We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warming up in April”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Concorde Hotel Marco Polo
Ranked #14 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Warming up in April”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Currently at the Riu Marco Polo and would echo the views of the last few reviews in terms of cleanliest, friendliness of staff etc.

Happy to report that the food has been hot so far, with plenty of variety. Meat at lunch and dinner time is cooked on grills by the chef(s) in front of you, so fresh. Some queuing for main dishes. Evening meal split over two sittings.

This week is the start of season for First Choice. Pool bar opened today. Pool still cold, needs a few more weeks to heat up. Indoor pool is better.

Arrived at hotel from our flight after 8 pm and were taken straight to the restaurant for dinner, which was great.

Rooms (4111) large with a deep bath. No wait for hot water and quick filling. Bottled water delivered every day as long as you order daily from reception. Some room have a safe with a key, some with a code (electronic).

Large Samsung TV in room with BBC World Service, CNN and an English Language movie channel. The TV has HDMI, USB and RCA connections.

The hotel will exchange money at "government rates". There are several ATMs about 400 meters away in town. I had no problems withdrawing money.

A bulldozer appeared on the beach today to start cleaning up the winter debris washed up on the shore (mainly reeds and strange looking straw balls (too many to be camel dung!).

I am writing this review on-line from my room using the hotels free WiFi. There is a WiFi access point nearby in the corridor. There may not be WiFi access in all rooms as I have seem several people in the lobby with tablets and notebooks, maybe they are just being more sociable?

Overall hotel seems well managed, well maintained and keep clean. This is a family hotel so lots of kids.

Room Tip: Rooms with numbers 4,000 have WiFi access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank SJB3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    743
    269
    92
    71
See reviews for
682
910
48
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We are well travelled but this was our first visit to Tunisia. Two weeks in the middle of march so perhaps a bit too early for guaranteed sunshine but. This hotel was immaculate, rooms, grounds, restaurants etc. Our room had a sea/pool view and was larger than I'd expected it to be. All of the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The animation staff were adorable and worked very hard. I didn't like the way their manager, James,seemed to want to humiliate them on stage and we watched him push and shove the girls around. Maybe it's a cultural thing but it definitely wouldn't be tolerated in the EU. The food was excellent and I've never tasted such wonderful vegetables. The beach is very close by and you don't get hassled, well just a bit by a very sweet man who wants to sell you a bracelet for a couple of quid. Yes, you might get a bit more grandeur if you pay more but I'd save your money. Take advantage of the two day trip to the desert. Fantastic value but very tiring. I don't usually do return visits but I think this might be an exception. I did fall in love with Tunisia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

warning dont go 2 tunisia till end of april was freezin in feb we stayed in riu marco polo was fantastic hotel everythin u could want friendly staff entertainment staff brill just 1 ting food was nice but was cold should ave been hot thats the only complaint weather a no no was told it was warm but was freezin

Room Tip: left side rooms got sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed in the Marco polo at the end of January 2013 and it was amazing. We travelled with a small baby and our 4 year old daughter who has walking difficulties. The reception staff were a credit to the hotel and ensured we were happy with everything during our stay. The family room was incredible and very well designed for families. Food was great. We had a lovely time and would certainly recommend to other families!! Thank you Marco Polo - The Smith family!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smith-familyx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria, England
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

just returned after a one week stay(17th march -24th march) the hotel is a large clean hotel,we checked in and after been allocated a nice room, with a view of an apartment block over the road, we asked if we could change the room for a pool view, the management duly obliged.there is a lot of walking,to get to your chosen place, bar/food/hall etc,but thats only a small issue.
due to it being out of season,there was only one place to eat,so that was for breakfast/lunch/dinner etc.
the food was very nice/hot/ and always something for each and every taste.
you do get a table allocated to you for your evening meal, and thats your table for the rest of your stay.
the main pool was large,and flipping cold, i did grab a daily splash each day!!
the weather was kind to us and have came home with a sun tan.
a few other issues which may bother you if you dont smoke, they do allow smoking in the main bar area, this is right beside the main food hall, and you can smell the stench of smoke drifting through.
another problem was at the weekend, the hotel is packed with locals, and there screaming kids, these kids will run and scream about the hotel,we arnt spolisports, we have our own kids(adults now & grandkids) but they would never go wild like they do here, the management seem to turn a blind eye on the carry on!!!
the staff(all of them) are so nice and polite,they always smile and say hello etc.
the beach area is a mess, but will be clean and set up by the summer,
the harbour is next door and looks nice.
would we go back? yes,

enjoy:)

Room Tip: a room on the left, as you look out from the reception towards the pool,will get all the sun on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maxxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have just returned from this hotel (24th March 2013) we spent a week there and we enjoyed our stay, the service was impeccable with all the staff bending over backwards to help with your enjoyment, The hotel itself was extremely clean and the accomodation was very nice. The swimming pool was the largest i have ever seen (propably the size of two pools put side by side) . The restaurant was very good, but on the downside the evening dinner had plenty of choice, but if you are like myself i do not like eating a sweet after dinner but prefer cheese and biscuits which was not available, As for the drink supplied under the fully inclusive deal, if you are a beer drinker be prepared not to get a pint or even half a pint, beer is served in a wine glass so this means many quick returns to the bar. The hotel is perched right on top of the beach, but is one of the most dirtiest beaches i have come across with camel and horse excrement everywhere which is a great shame. If like us you like to have a stroll out the only surrounding area worth walking to is the marina, because the other areas are run down and dirty and you are never ending being stopped by the locals trying to get you to buy some of there rubbish,this can become very annoying. We did however go on a trip to sousse and el kantouai, which we did enjoy they are very nice places and if we ever went back we would stay at one of these. On the whole we did thoroughly enjoy our stay, but would have to think twice about returning to yasmine.

Room Tip: all the rooms face the pool or the sea so no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aphdover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Be aware, on Friday/Sat/Sunday, out of peak season, weekend guests (in our case 600 in number) are brought to stay at the Marco Polo Hotel. This is a huge problem in that, the hotel is then running at very near full capacity. But since, during this time, less than half the hotel facilities are open for use, and the open air faclities are either closed or unusable due to weather conditions, the hotel is totally and hopelesly illequiped to cope with the influx. The restaurant is overun, demand for tables totally outweighing capacity, buffet food (ordinary, bland, mainly fried, boringly repeatative fare) in the only open restaurant runs out within minutes, taken by those willing to push and scrap over it, and is not replaced or replenished. (After waiting 3 hours we ended the night eating nothing. The head waiter, despite our protests, did not want to know, and the managers' response was to become downright rude and aggressive). Seating in the one open bar could be filled 10 times over by hopeful guests, queues for the one instant coffee/tea machine(the only hot drinks available) number dozens, and room hot water runs out by late afternoon. '1st Choice tour guests' are told they MUST take dinner at 6pm, 'weekend guests' can eat whenever they please. 'Tour guests'' previously allocated dinner tables are given to 'weekenders'. Tables and chairs are removed fom public areas to private reception areas for 'weekenders' sole use. No smoking signs in public areas are removed for 'weekenders', then replaced for 'tour guests' (so both smoker and non-smoker tour guests lose out), and 'silence after midnight' signs are totally ignored by 'weekenders', who shout and scream till 3am. Unfortunately, in this hotel, '1st Choice tour guests' are very much 2nd rate customers when compared with the privileged 'weekend guests'. Go to your tour operator (the ones who took our money), I hear you shout....... During the entire 3 days the normally present '1st Choice' rep. was not on duty, and uncontactable in ANY way. The '1st Choice', 24 hr hot lines' only response is to tell us to report any problems to our rep. on tuesday (if he turns up), and written reports and complaints to '1st Choice' are at first totally ignored, then when repeateded, they are ridiculed. Our opinion/advice......do yourself a favour, give this hotel and operator a very wide birth, '1st Choice' may portray this destination as a fair deal, but soon, like us, you may just want to leave. (With the next long weekend approaching, and the same chaos ensuing, we refused to spend our 2nd week here).

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
5.9 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#4 of 118 in Hammamet
2,088 reviews
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
4.9 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#3 of 118 in Hammamet
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Club President
Hotel Club President
#24 of 118 in Hammamet
1,604 reviews
1.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
2.2 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#1 of 118 in Hammamet
5,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Concorde Hotel Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Concorde Hotel Marco Polo

Property: Concorde Hotel Marco Polo
Address: Hammamet Yasmine - BP 35, Hammamet 8056, Tunisia (Formerly HÔTEL MARCO POLO)
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#10 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#18 Family Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Concorde Hotel Marco Polo 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star hotel, directly on the beach, ideally situated in the well-known touristic zone of Yasmine Hammamet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Concorde Hotel Marco Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Marco Polo Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing