We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel with a great beach!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Iberostar Averroes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iberostar Averroes
Ranked #10 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with a great beach!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

My wife and I spent one week with an All-Iclusive package in this 4-star-hotel in October 2010 and we really enjoyed our stay there. It is situated in Yasmine Hammamet, right on the wide sandy beach - relatively close to the centre of Yasmine Hammamet and has around 250 double rooms plus 7 suites and 7 junior suites. All the rooms are air-conditioned (surprisingly I have been told that air-conditioning doesn't work, because it's already cold in October) and have phone, satellite TV, mini fridge, balcony/terrace and a safe (you have to pay at the reception for it though). Our room had some strange view at a nearby hotel, but in general the room was ok, big enough but needs renovation. The hotel has a spa (if you are using the All-Inclusive package you have one free Hamman for each week of your stay), inside and outside swimming pools. You can practice within the hotel water aerobics, play football, pool, boules, darts, tennis, table tennis and water polo. On the Yasmine-Hammamet beach, alongside the hotel, you can practise paid water skiing, windsurfing, pedal boats and ride the waves on a water bike. The two restaurants and three bars (including the pool bar) serve different Tunisian and international dishes and drinks. If you are an All-inclusive guest you can also book a theme dinner at the local Italian restaurant or in the nearby Iberostar hotels, such as the Belisaire (Asian cuisine), the Chich Khan (Mexican cuisine) and the Solaria (Oriental cuisine).
Apart from the already mentioned renovation needed in the room there is one other thing that made us not very happy - the staff ALWAYS demands tips. It's not big deal since they demand a dinar or two, but at the end of the day it's annoying.
In general we did enjoy our stay in this hotel and we would like to recommend it to other people who would like to have relatively good quality hotel stay at affordable prices.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolfchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,298
    675
    243
    102
    54
See reviews for
801
900
83
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

We stayed for what should have been a week but ended up being 5 nights due to being repatriated due to the civil unrest.
About an hour from Monastir airport and 20 mins brisk walk from Hammamet Yasmine marina, the hotel is well positioned and spacious.
Greeted on arrival and our cases were taken to our room - we went straight to lunch as we'd had an early flight from the Uk.
After reading some contributions, I was concerned about the food - though need not have been.
Therewas a good selection and the food was always hot, not just luke warm.
The waiter service was good in both the restaurant and the bars - yes they do like a couple of dinars tips - but, an average wage in Tunisian hotels is £150 per month so you can see why!
For your couple of dinars tip, you get drinks bought to your table all night in the bar and drinks awaiting your arrival in the restaurant and constantly replenished.
The rooms were spacious, we didn't use the room safe so can't comment on pervious contributors. I'd be surprised if the safe was opened as they look secure.
There's a fridge in the room and a seperate bathroom and toilet area which is unusual.
I'm one for picking up stomach bugs in Africa but this time didn't - I think this says something for the cleanliness in the hotel.
The manager walks around during the evenings - he always walks around the bar speaking to guests and eats in the restaurant evey evening, stopping to chat on his way round.
I very rarely say I'd return to a hotel, but on this occasion I would - the civil unrest cut our trip short but we had a really lovely time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

my wife and i stayed for xmas and new year, hotel, food, great.safe was opened and £500 stolen from it. management were no help at all. they denied it could happen, they would not call the police. i had to involve the police myself, that is a job in itself. the management spent the rest of our holls ignoring us. there is no security in this hotel for guest's, we loved the hotel but would not go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie01Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

we stayed at the iberostar avverous for the new year,on reading the reviews i was dreading it ,on arrival to the hotel the bell boy meets you takes your luggage to your room
nice touch check in really easy,rooms big really roomy you could swing the cat really clean,the staff cant do enough for you in the resturant they will have your wine, water ,.ready on your table for a few dinars tip worth it..i loved the food hubby got bye, fresh pastries ,omlettes,crepes ect cooked on demand for breakfast ,lunch usual meat ,soup,salad for lunch,dinner a roast of some meat ,stir fry chips ect,there is always a traditional tunisian dish on if you like spicy food try it i loved it, i did not like the vodka but they do there own wine white rosie or red it was nice beer was fine too lager ,tunisians have a very sweet tooth and it shows in there sweets they were great .the animation team tried hard it was average entertainment the quizs was best,newyears gala dinner was fantastic 7 course meal wine flowing service great .the resort not much to do ,really quite if you want good service chill out holiday go ,if you want night life and bars dont.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzie067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

Yeah…. Speaking now seriously, I found there the same great place. Perfectly clean room, tasty food, excellent staff, quiet place. Comparing to last year, this one waiters seems to me a little stressed. Usually, I am not an aggressive customer so I exchanged smiles with everyone. Always, a good time means a lot for me. And I found it again here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

Don’t expect a 4 star hotel here, apparently Iberostar are a franchise here so therefore not the same standards as you would get elsewhere. I would say it’s a three star at a push.

The hotel itself needs a bit of an uplift but the rooms were cleaned and towels changed every day. The beds were a bit hard and the pillows were a bit too high.
Our balcony door did not lock but eventually got fixed 2 days later. You are provided with one bottle of water on arrival and then you are responsible for getting your own.

The food after a while can become a bit samey, especially the breakfast but there are fresh crepes and pastries but don’t expect to wash it down with a nice coffee as it wasn’t very good. The pasta at lunch and dinner is really tasty and there was fresh pizza made every other night which was quite nice. The lights can be a bit bright in the restaurant but on some nights they have candles and it’s a nice touch. Our waiter Karim was very attentive and didn’t expect tips but you will find many do and even if you do tip them they don’t seem to provide much better service. The dine around is a good idea as it lets you get out and about and sample some different food. It’s a set menu for them all so you don’t get to order, the Mexican was nice with good service as was the Italian and Asiatic but I was very disappointed with the Solarium (Oriental) which is the 5 star hotel, I hadn’t even finished my starter when the waiter stood over me with the main course and I had to abandon my starter so he could serve, I found this very rude and didn’t enjoy the meal. There are some rolls left out from 10pm near the dining room but if they ran out before 12 I don't think they were replaced.

The beach area isn’t very appealing, the sun beds are old and worn and the mats a bit grubby. You won’t be left in peace as every 10 minutes you will have someone selling jewellery, cigarettes, fruit etc. Even if you tell them you have no money on the beach they will still hamper. The pool was way too cold so we didn’t get a swim which was quite disappointing. The towels are free for the sun beds but don’t expect a mat unless you ask and provide tips.

The animation team worked hard but easily got bored if no one took part in the activities. They will come and sit on your sun bed and chat away but Coco and Tito tend to cause a bit of mischief which can be a bit annoying. If you are Scottish Mimi will say Good Girl in her best Scottish accent & Dino loves Michael Jackson and will often treat you to some dancing. There is a signature dance that goes on three times a day and by the end of the holiday you will be holding your hands over your ears. The evening entertainment consists of the animation team putting on a show or by having bingo and tombola which happens quite often! The team will try again and again to sell you tickets priced at 10 dinars as they get commission, this too can become a bit irritating. The best show we seen was Lord of the Dance where head of animation Michel walked on glass, he also likes to sing the same song each night so once again you may need earplugs.

There is not enough room for everyone in the evening; the biggest part of the room is for smokers so even if you sit in the non smoking part you will still be plagued but the strong smell of smoke wafting in all directions. We found ourselves having to sit on the stairs on a few occasions waiting for somewhere to sit or you would have to squeeze in beside other guests. We met some wonderful people this way, Karen and Peter, Jan and Bryan, Pauline and Rick and Lisa and Ange. The service at the bar was good, Walid was best at making cocktails. The other bar staff were efficient but expected tips if they brought drinks to the table and I don’t mean one dinar. I had someone say “I served you for three hours” this was after we had given a tip. Look out for Slim, hes a wee cutie. The manager was a very pleasant man who often walked round asking how you were.


Excursions offered by Thomas Cook were very overpriced, but our rep Ellie was very helpful and informative. We went to Fengirola Animal Park and later to the African show but it was a nightmare. We were herded in and sat at a table with 6 others. The meal was served while the show was going on and you didn’t get served individually, you had to pass round a bowl which I didn’t like and then again at the end the waiters were looking for tips.
If you are an animal lover you won’t like it here, I saw a poor injured cat while walking to the marina and felt physically sick. There are cats at the hotel but not many and they seem to be in good health.

There are some good fixed priced shops around the hotel where you get no hassle at all. The supermarkets can be quite expensive but there are a couple of mini markets near by that are quite reasonable.

The worst part of this hotel is the leering men, there are many but the one who bothered me most was Fyaz who works in the main bar area. This is not flattering behaviour as they will go with any women, all shapes and sizes and of all ages. I was there with my partner and was still bothered. I was told that if I didn’t go to a room with him then he would not speak to me again. Let just say he was rather frosty the rest of the holiday but luckily moved his attention on to new arrivals.

All in all we had a nice break with good company, good food and good weather, these men need to have more respect and not behave like they are god’s gift to women. If you have any questions feel free to contact me.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

A Friendly Welcoming Team of Staff from the Manager to the Maid. This hotel was our chosen destination to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary and we weren't dissappointed. The attention to detail in delivering a memorable experience was enhanced by the individual touches from Cake and Fruit in the Room to decorations in the Restaurants.I would certainly recommend this Hotel to Celebrate something special and also for those who want unobtrusive attentive 5 Star Service that for us delivered the WOW Factor.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinValerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
6.0 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#1 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
7.0 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
6.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#2 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
1.4 mi away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#20 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Averroes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Averroes

Property: Iberostar Averroes
Address: Yasmine | Yasmine, Hammamet 8052, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#7 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#9 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Averroes 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fantastic IBEROSTAR Averroes Hotel offers stupendous Hammamet vacations throughout the year. This 4-star all-inclusive Tunisian resort is the perfect spot for holidaying with children or for a couple's escape to the Mediterranean. With 255 double rooms, 7 junior suites, 2 suites, 2 suites with a pool and 2 huge meeting rooms, perfect for your big event, this top hotel and spa is ideal for celebrations or trips to the alluring country of Tunisia. Mediterranean Delicacies. Tunisian cuisine is some of the healthiest and most flavoursome food in the entire Mediterranean region. The IBEROSTAR Averroes Hotel's culinary experts prepare national and international food creations that are not only delicious but beautiful as well. The hotel's five bars and restaurants are guaranteed to entice guests. Entertainment for Young and Old in Hammamet- . IBEROSTAR Averroes adult guests can confidently entrust their little ones to qualified and skilled professionals who have organized hours of fun and games at the Mini-Club while parents enjoy entertainment shows and cabarets. The IBEROSTAR Averroes Hotel also offers other forms of entertainment for all ages and tastes including live music, dancing, and performances. Sports and Spa: Care and Be Cared For. Tennis courts, water-sports, aerobics, gymnastics, beach volleyball, dance lessons...all of this plus an outstanding spa, fitness room, Turkish baths, sauna, beauty salon, and massage services provided by the best professional staff are featured at our top hotel. Free Wi-Fi. Connect to the Internet with IBEROSTAR for as long as you want. The hotel offers exclusive free Wi-Fi in all its facilities. Conventions, Events, and Business Functions in Hammamet. Hammamet, Tunisia's attractiveness to tourists and warm climate make it the best hotel for hosting your conference or work function anytime of the year. The IBEROSTAR Averroes, with its internet-connected conference rooms, is well-equipped for successful meetings and business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Averroes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Averroes Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Averroes
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing