We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to Regency? NEVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smartline Hammamet Regency
Ranked #44 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Robertsfors
1 review
“Back to Regency? NEVER!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

+Nice big room with big balcony.
-Beds made of stone
-Pillow made of stone
-Cleaning could have been better
-Elevator not working
-Poor breakfast
-Horrible food at the beachrestaurant
-Breakfast area a big mess in the morning, maids sweepin floor close by while we where eating
-HAMMAM : What a joke. The products they used where thinned with water except the oil they used for ¨massage¨. No real massage and the promised 2 h was in reality 1h 25 min.A real waste of money.
**+

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    134
    78
    67
    121
See reviews for
143
193
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

Not sure i would rate it as a 4* however, the staff are very friendly and nice which made up for the rest of the downsides which were not enough choice for breakfast (it was the same everyday), the hotel was clean but could definately do with a lick of paint inside and out, toilets ok (i've seen worse) kitchen/restaurant hygiene couldve been better in that they had cats roaming in and out of the restaurant, flys all over the place (they could do with those fly zapper things).. pool was clean and very nice to sit around. location was central to old medina and yasmine hammamet getting to both was very cheap by taxi or tuk tuk, overall we had an excellent time and would recomment it

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrskEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2008

My husband and I went for a 5 night stay in Regency Hotel and we find the staff very friendly. Although we speak English they were really welcoming and helpful.
Pool and seaside was clean enough to swim and sunbath.
Hotel is just between Yasmine and Hammamet so it was an easy access to anywhere with a taxi.
Also, hotel has a French bed option which we personally adore.

To summarize, we were looking for a friendly and relaxing hotel which was fitted just the way we wanted...

  • Liked — Quiet but ready to help front dest
  • Disliked — Restaurant location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank aidenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2008

We were the only English people in the hotel and as the hotel staff spoke limited English, we felt as though we were isolated, the staff talking to other guests all the time through their lack of our language. Saying that, the staff were polite and friendly. The food is of a good quality and plenty of choice. The beach is secluded and a stone's throw away from the hotel, though it is very small. Overall, there are plenty of busier hotels, especially in Yasmine Hammamet, but for a quiet relaxing break, we would certainly recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank karaoke_mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2007

The hotel was fairly standard but nice. Clean with a nice pool indoor and out, pretty gardens and a lovely courtyard with palm trees and birds.

Breakfast basic but nice too, never tried other food. One small bar and one bigger with entertainment which was a good laugh, even though they didn't speak English.

Staff all speak good French and German but not so good English and this resulted in problems. They couldn't really help us with any advice about going anywhere and what there was to see and many were obviously annoyed that we spoke English when they'd taken the trouble to learn German!

Not they're fault really but the travel company should have been aware that it's not a great place for British tourists.

They had a private beach which wasn't private but it was clean and sunloungers were free, pity there wasn't much sun though! And as everywhere you'll get people trying to sell you stuff.

  • Liked — The gardens
  • Disliked — lack of English speakers
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sukilefey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hammamet hotels

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2007

Hotel was really nice, rooms clean and spacious with balconies over looking the pool, the hotel has a private beach but while the sand is clean the sea is not i saw floating disposable razors and sanitory products while paddling.The pool is clean though. The food is really good and the serviceis first class, however no English go to this hotel only French and German. The owner of the hotel and his family sit and watch the staff all day and night and it gives an uncomfortable feeling and night time entertainment is along the same lines as elevator muzik with cremo and his keyboard. The gift shop is reasonable and is run by Helmi who is really nice as is Waldi on reception who is really friendly

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristelsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2007

I was moved to this hotel having booked a three star hotel that turned out to be nowhere near three stars!!! This hotel is rated three stars by Thomas Cook and I think it is a fair rating. It is self rated as 4 star - and I can see why people booking it as such could be dissapointed.

The hotel is located on the beach - and beach is just a minute or two away from all the rooms of the hotel.

The hotel has quite a poor rating on this site with many (french) people complaining about food - however food is actually was very good - almost excellent - most of the evenings. Probably on par with what you could get in English restaurants (but obviously below the food quality french people expect). I don't think that many hotes in Tunisia (even 5*) offer better food then at Regency.

On the negative side - a bit more maintenance would be quite appropriate. The beach is located next to public pathway and locals tend to encroach on the private beach / sunbeds and they are not a pleasant sight as they go into water in their full clothing and they just walk in the water rather then swim.

The beach has no special area for entertainment and therefore shows are held actually inside the hotel building - which does mean it is extremely loud and impossible to sleep untill midnight or even 1am.

But overall it is most certainly one of the better, probably even one of the best hotels in Tunisia.

  • Liked — On the beach, food better then in other tunisian hotels - especially dinners
  • Disliked — rooms require a bit more maintenance, too many slopes that are quite slippery - stairs would be more appropriate in those places, too much noise in the evenings
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewer2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nesrine
Hotel Nesrine
#59 of 117 in Hammamet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Movie Gate
Hotel Movie Gate
#56 of 117 in Hammamet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.2 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#2 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hammamet Garden Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Menara
Hotel Menara
#47 of 117 in Hammamet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Bravo Hammamet
Hotel Bravo Hammamet
#39 of 117 in Hammamet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smartline Hammamet Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smartline Hammamet Regency

Property: Smartline Hammamet Regency
Address: 112 Avenue Monceq Bey, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia (Formerly Hammamet Regency Hotel)
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#38 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Smartline Hammamet Regency 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The smartline Hammamet Regency offers a huge variety of activities within the hotel. Moreover, the smartline Hammamet Regency is located in the north of Tunisia - directly at the beautiful sandy beach. Just 6 km away is the city center of Hammamet which offers many restaurants and cafes in the oriental flair. The Enfidha airport is just 50 km from the smartline Hammamet Regency away. With the all-inclusive offer from the hotel, you’ve got the possibility to enjoy the meals in the buffet restaurant. Here you find delicious fresh and regional products to each meal time. Moreover, the smartline ice-cream trolley has got fruits and ice cream. Small snacks, coffee and cakes will be offered in the afternoon at the bar. If you want to stay fit during your holidays, you’ve got the chance to play beach volleyball, table tennis and several water activities. In the wellness area of the smartline Hammamet Regency you can relax in the indoor pool or enjoy the wellness treatments. Besides the outdoor pool you can find a separate pool for children. The smartline Hammamet Regency has got in total 190 rooms with free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Smartline Hammamet Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hammamet
Hammamet Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing