7 mi away
Khayam Garden
Khayam Garden
#1 of 6 in Nabeul
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Fell
Hotel El Fell
#64 of 117 in Hammamet
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Khayam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Khayam Hotel

Property: Dar Khayam Hotel
Address: Rue Omar Kayam, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Khayam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dar Khayam Is located on one of the areas best beaches, we operate a fun and friendly enviroment for our guests enjoyment. The hotel is for families, couples and single guests offering an amazing all inclusive package at a great price. Dar Khayam is centrally positioned between the old town Hammamet and the famous market town of Nabeul. Just outside the hotel entrance within a 300 metre walk are shops, restaurants, English bar, ten pin bowling, water park in summer and atm machines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar Khayam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Khayam Tunisia
Dar Khayam Hammamet
Dar Khayam Hotel Tunisia
Hotel Dar Khayam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing