We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"showtime"(everybody downstairs)”
Review of Chich Khan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chich Khan
Ranked #38 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed May 20, 2013

1st trip to tunisia for girlfreind&me&this hotel was brill,staff,waiters&cleaners are great,it is a clean tidy hotel,rooms are good&spacious,the food is good,always a very veried choice to suit most peoples taste,yes it does pay to tip only a dinar or two every now&again& you will get looked after.our waiter in the restraunt was mahmoudi&he really looked after us for the week,table with glasses&bottle of wine were always waiting for us.the pools are good&werent to busy as we were there for a week from the 8th-15th may so well before peak,the weather was fantastic in the 80s everyday,yhe only moan is there beach which is a little to small,50 people&it would be packed.the animation team do a great job six days a week&work very long hours so derserve all the praise they recieve.tunisia is a poor country&you do get haggled a lot,but a no&they tend to leave you alone,just mind the the ones who say they are your chef,waiter etc,they are not.thomas cook arrange some great trips for your enjoyment so do try some.all in all a fab hoilday so thanks waiters,bar staff,maids for a enjoyable holiday.thank you chic khan,we will return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank polarbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,149 - 1,155 of 2,377 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

To start after reading previous reviews we must have been oblivious to the tipping situation as we had excellent service and only tipped very generously on our last day. The staff made our holiday really, from the reception staff to the anamation staff everyone always had a smile on there face and did whatever they could to make the holiday enjoyable. The food did become repetative but doesnt every all inclusive after a week. The room was cleaned on a daily basis the only thing we were ever asked was to remember there names for the questionnaires never for a tip! If you treat the staff with respect and like human beings you get the same back as we witnessed this not happen on several occasions from guests. If you go out the hotel yes you will get hassled but a kind no thank you always worked for us. We went out of the hotel to various nightclubs on a night and always got good service and felt safe there to. We will be returning due to having a good time whilst there we normally go to America where you do have to tip even if you have bad service! But have decided to return here like I've said previously the staff made the holiday for having very little they certainly are always happy

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lauragibson100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I returned home today after a one week stay at the Chich Khan hotel. This was both mine and my boyfriends first time to Tunisia. There are good and bad points to this hotel... But I would not return here after my experience.

We were told on the way to the hotel by the Thomas Cook rep that tips can be given if you get a good experience or you room is kept well etc but every person at the hotel wants tips all the time. As other people have said on their reviews it does affect the service you get. As soon as you arrive the porters are there waiting to take your luggage, not to be helpful but for a tip. The guys in the restaurant would compare tips in front of you which is very off putting. We had a towel love heart made on our bed to then find out we'd have the maid knocking twelve times at 6pm to ask if we liked love heart towel. Again someone standing with their hand out for a tip. If you want a mattress on your sun lounger the man wants a tip otherwise you lay on hard plastic all day. I honestly felt like the staff didn't care about anything other than getting my money. I think they forget they do get paid a wage to do a job! The tipping for me was the biggest issue at the hotel, yes we have money to afford a holiday but doesn't mean we need to tip when they don't appreciate it.

On one of our days the weather was cloudy and overcast. There aren't many activities to do if you get bad weather so we decided to go in the indoor pool. As my boyfriend was swimming he hurt his foot on broken tiles in the pool, he then decided to sit up on the side on the pool to then find ants everywhere. You could barely see the wall through the ants! In the end we got out the pool to lay on the indoor loungers and as we did 2 cockroaches ran across the floor. Even the other couples by the pool saw this. If a place has cockroaches you immediately think DIRTY! This was certainly not a 4 star hotel. I am even more surprised that Thomas Cook recommend this hotel.

Everyone has there own likes and dislikes to holiday entertainment. The evening entertainment was possibly the worse I've ever seen in all my holidays. It was dyer! It's just the entertainment workers dressed up as women with balloons as boobs and them falling out on the stage. All they do is run around the stage playing silly buggers.

Now for some good points.... The outdoor pool area is nice, rooms have fridge and hairdryer, local shops are close by as we'll some restaurants, Thomas cook also provide day trips. You will be bored if you don't do at least one.

Room Tip: If you book with Thomas cook pay to have a room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jordan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear guest,

Although we feel very sad to read that your stay at our Iberostar Chich Khan Hotel was not as enjoyable as it could have been, we would like to thank you for sharing your observations with us because this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests a better service, which ultimately is the goal of Iberostar.

We apologize for not having met your expectations in this particular area and have passed your comments to the heads of the departments concerned in order to revise the procedures to ensure excellent service to each staff member. The friendliness of our staff is one of our priorities, so all staff members are chosen according to a specific profile in addition to receiving appropriate training. Therefore we can confirm that they aim to provide a personalized service, regardless of whether they receive tipping or not.

We also would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the exceptional difficulties with the ants. However, we would like to inform you that we do have in place an established infestation treatment plan and we have been working intensely on this specific problem of ants. Given the grass areas around the outdoor facilities and the climatology of Tunisia the presence of insects is unavoidable. In the punctual event of localizing an infestation in a room, our housekeeping department undertakes an in-depth cleaning in conjunction with an adequate treatment to minimalize the inconvenience.

Regarding the maintenance and in particular the broken tiles in the pool, we reported the incident to the technical team who will have an accurate check on the surroundings, we sincerely hope that your boyfriend wound is totally healed at this time.

Moreover, we would like to point out that we deeply regret your disappointment with our animation and entertaining staff. We will continue doing our best to bring performances which are of good taste and variety as also many amusing activities so that no wishes will be left open.

Last but not least we want to thank you for letting us know that the location with its proximity to shops and restaurants, our beautiful outdoor pool area and the comfort of the room were pleasant parts of your stay. This surely motivates us during our day by day labors as your enjoying is our target.

Once again thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again in the near future and to have the opportunity to offer you a very enjoyable experience with Iberostar.


Kindest Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the Chich Khan. The staff at this hotel are very welcoming and helpfull. The animation team go out of their way to make everyone's holiday enjoyable, whether they are taking park in any of the activities which they organise for guests, young and old. The bar staff are friendly, polite and especially around the pool, make sure that you always have a drink at hand. Once you have been settled on to your lounger, they are there waiting to attend to you. In the dining room the staff are very efficient in clearing and redressing the table ready for the next guests. The meals are varied and were always tasty, whether it be with the kitchen cooked meals or the freshly made pizzas, pastas and pancakes. Never did we come across anybody who didn't go out of their way to make our holiday enjoyable.The decor in the rooms is a bit dated but clean and comfortable. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room 3016 which faced the pool and had the sun from early afternoon till sundown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnT49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Me and my boyfriends first holiday and we read all the reviews before we left which prepared us for everything in chich khan.

Restaurant
Always found something to eat for breakfast and dinner and for lunch we ate outside by the swimming pool which was BBQ stuff. There were different fish and meat dishes everyday however can be repetitive such as pizza pasta Chips and rice.

Beach and swimming pool
We enjoyed laying out by the swimming pool which was something we did everyday in the same spot but make sure you're out there early as all loungers do get taken up. The beach in our opinion was horrible but I think this was because it was out of season and very dirty with camels and people selling things harassing you.

Overall service
It was okay however if you wanted better service you needed to tip a lot. We found ourselves tipping a dinar here and there which I don't think was enough to get the best service. The animation team were quite fun but we stayed out of it but they were still friendly with us. The bar staff are good at remembering drinks and remembering we didn't want ice.

Medina, marina and quad biking
Hammamet town had the better medina so an 8dinar taxi drive there was a nice trip. The people at the medina are harmless therefore a no thank you and walking away will get them off your back. We learnt to stay with the fix priced shops instead of haggling as you will be wrapped off. The marina was also a nice view but not much to do there. Quad biking for us was our highlight as we had plenty of fun and only cost 70dinars each which was a bargain for what we got. Great experience. This was not done with Thomas cook but with the hotel.

On the whole, the hotel was a bit tired but very clean and we loved out hotel room, the food and enjoyed our stay at chich khan! Great experience!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jess V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just returned from our first visit to Tunisia booked with Thomas Cook. We had 10 days of fabulous weather a pool view room with the sun on our balcony until it set which made our room very hot when booking a holiday I check the room has air conditioning but this one failed to say that it is not switched on until June so we suffered very uncomfortable sleep.
We could not fault the size of the room the beds were comfortable but the bedding had a stale smell to it as did the wardrobes our room was cleaned every day and clean towels were provided the patio furniture could have done with a good scrub.
The hotel itself is in need of attention on close inspection you see signs of neglect paint chipped and tired furniture although it is very clean.
The food was of good quality and plentiful lots to choose from and the service in the restaurant was excellent we had the the same table during our stay but did not enjoy the kissing and hugging from the waiter as this was unacceptable behaviour from a complete stranger the other waiters did not act in this fashion and if this was his idea of achieving a bigger tip at the end of the holiday he was mistaken.
You have to be up early to get a sunbed towels were going out at 6am the pool attendant gives you a mattress give him a tip you get a thick one no tip and you get a paper thin one the waiter come around asking you if you want a drink while sunbathing if you tip him every time he brings your drink no tip no drink on the sun terrace and in the bars you order your drink and they tell you to take a seat and bring it to you on one occasion we waited at the bar and the ice went in the glass he tipped the bottle of vodka up with his thumb over the neck then put sprite in it now I do not drink at home and after 5 vodka cocktails I would have felt some sensation but did not feel the slightest tipsy some did complain about this.
The so called private beach was dirty broken sunbeds no beach bar or food until June.
The animation team were wonderful and so funny all through the day and evening they do not stop and our little man Mido made our holiday so entertaining they were friendly helpful and the only ones who did not ask for a tip.
We spent a small fortune on tipping to get what we had already paid for and for this reason would not return we left £10 for our maid as the room was kept very clean and on our last day they waiters asked if we could give them another tip for a good service. We are not mean and appreciate the fact earnings are low in Tunisia and tipping is the norm but constantly asking for tips was embarrassing.

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool view are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyDawnUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
As to us the vision of our clients is the clue to complete guest-satisfaction, we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent writing this review to tell us about your impressions on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Chich Khan hotel. We are fully aware that this is the best way to achieve superiority and excellence in our daily services.

We are very sorry to hear that you felt put under pressure by our staff continuously asking for tips in order to guarantee a good service from their side, as for our company policy, our staff is not allowed to ask for tips even if it is a cultural habit in Tunisia, just like haggling. We are pleased to inform you that, thanks to comments like yours, we now have tipping boxes for our different services for our guests willing to tip and to avoid them to feel embarrassed by our staff.
Related to your disappointment on the air conditioning being turned off, we are sorry not to have been informed about this during your stay as we would have provided a pedestal fan for you to be able to have a satisfactory night rest in a cooler temperature, for any future occasion please do not hesitate to contact our reception for any request as they will be pleased to do their best to help you with anything you may need.

On the other hand we are happy to know that our gastronomical offer at our buffet restaurant was of your liking and that you felt well cared for by our waiters. The gastronomy is an important facet of our company and it is enjoyable to read that our Chefs’ efforts are being rewarded by nice reviews like yours; we will definitely pass on your satisfaction with their service.

Last but not least, we thank you for your kind words towards our animation team, especially Mido, it is nice to know that they contributed to your well-being during your holidays and that you took back home nice vacation memories thanks to them.
Again, we thank you for having so carefully reviewed your holiday with us and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotels in the near future.
Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

flew out 2nd jan ,first night we had the room next to jeremy kylies new year special ,couldn,t ring down to reception so had to run the gauntlet through the foray to go and report them security came back with me and tried to sort out ,when we went to reception the next morning we were moved !and apparently they had already had a warning ,so we now had a room with no sun on the balcony ,the weather was pleasantly warm ,this hotel decor would have been great in the height of summer but a little depressing in winter as it was terracotta and cave like niches .We chose this as it had a mexican ,this was an organised shambles ,they needed some tuition from the italian in the sister hotel which was top notch !bedrooms where large but cold heating insufficent but a lovley fire in the lounge .Food was generally very good an the dine around options made it much better but you need to book asap as different cuisine in different hotels ,went by taxi but very cheap £3 each way to the furthest .good break for winter sun and relaxing having visited tunisia before and exploring ourselves we were put off by doing so by the rep as he said things were less safe since arab spring ,shame .Staff were good ,hotel clean nice break but much nicer hotels around the area

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your preference by selecting our IBEROSTAR Chich Khan hotel for your New Year’s holidays as well as for taking the time to write a review on your stay so we are able to know where we can still improve in our daily work to guarantee top quality services to all our guests.
We are extremely sorry for the negative experience that you had on your first night among us due to a clear behavior issue of the guests staying next-door and are glad to hear that our security escorted you back to your room and that you were moved the immediate following day.
Moreover we are sorry to hear that our Mexican themed restaurant was not up to your expectations and passed on your comment to our Chefs in order to revise this specific restaurant’s offer, nevertheless we are glad to hear that our new concept of “Dine Around” allowing our guests to try the different theme restaurants of the other IBEROSTAR hotels in the area was something that improved your stay with us.
We also thank you for letting us know that our buffet offer could largely satisfy you as the gastronomy is an important facet of our company and we do our utmost to please all palates; it is enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Last but not least, we are glad to read that you felt well cared for by our staff, that you point out the cleanliness of our hotel and that your overall experience was a positive one.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotels and resorts,
Best Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.6 mi away
Vincci Flora Park
Vincci Flora Park
#26 of 119 in Hammamet
894 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#11 of 119 in Hammamet
1,299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Houda Yasmine Hammamet
Houda Yasmine Hammamet
#39 of 119 in Hammamet
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lella Baya & Thalasso Hotel
Lella Baya & Thalasso Hotel
#29 of 119 in Hammamet
150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saphir Palace & Spa
Saphir Palace & Spa
#48 of 119 in Hammamet
1,153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
#52 of 119 in Hammamet
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chich Khan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chich Khan

Address: Rue la Medina | Street Medina, Yasmine, Hammamet 8056, Tunisie, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#28 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#32 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: $44 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chich Khan 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approx 200 m from the hotel's own beach sector. In the centre of Yasmine, Hammamet (Tunisia). Built in Moorish style. Family–friendly complex. Elegant atmosphere. Lively entertainment program. Facilities for incentive-groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splitty, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chich Khan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Chich Khan Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing