We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Concorde Hotel Marco Polo
Ranked #14 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My family and I enjoyed our stay at the Rui Marco Polo returning on Christmas Day 2013.

The food was great and there were plenty of activities going on. However, the one thing that sets the Marco Polo apart from any of the others we have visited in the past, was the staff. They were genuinely warm, welcoming and helpful. They went out of their way to make sure we were happy. I would like to say a special thank you to Salah (Vin Diesel look alike) and Mohammad on the desk. We had a great sea view and inter-connecting rooms. Mikey the First Choice rep was a truly lively person and a pleasure to meet, thankfully we didn’t need to bother him for anything. Transfers to and from the airport were smooth. Weekends were busy with an influx of locals but staff did their best to ensure overseas guests were looked after.We hope we will be able to come back to see you guys again. We have already told our friends about the wonderful stay we had. Again, thank you to all the people who made our trip so special.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank The_Late_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,183)
There are newer reviews for Concorde Hotel Marco Polo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

579 - 585 of 2,183 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

Just returned from Marco Polo Hammamet Yasmine on Christmas Day, what a week!!!!!!!. Beautiful hotel with the most helpful staff. The welcome on arrival was very warm and helpful by the manager Salah. We had a large immaculate sea view room, with comfortable furnishing. The food was of good standard and a large variety to choose from for each course. The waiters were very welcoming and the cooks always happy to serve, which made meal time pleasant. The entertainment team was very hard working and talented in many skills. The evening entertainment was on some occasion a little repetitive but however enjoyable. Christmas Eve was perfectly organised. It started with Father Christmas arriving on a camel with a huge sack full of presents for children of all ages. This was nicely arranged and our young teenager to our suprise really enjoyed the atmosphere. The diner was beautifully lite up for the evening Christmas meal, which was outstanding. The entire hotel team made this a very special day.

Our rep. was Mikey, who's smile you will notice before his pink t-shirt. He was very organised and always happy to help. (Ps. Mikey just remember that Simply Sahara doesn't include sunset and sunrise). The transfers were promptly arranged.

The weather for the week was pleasant, however i wouldn't recommend swimming outdoor. The children always looked forward to the 3pm pancakes.

Finally a wonderful week and would highly recommend to other.

Room Tip: Twin family room is ideal for a family of four.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank khanlondon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay here despite all the reviews saying it was too busy, but this is not the case in October half term (fun fact: our rep told us that it was only 1/8th of its capacity at this time, where as in the summer it is completely full) where sun loungers were in abundance and no queuing at all!

Pool is lovely and the beach is very fine sand which is perfect for bathing on one of the loungers provided. It is a clean beach and private, so there's no hassle.

The food is very basic but there's plenty of variety! It's tasty too with lots of flavour. They serve potatoes at all times which are a must- much nicer than British ones. The only terrible food downfall is the early breakfast. This is provided if you have an early flight. They only serve dodgy ham and cheese. No cereal or hot food. Buy something at the airport instead.

We took the Zulu excursion. The zoo was fantastic but there was not enough time for everything. We missed the elephants and cats as they were shut away due to us only getting there an hour before closing time!! The Zulu meal was not very appetising, no chicken in the chicken stew and the brik was horrid! The soup was like hot liquorice too. The Zulu dancers were amazing, but we HIGHLY recommend taking a taxi to the zoo yourself rather than paying loads for this excursion. If you go on your own you'll get the correct amount of time at the zoo and it works out at half the price.

Yasmin hammamet is patrolled by armed guards 24/7 and you couldnt feel more safe. The shopkeepers don't hassle you like in other parts if tunisia, a no is a no to them. It's a clean resort with a few shops. The medina is modern but small, but still worth the walk. There's a fab shop on the way to the medina from the hotel just after the roundabout... It looks like a supermarket but it's more of a gift shop. Everything in there is surprisingly much cheaper than the medina!! Yasmin hammamet is a fantastic resort for families (there's a huge theme park) so I would highly recommend it. We took a taxi to hammamet market too, which was very nice. Again, no hassel! Very uncharacteristic of Tunisian shopkeepers!

Oh the whole, a fab holiday for everyone.

Any questions just ask.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BetteANDJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Rooms are Ok, but food and service are very very poor.
I advice peoples do not try this hotel,
No help for luggage in check in and checkout, peoples are not friendly at all, and food is catastrophic.!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank mohamed j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We spent two lovely weeks in the Marco Polo. We were really lucky with the weather as it can be hit or miss in December, but we were able to sunbathe most days.

We paid for a sea view room, but now feel we probably wasted our money – yes having the sea view was nice, but at this time of year the hotel is so quiet I think the chances are you would get a sea view anyway, or probably would be moved with no problem if you just asked. The room was a good size and kept very clean. The heating worked well in the room, and we usually didn’t need it on for long in the evening. The beds were comfortable and the reception staff were very helpful when I asked for a thinner pillow, sending a couple to my room so I could choose. Plenty of plug sockets. Empty fridge in room which was good for keeping water etc. The shower was excellent – really powerful. Also lovely having a bath, a couple of times I just treated myself to a soak with a glass of wine and a good book.

The food was fine. At breakfast I wasn’t a big fan of the cooked food, but I enjoyed the crepes and donughts and pastries (probably why I have put on 3lbs!) At lunch & dinner there was always a variety of beef / pork / chicken / turkey / lamb in sauces, which you could have with chips, mash potato, rice or couscous, plenty of veg etc. There are also lovely soups and desserts each day. Tip – the hot milk at breakfast is powdered stuff and is rubbish, you are betting going for the cold milk as its real.

Its been mentioned before, and I definitely think the alcohol is watered down. It was the most sober holiday I have every had! Nice having no hangovers and a good nights sleep though. But if you want to get merry, you might want to purchase something at duty free. The wine from the bar (from bottles) tastes better, but the wine from the taps in the restaurant where you help youself, taste vinegary. The beer is ok (Celtia)

The entertainment team are very friendly and try to involve everyone, my husband enjoyed archery and arabic lessons. In the evening we saw the team dancing with guests of all ages.
The indoor pool was lovely and heated. I went swimming a few mornings after breakfast and either had it to myself or with just one or two others. The outdoor pool isn’t worth thinking about at this time of year – a couple of people tried it and there was a lot of screaming.

I would have liked to have had a massage but was really put off by the forceful selling. On day one of our holiday a man approached me in reception and took me through the spa area, which was lovely. But he was really trying to get me to agree to something there and then, a full package. I wanted to take a price list away with me but he wouldn’t give me anything. Also, when we walked into the spa all the women who would do the treatments were standing chatting and stopped and stared at me, I just didn’t feel like it was friendly. Annoying – as I would have liked a massage but the whole experience just didn’t put me at ease!

If you use the wi-fi be careful about what sites you visit & inputting passwords. While using the open wifi, my husbands Hotmail was hacked & so was my facebook. We were glad we hadn’t logged into any bank information. The wifi reception in our room wasn’t great (floor 2) but I think you can ask for a cable at reception if you want to plug it directly into your laptop.

The beach was deserted and we enjoyed a few walks along it. There is a wee homeless dog which lives on the beach. We named her Sandy while we were there. She is very thin and not in good condition, so we did sneak her hot dog sausages each morning. If you are a dog lover, please keep an eye out for her, she is a poor wee soul. If you walk past the swimming pool, straight onto the beach, she is always on the left hand side. If its cold she will be sleeping under the pile of straw umberellas at the side.

The hotel is in walking distance of some shops and the new medina, which was good for something to do on cloudy days. Mikey the rep was really friendly and helpful.
We have visited Tunisia a few times, and this was our first time in Hammamet. We enjoyed it very much and would return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Tallulah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We have been to about 60 hotels in the last 20 years and have stayed at 11 different RIU hotels so I feel my comments should be accurate.

We travelled with First Choice as a couple from 8th/22nd December.

The transfer from the airport was poor, the rep stated that she would be getting off at the first hotel, and did so without a word as to the following stops! On arrival at the Marco Polo there was no one to unload the cases and the driver just looked on. There was no bell boy in evidence ( 10:00 pm ), and for quickness we took our own cases up. The reception was a hap hazard affair with the staff member shouting across to all the arrivals with the information and giving out our room key etc. Basic cold food was available in the restaurant.

Room: The standard you would expect, only bottled water in the fridge, which had to ordered from reception when required. Although it does say wifi available in the rooms, this does not happen if you are away from the routers, so obviously walk down the corridor or go to the reception area.
The room was cleaned adequately but on all occasions the soap near the bath area was not moved. To have your bedding changed a card has to be placed on the bed when required.

Restaurant: The usual international fare, which at this time of year must be taken into consideration, the staple items being turkey, steak and fish served in a variety of styles. On one week a themed evening was produced, this being Spanish but the only difference we could see was the addition of paella!

Bars: We did not notice the drinks watered down as some reviews have said. The wine was adequate and was on a serve yourself basis in the restaurant. The bar staff were all readily available and we did not have to wait for service. Fawzi in the Oasis bar was especially good.

Pool: Although the main pool was too cold it was clean. We did use the indoor pool on one occasion and this was fine.

Weather: Not the hotel's remit, but the first 10 days sunny and hot, the last couple cloudy and rain.

Animation: The team try hard and work extremely long hours and the day events were as you would expect at this time of year. The evening entertainment was varied, with some outside acts, but as usual will not be to all persons tastes. Abdul was one of the best members we have come across.

Problems: Where this hotel lets the RIU group down and is its complete lack of concern for, us the people who pay to stay there for 52 weeks in a year. The first weekend we were staying there was, as we were told was a huge influx of staff locals and their families. The children who are completely unsupervised by their parents were running amok throughout the reception area. The food wasted in the restaurant was an absolute disgrace, and we asked following this weekend to change our evening table as we were so disgusted with this goings on with the food. Indeed children were using their hands to load jelly and ice cream into bowls!
At no time did the management do anything about the behaviour of these children and even the adults.

The following weekend there was an influx of, we were told 453, people which consisted of a conference and all their family members. On the saturday a wedding also took place. You can therefore imagine the absolute chaos in the hotel. There were no places to sit in the lobby area and overseas guests were requested to change their mealtimes and pre- allocated table for the next few days, which all seems a bit rich when the restaurant manager was quite adamant that you kept your table and sitting time! On the lunchtime session the restaurant time was bought forward and the conference people were instructed to go in later. This did not happen and there was no policing by the restaurant staff and so again chaos ensued in the restaurant.
We assume due to complaints extra seating was put in the lobby area on the day we were leaving.
In passing before the second weekend there was an evening where you were asked to fill in a questionnaire, on the hotel and it was quite evident that all the managers were hovering around. It seems such a shame that the manger could not be seen when all the problems were happening on the second weekend! It is a shame that the hotel has some of the best staff we have come across but lacks proper management and no consideration to us.
In conclusion after, as I stated, staying at various RIU hotels we would definitely not return to the Marco Polo, and indeed think twice about going to any RIU hotel in Tunisia. ( See reviews off the Murilla).

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank BILLIENOMATES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed for 14 nights end of November through to 11th December. Unfortunately the weather was not good so were not able to sit/lay outside much.

There was a full day of entertainment on the noticeboard EVERY DAY, but with the exception of boules for the "chosen few" and the occasional archery, nothing else happened. The 'Show Time' at night was poor too.

Food was okay - good choice if you are 'adventurous'. Not a great selection of drinks - some of which seemed quite 'watered down'. The room was clean, tidy and spacious.

The shop in the lobby had 30% off for people staying in the hotel, but nothing was priced and even with the 'discount' it was very expensive.

The hotel filled up at weekends with 'locals' practically taking over - breakfast time was bedlam and chaotic on Sundays.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KAS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
5.9 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 118 in Hammamet
2,127 reviews
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
4.9 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#4 of 118 in Hammamet
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
#55 of 118 in Hammamet
447 reviews
1.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
1.1 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#19 of 118 in Hammamet
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Concorde Hotel Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Concorde Hotel Marco Polo

Address: Hammamet Yasmine - BP 35, Hammamet 8056, Tunisia (Formerly HÔTEL MARCO POLO)
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#10 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#18 Family Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: $87 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Concorde Hotel Marco Polo 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star hotel, directly on the beach, ideally situated in the well-known touristic zone of Yasmine Hammamet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Concorde Hotel Marco Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Marco Polo Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing