We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“That Little Bit More” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet
Ranked #5 of 123 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“That Little Bit More”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We arrived for a week's break. We wanted a pleasant hotel with good service - what we got was different... It was a VERY good hotel with excellent service. The service was caring yet unobtrusive. From the main reception to the room staff - everyone was exceptional - the type of service that you only get when the staff have been very well trained, and then continuously managed. (definitely five stars to the hotel management).

Our room was superb, large and very comfortable, with tranquil sea views. We had a large en-suite bathroom with a separate dressing room. The bedroom was large with its own seating area also. Very clean also... Even when we were tired and left the do not disturb sign out, the clean would then be cleaned in the afternoon, without any fuss... Wow, how good is this place!

We also used the spa for massages and reflexology - here again, very professional and attentive staff who have been well trained.

The indoor pool was wonderful, as it was too cold to use the outdoor pool or the sea in late December / early January.

Room Tip: Definitely get a sea view room. Well worth the modest extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TheoMantoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    187
    46
    19
    9
See reviews for
135
494
37
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
north east
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Although the cleanliness and friendliness of staff cannot be faulted. The room was fantastic although not always immaculately clean on our arrival but corrected by day 2. It was still very enjoyable but completely let down by the food options. The Lobby bar, the pianist in particular is amazing!

However on the second day I personally fell 1 foot into a lift that had not stopped at the appropriate floor. On the 4th day my husband tried to prevent the door closing on an elderly lady only to have the doors clamp shut on his forearm and the remaining people inside the elevator requiring to help pull him free. If not for the the fact i work in the emergency services the resulting injury would have required an A&E visit, something discussed and aid offered by Thompsons. We reported both of these issues at the time and were told maintenance were looking into it. It became apparent whilst waiting for the rep that an elderly couple had suffered a similar fall into a lift and required hospital treatment. Shame there are no alternative stairs that you can use.

The 3 al a carte restaurants by definition are non existant, We were told we were entitled to one meal in each as part of the package we had booked and on the first night informed they were all full and there was nothing that could be done, try booking next week... ( we were only there one week).

Only through compaining twice to our poor rep was this rectified although we may have been better if it wasn't. I still dont class being asked to make a choice of what we wanted from the 1 of 2-3 choices ( and on one occasion " beef or fish" options) when you book really the same as an al a carte restaurant. I feel the definitions advertised are misleading. The basis of the "buffet and 3 al a carte restaurants " as advertised were my reason for booking this particular hotel.The food in the "a la carte" was below average. One night I snuck into the buffet to get 2 bread rolls as the meal had been so bad. (we had paid for all inclusive). I also didn't like having to sit at the first same table that you sit at for dinner every night for the rest of your stay, especially since you are shown to one and may not know at the time this is the entire holiday table choice and therefore not object... 3 hours after our arrival and no inside knowledge we were seated right next to the buffet and all the traffic, maybe you need to bribe the waiters for a balcony or window seat..... but there we remained,

I would like to add that I wrote a letter to Thompsons to allow them to respond to my concerns 10 days post return in september - i have heard nothing at the time of this post.....

Will we return to Oceana Palace ... Not a chance.

Room Tip: partial sea views are worth it depending on how much you spend in the run. avoid being near receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank kitkat2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
121 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We dediced to have a short vacation for 5 days middle of December in Tunis to combine some relax in the beach and some cultural trips, so according to other reviews we decided to book this hotel through their web www.riu.com. We did the booking for hotel, flight, etc. just 4 days before to be sure these days we would have nice weather and not full rain.
HOTEL: although it seems to have its age, it looks well renovated, nice lobby area, very big rooms with huge bed, indoor swimming pool, nice pool and garden area, ... room has mini-bar (with fair prices), water boiler with teas, safe, big bathroom with separate shower & bathtub, ... Being hotel almost empty at this time we got a sea-view room, with great views to beach and pool area. Those closer to lobby may have some more noise during night due to entertainment, although it was fine as it finished at 23. Most staff is very friendly and will do all possible to have a pleasant stay at their hotel.
There is an ATM at the hotel, although you can also exchange there as exchange rates are fair.
BEACH: the beach is very nice, clean and at that time of the year almost empty. We had very nice weather (17-18 degrees with sun). There are people with camels if youo want a ride. If you walk to the right when leaving hotel, at the end of the beach you find Hammamet-Yasmine, with many options for eating out at lunch time at good price. Also there you may book boat trips. Beware of people in the beach saying they work at your hotel (which is not true) as finally they will start begging money or bringing you to shops, which we avoided.
FOOD: we had half-board with breakfast and dinner. Having buffet we were satisfied with the quantity and quality of food. For breakfast you have plenty of choices with fresh juices, maybe not too many sorts of fruit, hot and cold food, etc. First night we arrived at 22 and we missed one dinner ... we had to insist a lot to get some sandwiches the day of our departure. I think telling in advance you arrive after 21, the hotel should be able to give some light dinner. Last day it seems you are expected to leave some tip to waiters.
SPA/POOL: indoor pool and gym are free and there are plenty of machines to do sport. Pool is quite big and being hotel almost empty we enjoyed it a lot. You can also play ping-pong and there are also billiard, football-machine ,etc. We had one treatment for spa. For 40 euros/person you have 90 minutes with peeling, turkish sauna and 45 minutes massage.
TRANSPORT TO/FROM HOTEL: unless you have it included, the hotel has transfer service for 60 euros per way, which is quite overpriced (normally should be below 40), but we did not want to take the risk to arrive to airport and do it by ourselves. The trip takes 45-60 minutes to Tunis-Cartague airport.
TRIPS/EXCURSIONS: we booked 2 trips through the hotel. One to Kairouan, El Jem, Sousse & Port-El-Kantauoi (price 200 dinars) and other to Tunis Capital (Bardo Museum, old medina, Cartague area and Sidi-Bou-Said - price 180 dinars). You have a private car with a friendly driver so your time will not be wasted in picking-up people from other hotels, going to shops, etc, ... so the price is quite fair and is worth to take these trips if you never went to Tunis before. The hotel also provides a free 2 hours tour to Hammamet town (10 minutes away) through one of their guys (I think his name was Memmet), a very friendly person who will show you the small town city center and explain about local culture and customs. Being a free ride, we gave a good tip to him and driver.

Overall, we had a nice stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes some relax. Going in December is a good option in the last minute if you check you will have good weather as you will enjoy a big and nice property with very few tourists.

Room Tip: try to get room far from lobby as night entertainment may be a bit loudy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank traveller_spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely trip in this beautiful hotel! The staff are ultra attentive and kind,the room was spotless and very spacious.ok we could have done with a bit more sun but it is December and was springlike!
The food is fantastic! This hotel is the best in tunisia so give it a try you'll love it.
Allia the beauty and hair therapist was second to known have never had such a great facial.
Give the little shop a bit of custom but haggle! The guy is reasonable.
We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room the junior suites are great and good value for money,get a pool view too as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Della D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We arrived at the hotel having only had recommendations from other guests whilst we had need on a excursion. The hotel cannot be seen from the road , so is very quite. It is spotlessly clean, the food is amazing, the service likewise is amazing. The staff were so helpful.
I had an operation prior to departing for Tunisia and the assistance I received at the hotel was great. The staff also brought my meals to the table for me, nothing was any trouble..

The room was really nice, laid out nice and kept clean throughout our stay. The food standard was great, t evening entertainment was very relaxing.

I will be returning to the hotel again next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank derek p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

A very nice hotel especially important I think out of season when weather uncertain you want to be sure of a decent meal a hot shower and a well stocked bar. As it's not near anywhere else I do suggets that AI is well worth the extra as bar prices astronomical and v pleasant to be able to have coffee in the morning, sparkling water with every meal and ( as said) a drink ( or three) of an evening. The hotel is between Yasmine a big tourist trap and Mammaret a proper small town also walking distance to bus stop for Hammamet. It's very easy to visit Tunis and Carthage from here using local transport much cheaper than tours. Everything was v clean including the beach especially when we saw what had been swept up in a storm further down the beach( only seaweed, the water is v clear!)If we return it would be at a time of year which would improve our chances of nice weather. Staff great please tip they deserve it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 15Claire15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

we decided to try a week away late on in the year ,we have never had a holiday so late .but it was good , the hotel wasent at all busy ,but that was to are advantage ,the staff couldn't do enough for you .they were so trying to please everyone the weather wasent too good ,but better than being at home,,rooms, food ,staff hotel ext were very good ,and it has made us thinking about going back in the spring ,so that's a good point, I have had hip replacement ,and am still a bit slow at getting my food from buffet to table ,but I need not have worried about this ,as there was always a member of staff there to help, and that was without even asking them, so this shows how good they all were in this hotel,i would recomend it to anyone who would like a good, quite hotel, with loverly staff and a very relaxing holiday

Room Tip: this time of the year ask for a pool view room ,as they get the sun so sitting out is very pleasant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
4.3 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#1 of 123 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
5.3 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#4 of 123 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
1.5 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#2 of 123 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
0.8 mi away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#17 of 123 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tui Magic Life Africana
Tui Magic Life Africana
#7 of 123 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet

Property: Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet
Address: Barraket Essahel, B.P 58, Hammamet 8056, Tunisia (Formerly Hotel Riu Palace Oceana Hammamet)
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#13 Family Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Hammamet-Jinene * Situated on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach * 4-storey building surrounded by 70,000 m2 of gardens * 8 km from Hammamet's old quarter * 2 km from various shops * 60/95 km from the Tunis/Monastir airports * 40 km from Enfidha airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Oceana Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing