We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not great in the winter season”
Review of Chich Khan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chich Khan
Ranked #38 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at the Iberostar Chich Khan from the 3rd Feb - 10th Feb 2013 on an all inclusive basis. Unfortunately, the weather was rather chilly and because it was the low season the hotel wasn't quite up to the standards I'm sure it is in Summer. Don't get me wrong, the hotel was lovely, aesthetically pleasing and always very clean in the reception area and our room. This was our first time in Tunisia and we won't come back again in Winter. I don't recommend the beach at this time of year, the sea stank, full of seaweed and the hotel beach isn't very well maintained.
The outside pool was full of leaves and who knows what else so we did mention it to our rep when we arrived and that was drained a day or two later. It wasn't refilled during our stay so was unable to take advantage of it. The indoor swimming pool was warm, not very deep and had nice seating areas in the inside of the pool. Then again there was also ants all along the sides of these seating areas and we found a bone floating in the pool as well, so ups and downs. We mentioned these issues to the reception, who didn't understand our English at first and thught we needed towels, so later on we told our rep and they had began sorting it out that day as we did see some powder down and a few dead ants but there was still a pretty big issue on the day before we left.
Our room was nice, spacious and had a little balcony. Everything was clean, one of the plug sockets were cracked and coming away from the wall but this wasn't too much of an issue for us as it was still working fine. The bathroom was clean, quite large and had the most amazing deep bath which me and my fiance appreciated, being quite tall. The towels were a little small, but I have abnormally large hips so this wasn't a shock to me. All the floors were tiled and became quite slippery when wet, so caution is needed if still dripping when you come out of the bath/shower.
We really liked that there was two spaces for suitcases and ample enough room for unpacking all our clothes, even though we decided against unpacking as we'd heard too many horror stories about things going missing so just lived out suitcases and remembered to lock them up everytime we went out of the room. In the cupboards there was a wonderful little sewing kit which was very handle as we did end up needing it during our time there. We had a family staying in the room next to us which were very noisy early hours of the morning, waking us up 2 nights in a row with shouting but thankfully they must have gone home after that, or we would have tried to change room. The room could have benefitted from a safe but there were boxes you could hire at reception for a few dinar a day to keep thing secure. Our things were fine all locked up in the suitcase so we saved ourselves a bit there. We did worry about people jumping over our balcony though as they were low walls with our neighbours and had to be sure the doors for that were locked too.
All the staff on reception were nice and helpful, even if occasionally there was a communication barrier. The bar staff were good, at the end more than the start being aware when we'd finished our drinks and bringing us over new ones. We then decided to start tipping them and they continued then with the good service. We tried all the alcoholic cocktails and they were all rather nice. The spirits and wine weren't of a high standard but they do have the good stuff available to buy if you're particularly fussy. If you're into hot beverages, you must have the hot chocolate, it was delicious, even without cream and marshmallows. I half expected the soft drinks to be all Tunisian brands but they did have Coca Cola and international brands.
I'm not a big breakfast person but there wasn't a lot of choice really, especially as my fiance is a 'full english' kind of guy so we went to the Steakhouse down the road one day, which is an English bar/restaurant and served us what we craved. That and we actually got a lie in, as breakfast finishes at 10am and we're usually only getting up by then. I wouldn't recommend trying the baked beans, they are more haricot beans with a tomato puree-paste. Lunch and Dinner were full of variety and you have the chance to go on two of their themed nights. We went to the Mexican and found the food and service lacking. The lasagne was really nice in the restaurant, chips were always available and they made pizza and pasta fresh in front of you.
Be aware of Thursday nights where the animation team and other staff mob you when they see you fill out the review sheets. The people on the table next to us told them their honest opinion and were surrounded by 4 staff members almost immediately, asking them why they felt that way, if they could change their mind and so on until they altered their answers on the card. We got told several staff members names and pleaded with that we put their names down on the sheet. I don't know what they get out of it but it must be good. We decided it wasn't worth the hassle so gave positive feedback with a few home truths in the suggestion parts and decided to do a more full review on here.
We didn't have a lot to do with the animation team except for the first few nights where we did a quiz, which was okay, and the other night was watching the kids dance around until half 9 when we decided to go and watch a DVD in bed. We didn't realise until the day before our last that we could get bottles of water free from the bar, big 2L ones. Mimi was nice and some of the other boys from the entertainment side of it. We did play the mini-golf one day and found that in a state of acute disrepair, the holes were filled with mucky water and we were asked to give a 20 dinar deposit on old clubs. At least I won!
All the bar staff, even though occasionally grumpy looking, were good and joked around a bit. I wanted to mention Anter, sorry if I spelt that wrong, our waiter for the majority of the time there, even through his lack of working English he still managed to make us smile and laugh. The service was slow the first few days but soon picked up once the review sheets came out and management were sniffing around.
The other thing we were rather amused by was the amount of cats around the place. They seemed well-looked after, we named the ginger one that liked to stare at us from the dining room balcony Alfredo. After the riots and our excursions being cancelled I spent a day in the spa and wasn't very impressed with the experience, there were language barriers so there were a few misunderstandings, I was in the spa for 2 hours and 40 minutes, going through the sauna and other treatments, I wasn't offered anything, a drink, a toilet break... just led from one room to another. So when I was done I rushed out of there and went straight to the bar to have a drink.
The Hubbly Bubbly bar was an experience but don't be fooled by people saying that there's no harm in it, I certainly had cravings for it after the first try, so do your research before you go and decide. The man in there was very friendly though and offered us mint tea on the house, which was delicious.
Anthony, our Thomas Cook rep, was fantastic and we were really happy with all the advice and information that he offered us. Thank you everyone at Chich Khan for our holiday, it was nice to get away from the UK and we didn't have a bad time, even though we got hassled and nearly scammed outside the hotel on several occasions. It was a good first holiday alone together and is a bit of a culture shock when you first get there. They are lovely people when you get to know them, just have a laugh, a joke and get on with it. I would advise that you have anti-bac hand gel on you at all times, there is a lot of rubbish lying around the streets. Hope if you have booked this hotel that you have a lovely time!

Room Tip: I think that all of the rooms are pretty much the same, from what we saw. We were on the second floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Carol,

We are very grateful for the review you wrote. It is our goal to achieve excellence in our daily work and no one better than our guests can indicate us how to improve day after day. Nevertheless, in the future we invite you to immediately inform us if something is not to your entire satisfaction or if we can help to make your stay with us even more enjoyable because we would then be able to offer a satisfactory solution for your grieves.

We do our utmost to ensure that our customers can enjoy an enriching dining experience in an unrivaled setting and with an excellent service. Therefore, we take no pleasure in presenting mediocre buffets or average themed dinners. Our culinary team will continue working to surprise you with delicious international and local dishes at your next visit.

Our staff which is the base to offer the close and personalized service Iberostar is famous for, always attempts that our guests feel very comfortable, well installed and welcome. We lay high value on our employees being guest orientated, as we understand that this is a prime factor to achieve maximum client satisfaction and therefore all staff members are chosen according to a specific profile and additionally they are given appropriate training. We will persist in our effort to ensure this being our main strength.

Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guests. We will certainly take your comments into our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve the points you mentioned. We hope to may take the opportunity to serve you again and cause through our high quality service and the fulfillment of our Iberostar hotel standards, a good and lasting impression.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,244 - 1,250 of 2,379 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

We arrived at the hotel on Wednesday night on out Silver Wedding anniversary and the place was freezing and there was no hot food to be had at 9.30 pm. All we were given was a cold sandwich, no buffet, no hot drinks or even a pizza. The hotel has been cold in the main reception area for 3 days. There is only one heated reception which is a very noisy bar area. Today I asked at reception if we could use the other reception room which has been in total darkness throughout our stay and I asked if it could be heated.I would like somewhere quiet and warm to read. I was told this would be possible but it has not happened. Tonight I am sitting once again a cold reception area and very shortly I shall go to bed at 10pm to get warm. Tomorrow I shall ask the Thomas Cook rep to move us to another hotel where I can sit in comfort with a bit of peace and quiet. Not all residents want to sit in a noisy bar.

On the plus side the rooms are clean. The maids are very nice and all the restaurant staff are lovely and the food is varied and good. The décor is good.

This hotel is not suitable for a winter sun holiday unless they can sort out the heating and cater for guests who do not want to be in a noisy area.

All in all I am very disappointed. Room 1359

Room Tip: Don't stay in the winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Judith,

We are very grateful that you took the time to post your comments. We have read them carefully. Your opinion is very important and valuable. We are convinced that this is the best way to gain your trust for Iberostar. It is our goal to achieve excellence in our daily work and no one better than our guests can indicate us how to improve day after day. Moreover, we feel honored that you choose our hotel Iberostar Chich Khan to celebrate such a special occasion and we congratulate you once more with your Silver Wedding Anniversary.

We're very sorry that until now, your stay with us could not be enjoyed as you expected. The well-being of our guests is very important and we are awfully sorry that we could not resolve your concerns earlier. Therefore, in the future we invite you to immediately inform us if something is not to your entire satisfaction or if we can help to make your stay with us more enjoyable because then we would be able to offer a satisfactory solution for your grieves straight away.

On the other hand, we are happy that you could enjoy the efforts of our housekeepers and find that the rooms are kept very clean at all times. We passed your compliments to the staff and they were all delighted to have contributed to your wellbeing at the Iberostar Chich Khan. Positive commentaries like yours help us to stay motivated and continue doing our utmost to provide perfect holidays.

Further, we are grateful and satisfied that you described the hotel as lovely with welcoming staff, friendly waiters and a very nice culinary offer. In our opinion, these are the most important pillars to build a hotel that offers wellbeing, comfort and splendid holidays. Therefore, we are delighted that you enjoyed this part so much!

In name of all of the staff, we thank you again for your visit; we are all delighted to have you among us.

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

we booked this hotel last minute just hoping for a good break, and it really was.
food was hot and fresh every day, good variety of dishes and always plenty of choice.
rooms were cleaned every day, all staff were very friendly and helpfull,all took time to make sure you have what you need,nothing was too much trouble, all seemed to enjoy working there.
bar staff very attentive. beer glasses were never empty,
only thing i could mention which may be a problem for some is that the outdoor pool was empty, but they have to clean the pool sometime and the indoor pool was warm and clean and more than adequate for a swim.
we are just thinking about booking for the same time next year.

Room Tip: this time of year most pool facing rooms get no sun so choose sea view rooms if you like to sit on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sarahandgareth_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online reputation Manager at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Sarah and dear Gareth,

We would like to thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our hotel and staff. It is always great to receive positive feedback on numerous aspects of the hotel services and installations.

Iberostar tries it´s very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations. It is always our intention to enrich your stay with local and international delis and pamper you with a service characterized by its excellence and proximity. Your affirmation to have enjoyed all our prime pillars fills us with joy and is the best reward for our daily efforts.

We will be delighted to welcome you back next year!

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We are at this hotel at the moment , we. Have no complaints about this hotel the staff are fantastic from cleaners to waiters everyone go out of the way to help younothing is too much trouble ....only the past two days has been very very cold ....we are all walking around with coats on everywhere you sit is cold....we have reported it to reception but it hasn't made any difference....the heating only come on in the bedrooms at 6pm so ther in no where to go to get warm.....I came to this hotel after seeing all the good reviews but I would not recommend any old people to come here at tis time of year...we are spending most of our day in the room under the blanket it's the warmest place...and I don't feel that ai am getting anything out of this holiday..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lesaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you for taking the time and effort to write your opinion on your recent stay in Tripadvisor. Your review helps us to know how we can still improve the experience of our guests and to us that is of prime importance.

We are delighted that in the meantime your grieves have been settled and that your petition to amplify the schedule of the heating could be followed up. We hope you will enjoy the rest of your stay with us and we remain at your entire disposal for any further inquiry you might have. It is a pleasure to may serve you and provide you with the close and personalized service Iberostar is famous for.

Thank you once more for sharing your review, through it we could learn how we can still improve your experience at the Iberostar Chich Khan.

Yours sincerely,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We visited Tunisia for the first time and stayed on an all inclusive basis at this Hotel. The hotel staff were very friendly and made us welcome from our arrival to our departure. The room was well appointed and kept very clean by the barrage of cleaners every day. The food was very good and there were plenty of choices plus a themed restaurant at our hotel (Mexican) and you could visit other Iberostar hotels if you wanted a change. Our Thomas Cook representative was excellent as were the hotels entertainment truope. We worth another visit but next time it would be not so far out of season.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Gerry,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

We understand that food and drinks are an important factor in your hotel experience, and this is why we have created a varied assortment of options to please every type of guest. Reading that you were satisfied with the quality, the variety and the possibility to “dine around” makes us feel that we are doing a good job which motivates us to do even better.

On the other hand, we would like to thank you for your kind words towards our staff which is the base to offer the close and personalized service Iberostar is famous for. They will surely celebrate that you wrote that they were very friendly. As all of them work very hard, striving to surpass guest expectations, we will definitely pass on your satisfaction with their services.

On behalf of the staff and myself, I must say we were all enchanted to have you at the Iberostar Chich Khan. We trust it will not be long before you will be back with us for another visit. We assure you in advance of our utmost care and attention and, we look forward to thank you personally for your encouraging review.

Sunny regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel was fab, the food, room, entertainment, everything, would go back there again in a heart beat, loved it. I would recommend this hotel and tunisia as a holiday destination to anyone who asked. Go there, you will not be dissapointed. :)

Room Tip: pick a high room, you get a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Vicky,

We would like to thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our hotel Iberostar Chich Khan and staff. It is always great to receive positive feedback on numerous aspects of the hotel services and installations.

Iberostar tries it´s very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations. It is always our intention to enrich your stay with local and international delis and pamper you with a service characterized by its excellence and proximity. Your affirmation to have enjoyed all our prime pillars fills us with joy and is the best reward for our daily efforts. We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife recently took my to this hotel to celebrate my 65th Birthday. We had a great time! First class staff,room,food and dam good fun. Would go back tomorrow! Best wishes to everyone there.

From Kitty & Ross x

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ross472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Kitty and dear Ross,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers. Moreover, we feel honored that you choose our hotel Iberostar Chich Khan to celebrate such a special occasion and we are glad to hear that it was good fun.

It is very enjoyable to read that our impressive and new looking hotel as also the large and functional rooms were of your liking and you find that the staff gave you a first class treatment.

Last but not least, it fills us with joy that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our cooks. In Iberostar Chich Khan we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests so that each and every dining experience proves sensational, offering the most delicious international and local dishes.

On behalf of the staff and myself, I must say we were all enchanted to have you at the Iberostar Chich Khan. We trust it will not be long before you will be back with us for another visit. We assure you in advance of our utmost care and attention and, we look forward to thank you personally for your encouraging review.

Yours sincerely,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hammamet
0.6 mi away
Vincci Flora Park
Vincci Flora Park
#26 of 119 in Hammamet
896 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#10 of 119 in Hammamet
1,314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eden Yasmine Hotel, Meeting & SPA
Eden Yasmine Hotel, Meeting & SP...
#1 of 2 in Yasmine Hammamet
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lella Baya & Thalasso Hotel
Lella Baya & Thalasso Hotel
#30 of 119 in Hammamet
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Houda Yasmine Hammamet
Houda Yasmine Hammamet
#34 of 119 in Hammamet
1,083 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saphir Palace & Spa
Saphir Palace & Spa
#44 of 119 in Hammamet
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chich Khan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chich Khan

Address: Rue la Medina | Street Medina, Yasmine, Hammamet 8056, Tunisie, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#28 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#33 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: $39 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chich Khan 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approx 200 m from the hotel's own beach sector. In the centre of Yasmine, Hammamet (Tunisia). Built in Moorish style. Family–friendly complex. Elegant atmosphere. Lively entertainment program. Facilities for incentive-groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chich Khan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Chich Khan Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing