We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pretty but wouldnt go back.”
Review of Chich Khan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chich Khan
Ranked #34 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very pretty but wouldnt go back.”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We,ve just come home from a week in Chich Khan, 31 of us for our Honeymoon!
The hotel is very pretty and well maintained but I wouldn't return.
Firstly we had nothing but hassel from reception from day one. Constantly asking our party to go to reception to give room numbers then being told everything was ok....Then having letters put through our doors asking us to go again and once again telling us it was ok?
Half of our parties ac didn't work and they was constantly asking for it to be repaired with no joy.
The food was plentiful but a lot of us had upset tummies.
We normally go to a different hotel in Tunisia and cant fault the service but here we were hunting for a glass in the dining hall and the tables were not cleaned very quickly.
We had to do the towel on the sunbed at 6am thing every day and fight for a mattress which was like paper.
We had the typical hassel from shop keepers but we expected that.
There are quite a few steps around the hotel so not really suitable for elderly people.
The best thing about the hotel was the rooms were kept spotless by the maids every day and the Bar Staff are great! The drinks are strong and keep coming!
My 20 year old twins loved it and the staff were great to them.
All in all not my favourite holiday but not the worse!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverdancer41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Chich Khan, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to express our gratitude for selecting our IBEROSTAR Chich Khan hotel for such a special occasion and please receive our most heartfelt congratulations for your recent marriage.
We are sorry about the inconvenience related to our reception contacting your party on several occasions; however as the room allocation didn’t correspond to the reservation made through your travel agency and not being able to check your vouchers as they were in your luggage, we had to contact you again to be informed about who was allocated to which room striving to not bother with the vouchers on your arrival and offering you a quick check in.
Unfortunately it is not uncommon that European tourists need a while of adaptation after the sudden change in their diet and water consume, we hope that you are totally recovered at this time; our Chefs work in accordance with our company’s high quality standards related to food preparation and they do their best to offer a wide choice of Tunisian delights and international cuisine in order to guarantee a variety of dishes and please all palates; further, this hotel participates in the new concept of “Dine Around” in collaboration with our other IBEROSTAR hotels in the Hammamet area, proposing thematic menus ranging from Asian, Italian, Mediterranean and Mexican cuisine to offer an alternative to the buffet meals in our main restaurant.
Moreover, we thank you for your positive note related to the cleanliness of your room and common grounds as it is a matter of primary importance for our company and we want to give total confidence in this area.
Last but not least, we thank you for pointing out our staff; they all work very hard and are fully guest oriented, their friendliness and professionalism is one of our main strength and we are glad to see that our bar staff surprised you positively with their particular attention to service and that your son had a great holiday thanks to our animation staff.
Once again, many thanks for choosing IBEROSTAR for your honeymoon, we hope to may serve you again for your future anniversaries in our hotels worldwide.
Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    623
    349
    179
    142
See reviews for
789
720
49
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We spent 2 weeks here and arrived home yesterday, at first I was very disappointed in the rooms that are very tired looking to the stage the lamp shades where burnt in the bedrooms, and to get a sun bed we had to be up at 6am otherwise you had no chance really, the pool area was really small and sun bed where crammed in, but the service from the waiting staff made up for this they where friendly and always checking if you needed drinks, food was not great we lived on rice and chips for 2 weeks but again we didn't expect to much food wise before heading over really, I would like to say the photography team where great giving me some beautiful picture of my family to cherish and Bilel aka billy ( skip cap kid ) was very pleasant and very helpful and took some lovely pictures and went out his way to help in any way he could, he and a few others actually made our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnesglasgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Chich Khan, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing IBEROSTAR Chich Khan Hotel for your holidays and are grateful that you shared your experience, as this will guide us to adapt our services to achieve maximum customer satisfaction.

We are sorry to hear your disappointment with the room and lament not to have been informed about the imperfections you found as we would have looked for an immediate solution, in fact, we have a maintenance team ready to solve any failure that may be caused at our hotel, this is why we strongly encourage you to contact our reception for anything you may need during your holiday with us.


Also, we regret that apparently we failed to ensure that the hotel policy, forbidding the reservation of sun beds, was respected during your visit. We will do our utmost to make sure that in the future this doesn´t happen again.

The restaurants at our IBEROSTAR Chich Khan hotel offer a selection of the best local and international recipes; this is why we feel sad when we read that you didn’t really enjoy the efforts of our cooks; we informed the head department and are revising our procedures in order to see how we can still improve on this matter.

On the other hand we thank you for highlighting the kindness and helpfulness of our staff as they do their utmost to make our guests feel welcome and enjoy our desire to serve them, we will definitely congratulate them on your behalf as they will be happy to know that you mentioned them so positively in your review and that they contributed to your wellbeing during your holiday.
We hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the pleasure to serve you again in our hotels worldwide at your earliest convenience.
Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just returned from a 1 week stay. The hotel is lovely - definitely the best part of our holiday.

Only slight gripes - the room was a little disappointing - the bathroom door didn't shut properly and the shower flooded the whole place. We had to use the shower head as a 'handheld device' because if water hit the shower screen it leaked through the wide gap between that and the bath. Bedding was a bit hit and miss - sometimes we got some, sometimes we didn't. We didn't complain because the room was in a great position with a terrace garden overlooking the pool on the ground floor. A little hop over a low wall and we were pool side. Which came in handy when I had to get up at 5am!! to reserve a sunbed. I was gobsmacked when I realised that guests were getting up so early to lay towels on sunbeds. There is clearly not enough beds to go around and this resulted in a mad scramble each morning with guests tipping staff heftily to make sure they got the best spot. The pool was glorious, the staff really friendly and enthusiastic (they became more so once tipped!), the food was good - plenty of it, good quality - just a bit repetitive however.

The hotel was clean, the lobby really impressive (a small part of which has free wireless internet) and the bars well stocked. Some parts perhaps a little bit shabby around the edges. But, compared to the other places we visited whilst in Tunisia, the Chich Khan seems like an Oasis in the desert. Once outside the hotel, be prepared for plently of hassle from taxi drivers, children selling flowers, guys trying to persuade you to take a ride in the most pitiful and pungently smelly horse and carriage. Having experienced it, we tended to stay within the peaceful confines of the hotel. Overall - would definitely recommend - Staff so friendly and helpful, hotel big and impressive, food great and plentiful. We had a great time - Thank you Chich Khan!

Room Tip: Worth requesting a pool view room because the hotel faces onto a busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellielou07072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Arrived after a quick 2.5 hour flight from Gatwick, had to wait a hour for passport control to open (Ramadam, so expect delays)
The hotel looked good from the outside & all the public areas are ok.

The room itself was a bit dated but comfy beds & a good hot shower.. however no tea or coffee making facilities & no room safe! You could hire a safe in the reception area but who wants to go back & forwards to the reception area.
We requested a pool view.. bad move as the nightly entertainment is so loud it sounds like it in the balcony, this finishes between 11-11.30pm each night.
Nice pool area but never had a chance of a sunbed so went to the so called "private" beach instead.
Do NOT have a photo taken near a camel or horse on the beach!! they want money.. do not sit on a camel as soon as you do they make it stand up & walk off down the beach, they are very friendly until you get off & then become very angry & intimidating.. even making people return to the hotel for more money!! & these are grown men!! BEWARE! don't fall for it.

Other "lookie lookie" men are selling fruit, scarfs, fags, jewellery etc so this is not a Private beach.. however the sunbed man is lovely, he will even reserve a bed for you if you tip & ask him.
Food & drink at the beach is ok, average beach food.
The hotel food was good & included is the A la carte Mexican which again was nice but book this asap. You are offered a "dine around option at other Iberostar hotels but we didn't go & couldn't put up with hastle between hotels..

Overall the hotel is nice, rooms are dated & I know you don't spend too much time in your hotel but ripped curtains etc so needs work.

This is an ok holiday for a cheap getaway to the sun, large hotels in area as built for tourism.

Staff are nice & friendly including the waiters & cleaners..

Go and enjoy the sun but don't expect too much in the way of luxury

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahdte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Chich Khan, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to express our gratitude for your visit at our IBEROSTAR Chich Khan hotel and for dedicating your time and effort to write this review as we are glad to may learn from your experience and take your vision into account to achieve maximum adaption to our guests’ needs.

We took good note of your comment related to the lack of a coffee or tea making facility; however our hotel being on half board or All Inclusive we offer our guests the possibility to have their drinks all day long at our restaurants and bars.
On the other hand, we are glad to read that you felt comfortable in the room we accommodated you in, you enjoyed the efforts of our Chefs, and that you felt well cared after by our staff as these are the prime pillars of our company to offer splendid holiday’s experiences to our guests.
Once again, we thank you for your comments and look forward to may welcome you again in our hotels worldwide.
Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

So where to start? this is a hotel that kind of played with my emotions a bit if I'm honest. Rooms, they are big enough, a bit shabby but unfortunately we had to move rooms twice and got 3 dodgy ones. First room had an ant infestation on day 2 and i mean lots of ants a whole bleeding army! Room 2 had bed bugs yup I even googled pictures of them to make sure I wasn't doing the hotel an injustice. Room 3 had a terrible smell of mould...probably due to the huge mould patch on the ceiling. In all three rooms the air con was barely acceptable to poor. The pool was nice and well kept, but not a sunbed in sight after 7am all had towels on them and no people! Now I appreciate that this is down to guests and not a fault of the hotel itself however they claim to have a strict policy of not reserving sunbeds, which I'm sure they do but no one enforces it, in which case get some more sunbeds! On to the restaurant. The food is good plentiful, hot a tad repetitive, but hey if you have some good food so what!The waiters are excellent happy quick and eager to please. Yes I did tip them and the service improved, however it was excellent even before I tipped them. The same goes for bar staff, animation team, to be honest this is where my conflict arises the staff are great. They go out of their way to help and make your holiday special. The problem is they are dealing with a tatty in some cases smelly building which badly needs some cash spending on it. I have given it 2 stars because I would never go back, but I struggle a bit because of all the lovely people working there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Chich Khan, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Frist of all we would like to thank you for your visit and for the time and effort spent writing and sharing a review on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Chich Khan hotel as this helps us understand where we can improve in our daily services to deliver great holidays to our guests.
Related to the rooms, well, they are clearly not up to our usual demanding standards and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay; we passed on your comment to our Management in order to have an accurate check on our entire building. At IBEROSTAR we have strict protocols and procedures related to bedbugs infestations aimed to protect our hotel from plagues brought in by customers’ luggage after having stored them in the aircraft’s hold which is a common place of infection. In the event of a failure in our preventive cares, we activate quarantine in the affected room. As soon as the situation is controlled, textile and mattresses are destructed and replaced before assigning the room to the next guests.
Further, as you well mention, according to the hotel policies, reserving sunbeds is not allowed. We try our best to ensure the following of this standard, especially during high season where this happens more often and we apologize if exceptionally during your stay we weren’t able to have a total control on this matter.
On the other hand, we would like to thank you for highlighting the kindness and helpfulness of our staff; we will definitely pass on your comment as they will be happy to know that they contributed so much to your wellbeing whilst staying in our hotel.

We hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the opportunity to serve you again in our hotels worldwide ensuring you in advance of our utmost caring dedication.

Warmest Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 week stay and really enjoyed our stay here. We had a large family room with aircon in each room. The maid came in every day and the place was very clean. The animation and waiting staff couldn`t do enough for you and we always had a drink (thanks ali and sophien). There is enough food to suit everyone`s taste and there was plenty of it. Our only complaint about this hotel was having to get up at 5.00 am in the morning to secure a sunbed as we don`t even get up at that time for work. We would not return to Tunisia.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mags020367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We are currently staying at the chich khan and we are having an amazing time. To say amazing doesn't describe just how Amazing this hotel is. The animation team and the waiters both in the restaurant and bars have made our holiday. The thought of leaving makes us as a family so sad.. The animation team work so hard and their priority at all times is ensuring you have an amazing holiday. The staff are so friendly, polite and well mannered.. Special thanks to lukey, mido and the rest of the animation team and our waiters, Sami (restaurant ), Hafed (restaurant), saber and sofian (bar staff). Lovely lovely people who have made our holiday special.. Lukey (hope that's spelt right) and. Mido have also made our holiday. Will be telling everyone about this hotel and will come back again.. Tunisia is beautiful and the people are also lovely not a bit like we had heard before we came out.. The people out here are so helpful and friendly. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Purpur17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bravo Hammamet
Hotel Bravo Hammamet
#40 of 117 in Hammamet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Houda Yasmine Hammamet
Houda Yasmine Hammamet
#38 of 117 in Hammamet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
#29 of 117 in Hammamet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Green Golf
Hotel Green Golf
#66 of 117 in Hammamet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#18 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Laico Hammamet
Hotel Laico Hammamet
#25 of 117 in Hammamet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chich Khan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chich Khan

Property: Chich Khan
Address: Rue la Medina | Street Medina, Yasmine, Hammamet 8056, Tunisie, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#26 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chich Khan 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approx 200 m from the hotel's own beach sector. In the centre of Yasmine, Hammamet (Tunisia). Built in Moorish style. Family–friendly complex. Elegant atmosphere. Lively entertainment program. Facilities for incentive-groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Chich Khan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Chich Khan Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing