We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family holiday!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chich Khan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chich Khan
Ranked #32 of 123 Hotels in Hammamet
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great family holiday!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of 4 with children aged 11 and 13. We went on holiday with another family and our initial expectations were not high after having read the previous reviews but you have to make up your own mind and we got a really good deal. We were there for 2 weeks and our only negatives were having to get up at 5.30 in the morning to get sun loungers as there are only half the amount for the number of guests staying at the resort, also the choice of food options for kids is minimal and the same everyday which gets a bit boring! The food is not the greatest but you'll find something to eat. After our initial hicup with our rooms, we paid for interconnecting rooms but got a family room, we were moved to the newly decorated rooms which were fab! The staff were great, once they'd been tipped they kept the drinks coming, thanks Ali!! The entertainment team made a real effort to get everyone involved in all activities and definitely kept us entertained! The pirate ship trip is a must and the quad biking was wicked! Overall we had a great holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tun01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    624
    346
    177
    138
See reviews for
789
716
48
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very disappointing hotel. Not 4star as advertised, more like a two star rating, needs a good revamp / clean up. , sunbed issues, if you weren't up at 5, you didn't get one, my advice to you is don't book, choose another hotel in the area, Thomas cook need to take a serious look into the issues there and start rating hotels appropriately, you will not be disappointed with Tunisia as a place, just avoid the chich khan at all costs, Lovely weather, friendly people, lovely food, just do not waste your hard earned cash, we went in a party of 10 and did not let the hotel spoil things , we ate at 4 other hotels, also rated 4 star and they were lovely, wish i had booked one of them instead, i have never written a review on anything before but had to comment as it was so bad, dirty, unclean pool, eating area at pool side, could go on, Look around is my advice

Room Tip: Don't book at all !! Our room was awful, honestly,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Chich Khan, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Although we are very sorry to hear that your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Chich Khan hotel didn’t meet your expectations, we thank you for sharing a review with your personal impressions so we can take your vision into account to improve in our daily services.
For IBEROSTAR thorough cleaning is an absolute must and we want to apologize for not fulfilling your expectations. We have protocols and procedures to guarantee satisfying results regarding hygiene and cleanliness. For future occasions we strongly encourage you to contact our reception in case you find any shortage. To us it is of prime importance to offer total confidence in this area and we will be enchanted to adjust any situation which is not in accordance with our established standards.

Also, we regret that apparently we failed to ensure that the hotel policy, forbidding the reservation of sun beds, was respected during your visit. We will do our utmost to make sure that in the future this doesn´t happen again.

Once again, we thank you for the opportunity that you gave us and the comments you shared; we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the chance of serving you again in our hotels worldwide ensuring you in advance of our utmost care and dedication.

Warmest Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Having booked a year ago I would hope to at least have enough beds in the rooms to sleep five of us, but apparently all beds were being used so a settee top on the floor was all that could be provided. Broken air-con meant we had to change rooms which was when the bed problem then occurred. With demand for sunbeds high, the pool very full at times and queues for food, the hotel is definitely one to visit out of summer hols.

Room Tip: If you don't get what you expect ask as it makes a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AF212013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Chich Khan, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our IBEROSTAR Chich Khan hotel for your holidays and for the time you spent to write your impressions about your stay as it is our best way to know where we can still improve in our daily services in order to deliver unforgettable vacation experiences to our guests.

We lament reading that the air conditioning in your room could not be fixed during your stay and we had no other option than to change your room, our hotel being fully booked, unfortunately we couldn’t offer you the same room type and that is why we had an issue with the beds, we deeply apologize for the inconvenience and commit to do our utmost so that situations like this one will never occur in the future.

It is true that when a hotel is fully booked, especially during high season, even though we do our best to be proactive and limit queues into our restaurant, we can sometimes have difficulties to avoid them from happening and suggest that for a quieter stay you consider avoiding the peak season in the most touristic areas such as Hammamet Yasmine.

Once more we want to say how worthy your opinion is to us and thank you again for sharing it on Tripadvisor. We look forward to serving you in the future in our IBEROSTAR hotels worldwide and send you our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Chich Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

After reading other mixed reviews about this hotel I was slightly apprehensive but I did nt need to be. The building is lovely, exactly what I hoped for in Tunisia, a little tired in a few areas but to be expected. The staff are all fantastic and nothing is too much trouble for them and if you choose to tip they are very great full of anything although I did nt tip each time just when I felt appropriate.
The Tunisian food they offer is absolutely amazing and they cater for all tastes (even serving pizza,chips pasta etc for the less adventurous!). It was a great holiday as we just sat in the sun and were waited on hand and foot which was great as much food and drink as you wanted. The sun bed situation is a slight issue as people got up at 5am and lay towels to reserve them but you usually found one in the afternoon, however there seemed to be a problem with the hotel towels- you have to pay 20 dinars per towel which was refundable but as lots of towels were left on the sun beds to reserve quite a few people found their towels had disappeared and the money claimed, we used our own towels so did nt have any of these problems. Outside of the hotel there are many shops and pushy tunisian shop keepers but this is there culture and just don t be intimidated.
We will definately return as we all loved it.

Room Tip: Rooms around 1370 were much quieter as you could nt hear the disco in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sasperellalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I had a wonderful holiday here. I've read other comments and wonder if we were even staying at the same hotel! I really enjoyed the food. There's lots of choice in the buffet restaurant.... I only eat chicken and fish, so for someone who's restricting their food choice on purpose, I still had loads of great things to choose from.The outdoor restaurant at lunchtime is amazing too. It's like your dream barbacue, with a bar next door. Obviously!

What is there to complain about?! Okay the only thing was the Mexican themed restaurant. Those chicken fajitas could be great, but they didn't have any spice.

We had a room at the front of the hotel (not overlooking the pool) and loved it. We preferred to sunbathe on the beds under the palm trees in the garden rather than be glued to the edge of the pool (yes you would have to be up early to secure one of those!) I thought that the people who worked there were lovely. Yes, they're very appreciative of tips, but nobody ever made me feel uncomfortable. I've read reviews that people were rude or grabby and that's just not the case in my experience.

My only real downside was the beach, because people weren't so great about picking up litter, but that's down to visitors, the beach itself is lovely. Outside of the hotel, I didn't find the locals annoying as some people have said. If you say a firm polite no, it's no problem. And, if you do want to have a bit of a barter, it's quite good fun.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hotel which some have said is noisier (we didn't hear anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jenoise2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

After being recommended this hotel by travel agent , as it wasn't a cheap holiday our expectations were high. We were disappointed. When we arrived we hadn't expected to queue to get through passport control for one and half hours after a short flight then had a long wait for transfer to hotel as people were still queuing Upon arrival at the hotel we were quickly showed to the room it was a nice big room which had a double bed but the third bed was a camp bed which was not very good for an 18 year old for two weeks. We were also surprised that the safe deposit boxes are in reception area not in the rooms. As everyone else has said up at 5 to get a sunbed ridiculous as you are supposed to be on holiday. A lifeguard is there but really he is a sunbed manager, he never watches the pool but I am sure he would be there if anyone had difficulties. . Food very repetitive .Constant hassle when leaving the hotel by kids selling flowers, taxi drivers, horse and cart rides, some shop owners even on trips people trying to sell you things from cigarettes to holding desert foxes for pictures. On the plus side we did an overnight trip to the Sahara which was amazing and the hotel rep was doing all she could to help with the many faults of this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Chich Khan, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to express our gratitude for choosing our IBEROSTAR Chich Khan hotel for your holidays and for the time and effort you spent to share a review on your stay as we are always happy to take our guests’ suggestions into consideration to improve in our daily services.
We are sorry to hear your disappointment on your arrival at the airport and transfer, however these are organized by your tour operator and not the hotel itself, so there is very little we can do to enhance these services.
Also, we lament hearing that the gastronomy offer couldn’t meet your expectations because in IBEROSTAR we know how important meals are for the overall holiday experience of our guests, our chefs do their utmost to prepare a wide choice of Tunisian and international delights in order to please all palates, we are sorry to read that we couldn’t conquer yours.
We would like to suggest that for any upcoming holiday planning with us, you contact directly our call center where we can offer you a personalized booking guidance for you to choose the destination, hotel type and services in accordance with all your holiday needs and wishes ensuring you in advance of our utmost care and dedication.
Once again, many thanks for choosing IBEROSTAR, we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to may serve you again in our hotels worldwide.
Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Wow....what a great week! Together with my wife , teenage daughter and son I returned from an all inclusive stay at the Iberostar Chich Khan on 2nd Aug '13. We had never been to Tunisia before and were a little apprehensive about what it would be like. However, it turned out to be one of the most enjoyable holidays we have ever had. The hotel staff were very polite and obliging, the waiters couldn't do enough for you (Sofien was a pure star) , the dining room staff especially Sami, Hadi and Adnen (sorry if spelled wrong) were brill, and last but not least the animatiom team were were truly amazing. Mario, Mimi, Looky, Mohamedo and the rest of the team were fantastic. They had bundles of energy and Mimi had more than the rest put together! All in all a great holiday, food , accommodation , entertainment brill, we shall return.

Room Tip: We had two rooms on the 2nd floor which overlooked the central reception atrium area. King size be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
3.3 mi away
Hotel Bravo Hammamet
Hotel Bravo Hammamet
#38 of 123 in Hammamet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
#31 of 123 in Hammamet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.5 mi away
Houda Yasmine Hammamet
Houda Yasmine Hammamet
#39 of 123 in Hammamet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Laico Hammamet
Hotel Laico Hammamet
#23 of 123 in Hammamet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Palace
Marina Palace
#103 of 123 in Hammamet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Saphir Palace & Spa
Saphir Palace & Spa
#40 of 123 in Hammamet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chich Khan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chich Khan

Property: Chich Khan
Address: Rue la Medina | Street Medina, Yasmine, Hammamet 8056, Tunisie, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#24 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chich Khan 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approx 200 m from the hotel's own beach sector. In the centre of Yasmine, Hammamet (Tunisia). Built in Moorish style. Family–friendly complex. Elegant atmosphere. Lively entertainment program. Facilities for incentive-groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Chich Khan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Chich Khan Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing