We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cheap getaway!”
Review of Omar Khayam Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Omar Khayam Club
Ranked #56 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Llanfairfechan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great cheap getaway!”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Overall my family and I had a great time at this hotel. The staff were friendly and went above and beyond to provide assistance when it was needed. The food was a little hit and miss (i.e. sometimes not hot enough) but as myself and my partner aren't fussy eaters there was always something to try, and there was always something for the kids (pizza, chips, pasta etc). Our waiter (Ferred) was excellent and always had the drinks on the table at meal times before we arrived.The hotel is situated right on the beach so all you do is walk down a few steps and hey presto, beautiful golden sands and a beautiful beach. I personally have to give a special thank you to the animation team i.e. Abraham, Hassan, Wahida etc (especially Wahida, who is as caring with kids as a person can get) who work tirelessly in their efforts to keep the children (and the adults) entertained. I would gladly return to this hotel because of the wonderful people who work there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geraint E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    271
    130
    89
    120
See reviews for
367
199
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Had a fab time here! Out of season and their winter in nov but still enjoyed the holiday! I bet in season this place is really good.

The kids club/animation team is fantastic and my 7 year old loved it, amazing friendly ppl!

The food was yummy loads of choice and I must of put on 1st or more, the waiters can't do enough for you.

Didn't go on any trips but will next time when we visit, there's a spa here, a gym, indoor pool, water slides, golf etc

Only thing I can complain about is the English family that were there coz all they did was complain about everything, sad really coz I couldn't find fault in anything, it was a 3* hotel maybe they should of booked a 4 or 5 No pleasing some ppl.

We will defo be visiting this place again soon! X

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBeauty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a holiday were you are entertained from early till late then this place is perfect.The animation team, especially Hassen, Majdi, Mamadou, Bobo, Hassan, MP3 & DJ work tirelessly.We played more games on this holiday than we have ever. My youngest boys never go in the kids club but here I couldn't get them out! Waida is the name you'll hear from the kids all the time. She is calm, fun & nothing is any problem for her.
Our rooms were not the ones shown in all the information but we didn't mind because we literally washed & slept in them.
The food was often cold but the selection was ok.We always found something to eat even if we had to microwave it a few times!
The pools and beach were clean and had plenty of space for us all.
Above all the animation/kids club team made this holiday for our whole family.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

As the title says this hotel is VERY basic. I travelled with my husband and 11month old on our first family holiday together. When booking this hotel, please remember it is a 3 star and you get what you pay for.

The skytours brochure tells you that this hotel was refurbished for Summer 2013. Only if you call new furniture in the bedrooms a refurbishment!

Our bathroom had a shower that did not fit on the wall attachment, the floor and the wall tiles had dirty grouting that was discoloured because it was so old, the toilet bolts that hold it to the floor were rusty and dirty, the bath taps leaked so water flowed around the top of the bath and onto the floor and the sink taps did not turn off properly!

The rooms were cleaned daily but not to a particularly high standard.

The food was passable and we found something to eat for ourselves and the baby each meal. There are some dishes that are the same each day but they do have different mains. They can however be a bit hit and miss, depending on your tastes.

We found all the staff we dealt with friendly and never had to wait too long for drinks in the restaraunt and no queing at the bar. This may be because the hotel was not full up, but then it is out of season.

At this time of year, the outside pools and the sea are a bit chilly but there is a heated indoor pool that is shared with the hotel next door. This was brilliant for our little one and did not get too crowded.

Outside of the hotel there did not seem much to do unless you want to be harrassed when browsing in the shops. We went out once and were bothered so much we went back to the hotel. The hotel has a shop which is good and you can pretty much get what you need from there with no fuss or harrassment. There is also a money exchange which again means you don't have to go out of you don't want to.

We did not stay out at night for the entertainment so I can't comment on that personally. Everyone that we spoke to at the hotel that did watch it, basically said we were not missing much!!!

We only went down to the beach once and again got too harrassed. Despite what a previous review says, we were under the parasols and still got bothered and I did not see any sign of any security guards down there!!!

All in all, we would return to Tunisia for a holiday but not to this particular hotel as it was a disappointment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClareG2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hammamet hotels

Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Myself and my partner travelled here for 2 weeks September 2013 (21 and 23yrs old) and honestly was pleasantly surprised!, you will read a lot of mixed reviews and honestly it is a mixed review kind of place- its what you make of it. When we arrived it was early hours of the morning and still very warm out! the transfer from the airport was around 40-50minutes not long at all! when we arrived at the hotel there was someone behind the reception desk to greet us, he was friendly and gave us the sufficient information. When you check in you are given a visa card which you fill in for them to keep; you are then which i did NOT think was great was asked to chose between two sitting times for dinner! A porter then took us to our rooms; we did offer a tip as our suitcases were heavy and we were on the 2nd floor however he politely declined our tip! when you arrive for your first meal you hand this card they give you to the head waiter or any waiter for that matter and they will show you a table in which you are meant to sit in for every meal! however when we handed our card over the waiter said 'English' which we replied yes and the waiter then said 'Sit anywhere' bit rude but atleast we didnt have to sit in the same place for each meal, tables seem to be reserved more for Russian's/Germans/French etc however this did not bother us. Breakfast was good all the usual croissants eggs sausages etc then there would be someone cooking either pancakes/omelettes/donuts etc each morning which was great!, lunch got a bit 'samey' always pizza,pasta,potatoes,meats lots of salad but the food was of good quality, we met many people and everyone had a different opinion it is i guess your own personal opinion of what foods you like/dislike and what you make of it, Dinner was good! again lots of choices and lots of Tunisian dishes which is great if you like to taste the culture! the only downside of the restaurant is that there didnt seem to be enough staff in there! tables were left dirty quite often! and to top it off we figured out one morning that they had been topping up the bottles of water that are on the table each morning! so the water in the bottles were not fresh! this happened a few days we were there not everyday but alot of people complained and it was soon sorted out! the waiters are generally helpful especially if you tip them ofcourse!. The hotel is very clean! one morning i witnessed a maid cleaning the bottom of pillars with a toothbrush!, the maid we had who cleaned our room did a fantastic job! it was always clean sheets and towels were changed if you left them on the floor in the bathroom, we tipped our made 10Dinar per week which worked out to be around £4 but we heard from other people they are very appreciative if you leave them things like deoderants/creams/showergel etc as for them it is very expensive to buy. Our room was in a block that had been recently refurbished we had heard from others that their rooms needed a bit of updating and some people had insect issues-we never had any of this!. The pool areas are great the pool by the beach is the nicer pool out of the two lots of sun loungers however they dont have matresses and they do get quite uncomfortable! you can hire matresses for 10Dinar per week. the pool is kept clean, the downside is there is only one very small bar by the pool and the ques can get long but your on holiday you shouldnt have that much else to do!, there is also a restaurant/snackbar outside by the pool if you fancy a lighter lunch!, The beach is amazing i was stunned with how lovely the beach really was! the sea was beautiful! turquoise blues, crystal clear with gorgeous white and golden sand! there is a watersports hut which you can chose from many activities, things without motors e.g. windsurfing/pedelos are free and other things like banana boats/parasailing you pay for. there are people walking up and down the beach trying to sell you things but they mean no harm just tell them no and they carry on. activities are held throughout the day e.g. volley ball/water polo/ water aerobics and so much more! all the animators were great! the evening entertainment is well not great :/ the staff/animators are the ones who put on the shows but again its each to their own what you enjoy!. You can take excursions through Thomson/firstchoice whoever you booked through however there are people who work for a Tunisian company who come round the hotel and ask you to book their trips and they ARE SAFE to go with them! they are priced a bit cheaper and like we said we paid our tour operator for the holiday why not pay the people here for enjoying their excursions. The best excursion we did was the Camel ride! it was fantastic! i highly recommend doing it! we also took a trip to El Djem a roman ampitheatre! which was also amazing however i recommend you make your own way there as we spend 6 hours on a coach and only 4 hours off of it! on this trip you also visit a marina and the place where the first president worked and is buried, you also stop for an included lunch. another excursion we did was the pirate ship this i do not recommend! it takes you up and down the same stretch of water with lots of singing and dancing and some dodgey food!. Tunisia is a very poor country! outside of the hotels more on the abandoned grass areas/hills it is filled with rubbish everywhere! however the weather is amazing the beaches are gorgeous and the people are friendly! all the shops ofcourse sell the same things but what else do you expect in a touristy area. We had no issues with this hotel at all my boyfriend got an upset stomach for about 2-3 days but this can happen in England- I myself came out in a god awful rash i went to reception asked to see a Dr she called and Dr was at the hotel within half an hour, she administered me an injection gave me tablets and a cream and the rash started to go down that day! and this cost just under £30 english pounds around 80Dinar. You can also get a safety deposit box however these are in the lobby!! at first i was against the idea but in the end it turned out to be so much easier! as if were lounging by the pool and fancied going to the shop on the complex we didnt have to walk all the way up to our room!. All in all i would return to this hotel we paid £420pp for 2 weeks! you can expect to much! and would certainly return to Tunisia!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bethanie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turners hill
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

After reading the mixed reviews on here was a bit worried, visited end oct/nov 2013

The Reps where good on pick up and was well informed at meeting,

First impressions of hotel ,clean and welcoming, staff helpful, seating comfy just no plush chairs. room was fine, beds where ok, but not as good as ours at home, a little dated but pretty much like a travel inn really. Basic but does the job. Have stayed in worse places. I could pick holes like other people do, but does a cracked tile or a little scratch furniture ruin your holiday !! everything clean thats the main thing and rooms done every day. no mess around corridors.

the pools nice was quiet when we was there middle of half term week. no problem with sunbeds, beach lovely and saw people picking up litter.
there are security guards on beach to keep the sellers from bothering you too much and if you stay in line with parasols, they do not come over unless you make contact with them, but they are fun and polite and do go away.
the sea was lovely and clear, was windy quite alot and can get a little choppy in the sea.

food was lovely we all ate well, some of it same, but there where some different choices each day, loved the fresh bread rolls over by the pizza's , was with 2 teenagers as well as my partner. the waiters are polite and look after you, we tipped ours 5 dinars at end of each day. you get flowers on table last day.

There was some nice looking restaurants and bars outside, we didnt go in, but the reps recommend a few. shops and fixed price shops. everything cheap and most of it fakes.
shops on site good too.

Enterainment was good for kids and a bit hit and miss for adults, depends what you like.
drink selection limited, but you find something and at end of day only 3 star.

overall a good value for money at £350 pp who can grumble, a cheap week in the sun and everything close by . We would return again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Booked this holiday as our first holiday abroad together as a family in oct 2013 ..I took 2 children who are 6 and 12 and to be honest they absolutely loved it,the hotel rooms are clean and comfortable and got clean towels daily,all the staff were very helpful and polite,food was good and catered for a lot of different nationalities ....and even the on site shops were great and very helpful ...we will be going bk as very much enjoyed ourself especially the pool with slides couldn't get my girls away from it some days :) ....the only bad thing we did notice is with the bottled water as you must'n drink from the tap they had a habit of fulling bottled water with tap water so just make sure you get bottled water with the seal unbroken !!!...oh and please do find the camel man! And book a camel ride with him it was fantastic and fun,also go to napal market I've never had so much fun haggling with the market traders !! ..So that all I have to say but enjoy if you go as much as we did !!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.1 mi away
Dar Khayam Hotel
Dar Khayam Hotel
#32 of 118 in Hammamet
2,094 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Club Les Colombes
Hotel Club Les Colombes
#66 of 118 in Hammamet
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Club President
Hotel Club President
#24 of 118 in Hammamet
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Fell
Hotel El Fell
#63 of 118 in Hammamet
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nahrawess Hotel
Nahrawess Hotel
#61 of 118 in Hammamet
509 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mediterranee Thalasso Golf
Mediterranee Thalasso Golf
#34 of 118 in Hammamet
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omar Khayam Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omar Khayam Club

Property: Omar Khayam Club
Address: Bp N 17, Hammamet 8039, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Omar Khayam Club 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Omar Khayam Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omar Khayam Hammamet
Hotel Omar Khayam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing