We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cold in feb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Concorde Hotel Marco Polo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Concorde Hotel Marco Polo
Ranked #14 of 123 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“cold in feb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

warning dont go 2 tunisia till end of april was freezin in feb we stayed in riu marco polo was fantastic hotel everythin u could want friendly staff entertainment staff brill just 1 ting food was nice but was cold should ave been hot thats the only complaint weather a no no was told it was warm but was freezin

Room Tip: left side rooms got sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    962
    730
    268
    87
    68
See reviews for
652
902
46
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed in the Marco polo at the end of January 2013 and it was amazing. We travelled with a small baby and our 4 year old daughter who has walking difficulties. The reception staff were a credit to the hotel and ensured we were happy with everything during our stay. The family room was incredible and very well designed for families. Food was great. We had a lovely time and would certainly recommend to other families!! Thank you Marco Polo - The Smith family!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smith-familyx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

just returned after a one week stay(17th march -24th march) the hotel is a large clean hotel,we checked in and after been allocated a nice room, with a view of an apartment block over the road, we asked if we could change the room for a pool view, the management duly obliged.there is a lot of walking,to get to your chosen place, bar/food/hall etc,but thats only a small issue.
due to it being out of season,there was only one place to eat,so that was for breakfast/lunch/dinner etc.
the food was very nice/hot/ and always something for each and every taste.
you do get a table allocated to you for your evening meal, and thats your table for the rest of your stay.
the main pool was large,and flipping cold, i did grab a daily splash each day!!
the weather was kind to us and have came home with a sun tan.
a few other issues which may bother you if you dont smoke, they do allow smoking in the main bar area, this is right beside the main food hall, and you can smell the stench of smoke drifting through.
another problem was at the weekend, the hotel is packed with locals, and there screaming kids, these kids will run and scream about the hotel,we arnt spolisports, we have our own kids(adults now & grandkids) but they would never go wild like they do here, the management seem to turn a blind eye on the carry on!!!
the staff(all of them) are so nice and polite,they always smile and say hello etc.
the beach area is a mess, but will be clean and set up by the summer,
the harbour is next door and looks nice.
would we go back? yes,

enjoy:)

Room Tip: a room on the left, as you look out from the reception towards the pool,will get all the sun on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maxxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have just returned from this hotel (24th March 2013) we spent a week there and we enjoyed our stay, the service was impeccable with all the staff bending over backwards to help with your enjoyment, The hotel itself was extremely clean and the accomodation was very nice. The swimming pool was the largest i have ever seen (propably the size of two pools put side by side) . The restaurant was very good, but on the downside the evening dinner had plenty of choice, but if you are like myself i do not like eating a sweet after dinner but prefer cheese and biscuits which was not available, As for the drink supplied under the fully inclusive deal, if you are a beer drinker be prepared not to get a pint or even half a pint, beer is served in a wine glass so this means many quick returns to the bar. The hotel is perched right on top of the beach, but is one of the most dirtiest beaches i have come across with camel and horse excrement everywhere which is a great shame. If like us you like to have a stroll out the only surrounding area worth walking to is the marina, because the other areas are run down and dirty and you are never ending being stopped by the locals trying to get you to buy some of there rubbish,this can become very annoying. We did however go on a trip to sousse and el kantouai, which we did enjoy they are very nice places and if we ever went back we would stay at one of these. On the whole we did thoroughly enjoy our stay, but would have to think twice about returning to yasmine.

Room Tip: all the rooms face the pool or the sea so no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aphdover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Be aware, on Friday/Sat/Sunday, out of peak season, weekend guests (in our case 600 in number) are brought to stay at the Marco Polo Hotel. This is a huge problem in that, the hotel is then running at very near full capacity. But since, during this time, less than half the hotel facilities are open for use, and the open air faclities are either closed or unusable due to weather conditions, the hotel is totally and hopelesly illequiped to cope with the influx. The restaurant is overun, demand for tables totally outweighing capacity, buffet food (ordinary, bland, mainly fried, boringly repeatative fare) in the only open restaurant runs out within minutes, taken by those willing to push and scrap over it, and is not replaced or replenished. (After waiting 3 hours we ended the night eating nothing. The head waiter, despite our protests, did not want to know, and the managers' response was to become downright rude and aggressive). Seating in the one open bar could be filled 10 times over by hopeful guests, queues for the one instant coffee/tea machine(the only hot drinks available) number dozens, and room hot water runs out by late afternoon. '1st Choice tour guests' are told they MUST take dinner at 6pm, 'weekend guests' can eat whenever they please. 'Tour guests'' previously allocated dinner tables are given to 'weekenders'. Tables and chairs are removed fom public areas to private reception areas for 'weekenders' sole use. No smoking signs in public areas are removed for 'weekenders', then replaced for 'tour guests' (so both smoker and non-smoker tour guests lose out), and 'silence after midnight' signs are totally ignored by 'weekenders', who shout and scream till 3am. Unfortunately, in this hotel, '1st Choice tour guests' are very much 2nd rate customers when compared with the privileged 'weekend guests'. Go to your tour operator (the ones who took our money), I hear you shout....... During the entire 3 days the normally present '1st Choice' rep. was not on duty, and uncontactable in ANY way. The '1st Choice', 24 hr hot lines' only response is to tell us to report any problems to our rep. on tuesday (if he turns up), and written reports and complaints to '1st Choice' are at first totally ignored, then when repeateded, they are ridiculed. Our opinion/advice......do yourself a favour, give this hotel and operator a very wide birth, '1st Choice' may portray this destination as a fair deal, but soon, like us, you may just want to leave. (With the next long weekend approaching, and the same chaos ensuing, we refused to spend our 2nd week here).

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

lovely staff ,very clean, entertainment could be better, the spa treatment are amazing, food good,
the check in service was quick and easy, i would highly reccommend this hotel and i would travel back later in the season when the resort is more for summer season

Room Tip: all rooms have differnet views but floor 2 room 4078 good view, but beds need better mattress so jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank The Broadfield ... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just returned after spending a week at the Riu Marco Polo 13.03.13 - 20.03.13. The hotel was a Riu standard therefore not a letdown in terms of cleanliness, rooms, service etc. Travelled with my mum on this short trip. Upon arrival the check-in process was well organised and quick as we arrived late Wednesday evening. The hotel laid on a cold salad for our evening meal as dinner service had ended. This was alittle let down as by the time we had settled into our rooms and then went down to eat there was next to nothing left and many of the other new arrivals had to complain to get more food. My advice- if your travelling from Birmingham on the 15:40 flight please ensure that your fed and watered as the food will not be great upon arrival.

Overall the hotel itself was fabulous and the staff were friendly and helpful from management to ground maintenance. The food on the other hand was quite repetitive - assume this was because we were there off-season, hence the additional restaurants were close. As with most holiday resorts tipping ensures quick service at the bar or at breakfast from the waiters.
Our room had fantastic views and we spent most of the time within the hotel grounds whether it was in the bar or using the indoor pool. This was because the weather wasn't particularly hot for the first few days of our trip hence the trip to the zoo - Friguia Park which was amazing and highly recommended especially if you have children with you. As we travelled off season the beach hadn't been cleaned therefore did let the hotel down in the respect that you were required to wear sensible footwear should you wish to walk along it. The markets were exactly what you would expect - just be prepared to be hassled at every corner and barter with the prices...

The animation team were nice enough. The evening entertainment was abit hit or miss, however we were just there to have a relaxing week off trying to catch some sun. The staff worked very hard to ensure that all guests were happy. We had a slight incident on our last day at the resort which meant a trip to the local hospital. Once back at the hotel the Management staff were very concerned and helpful to ensure that my mum was comfortable - so a big thank you to Salas/ Salah (sorry for wrong spelling - as I should have been paying more attention to what you were actually saying rather than staring into your big brown eyes) - AKA my Bruce Willis..

Overall I would return back to this hotel - just not on my own. As a single female I disliked the attention from male bar staff/ waiters etc requesting for a drink after their shift.

Room Tip: Our room was 3169 - fab views from balcony. Also had the additional advantage of the afternoon sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MystryP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
6.0 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 123 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
4.9 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#1 of 123 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
2.2 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#2 of 123 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#17 of 123 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
1.9 mi away
Vincci Marillia
Vincci Marillia
#20 of 123 in Hammamet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Concorde Hotel Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Concorde Hotel Marco Polo

Property: Concorde Hotel Marco Polo
Address: Hammamet Yasmine - BP 35, Hammamet 8056, Tunisia (Formerly HÔTEL MARCO POLO)
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#11 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#18 Family Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Concorde Hotel Marco Polo 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star hotel, directly on the beach, ideally situated in the well-known touristic zone of Yasmine Hammamet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Concorde Hotel Marco Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Marco Polo Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing