We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic resort and hotel”
Review of IBEROSTAR Averroes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Averroes
Ranked #6 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have just returned from a week's holiday in Tunisia where I stayed at the Hotel Averroes in Yasmine Hammamet. This is my second stay at this hotel and I was not disappointed. The hotel is very clean and the staff are very friendly and welcoming. The pool area at this hotel is stunning with plenty of space for sunbathing and easy access straight onto the beach. Mealtimes were very enjoyable with a vast selection of food from their buffet which catered for all tastes. The Italian restaurant can be booked once during your stay and though the food was very good there was a set menu which did not cater for vegetarians and no alternative was offered. The entertainment was not the best that I have seen but when you are on holiday you make the best of what is on offer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aileent133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,662)
There are newer reviews for IBEROSTAR Averroes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

632 - 638 of 2,662 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

JUST CAME BACK FROM A BRILLIANT HOLIDAY.went with family for 8 nights.being vegetarian,we founf head waiter muhamed very helpful and I am sure in the future there will be an even greater variety of vegetarian food as he now realizes that there are a lot of veggies!chef needs to know how to make the curry.everyone loves curry.the harisa and pizza base were great.

post can be handed to reception, stamps at the hotel shop.he mistook me for my double-SAM! who is a friend of his.
great clean rooms. we had the garden view, and to be honest, we were out most parts of the day so a sea view room didn't make a difference.transfere guy very punctual.short timed on massage--too shy to complain.

really irritated when people left towels on sunbeds and never turned up for upto 6 hours.must address this problem.
don't be intimidated by sellers at the medina.go to the fixed priced shops and at the end of the day, see what its worth to you, considering it has to be cheaper there.if you back away, they will come down in price as they would have inflated it a lot.its part of the fun.they rely on tourists for income, and they all sell more or less the same things so they try hard.dont buy first time.

market in Nebule on Fridays.hotel to there is 15 td.by taxi.
seems like I have moaning a lot but the hotel and staff are fabulous.will definetly go back and have recommended friends and family, some are vegetarians--look out Averroes !
trip made 5/5/13 to 13/5/13. naren pankhania

Room Tip: you can have interlocking door rooms.3rd floor garden view nice and quiet. near stairs to go to food...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank narenlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Have been to this hotel several times and have not long returned from another very enjoyable and relaxing holiday at the Averroes. Met up again with my friends again ( you know who you are D & D) and also met some new mad friends from Manchester. We all had a great time and enjoyed all that was on offer. We always found plenty to choose from in the dining room and enjoyed a few drinks in the bar in the evening. The new entertainment team are still settling into the hotel, but are all very friendly and I'm sure they will do well. All of the staff at the hotel are very helpful and pleasant, but then again we were pleasant to them, the same can't be said for all of the guests. I was glad to see that some decorating has started to take place as the hotel was starting to look very tired and needed a bit of tlc. I also had a look at one of the newly finished bedrooms and although not a complete renovation, the new decor and soft furnishing look very smart and I can't wait to see more on my next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alim70_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

was much impressed by the quality of the physical structure as well as the amenities offered: food, rooms, pools, landscaping, etc.......as i am a senior citizen with a difficulty in walking due to a broken ankle, i was given every consideration by the staff.........their good will on the whole infected the visitors as well

my only criticism: lack of a postal drop-box

Room Tip: room facing the sea......as near as possible to the central lobby area on all floors
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Whilst overall we had a pleasant time during our one week stay, I prefer to concentrate on giving people tips as I appreciate that not everyone is looking for the same in a holiday.

Transfer from the airport is about 45 minutes. We arrived at about 11am and checked in OK, but as our room was not ready reception suggested a drink in the bar (to the right of reception as you face it). This we did and half an hour later we had our keys and the safe key (this is 2.50 Dinars a day, just over £1).

As others have said, the beach bar was not open when we were there, but the pool bar is available. You do not have to be in the pool to access it (which is good as the water was a little cold) as you can stand beside the animation team’s base and get served there, though there is a step almost 6 inches up you may have to use in order to get service (tip – go into the corner where the swim up seats begin and you don’t need to use the step).

There is a small indoor heated pool to the right of the hotel as you face it from the beach.

The food is good, but to be honest we found it a little repetitive. There is a lot of salad choice, but if you want cooked meat it tends to be beef stew, wild boar stew and chicken (on the bone). This is also true of the main restaurant at lunchtime. The Tunisian Night when we were there (Friday) was very good though.

When you order wine at lunch or dinner the waiter will open a new bottle, pour, and leave the rest of the bottle on your table. We got to know our waiter (Thamir) very well – if you want they will try to save a table for you in their area and be very keen to look after you.

Lunch in the main restaurant is 12:30pm until 2pm, but as an alternative you can go to the “coffee shop” (next to the main bar) which does lunch 1pm to 3pm. It is a much smaller selection, but much quieter. They normally have spaghetti bolognaise, beef stew and rice or a chicken dish (or similar). One day we were there they were cooking turkey and fish on an outdoor barbeque. Also from 4pm to 5pm there are fresh crepes being made outside the coffee shop. My wife tried one and said it was delicious – there is always a queue for this, which should tell you something.

There is a dine around option, whereby you can visit the Specialty Restaurant of each of the 5 Iberostar hotels in the area (once each per stay). However there are 2 things to bear in mind. Firstly that the holels are not next door to each other – in fact the Mexican restaurant is in the Chich Khan about a mile away. And secondly they have fixed menus, which you can view on a big board to the right of the main restaurant entrance headed “Gastronomique” I think. You then see the head waiter about a booking. We only did the Italian (in the Averroes) on the Thursday. We would have done the Mexican (Wednesday) but were put off by the menu, and with the only other two we were interested in, one was fully booked and the other clashed with the Italian. If this interests you I suggest you review the options and see the head waiter as soon as possible.

There are barter type shops along the sea front, and a small market came to the hotel grounds near the pool on the Thursday. They were selling spices, ceramics, wooden souvenirs, leather goods etc. However before getting involved in bartering, you might want to have a look in the very large fixed price shop called Joys first to get an idea on local prices, as they sell virtually all the things the barter places do. To get there it is out of the front of the hotel, turn right, don’t follow the path round the side of the hotel (this leads to the sea front) but go over the level crossing and carry straight on for about 200 yards. Joys is on the corner of the next road on the right.

On reflection we would go back, but only for a week break, not a fortnight. Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Sea view worth it, You may have to pay but we were allocated one on arrival.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndrewCTFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Excellent holiday,very clean all round. Just spent a week at this hotel, had a fantastic time.If you want a complete relaxation, this is the place to come. Food was good , restaurant staffs were friendly,especially the head waiter Muhammad, was full of life and could not do enough for you.The hotel was chilled and not at all rowdy. The animation team were very good and friendly.The position of the hotel is very good as its situated on the beach.The beach and the pool area is manned by life guards. The life guard we got to know , whose name is SAMI was such a lovely young man, who had time for every one, and worked very hard, to make the customers holiday a pleasant one. Will definitely be going back

Room Tip: sea and pool view rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tola c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

me and my wife stayed on the 21st aprill to the 5th of may 2013 this hotel is out of this world we never been so well looked after i recomemend up gradeing to a sea vew room 4023 brill the hotel staf looked after me and my wife so much the food out of this world rooms well clean cant wait to go back to all the staff well done and thankyou

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
6.0 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#4 of 118 in Hammamet
705 reviews
6.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
7.0 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 118 in Hammamet
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
0.5 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#12 of 118 in Hammamet
1,263 reviews
3.5 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#1 of 118 in Hammamet
5,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Averroes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Averroes

Address: Yasmine | Hammamet, Hammamet 8052, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#5 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#9 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: $57 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Averroes 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Averroes is located on a large and wide sand beach and just a short walk from the centre of Yasmine-Hammamet. The complex features elegant Mediterranean architecture with touches of the local region and offers its guests a total of 266 rooms. Of note among its facilities and services are its outdoor pool with Jacuzzi and its spa with a wet area, massages, and treatments. If you’re a sports lover, this is your best option as the hotel features an outdoor athletic area, tennis court, water sports in summer, fitness room, and a golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your IBEROSTAR Averroes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Averroes Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Averroes
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing