We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if you want a cheap break right on the beach!!”
Review of Omar Khayam Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Omar Khayam Club
Ranked #48 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from the omar khayam hotel..for the price people can't really complain. .YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!!! Yes stayed in better but isnt that bad jus a couple of minor things which i will put, rooms are a bit basic but we only wanted it to sleep a couple hours and shower was clean and thats the main thing for me Personally.myself and my partner had a great time, we went for two weeks the only things I would say is that the food gets a bit repetitive but theres some nice restaurants just outside the hotel which are really cheap plus we didnt always wanna be in the resort so didnt matter to us. The Animation team are bloody AMAZING (big shout to Nino, Dali & Majdi. Love you guys)they work such long hours and are brilliant with the kids..we have made really good friends with them and are returning to omar in october this year to visit them all :) some of the staff find it hard to understand some english but hey ho. It is a tad annoying when you first arrive because you have people coming up to you trying to sell you trips, but they ok once they know u. As soon as you hit the beach you get bombarded too with people selling things from jewellery to rugs to bits of bush lol which we found comical just tell them no and they leave you alone. DO NOT BUY CIGARETTES FROM THE BEACH!!!!!! They fake and dont light. Overall cant really complain we had a good time it's what u make as well I think :D oh yeah just remembered another thing I will say is if you dont want disturbing in a morning make sure u put the door hanger out saying this otherwise the cleaner just walks in to collect towels haha we experienced this a couple of mornings ...not good ha!! The camera man..Maher..is also an amazing person bless him if you want any professional photos on the beach, in the gardens or even when your doingyour water sports make sure you go to him.! BrillIant prices as well. Bye for now jus go and fun guys :D xxx

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank MissBLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 836 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just returned from a week stay at hotel. Please take note of reviews. Hotel more like 2 star rating!!! Do not book

Food. Horrible, no choice. Tasteless , meat not cooked ! Ate out most of the time.

Drinks. Served in plastic dirty cups. Very basic.

Rooms. Ok. Nothing to write home about. But ok for a week.

Pool. Over crowded . Have to get up about 6am to get sunbeds. Pool never cleaned had green water!!

Overall did not enjoy at all. Anyone thinking of booking i would pay extra to go to a better rated hotel. 5star.



  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plane67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Ok so I read the reviews after my stay here & I am very glad I did!!Me & 2friends stayed here 4 1week 14th July - 21st July & was made 2feel welcome as soon as we walked through the door!!The entertainment staff r bloody amazing & 4us they made our holiday all the more joyful!!The hotel staff were very friendly & we felt they was always helpful!Im a fussy eater so didn't expect miracles and the food was probably the only downfall 4us!!Would def go bk to this hotel & this all the entertainment staff deserve a medal for all their hard work!!Laura,Jenny,Kelly

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraBarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

After booking this hotel me and my partner read the reviews and were worried about the holiday. We were told that people are more likely to complain then say good things. So we tried to forget about the reviews and had no expectations. However after returning from our holiday (7th July to the 14th), we were extremely disappointed and will never return to this hotel or even Tunisia.

We didn't feel very welcomed to this hotel as we felt all the staff were more friendly towards other nationalities to British. There were also not very many other people at the hotel who were British which meant we didn't socialise and kept to ourselves. Which in turn made us feel quite isolated.

The restaurant was awful. Tablecloths were mostly dirty and the food was tasteless. Also none of the dishes on the buffet were labelled so you just had to try things and hope for the best. However food was terrible quality and me and my partner ended up having pizza and chips for lunch and dinner everyday for the week and had barely any meat. We also did not take enough money to eat out or use the a la carte restaurant (additional cost).

The bar was very limited with drinks. They only had one red wine and one white, which was often served in dirty, plastic beakers. There was also only one type of bear and the cocktails were given randomly and were very sickly and overpowering with alcohol.

The room we had was nice with a balcony and air conditioning but there were ants in our room. And we also found ant infestations around the hotel which meant we did not wander further then necessary.

The staff were nice but it felt they were more focused on selling things rather than your concerns and wellbeing. We got hassled a lot both on the 'private' beach and around the pool - people selling dodgy cigarettes. bongo drums and sugar coated nuts. The same person would often try to sell you things but when you say no they still keep coming up to you and pushing a sale.

The only plus to this holiday was that I got to spend quality time with my partner in some nice weather. However it wasn't the relaxing holiday that we were anticipating, and we couldn't wait to return home and relax without blaring music or hasslers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

this holiday was the worst experience I've ever had to endure for two weeks, was ready to go home after 3 days, Thomson may make this hotel sound appealing and relatively cheap for a get a way for couples but its far from that.
You are constantly hassled by people working for the hotel by the beach and pool all day every day looking for you to book trips you just cannot relax for them, I understand they have a job to do but this is nothing but a constant annoyance. by the beach you have to pay daily to hire a mat for your sunbed and cannot get fruit in the hotel but they offer to sell you fruit and nuts on the beach for a fee!! supposed to be all inclusive and everything had an extra cost.
The hotel also false advertised as it says it is fully air conditioned in rooms, what they left out is that the air conditioning is only turned on after the 15th June so we had to endure 10 nights of blistering heat, the rooms were very run down and dated with cracks on the walls the shower was broken, our bedding and towels were not changed on a daily basis and we had to purchase our own toilet roll from the hotels shop as the maid was not giving us toilet roll daily, when we complained we were provided with one roll per day for 2 people who both had very upset stomachs!! the food is absolutely revolting if totally catered to European culture and the same stuff every night on offer all we had to eat was pizza and chips as the rest was uneadible. We had to eat out every evening as the meals were very unappealing and you had to queue for a while just to get something to eat, you are also not allowed to sit with people you are with or sit where you want you are given a card by the waiters and allocated a seat which is yours for the duration of your stay and you have to sit next to complete strangers, the waiters make you feel like your putting them out by asking for water, there is no table service for drinks or even cutlery and we even got shouted at by the waiter for filling a bottle up with water in the morning they make you feel like a child peaking down to you its really hard to believe we actually paid for the privilege of being spoken to like that. If your thirsty during the day and want a drink then good luck and hope your not in a rush because there is one bar and the queues last for around 20 minutes to get served, no bottled of water are provided you are given a glass and if you want a bottle of water you have to buy one from the hotel shop and have it filled each day. as for the evening entertainment it is mind numbing and as expected there is nowhere outwith the complex you can go. at midnight the bar shuts and the lights simply get turned out and the staff leave they give you no warning or even let you know at the bar. I you want to use the sister hotel you may go and watch they're equally poor entertainment but are not allowed any drinks etc. or use of their facilities- so not really a sister hotel.
Was a total waste of money and a poor poor standard of hotel and staff, I usually make the most of my holidays and make it good but nothing could have improved this holiday

Room Tip: there are no good rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RD1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just returned after a 10 day stay at this hotel and have no idea why there are bad reviews on this website - moral here seems to be dont book a 3* hotel expecting a 5* stay.
Rooms are cleaned, entertainment staff work hard, and yes, it can be a bit trying after 10 nights as the childrens entertainment is always the same but you dont have to stay to watch it!!
Food - I am a fussy eater and could aways find something to eat
Staff - very friendly

All I would say to sum this up is dont go to this hotel expecting a 5* resort as it isnt but is clean and friendly, and dont understand the negative reviews of the hotel.

Would recommend the pirate ship trip, but make sure you have a morning or afternoon. We booked direct not through our travel company and although the reps will try to put you off doing this we had no problems whatsoever.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sally e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I went with my partner for 2 weeks last month and would say this was the worst holiday I had ever been. I couldn't wait to get home.
Entertainment at day was terrible. They did bingo in 7 different languages which took forever. Night time entertainment was horrendous. The team dressed up randomly in costumes and basically stood on the stage dancing for 2 weeks.

Restaurant was ridiculous. We got told where we were to sit for 2 weeks which was 99% of the time at the same table as another couple. Any chance of a romantic meal was out of the window. Also the food at all times was very basic and absolutely rubbish. Sometimes I wasn't sure what I was eating! Very often there was never any spoons to eat your dessert and ice cream often ran out and never replaced. We Ended up eating out most of the time which made me angry as we had paid to go all inclusive.


Drinks were very basic. They could only make 2 cocktails which weren't very nice. Also other european holiday makers thought its ok to skip the queue at the bar which the bar tenders would serve instead of saying that persons 1st. Often prioritised these holiday makers over British, was definitely a split between us and them which infuriated me.

Hotel rooms very basic and not cleaned very well. Our bath wasn't properly cleaned for the two weeks we were there, just aswell we didn't actually have a bath. The maids would take all your towels and not come back with them until late afternoon, so if you were back early and needed a shower you couldn't shower. I phoned the reception and had to wait over an hour for some towels.

I don't mind being on holiday with other foreign holiday makers and actually enjoy speaking to them. However it was very nice to speak to British people as the hotel was just full of rude, arrogant eastern europeans, who get anything they want at the drop of a hat.

One morning my partner and I got up 9am to get a sunbed with parasol at the flume/pool area. Around lunch time, 3 eastern european women showed up looking for sun loungers and had noticed my & partner and I out in the sun. So they decided to get some spare sunbeds and move them under our shaded parasol. We were going to leave as we had booked in for a steam room/massage so we left them to use our parasol. The next day at the exact same time, the 3 women showed up again and decided to move there sunbeds under our parasol. I was siting in the sun and my partner was in the pool. I was so angry that they would take advantage again. So I told them to go and find there own sunbeds with parasols and to possibly get up at 9am in the morning like the rest of us to get one. Just found them very arrogant and cocky for attempting it again.

Overall the hotel is terrrible, the staff are nice but need to be looking after all the other countries that visit them and not just one. Food is disgusting and drinks need to be better. Ice cream should be allowed to be eaten at all times and not just at lunch & dinner.
Entertainment team need to be entertaining, they cant just rely on abit of bingo and there local 12.30pm dance to have holiday makers loving the resort. Needs more. Overall it was a joke!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chaz1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.1 mi away
Dar Khayam Hotel
Dar Khayam Hotel
#32 of 119 in Hammamet
2,110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Club President
Hotel Club President
#25 of 119 in Hammamet
1,716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Nozha
Hotel Royal Nozha
#36 of 119 in Hammamet
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#4 of 119 in Hammamet
2,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Club Les Colombes
Hotel Club Les Colombes
#73 of 119 in Hammamet
266 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mediterranee Thalasso Golf
Mediterranee Thalasso Golf
#35 of 119 in Hammamet
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omar Khayam Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omar Khayam Club

Address: Bp N 17, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Price Range: $44 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Omar Khayam Club 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Omar Khayam Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omar Khayam Hammamet
Hotel Omar Khayam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing