We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service at a family-friendly place”
Review of Chich Khan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chich Khan
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked on-line at Iberostar's website, and from the time we walked in the door, the staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating. There was a problem with the room we had booked, on the first floor, so we were moved to a smaller room on the third floor. After asking if they had anything larger available, the doorman took me to a much larger suite to see if it would work, and it was beautiful, so they handled that initial hiccup quickly and efficiently.

The hotel is a little older, and some rooms are a little drab, but generally clean and serviceable. The pool and entertainment facilities are wonderful, and the small section of beach a couple blocks away from the hotel is perfect. The lifeguard there was very friendly and helpful, and it was a great place for our three-year old daughter to play the day away.

The food was definitely the weak-spot of our stay. Many of the dishes were somewhat bland (especially the Tunisian food, which is unfortunate, and I hope the guests sample the Ojja or Market Kabr outside the hotel, as they are EXCELLENT). But, even there, the service at meals is very good, and the ready-made items, omelletes, crepes (at every meal!), and meats were well done, and there was always plenty of selection.

All in all, this was a good hotel, and even if it is not a 4 star by European standards, by Tunisian standards, it was comfortable and enjoyable across the board, and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room faced poolside, and we had no problems with noise.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,373)
There are newer reviews for Chich Khan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,188 - 1,194 of 2,374 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

First time AI for me and the last. Food is repetitive and not great quality. Ideal for kids tho and well cooked. Was waiting for the cheer when the plate was dropped. Despite warnings sun beds are being'reserved' from 6 o'clock by Brits!!!! Some paths around pool are very uneven bringing a new meaning to crazy paving. Hotel is becoming a bit tired and in need of a revamp. Staff are unbelievably friendly and go the extra mile. Remember your mosquito killer for nights. Use the Hamaan at the corner of the street, much cheaper than in-house and don't believe the guys hanging about the gate trying to take you shopping.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side street are quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirrieloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our IBEROSTAR Chich Khan hotel for your holidays and for taking the time to write your impressions about your stay as it is our best way to know where we can still improve in our daily services in order to deliver unforgettable vacation experiences to our guests.

We are sorry to hear that the variety of our gastronomy didn’t meet your expectations as our Chefs work in accordance with our company’s high quality standards related to food preparation and they do their best to offer a wide choice of Tunisian delights and international cuisine in order to guarantee a variety of dishes and please all palates; further, this hotel participates in the new concept of “Dine Around” in collaboration with our other IBEROSTAR hotels in the Hammamet area, proposing thematic menus ranging from Asian, Italian, Mediterranean and Mexican cuisine to offer an alternative to the buffet meals in our main restaurant.
As you well mention the reservation of sun beds is not allowed and we really try to make sure it doesn´t happen, but if at the time of your visit we couldn’t achieve that everybody respected this policy, we do apologize.

On the other hand we thank you for pointing out the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff as they are one of our main strengths, we will definitely congratulate them on your behalf, they will be pleased to hear that they contributed to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Once again, we thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in our hotels worldwide.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed a week at the chich khan hotel. We went as a family with my disabled daughter and two children.we had a basic family room which was kept clean by the cleaners who changed the towels emptied the bins and wiped the floor everyday. The environment within the hotel was very clean but one day smelt extremely like chlorine. The hotel IS wheelchair accessible but the slopes were very steep and slippery so we had to have good control of the wheelchair when pushing up and down.the food in the restaurant was good and the kids enjoyed the chips,pancakes and freshly made pizzas. The staff appear good but only paid attention to people who gave them tips regularly. We didn't give any tips but we sometimes did feel that they wanted tips even when helping with the wheelchair and disabled daughter which should be done out of humanity and not out of greediness.the animation team were good and had a smile on their faces at all times.we went on the camel and horse carriage excursion which was good fun but extremely long. Wherever we went out there was always people there to help us but wanted some money. Many times we needed help with the wheelchair and it appeared thank yo just wasn't good enough so didn't really have much good experience of local people they appeared selfish and not much empathy in them. Shopping was hard work as the prices are not cheap for example a normal pack of M &Ms was 2.900 dinars which is roughly £1.20. Overall the country is OK and the airport in tunisia has good service but make sure you change your dinars before you check in otherwise they will take it off you,the duty free shop does not accept dinars.The holiday overall was quite good and we had a comfortable stay at the chich khan hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Unbbhvgv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Chich Khan hotel for your family holidays as well as for the time you spent to write and share a review with your personal impressions so that we can be informed of the improvements we may make to offer splendid holidays’ experiences to all our guests.

We lament hearing that you felt that our staff was only willing to help when a tip was given as they are all trained to be guest oriented and helpful at all times and they also know that tipping is not supported by management, however tipping is a typical custom in Tunisia, just like bargaining, nevertheless we will pass on your comment to our head of department in order to ensure that our high service standards are respected at all times regardless of receiving tips or not.
On the other hand we are glad to hear that you as a family enjoyed the gastronomy offer prepared by our professional Chefs as at IBEROSTAR we believe that satisfying meals are as important as spotless and comfortable accommodations.
Last but not least, we thank you for pointing out our animation staff, they do their utmost to make sure that all our guests are having a good time and take part in the many leisure activities and enjoy the evening shows, this is nice to hear that you could appreciate their efforts.
Once again, we thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR and hope to may serve you again in our hotels worldwide at your earliest convenience ensuring you in advance of our utmost caring dedication.
Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Transfer from airport was organised and were met by helpful Thomas Cook reps. There were many porters who were eager to help with our luggage but a polite no thank you was enough for them to leave us alone. The Thomas Cook rep Maher, gave a brilliant welcome talk, and was around the hotel regularly. Every time we saw him, he asked if we were okay and answered any questions we had. 10/10

Reception was messy and disorganised. With the reception team being in charge of towels, safe, money, queries and general jobs, it seemed they were inundated with things to do and we feel this is the reason why it was so disorganised! Nonetheless, they sorted out a change of room for us, and were helpful and happy to help us where they could. 2/10

The food in the restaurant was basic. Lunch and dinner was the same every day with a choice of turkey, beef or fish and a vegetarian option. I am not a particularly fussy eater, but have lived on chips and rice for the past week. A good selection of desserts but once gone, they were not replenished very quickly. The meal at the Mexican restaurant was disappointing and would sure give it a miss when we go back. 2/10

The pool bar served a good selection of food; burgers, pizza, turkey, bread, salad and chips. Staff were attentive, took orders and brought you drinks around the pool. We did not tip and still got drinks brought to us. Afternoon pancakes were delicious and made to order. 9/10

The bar where the evening entertainment was, was brilliant. Tipped the waiter 1 dinar (approx. 41p) and he brought over our drinks regularly. One evening, we had only been sat down 2 minutes when we had already brought our drinks over! Despite reading about grumpy waiters, we had never come across one! All very smiley and chatty! 10/10

Cocktails were pre-made which was a little disappointing, although they were generous with the spirits so this made up for it. 5/10

The animation team work extremely hard to ensure everyone is happy and smiling. You could have a joke with them all and they all made us feel very special. The team made our holiday and we were very sad to say goodbye! Also, a good looking bunch of lads, so this made our holiday that little more enjoyable! 10/10

Although we had a good view of the pool with a balcony, the bedroom was basic and was only just 3*. There was a hook on the wall with no picture, wonky light fittings, damaged lamp shapes, a tv stand which did not move so we couldn’t therefore watch the tv, a cupboard door which did not close properly, cracked tiles in the bathroom and a shower head which we were unable to move from facing the wall and therefore had to stand oddly in the shower and it flooded the shower/sink room. Having a separate toilet room to the shower/sink room seemed great, yet you couldn’t use the toilet when someone was in the shower as there was no way of washing your hands. One time, our key would not unlock our door, so at 3am, we went down to reception where they were helpful and sent someone up, straight away, who opened it, and did not expect a tip. The cleaner cleaned our room about 3.30pm and on two occasions we were asked to ‘get out’ of our room so she could clean it. Bed was comfy with a variety of pillows to choose from. Another downside; there is no safe in the room. You have to go to reception if you wanted the key to your safe which was adjacent to the reception. Despite all of this, we did not spend much time in the room so we were not too bothered by any of this. 2/10

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday to Iberostar Chich Khan. Despite the poor food and accommodation, the entertainment, entertainers and genuinely lovely Tunisians made up for all of this and we are looking at going back as soon as possible! As a group of two girls (aged 18/19) we were apprehensive of going to Tunisia with what we had read about the men and being pounced on. We did not leave the hotel, but speaking to many Tunisians around the hotel, they were sure we would have been okay, and some even offered to take us out to look after us. We felt very safe around the hotel and have no hesitations about going back there.

Our holiday – 10/10

Room Tip: If given a room you do not want, go to reception and they are happy to give you a selection of other...
Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
5  Thank bluckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

this is no more than an 2 star hotel thomas cooks right up in broucher is very misleading.the place is a death trap, there was 4 guests from this hotel all in hospital same time. all from accidents around hotel, tiles missing, pool area slippery.concrete crazy paving uneven, rotten bridge,,, i can go on but all id say is stay away unless you like hospital food, the only positive comment i can give is[ staff attentive]. food awful, drinks weak, we will never be returning to this hotel or tunisia unless they clean up the country litter everywhere outside hotel,glad we all home.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marnic73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to express our gratitude for your visit and for dedicating your time and effort to write this review on your recent stay at our Iberostar Chich Khan hotel. We are glad to may learn from your experience and take your vision into account to achieve maximum guest satisfaction.

We have gone in contact with the Hotel Manager following your comments on the maintenance of our structure and investigated in relation to the hospitalization of several guests, we are sorry to say that you have been misinformed, and that the reasons for their hospitalization had nothing to do with our hotel surroundings not being looked after. As we have a high respect for the privacy of our guests, please accept our apologies if we do not explain in detail what happened, but we would like to inform you that they all are well now.

Further on, we regret your disappointment mattering our meals and drinks. It is our intention that guests can enjoy our passion for gastronomy which is one of the most important attractions of the Iberostar. Therefore, we shared your constructive critics regarding our culinary offer with our chefs who dedicate their finest attention to detail when it comes to remarkably prepared food.

Nevertheless we understand that for you Tunisia might not be the best location for your dream holiday. Therefore, we would like to offer you a very personal booking guidance through our call center, to make sure that your next Iberostar experience meets your expectations. We also invite you to visit our web page as it can orient you when planning your next holiday.

Once again thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate all of your comments as they can help us to improve. We hope to see you again in the near future and to have the opportunity to offer you a very enjoyable experience with Iberostar.

Best Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed a week over Easter hols, travelled with Thomas Cook. Transfer time was about 45 mins from Enfidha. Check-in was messy, waited around, told our room wasn't ready but another room might be available. We took this to mean a tip would help, so 40 dinars later (about £16) we had a great pool view family room with a terrace on the ground floor. Delighted (especially as Thomas Cook wanted another £100 or so at the booking stage for pool-view.. bargain !)
Tunisia is a tipping country, just like the US, so we happily tipped 10 dinars (£4) here and there and got great service.
Food was varied, always found plenty to eat, desserts were good, plenty of salad, and the best olives I've ever tasted. Drinks were good with a cocktail menu and bottles of local wine.
We had no luck with the dine around option, which was disappointing, as nothing was available in any of the four restaurants for the whole week !
Pool was freezing, ice cold but the indoor pool is heated.
There's a spa offering massages, nails, hair cuts etc but it was VERY expensive, 100 dinar for a manicure ! 70/80 dinar for a massage, 120 for a haircut... (plus tip remember !!)
There's a wee bar tucked away at the bottom of the stairs at reception, offering soft drinks and mint teas, Turkish coffee and waterpipes/sheesha. The barman Ali was great fun. Would recommend, only 8 dinar, and you can smoke in there ( a rare novelty for us smokers!).

We hired a driver for the day for £60, who took us to Tunis, Carthage and Sidi Bou Said - much cheaper that the TC tours and he waited on us all day. Well worth it. Booked in the hotel from a tour guy beside the main door. Also booked a Quad bike tour, 2 hours in the mountains, a fabulous trip, with 250cc quads (prob not good for kids! but us big kids loved it!)

Animation team were good, did their best to entertain and always smiling.

Area outside is a bit run down and much of hammamet yasmine was vacant shops and apartments, but it's not Disneyland ! Overall the hotel is a great base but get out and about and explore ! Taxi to Hammamet Medina was 7 dinar, great fun haggling for genuine fake goods lol.

Room Tip: Pool view with terrace got the sun all day - could walk straight out our room, sunbathe on the terra...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jenxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Chich Khan hotel for your Easter holidays as well as for the time you spent to write and share a review with your personal impressions so that we can be informed of the improvements we may make to offer splendid holidays’ experiences to all our guests.

We are sorry to hear that you weren’t able to try the different types of cuisine into our sister hotels in the area and suggest for any upcoming holiday to book at 8.00 straight away at our reception.
Further, related to the check in we are sorry to hear that you had to wait for your room to be ready, however we would like to point out that the check in time starts at 14.00 and if you arrived in the morning, unless the room is already cleaned and ready due to an early departure of the previous guest, we cannot guarantee that you will be able to check in the room before 14.00, however we are glad to hear that finally you decided to upgrade to a superior room that made your holiday even more enjoyable.
We also thank you for highlighting our gastronomy offer, our Chefs always strive to offer a wide choice of Tunisian delights for the more adventurous guests as well as plenty of high quality international dishes in order to please all palates, it is nice to hear that we could conquer yours.
Last but not least, we are glad to hear that overall you felt well cared after by our friendly staff and that you made the most of your holiday by visiting the country and enjoying nice leisure activities on the doorstep.
Once again, many thanks for your visit; we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotels worldwide.
Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just came back last week, was there for 7 nights on a family holiday which i booked online we are all in agreement it was the best holiday ever. Right from the moment of arrival the airport staff the lady waiting outside for our transfer; to the coach driver were all very pleasant. The hotel staff and i mean each and every one of them were all very polite and courteous Sammy the waiter in the restaurant Hannah, Haifa, Muhammad, Raouf and the other gentleman at reception were all very helpful and polite. The first day we arrived we were given good rooms but the view was not to our liking so went downstairs and asked for another room and Hannah was more than happy to change the room for us and we got the rooms with a pool view which the kids loved,
Food was excellent with a good variety only the fruit section seemed dry but that could be due to fruits not been available out of season and the desserts more than made up for it.
The animation team were fabulous and really livened the place up.
Before leaving i had read some negative reviews here about Tunisia and Chich Khan and from my experience those rants or complaints seem trivial, the hotel was very clean bedsheets and bath towels changed everyday rooms swept clean (sometimes late) what more do people expect.
The drive from the airport to the hotel was pleasant ,there was no stench the litter on the side of the roads wasn't a bother i have seen worse. The shopping was good and as expected not haggle free ,we became experts at haggling and even managed to score bargains by haggling at the FIXED PRICE shops as well. The excursions you can arrange yourself just haggle and fix a price with the taxi drivers to take wherever and they will gladly wait for you to take you back at an agreed fee.
The beach was not clean at all though i saw a tractor there tilling the sand which i was told is a clean up exercise for the peak season. The Tunisian people are very good and all appeared jovial.
Prices are affordable though not always cheap at restaurants or cafes.
You will be hounded by taxi drivers,the horse drawn carriage guys, the shop keepers etc just smile and say " LAA SHUKRAN" meaning " NO THANK YOU"
I highly recommend Hammamet and the Chich Khan for a perfect holiday. WELL DONE CHICH KHAN !!!!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid taking rooms above the restaurant as smokers sit just outside and the smoke will affect you if...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lakesurfer033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.5 mi away
Houda Yasmine Hammamet
Houda Yasmine Hammamet
#43 of 118 in Hammamet
1,053 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Laico Hammamet
Hotel Laico Hammamet
#29 of 118 in Hammamet
798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lella Baya & Thalasso Hotel
Lella Baya & Thalasso Hotel
#36 of 118 in Hammamet
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#19 of 118 in Hammamet
1,265 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vincci Flora Park
Vincci Flora Park
#26 of 118 in Hammamet
883 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
#30 of 118 in Hammamet
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chich Khan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chich Khan

Address: Rue la Medina | Street Medina, Yasmine, Hammamet 8056, Tunisie, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#26 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: $58 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chich Khan 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approx 200 m from the hotel's own beach sector. In the centre of Yasmine, Hammamet (Tunisia). Built in Moorish style. Family–friendly complex. Elegant atmosphere. Lively entertainment program. Facilities for incentive-groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chich Khan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Chich Khan Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing