We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb care and affection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet
Ranked #4 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“superb care and affection”
Reviewed May 10, 2011

What a fabulous holiday this was our third time the more we visit the more we want to go back ,from the minute we enter the Hotel we feel to be at a top class spa you just relax ,,everything is taken care of ,,the staff are simply the best ,it is also a great Hotel for golf courses.

Room Tip: The sea views are a must ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harrisonyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    191
    46
    19
    9
See reviews for
136
502
39
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

My husband, 3yr old daughter and I stayed at the oceana at the beginning of April and had a wonderful, relaxing break. Because I know that it is hard to read paragraphs sometimes... I will write in bullet points.
Things that were wonderful:
Service- no-one could do enough for us... it took quite some getting used to! All staff spoiled our daughter rotten, remembered our names and details about what we liked to drink/eat etc
Quietness - if you want peace and quiet, this is the place for you
Pools - all were clean and well maintained ... indoor heated pool to 32 degrees was especially great
Rooms - comfortable and furnished with flowers every day by the chamber maid!

Not great - the Thompson tour - better to book a car with a driver - the hotel will sort this for you
If you want children's activities, there are none in April

All in all a fantastic holiday - thank you Riu! We are now committed Riu patrons. Everyone else at our hotel had been to loads of Rius and I can see why!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fkempton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Situated 20 mins from Jasmine Hammamet. Have stayed there twice in six months and are going back next May!!! Fabulous staff and so clean. Food excels itself and you really are made to feel special . The hotel is being refurbished to a high standard with a new state of the art gym going in. Not suitable for teenagers. Hammamet air port opening shortly so transfer will only be 20 mins. Would recommend spending the extra on the Oceana plus. Rooms are very large but tv channels poor.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wykeham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

On arrival at 1am due to delays we were welcomed very professionally, and amazed to be taken to the restaurant to be offered food !! We declined, but went to the bar to chill down with a bottle of wine. We then ordered room service and finished the wine on the balcony.
We paid extra for a sea view, and in the dark all looked well. The next morning we were shocked to be lloking at the sea through a building site next door. Thomson had assured me before travel that this would not happen. After a short conversation with reception, I had us moved to an amazing room overlooking the pool, and the sea.
All the rooms are the same.... large with great facilities.
The whole week we were there, we were treated like royalty... we are used to a high standard, but were overwhelmed by the extra mile the staff went to. They have a memory for the slightest detail.
With the staff looking after you, it left us to do nothing but relax, and relax we did. I have never sat still for so long !!
The food at the poolside at lunchtime was fantastic, and the choice in the evening was great. A little repetative at times, but no complaints about the quality.
If you go, I hope you enjoy as much as we did.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajcmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

This is the 1st time I have ever bothered to write a review of a Hotel, but felt it only right as my wife and I avidly read all reviews before booking ourselves! We have stayed at the Oceana many times over the last couple of years, we tend to book for 4 weeks at a time. I cannot praise the staff highly enough from the cleaning ladies to the reception staff, their open friendly approach always with a smile and a "how are you", goes a long way. Cleanliness of the Hotel is 2nd to none, clean sheets/towels every day and usually flowers etc on the bed. Staying for 4 weeks puts a different perspective on the food as I know several people report on repetative food. To be honest, as a very fussy eater I have to say that overall the different menus were about as far as the chefs could go. My wife (known as the Shrimp Lady) was given prawns/shrimps etc every night as she is not a big meat eater and she enjoyed the fish very much, thank you if you read this. There is a new manager at the Hotel from Portugal ( Mr Neves, really nice guy)who is trying to improve what is already a good standard trying new things etc, and my wife and I feel that once he has implimented his ideas a currently very good Hotel will become excellent. Of note, for those of us that like to try and keep a little slim over our hol's he is planning to renovate the gymnasuim in the near future. To finish, all I can say is please remember to give a smile and a how are you occasionally to the staff, it goes a long way, unlike some of our friends from other countries! If you go to Yassmine Hamammet and the weather is ok, a 20 min walk along the beach is great, but a 4 Dinar taxi back is better! The Medina at Hamammet, take your husband, that's all I will say. Shops, any not fixed price, you must haggle or you will be ripped off. Beach sellers with Sarongs, don't pay more that 10 Dinar, even if he starts at 35, he is taking the mick and trying it on. Will stop now as I have dribbled on enough, bottom line, smashing Hotel, not for kids as there is nothing for them to do, if you are looking for 5 star entertainment again forget. If though you are looking for a relaxing, friendly, clean, away from it holiday, then I guess like us you might just have found it. Of note we have just booked for May 2011, might see you there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blue072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2010

this is a very well run hotel and the staff are excellent, friendly, attentive and helpful. Food is good and selection is varied, predominantly buffet. Amenities generally are well conceived and in good order. Despite having 2 days of rain, the break achieved everything that we sought and we would happily return when next we want a lazy getaway.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Firstly I would like to say to all the people complaining that this is not 5*- YOU R NOT PAYING 5* PRICES!!!!!!!! I think it is a very unfair comment, and also what means 5* to some, doesn't mean 5* to others. A 5* anywhere else in the world would have cost at least double. We paid for a family of 4 in 2 junior suites, half board £6.000- you are looking at that being doubled anywhere else in Europe during high season.
Anyway, aside of that- this hotel is 5* and so much more in my opinion.......No there is no pool with swim up bar and jacuzzis, turn down service with chocolates on your pillow, cold towels and ice lollys round the pool etc etc etc....but frankly I find that all a bit "new money tack", which is a fun novelty at first- but frankly, highly unecessary.
This hotel is what I would call "tired elegance", and as one reviewer remarked, very reminiscent of La Cote D'Azzure 30 years ago. The hotel is 90% French guests, and at first, you are made to feel this a bit- but treat the staff well and like old friends, get in with the right people, (Paolo and the French/ Italian crowd of about 25 who come several times a year for several weeks), and they will treat you like their own- also being able to speak a little French helps.
Ok let's get down to it.
Beach- stunning white soft sand and crystal clear mediteranean sea, which most days was as calm as a bath and had no seaweed etc in the sea. It is one of the most relaxing beaches I have ever been on. There are the occasional camel and horse that ride up and down for the kids to ride on, a great beach bar, (thank you Kamel and Wallid for always having my vodka and freshly squeezed orange juice ready before I'd even ordered it! LOL), and some water sports/ volleyball. Loved swimming inthe sea every day.
Pool and gardens. One of the nicest pools I have been in- really clean. The pictures don't do it justice. No swim up bar- yippee- I'd rather have my drinks brought to my sun lounger thank you very much! By the way- there are always plenty of towels and sun loungers by the pool or on the beach any time of day. Gardens are well kept and beautiful.
Hotel- It is spotless everyhere, and has an air of tired elegance- I liked it.
Rooms- We had 2 ground floor junior suites- huge rooms, (about 14ft x 20ft), with seperate bathroom with good size bath, (great water pressure), seperate power shower, seperate dressing areas with LOADS of wardrobe space- and beleive me, I take 14 bikinis, a different dress for every night and matching shoes and bags etc etc etc!! :).. We were lucky enough to have no carpet- I prefer a tilied floor. Great dressing table, with good lighting and plug nearby- definately designed by a woman LOLLOLLOL! Spotlessly kept with dressing gowns, slippers and fresh towels and bedding daily. They also did little things like put fruit in our room, and rose perals on the bed etc. Rooms are basic- but fine.
Food- ahhhhh, I have left the best for last......it was magnificent at dinner- breafast was fine, but dinner was lovely- how anyone can say it got repetative is beyond me There is an abundance of agriculture in Tunisia, so there is always plenty of fresh fruit and veg, including aubergines, peppers, carrots, broccoli, caulifower, spinach, green beans and peas, all the usual fruit, and the meat isn't mass farmed and tastes like meat did here in the 70s- really tender and tasty. There is always a huge hordeuves table laden with fresh salmon, tuna, beef cappacio, egg mayonaise, prawns lobster, loads of different salads and tasty canapes, just to name a few, cooking stations providing, differetn pasta dishes, fish, and meat- the pepper fillet beef was superb and they even make the sauce fresh in front of you. There is paella, and traditional Tunisain dishes such as cous cous with lamb, or fish, brik, (yum), or ojay- which is gorgeous. Something I never eat on holiday is desert- but these were the best, home made and fresh- especially the kiwi tart and the lemon merengue pie- there were also traditional Tunisian sweets. There are no carton juices- all are freshly squeezed.
As I said treat them well- and they will do anything for you- my family were treated like special guests to be honest, beciause they really liked us- we were given the best tables on the terrace when we requested it and they really fussed round us for out anniversay.
I woke up one morning and couldn't open my eye. It was 7.30. My husband called reception and a doctor came within the hour. Took one look at me, correctly diagnosed me and gave me a prescription and an injection- then charged us about £20!!!!!!! When Glyn went to reception to enquire about where to pick it up from- they were horrified and said, "Non Monsiur! We will send someone to get it for Madam" And they did, by the time we had come out of breakfast! My eye was back to normal by the evening.
All in all, a wonderful place, with wonderful people, and we would go back. We did have one issue the first day, and if you want to know more, email me- but it would never happen again now they know us, and is irrelevant as the holiday was so lovely.
But please don't come here if your kids are the type who need constant entertainmant or you need all night entertainment, (though there is s fab kiddies club which is open till midnight), but not much for the teenagers to be honest apart from the water sports. Excursians are great- but give the Zulu night a miss :)). Sidi Bu Said and Cathage were great though, and had the kids been older, I would love to have done the Star Wars trip into the Sahara. Another tip- do not go all inclusive- u r treated differently in that they thought we were and told us there was no juice for the kids at dinner, or champagne for us- until they realised we were paying for it!! There was only Fanta and Coke type drinks, for the kids and cheap wine or beer for the adults- but I'm a princess and like to have what I want. Also, if you r paying you get Absolute vodka, if ur all inclusive- it's cheap local- it's up to you. Also, weekends seem busier in the hotel- the local gentry and diplomats and hotel owner's friends do use it, (you can see all the Porches etc up the drive), so I booked excursions with private guides at the weekend- and they were quieter then. It may irritate you- but the local diplomats do get preferntail treatment, ( although we were very well looked after)- it is probably the best hotel in Tnisia though, which is why they use it.
Avoid this place also if you are "new money"- you will hate it- stick to Marbella, Potal Nous or Dubai- this place oooozes old French money and style- it clearly isn't their main holiday :). The themed night was wonderful and outside and everyone dressed up like it was a wedding- my family always dress up on holiday- so we loved it!
All in all a wonderful, sun drenched, relaxnig holiday, being spoilt rotten in lovely surroundings- what more could one ask for??:))))xxxxxxxx PS I haven't put any pictures up, and haven't got a link, but if you go onto my facebook, (Jacqui Le Roy Bunting) photos- Tunisaia I and Tunisia 2 these are my holiday snaps.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Annalisaxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
4.3 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#1 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
5.3 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
1.5 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#2 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
0.8 mi away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#23 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tui Magic Life Africana
Tui Magic Life Africana
#8 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet

Property: Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet
Address: Barraket Essahel, B.P 58 | Hammamet Sud, Hammamet 8056, Tunisia (Formerly Hotel Riu Palace Oceana Hammamet)
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#3 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#7 Best Value Hotel in Hammamet
#13 Family Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Hammamet-Jinene * Situated on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach * 4-storey building surrounded by 70,000 m2 of gardens * 8 km from Hammamet's old quarter * 2 km from various shops * 60/95 km from the Tunis/Monastir airports * 40 km from Enfidha airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Oceana Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing