We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Amazing Food, Fantastic Staff :)”
Review of IBEROSTAR Averroes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Averroes
Ranked #4 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We travelled to the Iberostar Averroes for 1 week in February. Unfortunately we picked the freak weather week, and it was a little chilly - but no matter!

I have to be totally honest - if you are expecting a 4-5* as it would be in the UK or Europe, you may be a bit surprised! To give theb hotel its due, the downstairs is lovely - the restaurants, bars, and reception are completely beautiful. The rooms are basic, but functional, although I was expecting a little more - they are just a little tired and would really benefit from a redecorate. We went as 2 x couples and actually both had to move rooms when we arrived - We had paid for a garden view room but the view was of a huge industrial rooftop, lots of pipes and some rundown shops! They room also really smelt of smoke which was not that pleasant. We had some issues when we asked to move, and the receptionist advised that we would have to talk to the Thomas Cook Rep - we did this, and we were moved straight away, to a partial sea view room that did not smell of smoke - so that was great! Beds extremely comfortable, and the maid service was excellent.

Other than the basic rooms, the hotel was lovely. The food was unbelievable and makes me a little bit confused as to why it hasnt had great reviews previously - the food was fresh, delicious and there was so much choice. The waiters (especially Muhamed and Ramzi) bent over backwards to make sure we had anything we wanted. The head chef was also amazing, and made me a speical loaf of maize based bread as I cannot eat wheat. The resutarant was clean, airy and comfortable.

The bar staff were also great and drinks were very generous with their measures! They always remembered our drinks orders which was lovely. The entertainment staff were great - we went out of season when the hotel was not that busy but they still always ensured there were activities we could do. I am certainly missing my aqua gym!!! :)

The hotel is on a sandy beach but it was a bit chilly to use it - however, it had plenty of suneds, and lots of camel rides if that's your thing! The pool looked amazing, but again, a bit chilly. However the indoor pool is heated really warm and was a life saver!!!!!!

We did venture into Hammemet old Town and just around Yasmine Hammemet - we were a little surprised as to quite how little was out there - many derelict buildings and stray cats. Lots of locals do the 'Im the cook from your hotel' trick, but in reality they just want to get you into their carpets shops, so dont fall for it! We were approached 9 times in 90 minutes! However, we were not made to feel unsafe and a straight 'no thank you' is enough. There is not a great amount to do out of the hotel, but Tunisia is relatively new to tourism and so I guess this is not surprising.

Overall we had a lovely trip - made this way by the great staff and service. I would probably not go to Tunisia again in February - wait until the Summer!! However, we still had a great time!

Just a note - not to do with the hotel - If you fly into Enfidha airport, there are 'porters' dressed in grey that will take your cases about 30 seconds to the coach - then they demand money. There are a lot of them, and the rep advised they were trying to get rid of them! Unfortunately they are employed by the airport and so this is tricky - do not fall for it(unless you want your bags taken) - keep hold of them when you get through the arrivals gate, and just a firm NO if they approach you!

Room Tip: A sea view is lovely :) We did not pay for one though and originally ended up with a smoke smelling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kelzbelz_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Averroes, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear guest,

In the first place, we would like to thank you for your stay in our Iberostar Averroes and for your praising comments. It is a pleasure for us to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are delighted to read that the common areas, the efforts of our gastronomic department, the location, the outstanding service provided by our first class staff and the entertainment contributed to your wellbeing in the hotel, when you write that you had a great time and that you would like to come back to Iberostar Averroes in summer, this is a confirmation of doing a good job, and this motivates us to get even better!

Iberostar tries it´s very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations. It is always our intention to enrich your stay with local and international delis and pamper you with a service characterized by its excellence and proximity. Your affirmation to have enjoyed all our prime pillars fills us with joy and is the best reward for our daily efforts. We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Sunny regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

730 - 736 of 2,828 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

We travel to Tunisa in February with my mum and my sister we had such an amazing time. From the moment we arrived we were all made to feel very welcome . The bell boy help us with our luggage and gave you a cocktail why we checked in . We had a large room over looking the sea it was amazing view . The rooms are very spacious and clean and tidy . The weather was cold so could not use out side pool but they do have an inside pool you can use . The food was not our cup of tea but most people seen to enjoy it we are fussy eaters to we did struggle . The waiters are really nice especially Omar and the little cute Mido my little brother . They have a little shop in the hotel this is the best place to buy anything you want , if you go out of the hotel to the other shops they constantly hound you till you feel force to buy stuff. Go see Billy and Sammi they will give you a good price , if they have not got something in there you want they will try and get it for you . You can have a laugh and joke with them with out feeling you got to purchase anything . My sister and I had real Tattoos done out there , there is a an amazing artist Ramzi . I had a design my friend had done for me and Ramzi tattoo it for me, we were so please of the job he done . Ramzi use the best equipment and ink and will do you an amazing tattoo for a lot less money than you would pay here. We also had some amazing photos taken out there with MR PAPARAZZI ( Wael ) he take good photos of you on the beach with palm tree as a family or on your own , if you got a special occasion etc so really worth seeing him . The entertainment team really try and get everyone involved at night especially Abdul he talks 6 different languages very talented and nice person , I will miss my daily gossip with him . If you want to eat some great food go to hot 2 hot they make you feel really welcome they are only 5 min walk from hotel . If you like to party there is a couple of bar we went to ones call Jamaica and the other is Latino bar , we had so much fun here the people are so friendly and they dance crazy . Overall this is a great country to finish and defiantly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Montymolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Averroes, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear guest,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

Further, we are really pleased to hear what a wonderful time you had under the dedication and care of our professional entertaining team. In Iberostar we believe that the real holiday feeling goes hand in hand with good fun and lovely animation and activities. It is the best reward for our daily labors to hear that our guests take some unforgettable memories of it back home. We will certainly congratulate Abdul for contributing so much to the joy of your first Tunisian experience.

In Iberostar it is our goal to achieve that our guests enjoy a splendid and unforgettable vacation. It is wonderful to may understand from your comments that on this occasion we have been successful. This motivates us to keep meeting our demanding quality standards because it makes our work worthwhile to read that you enjoyed a lovely stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Went in feb when unseasonably cold. Hotel excellent.. Staff were superb, They could not do enough for you; friendly and very humorous, attentive but not overly so. Hotel was less than half full so had no queues for food, heated pool or spa facilities. Food was lovely; a mix of European and Tunisian, very tasty and plenty of it. We did not partake of the evening entertainment but it sounded good. Would highly recommend this hotel. Watch out for the camels working up and down the whole beach, they say will give you a ride for free but can get a bit excited when you then refuse to pay!

Room Tip: Would recommend upgrading to a sea view - this was not pricey but may vary according to time of year...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Averroes, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Elizabeth,

We would like to thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our hotel and staff. It is always great to receive positive feedback on numerous aspects of the hotel services and installations.

We strive to ensure that the culture of warm hospitality is imbued in every person who works at the Iberostar Averroes and to capture perfectly the exact balance between courtesy and friendliness which is different for each guest. We are delighted that you underlined your satisfaction with this aspect of your stay with us.

Further, we are glad to read that you could enjoy the culinary efforts of our chefs and the service in our restaurant. In Iberostar we understand that eating and drinking is an important part of your all over experience and when we achieve your satisfaction this is the best reward for our day by day labors.

On behalf of the staff and myself, I must say we were all enchanted to have you at the Iberostar Averroes. We trust it will not be long before you will be back with us for another visit. We assure you in advance of our utmost care and attention and, we look forward to thank you personally for your encouraging review.

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We went to Hammamet for my 50th birthday, in the last week of january. We like the hotel very much. The check-in was very fast, and the room was bright ,clean and big. The sea view was fantastic and the pool was great. We did not take a bath on the outside pool, but it was great! The inside pool is fantastic, too, the water was at 28 and very clean and spartless.The longe bar was great, even the alcoolic drinks are the same all, same all at AI. All the bar staf was ok, with a little tip,of course! The food was wonderfull, I liked very much tunisian food, but there was another kind of food if you wanted too.Because was a few people , we eat in a little restaurant, I loved it! I dont like the restaurant staf, because they was so slowly, and they put the rest of the food from a plate to another in front of us, on our table, that was desgusting! Generaly, we like Iberostar , and Averroes is a very good hotel. We hope that will be back soon.

Room Tip: get a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank toratora09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Averroes, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear guest,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your fiftieth birthday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

We have read your remarks regarding the service in the restaurant with a lot of attention and we are grateful that you shared your opinion as this will certainly help us to improve. As we speak, our responsible chef and maître are revising the procedures to ensure that our demanding quality standards are encountered and to guarantee that the service won´t leave any wishes unattended. On the other hand, we are delighted that our culinary offer could largely satisfy you and the gastronomic highlights conquest your palate.

As it is our deepest desire to offer comfortable accommodation, we enjoyed reading your description of the rooms and common facilities which are designed to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

We hope you had a nice journey back home, and we can´t wait to may welcome you back among us to thank you personally for your encouraging review.

Sunny regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

What can we say about Averroes?.... Absolutely perfect in ever way, first of all the location of the hotel is practically sat on the beach, seconds away from stepping out of the large and spacious pool set in the very well maintained grounds and gardens. The staff from the minute you enter the lobby are warm and friendly, the waiters who are always there to fill your glass and who you never need to beckon, the food in the restaurant is of the highest quality and selection, and there are never enough days to sample everything on offer. The cleanliness of the rooms and throughout the whole hotel is at a very high standard, and deserves a five star rating in our opinion. The one thing that has made our stay very special, is the entertainment in the evenings, hosted by a team of the most professional and talented individuals who have the gift of engaging people of all ages and nationalities to participate in the fun packed evening events, and you find yourself letting your hair down and laughing more than you have in a long time!!! So we would highly recommend this hotel and its lovely staff. And we will most definitely come back very soon. Mark & jo

5  Thank markandjoann
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Averroes, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Mark and dear Joanne,

We are delighted to hear that your stay at the Iberostar Averroes was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with only good holiday memories.

It pleases us to see that the efforts of schooling our staff in service orientation contributed to your wellbeing in the hotel. When you write that all were friendly and helpful, this is a confirmation of doing a good job, and this motivates us to become even better! We will express your gratitude to our staff and, more concrete, to Tidal.

Further, we are really pleased to hear what a wonderful time you had under the dedication and care of our professional entertaining team. In Iberostar we believe that the real holiday feeling goes hand in hand with good fun and lovely animation and activities. It is the best reward for our daily labors to hear that our guests take some unforgettable memories of it back home. We will certainly congratulate Tarek for contributing so much to the joy of your Tunisian experience.

It is also very enjoyable to read you felt comfortable in the room we allocated you in. It is our wish to provide comfortable and spotless accommodation in unbeatable locations and we thank you for letting us know you were satisfied with yours.

We also thank you for letting us know that our culinary offer could largely satisfy you. The gastronomy is an important facet of our company and we do our utmost to please all palates. It is enjoyable to read that we could conquest yours.

We hope your stay was as pleasant as it could possibly be and we would be absolutely delighted to may receive you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Impressive, friendly hotel staff who all seem to speak a wide variety of languages fluently.
Food was excellent: The chefs are dining room staff not only try to ensure you have a good meal but also respond (the best they can) to requests.
Wifi is available at the lobby and the network speed is decent enough.
Location is excellent. Right in front of the beach and you can get nice sea view rooms.
Hotel is very clean, as are the rooms. The local beaches arent the cleanest I have ever seen though. Plastic bottles and some other stuff thrown around.

Entertainment: There is a team of "animators" whose sole job is to ensure the guests are happy, entertained and looked after. They are always ready with a greeting and a wide smile, without being too intrusive. As for the evening's entertainment, remember that you aren't in Vegas. Don't expect Barry Manilow or David Copperfield to put on a show for you. Given that this is a budget holiday destination in Tunisia, and given that the audience comprises of German, French, English, Spanish, Arabic speakers and more, and given that there is a wide age range of people to cater to, the entertainers do an excellent job.

Overall verdict on the hotel is excellent. I have paid far more and gotten far less in return in terms of experience and comfort.

General tips/points:
* You can convert your currency at the hotel. They will convert major currencies to Dinars at a decent rate plus a small fee. You can only change Dinars *back* at the airport when you're leaving (before going through the security gates).

* All the locals seem to speak English quite fluently. Shopkeepers are pushy. So they are a tad annoying but you never feel unsafe or threatened. Every single local we spoke to were welcoming and pleasant.

* We used taxis a couple of times (to go to Hammamet town) and neither time were we ripped off.

* We were there during a period of political unrest in the country (an opposition leader had been shot and there was widespread protests in the capital Tunis). However, at the resort and hotel, we felt absolutely nothing. It was business as usual. We had to cancel our scheduled trip to Tunis of course, but contrary to my own fears, there was absolutely no unrest or problem
where we were.

* Things arent cheap. We went to eat out at an Indian Restaurant (Taj Mahal, not part of the hotel) with European prices (think approx 10 euros or more per dish) which had absolute rubbish food. There are other places in the area which are more reasonable with decent food though. Drinks arent cheap: A rum and coke would cost you upwards of 7 Euros or so. Wine prices are better around 3 Euros per glass.

* Not relevant for everyone but if you are looking to buy cat food to feed some of the local stray cats you have to go to Hammamet. There are a couple of small shops near the Train Station. You can buy cans of sardines or tuna locally though. If you do love cats/animals, be prepared for some nasty surprises: During our stay of one week we saw three dead cats in the streets. (They dont have any sort of spay/neutering program)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kiffkroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Averroes, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Iberostar Averroes was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories.

Further we took good note of your comments regarding the beach. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to prevent that in the future the beach looks unattended.

In Iberostar it is our goal to achieve that our guests enjoy a splendid and unforgettable holiday and phrases like “Overall verdict on the hotel is excellent “show us that on this occasion we have been successful. This motivates us to keep meeting our demanding quality standards because to us there is no better reward than the affirmation of our guests that they had a lovely stay.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed in the Averroes Hotel in Februari 2013 for one week. The food is good, the rooms are quite large and clean. The weather wasn't as good as hoped, but with the entertainment team we weren't bored one second, thank you very much! I also liked the "Dine Around" concept of the Iberostar hotels, we could eat in the 5 different hotels. When we come back to Hammamet, we come back to Averroes!

Room Tip: A room with sea sight is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Averroes, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Steve,

In the first place, we would like to thank you for your stay in our Iberostar Averroes and for your praising comments. It is a pleasure for us to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are delighted to read that the spacious and clean rooms, the efforts of our gastronomic department, the location and the entertainment contributed to your wellbeing in the hotel, when you write that you enjoyed every minute and that if you come back to Hammamet, you come back to the Iberostar Averroes, this is a confirmation of doing a good job, and this motivates us to get even better!

Iberostar tries it´s very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations. It is always our intention to enrich your stay with local and international delis and pamper you with a service characterized by its excellence and proximity. Your affirmation to have enjoyed all our prime pillars fills us with joy and is the best reward for our daily efforts. We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Sunny regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
7 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#3 of 119 in Hammamet
2,176 reviews
6 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#2 of 119 in Hammamet
790 reviews
3.5 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#8 of 119 in Hammamet
6,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#10 of 119 in Hammamet
1,336 reviews
6.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Averroes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Averroes

Address: Yasmine | Hammamet, Hammamet 8052, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#3 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#9 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: $50 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Averroes 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Averroes hotel is located on a large and wide sand beach and just a short walk from the centre of Yasmine-Hammamet. The complex features elegant Mediterranean architecture with touches of the local region and offers its guests a total of 266 rooms. Of note among its facilities and services are its outdoor pool with Jacuzzi and its spa with a wet area, massages, and treatments. If you're a sports lover, this is your best option as the hotel features an outdoor sports area, tennis court, water sports in summer, fitness room, and a golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Averroes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Averroes Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Averroes
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing