We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Value for money”
Review of Iberostar Averroes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Averroes
Ranked #7 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing Value for money”
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Having read some other reviews of this hotel prior to our visit, I was very pleasantly surprised to find a delightful hotel, in a lovely quiet resort. Our room was very spacious and light, the food was fantastic and the staff wonderful.
We went to two theme nights in partner hotels, which were good and watched some of the evening entertainment in the Averroes. This was very amateurish, but the staff deserved full marks for effort!
We also went on two of the Thomas Cook trips. The day trip to Carthage, Sidi Bou Said and Tunis was very interesting and good value. The half day trip to the market and to a wine tasting was poor compared to similar trips in other countries e.g. Italy.
I've visited quite a lot of other countries, on holidays, over the years and found Tunisia (on this, my first visit), in comparison, a lovely place providing really good value. The Iberostar Averroes gave us an excellent holiday.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nottoooldtotravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,415
    694
    246
    102
    54
See reviews for
850
933
94
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Arrived in the morning, check in went smoothly and we were allocated a room straight away. Our room was very clean and a good size, the down side was the view was awful, over roof tops and another hotel. The balcony had no natural light and trapped moisture, which made clothes drying a long process. Not all the rooms in this hotel have views of the pool or sea as advertised. The toilet and bidet was separate from the bathroom but this set up did suit our needs. The house-keeping staff did an excellent job; our room was spotless the whole duration of the holiday. The bed was not very comfortable and I did have difficulties sleeping some nights. There were only two English speaking channels on the TV, BBC World News which had a very bad reception and Channel 2 (15 on the remote) an Arabic channel which aired American movies. This would also cut out from time to time.
There was a fair amount of variety at meal times, and the hotel did cater for a culturally diverse clientele, but the downside was the food was lukewarm at best. The systems that were there to keep food hot obviously did not work. At busy times the food stations formed long queues, which made what you already had on your plate even colder. The lack of fresh orange juice at breakfast time was a joke considering the 4* rating. The waiter used to bring out two jugs periodically which emptied in seconds, a lot of the time there was none available. The pork and turkey sausages were horrendous; to be avoided. Some of the cuts of meat seemed a bit cheap but it was tasty if not a bit cold. There was a good selection of salads and veggies and Tunisian cuisine was always available. The waiter on our section, Wadji, was fantastic; he was fast, efficient and very friendly. He always had a smile and never looked stressed. We went to the other Iberostar hotels to 'dine around'. The Mexican at the Chich Khan was poor, not Mexican; the same went for the Asian meal at the Belisaire. Small portions, not much flavour. I never attended the Italian at Averroes, so I can't rate that. There were no late night snacks available, just apples and oranges. The good news is, Tunisian wine is quite good, very drinkable, even the house wines. You can get fairly good wines at any establishment.
We never attended the gym which cost 5 Dinar. There were already bad reviews, but we did attend the steam bath which was part of the all exclusive deal. Not very good, it wasn't very hot, people were in and out all the time and there were men in there being scrubbed by some lady, not very relaxing at all. The indoor pool was not always heated, cold on some days. It is in need of decoration, there was green gunk dripping from the ceiling. It was not supervised and teenagers were allowed to get out of control at will. I'm surprised no-one got hurt.
The entertainment in the evening was also poor. Everyone wanted to stay in the lobby bar because the ambience was so much better than the conference room where activities were taking place. The animation team were energetic but couldn’t always encourage the masses to join in at night. I found the entertainment a bit childish, and activities ended far too early. A disco in this hotel wouldn’t be a bad idea. On the last night, there was a live band in the lobby bar which was great. The pool area and grounds were attractive. There were plenty of sun beds but not enough mattresses to go on them. The cocktails were as weak as water, a right waste of time.
The hotel is kept very clean, everywhere is well maintained, the staff are friendly and helpful, but it is not well sign posted. I did not find the Moorish cafe until I was ready to leave. I did not like being harassed by people trying to sell me trips INSIDE the hotel. The sellers seemed to get annoyed if you didn’t sign up. That might be the way outside, but it shouldn’t happen in the sanctuary of your own hotel. The shop is also a bit of a rip-off; no fixed costs, just inflated made-up prices. There’s a good fixed price shop as you turn right out of the hotel. We made the most of it and enjoyed our break but I wouldn’t return because I hate all that hard-sell bartering, but I know that’s a matter of choice. The weather was great and so I had no regrets.
.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2010

We had never done an all inclusive holiday before but with 3 young adult offspring who all eat like horses and drink like fish we thought it was worth a go. It was absolutely marvellous, with friendly efficient service and a good variety of freshly prepared food that provided choices to suit everyone. The salads were fantastic, loads of lentils, couscous, rice, aubergine, yogurt ....... vegetarians would do ok as I have never been offered such a wide variety of fresh vegetables but there was also fresh tuna steaks, mackerel, sardines, chicken, wild boar, rabbit, lamb, sausages, bacon, etc and at each meal there were pizzas/ crepes/omelettes being made to order on the griddle as well as a supply of chips for those who can't manage without them. Despite the wide choice and plentiful supply some guests were short on manners but the majority took the rude element on the chin and there was a good atmosphere, made possible by the charming staff. The pool area was well equipped with sunbeds and mattresses, with waiter service......... it leads onto the beach which was clean. The hotel was immaculately clean, rooms and public areas - the maids were friendly and worked so hard. The entertainment team worked hard to be enthusiastic and welcoming.
The only bit that got a thumbs down was the gym - it looked glossy and lovely but nearly all the equipment was out of order and unusable despite my ringing to check on this before we came away because of reading a similar comment on Tripadvisor. I was assured that a rep had been to check and all was ok - it was not. We chose the Averroes because of the gym, as the younger ones are fitness freaks.... however they managed to content themselves with drinking more beer and lying in the sun. We all had a really lovely holiday.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larchspinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

This was the best holiday of my life, i am waiting to return for another visit the same time this year as it had the perfect weather and i enjoyed every minute of it. The staff were the most exiting as they were lively and were willing to join in with any activity! The beach was so close by and there were many places in the area to visit. We went to watch the lazer show which had incredible images and the show was amazing! I advise everyone to atlest try this hotel and have the time of your life and also try the english club! Best night of my life :)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerrieEngland28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2010

After having read previous reviews we were very disappointed to find that since the previous manager had moved on the standards had dropped dramatically.Building works were being carried out during our stay with drilling and hammering going on continuously.Probably because of this the indoor pool was allowed to go cold and the water in the rooms was orange.
During our stay it was decided to manure the grass in the grounds the smell making it impossible to sit outside and the hotel was permeated by the smell.
As we were there for a month we had been assured that there was British TV, not so , BBC World News that was unwatchable because the satellite signal was so poor.
There was absolutely no entertainment in the evenings except for weekends when Tunisians came for the wekend. We therefore saw the same shows every weekend.
On the plus side the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeDeeFareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2010

I really enjoyed it here and its really good as long as you dont mind the heat too much.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank LindaWalton1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

We have just come back from Tunisia, Hammamet, The Flight, check-in was all great. On the bus and on to the Hotel.

Gets to the Hotel after 12 noon and the room was not ready, so we where told to get some Lunch and the room would be ready, when we came back three quarters of an hour later, the room was still not ready, so we where given an alternative room.

We told the registrar, we had booked a room with a sea view and was willing by Thomas cook to pay £30.00 for this, we where told that it is now £50.00 per week, I was disgusted and told him to keep the room, seeing the room I also asked if we could have a double bed changed from two singles. we where told that if we wanted a double bed we would have to change rooms or up grade and it would cost £70.00 per night extra. we where disgusted and the Thomas cook rep just went along with this. (she was as much use as a CHOCOLATE TEA POT)

We unpacked and had a wonderful view from our balcony of a fence and a road, the heating system did not work and had to have every blanket on one single bed and sleep together to get warm, (it was bloody freezing) the toilet would not flush, and the sink plug would not go down fare enough to hold the water, so we made a list of faults and had them fixed the next day.

When we got to the hotel there was a terrible smell like a farm yard, when we went outside the grass, all grass area's had been covered in animal [--], the smell was horrendous, if me and the wife had not come straight indoors we would have been sick, when we got indoors, we went to the bar area and found workmen cutting and replacing pipes, Banging, Grinding, Welding, sparks, dust every where, Tools scattered all over the place, we had to step over pipes and work tools to get to the bar room. On Tuesday night it rained and the smell was diluted from a stench to a hum.

One day we where out side braving the smell having a cup of coffee, which we had to go to the bar for as the waiters would not come out side to serve us (probable because of the stink). There was water all over the pool area which should have been cleared up by one of the staff who was sitting doing nothing all day,when an oldish man and his wife came along and slipped on the water and fell, I heard the crack as his knee went, two of us helped the man back inside told reception who go a doctor to come out and the man was sent to hospital, the water was never cleaned up. Went to the beach in front of the hotel and the sand was covered in seaweed, broken bottles, tin cans and used nappies.

The food was traditional, most I could not eat, being repetitive and nothing waisted. Breakfast was the same every morning eggs, boiled,fried, omelet, as I am a diabetic and could not eat more than two eggs a week, I only had dry bread and tea, lunch and dinner was some times a bit better, chicken,pork with two veg and potato, a lot of the time we had to eat out and it used up most of our spending money.

Went into the gym to kill a couple of hours and only one machine was not broken, the bike no pedal, walking machine motor broken and bits missing from others.

During the day the activities consisted of one dart board three darts, one bow three arrows and that was it, in the evening the entertainment was this wearied music like a cat being strangled, when we got entertained there was a girl singing in broken English a karaoke, if I wanted to see people making a fool of them self s I could of went to my local, one night we had t traditional Tunisian night, the caterwauling music started about seven and went on till the entertainment turned up around ten, thay performed for about an hour, after that we had to put up with this music again, asking the ladie who was in charge of the entertainment said that she liked her kind of music and not ours, so we had to put up with this cat being strangled the rest of the night, The Bar would stop serving at midnight, but the staff would turn the light out at quarter past eleven to get us out, one person fell and luckily only the glass in there hand was broken, there was only three night out of seven where there was any entertainment at all.

We managed to last the week out thank god it was not two weeks.

So in conclusion in the future we will be going with another travel agent, we have been to many country's an never experienced anything as bad as this, every day was a nightmare waiting to happen. we have never been so disgusted in any holiday we have had, when we got on the the rep, she said that they where getting the hotel ready for the season, I ask if she was staying her in this hotel and she said no, I said I wonder why.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank poplarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
7.0 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 118 in Hammamet
2,043 reviews
6.0 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#3 of 118 in Hammamet
631 reviews
6.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
3.5 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#2 of 118 in Hammamet
5,548 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#20 of 118 in Hammamet
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Averroes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Averroes

Property: Iberostar Averroes
Address: Yasmine | Hammamet, Hammamet 8052, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#5 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#9 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Averroes 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The blue of the sea and the bright white of the clear sky. These are the colours you will find in Tunisia. At the IBEROSTAR Averroes hotel, you will add more shades of colour to your holiday, such as the orange of the beach sunsets, which you can enjoy from your room, or the green of its palm tree filled gardens, which surround you as you watch the hours float by at the pool. Experience colourful days in Hammamet in this unbeatable hotel with sea views. In a group or with your family. Stay on the shores of the Mediterranean Sea at any time of the year in a room with terrace, where you can contemplate the gardens, beach and infinite sky of Hammamet. All the rooms have recently been renovated and offer a divine treat for the eyes. An explosion of flavours. The restaurants at this Hammamet hotel offer the best in Tunisian and international cuisine. Delicious cakes, grilled meats and spiced dishes are prepared directly in front of you... And these are just some of the Mediterranean delights that you can try. Children can enjoy colouring, have their faces painted or do arts and crafts. The Miniclub monitors have a thousand and one ideas to ensure your little ones have fun during their Tunisian holiday. Light up the nights. Fill the last hours of the day with unique themed parties organised by this family hotel, including Pocco Locco, Karaoke, Tunisian Folklore, Irish Dance and Celtic Pride evenings. A fascinating mixture of cultures that will fill you with joy before you drift off to sleep. A rose and orange blossom-scented waterfall. This is just one of the treatments that you will find in the SPA Sensations, perfect for alleviating stress, which you can enjoy, along with a Turkish bath and massage whenever your heart desires! Celebrate in Hammamet. A congress, bonus trip or any other type of meeting. This sea front hotel is the perfect place to celebrate any type of event. It even offers a special welcome for couples visiting on their honeymoon. Here, any important event is more than welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Averroes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Averroes Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Averroes
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing