We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marco Polo Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Concorde Hotel Marco Polo
Ranked #13 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at the hotel and area based on the excellent reviews and recommendations of friends and the main need for our holiday to have little restrictions to the beach and surrounding areas due to my wife have an imbalance problem when working.

Well we arrived bang on time and only had a small wait for our keys and the splendour of the reception matched all the promises the reviews and friends had stated.
Our room was spacious although single beds pushed together may be better favoured with a double when you book a double but we lived with it.

Meals were provided with plenty of selection and we rarely attended dinner but on these occasions we found the food to appear warmer than the evening. All the staff where helpful especially the pool staff were I spent a great deal of time.

Having chosen an holiday with direct access to a beach I was more than let down when I approached as far as the eye could see a beach completely littered with seaweed and camel dung. Then when I got to the waters edge there was at least 20 yards of black sand ankle deep with rubbish mainly plastic bottles. This remained all week and the beach had an attempt to remove the seaweed I assume because you cannot play volleyball ankle deep in camel dung.

The beach is advertised as private but is controlled by the government probably why it's not cleaned.

Entertainment was for adults rather poor in the evening in my opinion and the outside bar and area was never used when we where told at least once a week they have open air event.

To conclude there appeared to be a bland atmosphere over the resort and hotel, those who have been many times advised it was normally buzzing,outside music at the bars and the staff interacting with humour between the guests and staff. Will we return i'am sorry the juries still out.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

790 - 796 of 2,200 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with my family last August and returned with a friend in October. The reception staff are fantastic and very friendly. Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms were large and very clean. The food was excellent and varied and freshly cooked. Staff were friendly. The pool is absolutely gorgeous and the hotel is on the beach. The entertainment was good in the day but a little disappointing most evenings. In October I was on crutches and the restaurant staff followed me with a plate to collect my food, and in the day the waiters would bring me drinks. Always amazed how many of the staff speak several languages. The bar area, tho small, was a great place to socialise. We would definately return

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squidge16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Returned from a week at the Rui Marco Polo on the 6th of May and had an enjoyable time.Entertainment what you would normally expect.They try their best though.Lots of activities to join in throughtout the day if you want to participate but it isn't forced on you.They could do with changin the evening entertainment by maybe introducing music/disco.Lovely hotel and rooms very clean and spacious.The food is lovely but a bit repetitive but there is always something for everyone.Drinks lovely.The fact that they had proper diet coke and schweppes tonic was great and the poolside slushes wonderful.Very disapointed with the beach it was very dirty although the hotel did clean a strip so volleyball could be played. Lots of camel droppings and rubbish.More like a dumping ground.Didn't like the hassle you get if you go out to the shops.They are on you like vultures.Stick to a fixed price shop.Kids play area and pool very good and the kids rep was good fun.Don't think I would like to go in high season as I had the aircon on and we were still hot on an evening.You are given a beach towel on arrival which can be changed on a daily basis but do not lose it or you are charged 20 dinar.Change your money at the hotel on a daily basis as you only need it to shop or tip waiters.For the price I paid it was well worth it.

Room Tip: We were in room 4121 and we got wifi and the sun all afternoon. We were above the entertainment loun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Here on 28 April for two weeks.Doing this review while still here.Had a horrendous dinner tonight.Not the food but local families here for the weekend letting their kids run riot in the restaurant. They were charging about like in a playground , sticking fingers in the food and playing with the drinks machine.When we asked the manager if this was acceptable behaviour he said the parents just ignore their complaints and they are only here for one or two nights.If that was in hotel or restaurant in UK I think we'd be asked to leave.Anyway onto hotel review.On the plus side, lovely hotel, room.pool area etc.Staff all really friendly and socialable. Food a let down for a Riu.Some of the meat quality very poor and if l wanted burgers for dinner l'd find aMacdonalds.Wine in restaurant always a bit warm but beer ok.One strange thing is the bed linen change.There is supposed to be a card in the room and when you want your sheets changed you leave it on the bed.Well we did not have a card in the room and it was 9 days before we got one and that was only after we hi jacked the maid and demanded our bed be changed.There is only a small bar area for such a large hotel and smoking is allowed so it can be unpleasant for non smokers.Will return to Tunisia but not to this hotel.

Room Tip: Poolview second floor ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

This was the second time we have stayed at a Riu Hotel, and once again found the staff delightful, who simply can't do enough to try and make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Great selection of food in the buffet. The food is not exceptional, but freshly cooked and good value for money as part of an All inclusive package. Cocktails are a dissapointment, but the wine is good! The beach is poor, but this is not the fault of the hotel, it's down to the fact that the hotel is located close to a harbour. So the beach might be dirty, but the hotel itself, rooms and pool are immaculately clean. Evening entertainment is very questionable, but you cannot fault the enthusiasm of the animation team. Overall, not as nice as the Riu Karamboa in Cape Verde, but nonetheless still very good. Recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I have never written a review for a hotel (only checked other peoples reviews for guidance) but I had to write a review for the Riu marco Polo given the excellent service we were given.

The rooms were a good size which were cleaned to a high standard on a daily basis.

Previous reviews have mentioned the repetitiveness of the food however we felt that there was a range of different food available on a daily basis which catered for all tastes. 1 thing i did notice is that people preferred chips to trying the various Tunisian food made available and cooked right in front of you. We were there for 7 days and had something new to try every day.

The hotel was exceptionally clean with several staff continuously cleaning throughout the day. I even woke up early one morning and watched someone scrub the pool area at 5am, ready for folk starting to come down about 7/7.30am.

The staff were all friendly and helpful and nothing was too much of an issue. One day we didnt receive the bottled water and when we went to reception to resolve this they couldnt be more helpful and resolved this there and then. The bar staff were polite and friendly. It was actually embarrassing to watch some people abuse the all inclusive part of the holiday and demand more and more drinks when they clearly couldnt handle it, the bar staff remained professional and polite throughout.

I could not recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mari465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Though it happened so that we had to stay at this hotel only for two days, i must say that it fully lives up to its 4 stars, not less. Good quality of service. The food is not very diverse but still has good quality. Clean spacious rooms in general and bathrooms particulary. I mention this bcs there are hotels in Tunisia where sometimes bathrooms are in a terrible state with water which stinks and old plumbing and etc. Here luckily they do not have such problems. The only minus of our room was the temperature. It was really cold so we couldn't fall asleep bcs of it. We tried to switch on the air conditioner on the high hit but it was still blowing cold air.
The hotel has its own clean and broad beach just in the centre of touristic zone. Not far from caffes and shops.
There is a large area around the pool with sun loungers and parasols which are free near the pool and also in the beach.
We noticed that this hotel is popular among people from the United Kingdom and France
In general cant say anything bad about this place. And probably will return there one day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valeria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
5.9 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#4 of 119 in Hammamet
2,162 reviews
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
#52 of 119 in Hammamet
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#12 of 119 in Hammamet
1,296 reviews
4.9 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#2 of 119 in Hammamet
749 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#33 of 119 in Hammamet
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Concorde Hotel Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Concorde Hotel Marco Polo

Address: Hammamet Yasmine - BP 35, Hammamet 8056, Tunisia (Formerly HÔTEL MARCO POLO)
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#9 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#18 Family Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: $51 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Concorde Hotel Marco Polo 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star hotel, directly on the beach, ideally situated in the well-known touristic zone of Yasmine Hammamet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Concorde Hotel Marco Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Marco Polo Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing