We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW SIMPLY THE BEST HOLIDAY EVER”
Review of Chich Khan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chich Khan
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We travelled as a group of 12, 6 adults and 6 kids. We arrived around 11.30pm and had been travelling since 10am. Upon arrival we were taken into the resturant and given food and drinks, it was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble.
Our rooms were spotless and I loved the little piece of paper over the toilet to tell us it had been sanatised, the maids did a grand job, you can have your bed changed as often as you like and fresh towels everyday, do tip these people as they work hard 5 -10 dinar a week.The laundry service is worthwhile as its quite cheap and you dont pay for infants clothing, brilliant . The pool is spotless and the sunbeds were being recovered during our stay. The inside of the hotel is also spotless and wow its beautiful and so calm and relaxing, very traditional in style, which I was very happy about, nothing worse than these awful modern hotels when you want to experience a bit of culture. The staff everywhere were outstanding ,always a smile and time for a chat .Rhiad at the pool bar was an absoulte star, we didnt even have to move from our sunbeds to get our drinks. Now the guys and girls of the animation team what can i say except THE BEST.. a special mention goes to the Bossman Rico and Dean. The food is excellent and plentyful and there is something for the fussiest of eaters, at 4pm at the pool bar there are waffles and crepes with chocolate sauce yum, any wonder my clothes were tigh by 2nd week ,the que for this can be quite long.
Lots of daytime activities.and all so much fun, my little girl went to mini club from 10am-12pm and 3pm-5pm, my 11 yr old son was hardly seen from 10am-6pm lol he had so many things to do. My sister , our friend and myself went for a seaweed scrub in the hotel spa we also had the Turkish bath so relaxing and worth the money which was about £7. You must also go and visit Ali for some smoke on his hubbly bubbly pipes. The ani team put on some great shows in the evening which finish at 11.30pm, beware audience participation is usually required lol..its good fun. The ani team speak lots of languages. Out the gates of the hotel and to the right are some shops there are 2 fixed price shops, the first one you come to is brill,you do get a little bit of hassle but just be very firm with them,shop around also and be wary that the shops along the beach front and marina area are way more expensive! I did not enjoy the Medina , shop people where in your face and pulling at you, there where a few fixed price no hassle shops. MIND the roads..... ZEBRA CROSSINGS MEAN NOTHING.
Taxi rides and tuc tucs are very cheap but do agree a price before your journey just to be sure. I have read reviews that have not been complimentry about CK, and yes perhaps the bathroom needs new grout !!! but i cannot fault it and im not there 2 inspect the grout.
The only problems i had were with other guests like the ones who complained to us the night we arrived that we were making noise at 12.30 whilst going to our rooms...yes 6 excited children just arrived on their hols !!!!! and the people who complained that it was unhygenic for my niece to wear a tshirt into the pool??? she was sunburned even though she was wearing block.....and how so when the frogs swim in it at night lol forgot to mention the frogs.... they are harmless and really avoid people unless 1 wanders into the middle of the crowd during the show, then its hilarious, not much mossie problems either.
Hope I have packed as much info into this ramblings to help you reach a decision about your choice, we are going back next aug and I cant wait.

Hope you have a lovely holiday wherever you decide to go xxx

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Obrien69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,373)
There are newer reviews for Chich Khan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,764 - 1,770 of 2,373 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2009

From the moment we arrived at the chich khan I knew it was going to be the best holiday, we walked into the beautiful reception area and were taken to a room where we could relax from our early morning flight they handed us entry cards we filled them out whilst given a little speech about the hotel and given what tasted like home made lemeonade yum yum! we were then given our key and were told we could go to our room and our suitcases would follow. Amazing.

When we entered our room we were amazed of how clean well decorated it was, nice little star lamps by the mirror and a huge bed all presented to perfection. We opened our curtains and low and be hold a pool view with a geneourous sized balcony with a nice little table and two chairs. the toilet is separate to the bathroom and it was very clean and there was shower gel available. The wardrobe space and cupboards were very large which helped with all our clothes!

The food was really good you had pasta spaghetti bolognaise, sometimes steak pie chips cous cous, pizza little selections for the kids, mash potato fish steak salad cheeses fruit chicken spices, the deserts were lovely ice cream, cakes cream. Breakfast you could have crepes cereal Nescafe coffee!! scrambled egg sausages (beware no brown sauce anywhere in Tunisia take your own if you a fan!!)

The pool was amazing very clean you do have to get up early if you want a sunbed on the morning we were leaving there were people up at half 6!! but people do leave throughout the day so don’t panic if you cant get one we were getting down there between half 8 and half 9 sometimes later and always managed to get one.

The man at the bar (i dont know his name) at the pool was brilliant we didn’t even have to get up to get our own drinks he bought them to us and looked after us the whole holiday.

The other bars were lovely as well all the staff were very friendly and the entertainment team were the best (Freddy was great!). The reps service was the best we had and she is very friendly.

The spa looked lovely yet we didn’t use it there is mini golf and tennis as well. The beach was very good and you could even have your lunch down there as there is a bar (all inclusive) its only about a 5 minute walk.

Carthage land just a short walk from the hotel to your right is a nice place to go in the evening it has a variety of restaurants if you fancy a change.

We went to the animal park on one of the trips which was good yet it was very very hot when we went so please take lots of sun cream.

We also went for a visit to the old medina which cost 7 dinar in a taxi which is about £3.50 worth a visit as there is a lot of shops.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank noMoreLies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Just returned from the Chich Khan a few days ago. Stayed 11 days glad we did more than a week so we could fit in the trips. The reps night out was very funny the meal was ok but not large portions have a good lunch before you go.The hotel was very clean, all staff very friendly. Good choice of food not too spicy. Chefs cooked food in front of you.
The rooms were cleaned daily and clean towels and bed sheets were also available daily.
Used the beauty salon and had a massage after the sauna which was very good.
The bar staff were very attentive and cleaned away dirty glasses and ash trays quickly. If you like cocktails then ask Anis to make them he was brilliant.
Ondine the Thomas cook Rep very helpful. went on 5 of the trips and enjoyed them all.
If you want to take photos on the trips you have to pay for a permit it costs 1 dinar approx 50 p not many places that didn't charge you.
The rep on the way to the hotel warned my 25 yr old daughter about the male attention but I didn't expect to be get any attention. Wrong seems that any female without any males present no matter the age was considered a target. I shall never forget my daughters face when I was asked out by a 26 yr old male!!! (priceless).
The shop owners in the souks were a bit in your face but just be firm and say no.
There are two fixed price shops near the hotel where you can browse and just go and pay for your goods this was great just like shopping back home.
Considering a return trip later in the year when it isn't so hot so we can do the 2 day dessert trip.
The only complaints I have was not enough sun beds and the air con could have been a bit cooler for the summer season temperatures.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juanleCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

I read reviews, mostly high rated. I agree. For a single woman not looking a romance with a domestic man it is difficult to stay alone and simply enjoy hotel's offer. You are invited to go out in the evening. By accepting such an offer you are forced to to buy lot of drinks for the gentleman and his company. Men are mostly married or will soon get. So, they hang on you to assure themselves a financial resource.
have been to Tunisia many times and didn't expect this kind of activity in an overaverage hotel like this. Especially be aware of momo and other guys booking camel ride or quadbike ,pirate and carpet man. Do not let you be involved with them and their sweet behaviour. It hearts after you fall inlove, lost a fortune and find out the thruth.
i recommend the hotel for all kind of groups but single girl.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank disapointedgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

We stayed at Chich Khan for 7nts from 14/06/09. On arrival we were allocated room 1009 which met our expectations but was on the ground floor with a grassy patch as a terrace which was shared with 6 other rooms. We wanted a bit more privacy and asked to be moved to a room higher up. This was no problem and we were shown to room 1455 which had a large balcony + a lovely view of the restaurant.

The restaurant had something for everyone. The food was tasty + cooked well. We saw many people go up for thirds!! The waiters are brilliant. Once they know you they'll remember where you prefer to sit + what you like to drink. They make you feel very welcome + always have a smile on their face.

The animation team were always dressed up doing something. Friday night was alot of fun with the traditional tunisian music, bellydancer and other various acts. We liked to go to the Skifa bar in the evenings where Anis makes great cocktails!

At the pool the sunbeds were almost always taken, but the pool was nice to relax in. The photographer came round and took photos which you can later buy for around £2.50. Saber will be happy to bring you a drink from the bar to the pool.

Beware of Majdi... He will be sitting by the reception and ask, 'Would you like a free trip into Hammamet?' You go in a campervan where you are taken to a carpet shop. We did actually enjoy this trip but he then pestered us for the rest of the week. We saw him in the medina one evening where we had a drink.. he then invited 5 of his friends to the cafe and expected us to pay for all their food and drinks too!! He comes across as a friendly, innocent guy but is very calculating and just wants to take you for a ride...

The pirate ship is a must!! But do shop around as we payed Thomas Cook 35 dinars for the trip + later saw it for 20 by the marina.
Ondine the TC Rep is really helpful, she knows anything + everything there is to know about the resort.
The private beach is lovely as is the beach at Hammamet which is a 10min taxi journey away and costs about £3.50.
The medina is very full on. They shout and grab at you from all angles. Just say a firm NO and walk on. It can feel quite daunting but it is a funny experience!
Also, the young boys handing out jasmine became annoying after the first day. We did find ourselves throwing it back at them! This may sound harsh but is stops them following you down the street..

We loved Tunisia! Chich Khan is a great place to stay and we will definitely return next year!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hsm_tunisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

i went to the chich khan 14th june. the hotel was spotless and the food is great
i meet a family there. heather_honey1. the entertainers were fab and always tried to get you to activites and there club dances. the entertainment finished at 11pm and then a disco till 1.

would recommend

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ambersissins_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

I travelled with my 7yr old daughter & this is the first yr she has stayed at the mini club, this is all down to the ladies that run it (Houda & Gabi) they were fantastic & my daughter just loved them to bits, it was nice to have those couple of hours in the morn & afternoon as i could then join in the activites & not worry about her!
The hotel itself was always spotless, staff were always pleasant & very helpfull, food was alright (i'm a very fussy eater though!), & there was always food of some kind being served somewhere throughout the day!
the pool wasnt that big but was big enough for the amount of guests that were staying there.
the evening entertainment was fab, starts with the kids mini disco then onto a show for the whole family which finishes at 11 with the club dances (these are catchy & are good fun to join in with!) then there is a disco till1am (clearly no kiddies allowed lol)
Am thinking of going back there next year as we both really enjoyed ourselves-its got the best star friends team of any iberostar hotel ive been too!
if you do venture outside the hotel just be warned that locals have no concept of personal space & are very touchy feelly, esp towards kids & those who are blonde, but they are harmless enough & didnt spoil our holiday at all!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1heather_honey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.5 mi away
Houda Yasmine Hammamet
Houda Yasmine Hammamet
#40 of 118 in Hammamet
1,051 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Laico Hammamet
Hotel Laico Hammamet
#29 of 118 in Hammamet
796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lella Baya & Thalasso Hotel
Lella Baya & Thalasso Hotel
#36 of 118 in Hammamet
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#12 of 118 in Hammamet
1,263 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vincci Flora Park
Vincci Flora Park
#25 of 118 in Hammamet
883 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
#31 of 118 in Hammamet
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chich Khan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chich Khan

Address: Rue la Medina | Street Medina, Yasmine, Hammamet 8056, Tunisie, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#26 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: $58 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chich Khan 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approx 200 m from the hotel's own beach sector. In the centre of Yasmine, Hammamet (Tunisia). Built in Moorish style. Family–friendly complex. Elegant atmosphere. Lively entertainment program. Facilities for incentive-groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chich Khan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Chich Khan Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing