We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another great holiday”
Review of Chich Khan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chich Khan
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed May 20, 2012

this was the fifth time for my wife and i,and our daughters third at the chich khan,and the welcome from all the staff was magnificent. from the porters to some of the management we knew from before.we were treated like part of the family,our thanks to mohamed mahmoudi our waiter and friend who could not do enough for us,also hanni now in pool bar.the animation team had changed from our last stay but joe was still there,and he was funnier than ever backed up by his new team mate chiko the hotel was being repainted on the outside ,and was looking its old self. once again thanks a lot to all the staff for another great holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosearchNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,373)
There are newer reviews for Chich Khan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,450 - 1,456 of 2,373 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012

just returned from this hotel which the staff are brilliant and so helpful i must say wifi signal in reception a bit hit n miss but ok and free i had a lovely room maid was great and very friendly even though she hardly spoke english i did notice a few people including myself at times commenting on how loud it was when you sat by pools as theres not a quiet area so to speak it was being painted and maintenence work was going on but not intrusive at all getting ready for the summer season i did find though the meals were not as good as when i have stayed at the other iberostars in hammamet but that is my opinion and my waiter always expected tipping which did annoy me slightly i always tip everyone and just didnt like the fact he expected it as a right locations good also went to beach but was grubby and very small for a hotel of that size wouldnt like to try and get on there in peak season all in all had a good time but i wouldnt return there as i preferred avarroes which again is my opinion the bar staff also are great and soon get to know what you drink tipping as i stated goes a long way and gets you quicker service lol all in all a lovely hotel and staff but just not for me oh beach towels a deposit of 10 dinar required which you get back on return of towel at reception

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Dear guest,

It is very important for us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable within the whole Iberostar Chich Khan area and we are glad to hear that we succeeded. We also would like to thank you for pointing out our staff.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the cleanliness in your room and felt so well attended to by our staff. For us is very important that our guest feel welcome.

Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guest. We will certainly take into our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve these points.

We certainly will keep on working to maintain our high quality service and keep focus on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on three different occasions, each being 2 weeks long. The hotel and all of its staff are absolutely fantastic, i honestly cannot fault the hotel at all. from the cleanliness of everywhere to the apperance of the property and to the staff that work very hard for all of there customers. My grandparents never used to go on holiday to the same place twice they never seen the point in experiencing the same holiday twice, but they found chich khan and they cannot help themselves but to go there every year if not twice a year.
The main reason for me writing this review was to let the manager know that Mohammad (from smoking section in restaurant) and Joe (Animation entertainment team) were both fantastic at what they do they have so much energy.
Mohammad is such a charismatic man and always has a smile on his face and remembers where we like to sit and the drinks we like to order and he went out of his way to build a friendly rapport towards us
Joe was quite simply hilarious made us laugh just looking at him, on one of the days when he must have been off. the pool scene was completely different and was very uncomfortable without joe he made the atmosphere. The animation team at chich khan definately need joe to keep it alive within the hotel!
All in all all of the staff were fantastic just these 2 really stood out for me will definately return to see my 2 favourite staff :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the restaurant overlooking the pool
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mark_m101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

best holiday ever weve just come back an will definetly be returniing waiters round the pool cant do enougways so cheerfulh for u animation team ar brill they work so hard but make u so welcome staff in resturant great too infact i cant fault any of them the onlg our our holidayy thing we were dissapointed at was the beach wasnt open as it said it wud be thank u for makin our holiday a memorable one dawn an barry

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 155dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We have just returned from a week long stay at this hotel.

We have visited Tunisia before and this was the best hotel out of the 4 that we have stayed in.
The staff are extremely friendly and can't do enough for you. Every member of staff that we passed around the hotel during our stay greeted us with a cheerful 'hello' or 'good morning' and a smile. The waiters around the pool asked us on the first day if we wanted drinks and after that we never had to go to the bar again. They did not expect a tip however we gave them one as they deserved it. The reception staff were always helpful and friendly.
The food was always piping hot and there was plenty of choice for everyone. Each day there were 3 Tunisian specilalities, at least one fish dish, a beef dish, a chicken dish, rice, potatoes, vegetables, a full salad bar, chips, 2 types of fresh pizza, fresh pasta made to order, and 2 ready made pasta dishes. As well as the choice, the food was consistently tasty and not at all bland. There was also a wide selection of deserts from cakes and biscuits to pancakes and ice cream. The breakfast is different to what you would get in a normal European hotel, but for English taste there is plenty of choice - a variety of cereals, yoghurt, a big selection of fresh breads, as well as fried eggs and omlettes made to order.
The general cleanliness of the hotel was very impressive. The hotel was constantly being cleaned. The room was made up daily and fresh towels were provided. The room was clean and spacious with a cold fridge and lots of storage space. The decor of the room (and the hotel in general) is traditional, therefore maybe not to everyones taste, but certainly not shabby, and the full exterior has just been repainted. There was a seperate toilet from the main bathroom, both which were extremely clean - a general theme of this hotel.
The pool area was very impressive. This maybe due to the time of year that we visited but we did not have any trouble getting sunbeds. The pool area is large and there are plenty of sunbeds so I wouldnt imagine getting sunbeds would be a problem even in peak season. There are also lots of grassed areas further back from the pool which offered privacy.
The beach is a 5 minute walk from the hotel and is small for the size of the hotel. The beach only opens on 1st May and during our stay it was being cleaned up ready for the main season. We did not use the beach however we walked past towards the end of our stay and it had been fully cleaned up and looked pleasant. I will say that if you enjoy spending most of your holiday on the beach then this is probably not the right hotel or resort for you.
The hotel is in an ideal location situated between the Marina and the Medina, both in walking distance.
In summary a great value for money hotel, great staff, very high quality food and an overall very nice place to spend your holiday. Lastly, ignore the negative reviews regarding the food and this not being a 4 star hotel, only a naive person would expect UK standard 4 star in Tunisia.

Room Tip: If you like a quite room ask to be away from the main reception area.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

My mum and I stayed here for a week in the beginning of May. The overall experience was very lovely. Downsides of this hotel included noise coming in from the corridor at night and early in the morning, and the fact that smoking is allowed almost anywhere which as a non-smoker was a bit uncomfortable.
Once we got past these issues, it was all very nice. The hotel has a Moorish style and it was indeed a bit dated. It is due for a refurbishment but it’s really not as noticeable. It is a 4-star hotel but I cannot comment on how realistic this rating is as most star ratings are based on facilities rather than quality. The experience however was 4-star.
There are 4 floors: 2 with guest rooms; ground floor has the reception, bar, main restaurant, a small shop. Here you also have the representatives, a woman who does henna tattoos and the guys who offer activities such as camel rides and quad biking. On the basement level, there are bars, the spa with an indoor pool, and games like air hockey, and pool tables. Outside you have the pool, and hotel activities that include archery, mini-golf and Ping-Pong.
The room was just the right size, quite spacious. Had a balcony overlooking the street, had a bathroom with big mirrors and a very well thought out storage space. There was air-conditioning in the room which was nice as balcony doors are best kept closed at night because of the mosquitos.
I have had doubts about coming to this hotel because some reviews said bad things about the food. I can honestly say that I have no idea what they were on about. I found the selection fantastic although a bit repetitive by the end of the week but still so many dishes to choose from you could eat something else for each meal. Personally, I loved the food, it was very tasty and if you have a sweet tooth…well, I’m sure you’ll find something.
The animation staff was okay, although we did have a problem with a deposit they refused to return but it was fine once they realised that it’s not a fee as it is an all-inclusive hotel. Restaurant staff is very good; for a small tip they will give you a good service. As there is a dine-around option, one can book through the head waiter to dine in one of the other 4 Iberostar hotels. We chose the Italian in Averroes as we thought you can’t go wrong with pasta. Well, that was hardly the case, I personally did not like the food, however the Tunisian restaurant in Saphir Palace was amazing. Can’t recommend it enough, it gives a great idea about Mediterranean cuisine.
I know this is supposed to be a review of the hotel but I cannot leave out the resort, people and culture. Overall it’s a nice resort but outside of the tourist areas, I would not recommend going alone. If you’re a female, verbal harassment will be almost unavoidable. Don’t let this spoil your holiday though, these men are harmless and mostly just want to encourage you to take a look at their products and hopefully make a purchase. They are a bit too pushy for my liking so with sunglasses on, ignoring them worked best for me. If you are like me and want to be left alone to browse, you might want to go to the shop across from the hotel or one of the L’artisan shops (Joy’s, Magic Price). A camel ride was something we really wanted to try but the guy at the hotel reception asked for £20/person; not sure how long the ride would have been but it felt like a rip off. If you just want to try it out, I would go to the beach and make a deal with one of the guys there; they charged £10 for the 2 of us for a 10-minute ride.
Hope you found this review helpful and thanks for reading!

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the street was quite.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissLexie713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Just arrived back after a somewhat disappointing holiday, whoever rated this as 4 star hotel must have either had a backhander from the management, or did the viewing appraisal at night with sunglasses on, a 4 star this is not.

Overall it is very clean and the staff must be struggling to paper over the cracks , it's tired looking, fraying at the edges, well past it's sell by date.
The food is bland, bordering on tasteless, repetitive, chicken morning noon and night, heaps of it, fried, boiled, braised, stewed, they can even make one dish out of chicken wing tips.
The only other meat was a saute beef which must have been the cheapest cuts cooked to submission, and also fried beef liver.

Being close to the sea one would expect to see at least on type of fish.
Endless pans of hot steaming, what they labelled a Tunisian Speciality, never did find out what was in it.

The hotel is situated in an area that's a cross between a rubbish tip and Beirut, the streets are filthy with buildings in a sad state of repair.
What Thomas Cook also forgets to inform you, if you did not know already that Tunisia is not in the EU, and smoking is permitted inside public areas, including restaurants.

I know it's not the fault of the hotel, but to venture out of the gates can be a nightmare, as soon as your feet hit the pavement the locals are on to you like bees to honey, everyone claims to be a waiter, a chef, from your hotel and has a relation how will give you a very good (rip off ) sorry deal in his shop.
Be warned keep saying !! NO !! don't venture into their establishment on an invite you'll never get out without buying something.
They always say you should read the small print before signing up for anything, I wish I had read all the feedback left by others before booking this holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pimpernel60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Dear guest,


First of all we want to apologize for all the inconveniences you had during your stay. We are very sorry to hear that we could not fulfill your gastronomy expectations

The head departments involved have been informed about your comments. We will certainly take in our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve these points. Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guest.

Some of the problems you mentioned are totally under our standards and we have already taken action in order to meet our standards again. Your comment will certainly help us to keep focus on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards.

We know how uncomfortable is when you are a not smoker and you have smokers around. Our hotel has separate areas for smokers. The main restaurant is a not smoking area like also the reception area. We have also “No smoker” rooms with a sign in each room. The Shows take place in the bar, where is allowed to smoke. We do our best to make our guest to respect the no smoking areas.

It is very important for us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable within the whole hotel area and we feel sorry to read that didn´t succeeded.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.5 mi away
Houda Yasmine Hammamet
Houda Yasmine Hammamet
#40 of 118 in Hammamet
1,051 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Laico Hammamet
Hotel Laico Hammamet
#29 of 118 in Hammamet
797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lella Baya & Thalasso Hotel
Lella Baya & Thalasso Hotel
#36 of 118 in Hammamet
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#12 of 118 in Hammamet
1,270 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vincci Flora Park
Vincci Flora Park
#25 of 118 in Hammamet
883 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
#31 of 118 in Hammamet
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chich Khan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chich Khan

Address: Rue la Medina | Street Medina, Yasmine, Hammamet 8056, Tunisie, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#26 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: $58 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chich Khan 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approx 200 m from the hotel's own beach sector. In the centre of Yasmine, Hammamet (Tunisia). Built in Moorish style. Family–friendly complex. Elegant atmosphere. Lively entertainment program. Facilities for incentive-groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chich Khan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Chich Khan Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing