We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Les Citronniers
Ranked #49 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great staff clean rooms good inexpensive restaurant near beach and great overall value. An earlier revue complained that locals used the restaurant and bar. This is the best recommendation when locals use a place not something to complain about. If you dont like mixing with locals stay at home !! Family owned and run and many guests return year after year. Compact bedroom and bathroom but everything you need is there. Well run establishment that I will definately return to. Beach snack bar excellent value serving snacks drinks and full meals.No embarrasing entertainments programme just good service and you always feel welcome. Excellent value for budget traveller and for those looking for somewhere in Tunisia that is not not packaged and impersonal. Attractive swimming pool and the beach is a pleasant walk away down a treelined access. Highly recommended and a 2 star establishment that puts many of the 4/5 star palaces to shame. Thank you to everyone there especially the front desk who made me feel so welcome and sad to leave.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peterherbert69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    71
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
43
94
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mosta, Malta
Level Contributor
220 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

It was a true pleasure to stay at this hotel.

First of all - the welcome was great. The staff, particularly at the front office, were extremely helpful and everybody, whether waiters, servants or cleaners - everybody did his best. Well done!

The room was very clean, the bathroom was perfect and water pressure was very strong - so very satisfied here also.

The pool was very clean, well kept and a blessing in the hot weather.

The only thing we feel should be improved is the breakfast. It just included bread, croissant, margerine and jam.Some butter, honey, scrambled eggs and some mergez and some fruit - it would make a huge difference.

Hotel also has a good wifi connection provided free of charge. Location is excellent in the best part of Hammamet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank markmosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed here with my partner and we loved it. It is a but basic but very clean and the staff were superb. The food is great value and is lovely. It is very personal and friendly and I would definately recommend it

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerrygirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this lovely independent hotel in June 2012 and were pleased that we had read in advance the reviews previous gusts had written and upon which we based our choice.
Polite staff, attentive owners and a 3 course dinner ar 12 Dinar (£4.80 ). No complaints, time restrictions or excuses given when you made a request. Knowledgeable local information given with a smile and a service supplied that major hotel chains would do well to emulate.
We will go back to sample the simple delights and wonderful beach of this basic but exceptional hotel.
Teenagers would probably hate it as there is no entertainment so I mmention that to keep the noisy, selfish yougsters away but wonderful for the more mature generation ( a little selfish here meself ).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denisallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Me and my mum stayed in this hotel for a week in July. The staff were really polite and welcoming to us. The rooms and most of the hotel was spotlessly clean. The rooms were really comfortable and cosy. We did feel that there was a lack of facilities, such as a fridge and small kitchen commodities e.g. sink, kettle but that was about it. The hotel is in a good location, only a few minutes walk from the beach and from shops - but at the same time, the hotel is in a quiet and tranquil location. The breakfast was basic - bread, orange juice, jam and butter - but what can one expect for the small price paid for the hotel. The hotel restaurant offered a good menu with basic, versatile dishes such as roast turkey/pasta/pizza and they also had set menus which were a bargain. The restaurant did get quite busy in most evenings and service would often be slow, but what can you expect when the restaurant has more customers than its capacity. Occasionally the waiters seemed impatient during busy evenings. I would reccomend staying here with families and couples for a simple but relaxing and enjoyable break. I wouldn't say that the hotel is up to honeymoon standards but its great for couples, as there were quite a few couples there when we stayed. Excellent value for money and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We decided on the hotel because it was midway between Hammamet and Jasmine.

We arrived to a very helpful reception area and were made to feel welcome right away.

The hotel room was a decent size and whilst maybe a little tired in appearance was exceptionally clean (and kept so throughout the stay) and as it was facing over the pool it was actually nice and quiet.
We did notice the front area of the hotel was busy and any room over looking this would have had the background noise of many people talking and having an enjoyable holiday. Please don't think it was excessively noisy as it wasn't, just the noise you'd expect at the front of any hotel.

There was a safety deposit box in the room which we made use of, as at 7dinars per week this was excellent value for money.

There was free WIFI provided and the signal in the indoor bar area was pretty good and the connection was reliable although not terribly fast at times.

The bar prices were very reasonable for both alcoholic and non alcholic drinks, sometimes the service was a tad slow but that was only because the staff were rushed off their feet in the food areas. Perhaps a dedicated staff member at the bar might have helped...but the slight delays didn't cause us any issues as we were on holidays and not in a rush to do anything.

The staff were all very pleasant and very polite. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for any of them at any time.

The food in the restaurant of the hotel was simply excellent, especially given the very reasonable prices they charged! perhaps a little more choice of Tunisian dishes would have been better but the quality of what we had was very high. Each meal was preceded by a plate of olives, harissa, mayo and bread and on many occassions we were given a lemon sorbet style ice cream.
Food was served very quickly and always appeared freshly cooked.

The hotel has it's own private beach and beach bar area. We found the beach to be very clean and the beach bar charged the same prices as the main hotel. There are sunbeds and parasols and for two of us this was a reasonable 2dinars.

The pool at the hotel was kept very clean and we saw them test the water every day.
When we stayed we virtually had the pool to ourselves..very exclusive :-)

We found the location to be ideal for us...only a 40 min walk along the beach to Hammamet proper or a 3 to 4 dinar cab ride.
There is a small supermarket just up from the hotel and a range of shops further along the street the hotel is on.

There is not a lot to do in the evenings in the area and the hotel did not lay on any entertainment...this to us was a huge bonus!

This hotel would be ideal for couples who don't want night life on the door but not really suited to those with kids and/or who, themselves, want to be kept occupied in the evening as there is limited activity locally.

Simply put this is an excellent hotel, offering far more than it's 2 stars and with quality and value that would be hard to beat. We had a wonderful time here and would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: opt for a pool view room to minimise noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ollossm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

I have family in tunisia and go to see them every year and every year I stay at the Les Citronniers with my mum. We have to got to know all the staff and they are all very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The rooms are very clean. The Local beach is a short walk away and is very clean. The snack cafe on the beach serves delicious fresh local food, a must! the breakfast is very basic but not a problem for us as we normally ate fruit anyway.

Room Tip: all rooms have a lovely view of either the sea, pool or gardens. not a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie_Mcbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.7 mi away
Residence la Paix
Residence la Paix
#54 of 117 in Hammamet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hamilton Hotel
Hamilton Hotel
#81 of 117 in Hammamet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Hammamet
Residence Hammamet
#69 of 117 in Hammamet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Romane
Residence Romane
#76 of 117 in Hammamet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.7 mi away
smartline Mediteranee
smartline Mediteranee
#35 of 117 in Hammamet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Bravo Hammamet
Hotel Bravo Hammamet
#39 of 117 in Hammamet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Citronniers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Citronniers

Property: Hotel Les Citronniers
Address: Rue de Nevers, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Les Citronniers 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Les Citronniers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Citronniers Hotel
Les Citronniers Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing