We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright, not bad, but not good really. Is it 4 star? 3 definitely.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Concorde Hotel Marco Polo
Ranked #16 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Grenada
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Alright, not bad, but not good really. Is it 4 star? 3 definitely.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

First the good stuff. The hotel is very clean, the staff are very friendly and attentive. The rooms are pretty good, and the food is in general good. Theres a big pool that looks nice, and a kids pool and club. So it's not bad.

BUT

firstly, this isn't a complaint about the hotel but Hammamet in April is pretty cold at times. On the right day the sun shines and you can sunbathe. But on the day either side, it will be cloudy, cold and sometimes wet. It's means that the outdoor pool is freezing, as is the sea, good news is that there is an indoor pool that is heated but its not huge. When it's cold, the guests all concentrate around reception and its bar, it can get pretty crowded.

Rooms: I found the beds are very hard, one can get used to this but if you need a soft bed beware.

Food: is to a standard that is acceptable, but there is a degree of reuse. Soups and salads will reappear at the next meal if not used. Chips are excellent quality but i dont think they should be there at all meals? The desserts are not good, with many mediocre miracle whip type things, fake cream tarts and nice fruit. There is only ever one hot dessert, hot pancakes are served 3 times a day, every day. Bring your own teabags, and Nescafé is the coffee, from a machine with some sort of non milk. No kettles or any other drinks in the rooms except free bottled water. Never saw any tummy bug issues, so i suspect it's all pretty hygienic.

WiFi is free and available at random places around the hotel, including some rooms, and in reception but it gets overwhelmed when busy in the evenings.

The bar service is 10am to midnight but the cocktails are of the powdered mix variety, personally I didn't like them, and the spirits are local analogues, some are ok, some not.

The evening shows will be liked by some but the people I was with really didn't find them professional enough. They try hard, but really this ain't Las Vegas or a Cruise...

The surrounding area is modern and pretty bland but felt safe with some restaurants bars and shops in the marina down the road. There is a disneyesque interpretation of a medina about 2kms away. The real old town is further. The beach needs cleaning up, but its too cold to use at present anyway.

There are lots of touristic trips available from the hotel, from Star Wars sites to visiting the various roman and older ruins of Carthage.

If you are looking for sophistication, or unobtrusive luxury, carry on looking, if you are looking for a cost effective cheerful family week in the sun this is for you.

Room Tip: Not on 1st floor over the entertainment oasis lounges (noisy at times) and those overlooking the mar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gda_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    981
    739
    268
    88
    70
See reviews for
668
906
49
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just got back from the Marco Polo, thought I would post some comments. Firstly this review is based on my expectations and others opinions may differ. The good stuff first. The staff for the most part are helpful and nice. The maid service is excellent and never intrusive. The hotel was clean and neat if not a bit rough around the edges and a bit bland. The rooms were large enough and clean and well maintained. The pool was lovely but way to cold to get in at this time of year. So onto the not so good. being "middle" season nothing was open. No pool bar, no terrace bar, no speciality restaurant and no facilities on the beach. Thomson really should have mentioned this at time off booking as it was like being in a half open hotel. The food was very average, some if it quite poor quality. I like a bit of fruit rather than a pudding and the only thing on offer, genuinely were the most scabby looking apples you have ever seen and some shrivelled oranges, it was honestly laughable that in a "4" star hotel they would offer them up, people complained, they still served them. Secondly you had two sittings at dinner, but if you went down part way through your sitting, which you are allowed to do, there was very little left. It's not technically all inclusive as they stop lunch at 2.30 and dinner starts at 6.30. They say snacks are served, but its just pancakes, if you are a coeliac like me your pretty much screwed! If we had opted for the .8.15 sitting I would have died of hunger. The bar service was ok, only one rather miserable bar tender that got the drinks wrong and was to scary to ask for it to be changed! On to the beach, they say it is cleared in the busy season, I honestly doubt it, it was littered in the sea and on the beach and you are bothered by the locals the minute you step off the hotel grounds, the same of you go to the town, which by the way is the biggest dump I have ever encountered. Other reviews have said it was nice, it was like a bombed out rubbish dump. My husband and I have been to four Riu hotels previously and were always pleased, this time it was disappointing. It seemed like the hotel management were just out to penny pinch wherever they could! A shame really. 4 star it is not. Also it would be nice to have just one area where it is adults only. P.s. do not pay to use the VIP lounge at the airport, it is god awful.

Room Tip: You have to pay for a sea view, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShinyGGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I was a little worried after reading a few reviews but I shouldn't have been. If you read earlier reviews I think they have said it all. Excellent hotel, service and amenities. it was a little cold in the outdoor poll so we went for a dip in the indoor one and then back out in the sun to dry off... sorted.
If I could grumble about anything it was the lack of choice in the fresh fruit department but there was a wide range of desserts so not really a huge problem and this is out of season really.
Those who complain about the food... i wonder if they realise that they have travelled to Africa and if they want McDonalds then got to Bournemouth or Torquay and complain about the lack of sunshine.
If you have booked to stay in this hotel please do not worry as I'm sure you won't be disappointed, just relax and enjoy.

Room Tip: We were in room 4169. Excellent view of the pool, beach and harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JulieMorgan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

If you are a normal down to earth person like me then you will see this hotel and resort is perfect. The hotel is clean and the staff are polite and helpful. There was something for everyone at all 3 meals at the day even if it was chips and bread for the fussy amongst us. The animation team had archery, volley ball and darts as well as yoga and kids club. I love Riu Marco Polo and would go back tomorrow!!

Room Tip: rooms are a little dated and normally have two beds pushed together for double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LornaM816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just got back from 10 nights at the Riu Marco Polo. Lovely hotel, completely spotless, always staff about cleaning. The pool is amazing, if not a little cold, but perfect once you brave getting in!! A little dissapointed the pool bar didn't open in time for us, but didn't really take anything away from the holiday. The room was lovely and spacious with a nice view of the beach and Hammamet. Most the staff where very friendly, although a few a little too friendly (blonde hair goes down very well!). Staff remembering your drinks and names added a nice touch. The food was tasty and suited us perfectly, but can see how for some people it could be a little repetitive, just be creative with your choices and try some local food! We went quad biking twice as we enjoyed it so much the first time, the health and safety isn't quite the same at home but that added to it for us as we felt safe but able to have a little more fun! The animation team are absolutely fantastic!! They are a credit to the hotel and work so hard! They made our holiday and they are always about and very friendly, they seem to know how to get on with everyone and all age groups and it was nice to see a group of people working so hard all the time. Special mention to Nana and Lilou who for us where top of the team, although like I said all where fantastic! Shame their manager James likes to humiliate them all in public by shouting at them and not allowing them the time to sit with guests and chat, which is a nice part of their charm. Maybe give the job to Zaza who clearly organizes most the events anyway and the hotel would be a better place as the hardest working staff wouldn't feel put down by their manager when they are doing an amazing job. Location of the hotel was nice for us and the local marina and medina where fun to visit, shame the beach hadn't yet been fully cleaned, and although it was still nice for a walk, their are camels etc about hassling. All in all a perfect holiday and we would definately go back!!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room, but once noisy neighbours came half way through the holiday the quiet loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HelNKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Currently at the Riu Marco Polo and would echo the views of the last few reviews in terms of cleanliest, friendliness of staff etc.

Happy to report that the food has been hot so far, with plenty of variety. Meat at lunch and dinner time is cooked on grills by the chef(s) in front of you, so fresh. Some queuing for main dishes. Evening meal split over two sittings.

This week is the start of season for First Choice. Pool bar opened today. Pool still cold, needs a few more weeks to heat up. Indoor pool is better.

Arrived at hotel from our flight after 8 pm and were taken straight to the restaurant for dinner, which was great.

Rooms (4111) large with a deep bath. No wait for hot water and quick filling. Bottled water delivered every day as long as you order daily from reception. Some room have a safe with a key, some with a code (electronic).

Large Samsung TV in room with BBC World Service, CNN and an English Language movie channel. The TV has HDMI, USB and RCA connections.

The hotel will exchange money at "government rates". There are several ATMs about 400 meters away in town. I had no problems withdrawing money.

A bulldozer appeared on the beach today to start cleaning up the winter debris washed up on the shore (mainly reeds and strange looking straw balls (too many to be camel dung!).

I am writing this review on-line from my room using the hotels free WiFi. There is a WiFi access point nearby in the corridor. There may not be WiFi access in all rooms as I have seem several people in the lobby with tablets and notebooks, maybe they are just being more sociable?

Overall hotel seems well managed, well maintained and keep clean. This is a family hotel so lots of kids.

Room Tip: Rooms with numbers 4,000 have WiFi access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank SJB3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We are well travelled but this was our first visit to Tunisia. Two weeks in the middle of march so perhaps a bit too early for guaranteed sunshine but. This hotel was immaculate, rooms, grounds, restaurants etc. Our room had a sea/pool view and was larger than I'd expected it to be. All of the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The animation staff were adorable and worked very hard. I didn't like the way their manager, James,seemed to want to humiliate them on stage and we watched him push and shove the girls around. Maybe it's a cultural thing but it definitely wouldn't be tolerated in the EU. The food was excellent and I've never tasted such wonderful vegetables. The beach is very close by and you don't get hassled, well just a bit by a very sweet man who wants to sell you a bracelet for a couple of quid. Yes, you might get a bit more grandeur if you pay more but I'd save your money. Take advantage of the two day trip to the desert. Fantastic value but very tiring. I don't usually do return visits but I think this might be an exception. I did fall in love with Tunisia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
5.9 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#4 of 118 in Hammamet
2,041 reviews
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
4.9 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#3 of 118 in Hammamet
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#2 of 118 in Hammamet
5,545 reviews
1.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
7.7 mi away
Hotel Club President
Hotel Club President
#24 of 118 in Hammamet
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Concorde Hotel Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Concorde Hotel Marco Polo

Property: Concorde Hotel Marco Polo
Address: Hammamet Yasmine - BP 35, Hammamet 8056, Tunisia (Formerly HÔTEL MARCO POLO)
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#12 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#18 Family Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Concorde Hotel Marco Polo 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star hotel, directly on the beach, ideally situated in the well-known touristic zone of Yasmine Hammamet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Concorde Hotel Marco Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Marco Polo Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing