We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Tunisia”
Review of Iberostar Averroes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Averroes
Ranked #5 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Having decided to go to Tunisia at a moments notice we were pleasantly surprised how nice this hotel is. It is situated on the beach and about a 20 minute stroll along a palm tree lined promenade to the Marina. The Hotel is smart and being refurbished. We were in the re furbished side. The room was large, wonderful beds and duvets. Separate toilet and bathroom. Plenty of hanging space and coat hangers. We had a large balcony which had the benefit of sunshine in the afternoon. Downstairs there is a large bar and reception area with Wi Fi. The dinning room has inside and outside tables. There was a great selection of food. Unlike most Muslim countries we had the luxury of Bacon, albeit Wild Boar. The salad selection was very impressive and all the vegetable were fresh. Cabbage, Chard, Spinach, Carrots, Cauliflower, Courgettes, Aubergines, Potatoes. (mashed, boiled, roasted, Jackets, Chips) The meat was not so great although there were usually two to choose from. Mostly Beef and Chicken and the ubiquitous Wild Boar. There was always some kind of fish although usually in a sauce or tiddlers grilled. There is also an excellent sweet counter. All the staff are very friendly and very courteous. The whole hotel is immaculate. Reception can be a bit chilly as its ceiling is four floors up and the constant opening and closing of outside doors adds to the coldness but it would be a welcome coolness in the Summer. The animation team have lots of activities during the day and put on a Show most nights. All in all we enjoyed our stay at this Hotel The only downside was the weather. Who would have thought that North Africa would be cold and wet while Europe bathed in warm sunshine. This being our first time in Tunisia was a bit off putting.

Room Tip: We were situated on the 4th floor (732) on the right of the Hotel which caught the sun in the Aftern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Averroes, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Jacqui,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review on your first holiday experience in Tunisia and for choosing our IBEROSTAR Averroes hotel; it is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed.

Moreover, we thank you for letting us know that our culinary offer could largely satisfy you, the gastronomy being an important aspect for IBEROSTAR, our talented Chefs do their utmost to please all palates; It is enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

We are also grateful for your positive mention on your room, as we want to offer spotless and comfortable accommodations to our guests and ensure an excellent and relaxing rest during their holiday in our hotel.

At IBEROSTAR we believe that nice leisure activities and entertaining evening shows are part of the real holiday feeling this is why our animation team strives to offer a wide range of activities for our guests to join in, we are glad to read that this was a pleasant aspect of your stay at our hotel.

Last but not least, we greatly appreciate your kind words towards our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being one of our hotel's main strengths we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Once more, thank you for your visit and the courtesy of your time; we remain at your entire disposal for any request you might have regarding coming vacations and encourage you to contact our call center to help you choose your next IBEROSTAR holiday within a wide range of beautiful destinations worldwide.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Averroes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

450 - 456 of 2,760 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

We have just come back from a wonderful one week stay at this hotel. The small imperfections were quickly forgotten, thanks to the exceptional staff. They were like a big family welcoming a long lost relative. The facilities are good and the animation team made every day a lot of fun. My Sicilian wife and I loved the food and the great service. The hotel was well maintained and our chambermaid kept our room spotless. The grounds were a joy to sit and relax in, with a sandy private beach a hundred yards away. We will be returning!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank richard k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Averroes, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Richard,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Averroes hotel; it is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed.

First of all we want to thank you for your amazing words towards our staff; their genuine kindness and attentiveness is without a shade of a doubt one of our main strengths and we will certainly not fail to congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. Our teams work daily to make each guest feel at home and it is a great reward for all of us to read that you felt at ease and that you thoroughly enjoyed each part of your experience with us.

At IBEROSTAR we believe that nice leisure activities and entertaining evening shows are part of the real holiday feeling this is why our animation team strives to offer a wide range of activities for our guests to join in, we are glad to read that this was a pleasant aspect of your stay at our hotel.

Moreover, the passion for gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company, we greatly appreciate your praising comments on our restaurant where our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights striving to please all palates, it is indeed a great reward to read that we could conquer your wife’s Sicilian demanding palate, accustomed to one of the best cuisines in the world.

Last but not least, we thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of your accommodation because this is an aspect of primary importance for IBEROSTAR and we strive to give total confidence in this area, being fully aware that this is a fundamental condition for our guests to feel comfortable among us.

Once more, thank you for your visit and the courtesy of your time; we hope that you had a safe and comfortable journey back home and look forward to your next visit.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Averroes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Just home from a week stay in this Hotel , firstly I would say the bar staff , waiting staff ,receiption staff , cleaners and the shop man were all really nice , the animation staff worked really hard but the young boys were over enthusiastc , some of their comments were just not needed , dancing around all the time and shouting peoples names , some of us just want to relax . the food for me a bit of the same every day , not being a meat eater , but most others said it was very nice . Some days there was no white wine , but it turned out it was held back for the Germans ! , We had a sea view room , paid extra , the room is a bit shabby , ripped curtains , t.v. goes off a lot , and toilet only flushed 1/5 ,shower cutain hopeless/dirty , the pillows all need replaced and the shower head is very dirty . Great view though . The other rooms seemed to be renovated with flat screen t.v. etc and the painting going on through out the building all week made my friend need her inhaler . The wifi is free in the reception area which is really great . Our weather was not good , but that is no fault of the hotel , the beach outside looks very run down and there was a boy selling fruit if you never bought any he call you rude names , I think the security at the hotel had a word with him but not sure. . A review had said this is a different culture , but I can not see it, as walking through the streets being shouted at from men and the way the shop keepers speak to us ladies is just so rude , really if they were nice we might spend money in their shops ! being rude is no way to act in any culture . Also there is a man trying to sell a tour it is only £5, cheap but he goes to a family shop then on to a family members house to see how poor they are , he is very persistant but give it a miss . I am sure in high season this will be a great place just not for me .

Room Tip: its always good to have a sea view the other look on to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy08Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Averroes, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Although we sincerely lament reading that your stay at our IBEROSTAR Averroes hotel did not live up to your expectations, we are grateful for the time you spent to share your opinion here on Tripadvisor; we gladly take your vision in to consideration in order to improve the level of our services.

We read your comment on the room we accommodated you in with our utmost attention and lament not being informed about the imperfections you underline in your review as we would have looked for a prompt solution; however we were surprised to read that the curtains were ripped, the TV not working properly and the shower dirty because our Head of Housekeeping together with a member of our Management check on a daily basis the levels of cleanliness and perfect operation of the rooms’ amenities to ensure that everything is spotless and functional at all times; for future occasions please do not hesitate to contact our Reception desk or Management for anything you may need to enjoy your holidays with IBEROSTAR.

Moreover we were also surprised to read your comment on the white wine at our buffet restaurant and want to reassure you on the fact that we do not “hold back” any items for any particular nationality and here again, lament not being informed about this on the spot as we would have been able to provide you with the drink of your choice; Our professional Maîtres present throughout the service are always willing to assist our guests to ensure that they fully enjoy their meals at our restaurant.

We took good note of your remarks regarding our animation team. We strive to bring a program that surprises and involves. Our staff dedicates a lot of effort trying to reach each and every guest to participate in the carefully chosen leisure options. We regret that you found that sometimes some of them were a bit over enthusiastic.

On the other hand, we thank you for pointing out the professionalism of our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being one of our hotel's main strengths we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Once more, thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting Hammamet Yasmine; we remain at your entire disposal for any request you might have regarding coming vacations and encourage you to contact our call center to help you choose the IBEROSTAR destination that best meets your holiday needs and wishes.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Averroes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Just got back from a fantastic 7 nights in this hotel. Having been to Tunisia twice now I was slightly wary. However, everyone in this hotel is so nice from the waiters to the cleaners. Worth a special mention are the entertainment team here. They work so hard and really made our holiday, there is lots to do and never a dull moment during the day or at night. The spa service was incredible. Food was great and the hotel area and rooms were spotless. Cant wait to book our next holiday there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgieC1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Averroes, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the time you took out of your day to share your satisfaction on your holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Averroes hotel; it is always very enjoyable to read that our guests took some nice memories of their holidays back home.

Furthermore, your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation; we will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to all of them.

At IBEROSTAR we believe that nice leisure activities and entertaining evening shows are part of the real holiday feeling this is why our animation team strives to offer a wide range of activities for our guests to join in, we are glad to read that this was a pleasant aspect of your stay among us.

Moreover , we thank you for letting us know that our culinary offer could largely satisfy you, the gastronomy being an important aspect for IBEROSTAR, our talented Chefs do their utmost to please all palates; It is enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Last but not least, we thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of our installations, being fully aware that this is an aspect of primary importance for our guests to feel comfortable in our hotel, our housekeeping staff undertakes a thorough cleaning of our installations and rooms on a daily basis.

Thank you again for your valuable time; It will be a real pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Hammamet Yasmine and please do not hesitate contact us beforehand to organize every detail of your stay.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Averroes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I am not a person to make negative comments normally, can you feel the but coming. On this occasion we are in a 4 Star hotel. Food is quiet nice ( I have been a chef for 46 years) but my main negative is that ever since our arrival they have been painting and if I wanted to smell paint from morn till night I could have stayed at home. No mention by Thomas Cook & We paid full price for the experience. It doesn't help that the weather is indifferent so we can't get out much. Supposed to change soon!!!!!!
Not the best holiday we have been on.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Averroes, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Anthony,

Although we sincerely lament reading that your stay at our IBEROSTAR Averroes hotel is not being as enjoyable as it could have been, we would like to thank you for sharing your observations with us because this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests a better service, which ultimately is the goal of IBEROSTAR.

We lament reading that apparently you were not properly informed about the standard maintenance works made in our hotel and to hear that this is such a disturbance; we of course got in touch with our management and are glad to hear that an alternative upgraded accommodation has been offered to you.

Of course, we understand that the bad weather conditions of these days may have worsened your perception; please receive our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences caused.

On the other hand, we thank you for letting us know that our buffets are of your liking, the gastronomy being an important aspect for IBEROSTAR, our talented Chefs do their utmost to please all palates; It is enjoyable to read that we are able to conquer yours.

Thank you again for making us your choice hotel for your holidays in Tunisia and for the courtesy of your time; we wish you a very pleasant continuation of your stay.

Sincere Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Averroes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Only a one night stay.
Pros:food excellent,especially desserts,staff were also very good,helpful at all times,nothing too much trouble.
Cons:Shower broken and off the wall.Sink blocked.Room quite shabby and in need of an update.
If we had been staying longer would have asked to move.

Room Tip: Do ask for a room not overlooking garden,our room looked out on rooftops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank parker_rg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Averroes, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

First and foremost we do apologize for the less than perfect experience at our IBEROSTAR Averroes hotel and are grateful for the time you spent to share your feedback on your short stay among us.

We sincerely apologize for the imperfection of your shower and lament not being informed about it immediately as we would have looked for a prompt solution, nevertheless we will pass on your comment to our head of housekeeping as these kinds of imperfections should be reported by out housekeeping service when undertaking the cleaning of the rooms and checking that everything is functional.

On the other hand, we thank you for your praising comments on our gastronomy offer because in IBEROSTAR we know that meals are a very important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience, this is why our professional Chefs strive on a daily basis to prepare a wide variety of typical local dishes as well as the best international delights in order to please all palates, it is very enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Last but not least, we are grateful for your wonderful comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail.

Once more, thank you for making us your choice hotel for your overnight stay at Hammamet Yasmine and for your constructive critics; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and remain at your entire disposal through our call center to help you choose your next IBEROSTAR destination within more than 100 hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Sincere Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Averroes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here from the 7-14 July 2013. We arrived early hours of the morning and got to our room to find we had 2 single bed pushed together and broken balcony door, changed room n couldn't get the plug out the shower, we decided to just leave it till morning to sort out, this was 5am by now, so we got up and went down to the beach and found staff cleaning the beach and grounds, we spoke to the manager who apologised profusely and upgraded us to a suite ( was a family room with the bed taken out lol and a tv that didn't work) which was nice to have all that space, rooms were nice size tv had an English film channel and a news channel but the sound didn't work. Housekeeping came round quite late in the afternoon so we told her to leave our room and just do it every 2/3 days. Pool was lovely! And very clean - from 6/7pm they are cleaning the pool every night. There wasn't nearly enough sunbeds by pool and on beach so we got up at 7 to put towels down or you have nowhere to sit.
At 4 everyday there are crepes served outside which were delicious! Food wasn't too bad, I ate the same things through choice. Always pasta and potatoes (my choice as I have stomach troubles) on our last night were chicken kievs the first chicken dish I'd seen and they went so fast lol. Breakfast was toast cereal fruit eggs some kind of sausages you can always have tea coffee and juices. Lunch is same as dinner.
I left my phone in the lobby after using the internet one afternoon and didnt realise, reception phoned our room to tell me I'd left my phone downstairs and then someone even brought it up to me. Amazing service and staff. The man in the hotel shop was hilarious and a great laugh, shops sells clothes bags purses snacks fags jewellery and newspapers.
Just outside the hotel are some shops and restaurants, we ate out a few times with no problems everyone was nice. Watch out for random people saying they are the chef in your hotel! When leaving the hotel, turn your wristbands inside out so they can't trick you into giving them money.
The medina was a nightmare, very cheap taxi fare but too many people out hustling and bustling you it's very frustrating and a bit scary if you're not used to going to a country like this.
Entertainment was a bit repetitive with children's music every night from 9:30 but they did have a bingo night and a contest night which was really good. Drinks are strong but a bit of a wait in the bar and there was only the one bar that was used.
We were offered a complimentary massage after our room fiasco but we didn't use it, heard the spa was okay tho. If your flight isn't till evening you are provided with a room to shower and change which was great as we used our last day for last minute tanning.
Sea was beautiful and a lovely temperature, was calm and always fishes swimming round your feet. Sand was like powder so soft and clean.
They have some kind of lights out policy where the grounds and hotel are plunged into darkness come midnight lol.
To sum it up, staff are amazingly helpful and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable and relaxing, hotel is run by a fantastic manager, food is decent, drinks are decent. Would I go back? Probably not because I like to holiday to a different place each year and Tunisia wasn't lively enough for me. Hotel is more suited to couples and people aged 30+, nothing to do for younger people (we were 23/24)

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Chelsea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Averroes, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Chelsea,

Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Averroes hotel; it is always rewarding to read that our guests keep nice memories of their holidays among us.

We took good note of your comment on our nightly entertainment program and would like to point out that every day, before the evening show, we organize the Mini Disco for our little guests however the entertainment program for adults is different every day.

On the other hand, we want to express our utmost gratitude for your amazing words towards our staff, as you well say their great attitude, genuine helpfulness and full commitment to ensure that our guests are enjoying their stay at our hotel is definitely our main asset; we will certainly not fail to congratulate them on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing throughout your stay among us.

At IBEROSTAR we have a true passion for gastronomy and are fully aware that meals are an aspect of primary importance for our guests to enjoy their holidays abroad, this is why our expert team of chefs strives to surprise our guests with high quality culinary delights both local and international, so as be able to savor many different flavors at every single meal and make it one of the best added values to their holiday among us

Once more, thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting Hammamet Yasmine and for your lovely review; we remain at your entire disposal for any request you might have regarding coming vacations and encourage you to contact our call center to help you choose your next IBEROSTAR holiday within a wide range of beautiful destinations worldwide.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Averroes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
7.0 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#4 of 119 in Hammamet
2,163 reviews
6.0 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#2 of 119 in Hammamet
753 reviews
6.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#11 of 119 in Hammamet
1,299 reviews
3.5 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#8 of 119 in Hammamet
6,164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Averroes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Averroes

Address: Yasmine | Hammamet, Hammamet 8052, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#9 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: $43 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Averroes 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Averroes hotel is located on a large and wide sand beach and just a short walk from the centre of Yasmine-Hammamet. The complex features elegant Mediterranean architecture with touches of the local region and offers its guests a total of 266 rooms. Of note among its facilities and services are its outdoor pool with Jacuzzi and its spa with a wet area, massages, and treatments. If you're a sports lover, this is your best option as the hotel features an outdoor sports area, tennis court, water sports in summer, fitness room, and a golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HRS, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Iberostar Averroes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Averroes Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Averroes
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing