We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cant please some people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows
Ranked #7 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2008

this is the second time we have stayed at orangers and can honestly say it gets better each year, some ppl on here complain about anything and nothing but all i can say is this is the best holiday me and my family have ever been on ,the hotel has undergone much major improvments in the last year ,the staff are as freindly as ever ,the food is good and plentiful and the entertainment is excellent even the maid service is excellent they do your room every day and we have no reservations about recommending orangers beach resort to anyone.we are going to book for next year very soon with my brother and his family and some freinds coming as well

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank davy-a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,027)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,417 - 1,423 of 2,027 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2008

The hotel is vey nice if you upgrade to the bungalows on the beach which is where we stayed. The bungalows have some stunning views, however unless you are German or French forget going there as English tourists are totally ignored. The entertainment is only in German or French and unless you are fluent in either langauge you are better off going out at night. The hotel also has power cuts on a daily basis, the last cut we had was for 9 hours and we were given an old Chistmas candle for light! This meant that the air conditioning did not work even when the lights came back on so sleeping was impossible unless you fancy the beach at night. The hotel isn't as good as it looks, it is actually quite tatty in some places. Additionally if you fly by Tunisair you WILL be delayed and they will not tell you why or offer any help.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isj22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

Have just returned from a 7 night, 'last minute break ',at Les Orangers, Hammamet and want to return as soon as possible!:} I relied on Trip Advisor Reviews, as always, before finally booking with an Irish tour operater, online. I can honestly say that I was quite apprehensive visiting Tunisia from reading some of the posted reviews but both myself and my boyfriend were highly impressed by the hotel complex and the country. The exterior of the hotel paints a poor picture ,with broken lights in the signage but inside, the reception is typically Tunisian, with ornate tiling and seating areas. The reception staff were full of smiles, even though we arrived to the hotel at 6am.We were given bright orange wristbands to wear to identify us as hotel residents. The bedroom, a twin, was also immaculate, overlooking a garden of magnificent climbing flowers. We spent our time on the hotels strip of private beach, which was dutifully guarded by beach staff who moved along the many beach sellers. We had to use our own towels for the beach but the beach staff brought our loungers to where we wanted to on the beach front.We chose an all inclusive package which included all drinks and meals at any hour we wished to avail. During the day we ate at the beach bar and in the evenings, in the hotel restaraunt.The food was fantastic, all cooked and prepared to a very high standard. Vegetarian diets were also catered for. All of the hotel staff were friendly and it was such a change from other hotel staff experiences I have encountered. What stood out most to us was the excellent customer service of the staff. If you were served by one waiter on a particular night, he would endeavour to serve you the next night to build a rapport. Tipping is part of the holiday but in comparson to Irish standards of tipping in the service industry, the amount expected is miniscule for the excellent service provided. Local wages are low and we bore that in mind throughout the holiday ,that even a small tip can boost a weekly wage. We had one complaint about the resort however, that the walls were very thin in our bedroom. We heard EVERYTHING that went on in about five surrounding rooms!!! The hotel was FULL of families with small children who let them run WILD till all hours and later, their noise resonating throughout . We were also awoken again by the childrens cries at dawn!!! Admittedly, it can't be helped but we were on a very rare "chill out " week long holiday, following from what had been a very busy few months for us, so it was irritating. The gym and sauna area is very antiquated and need updating but both are useable and are very clean. Our visit to the local Hammamet Medina was interesting. Our Orangers Beach Resort wristbands attracted a great level of attention by locals and we were hounded by hoaxters pretending to be hotel staff, who 'recognised us' and wanted to show us around. We had been warned about these chancers and steered well clear. After an hour of this type of harassment, it became too much and we returned to the resort. We then bought all our souvenirs in a very reasonable Fixed Price Shop on the street outside the hotel.We ultimately had a brilliant holiday and will definately return. All in all and these minor complaints were overshadowed by the EXCELLENT staff, immaculate complex and great value for money visit to Les Orangers.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank orlakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2008

returned from les orangers and loved it cannot wait to go back they have had a complete new refurbish since our last visits.The two out door pools have been renewed the childrens pool is now square and steps to get in and out of safely,All new seat and tables in the outdoor seating area,new wooden sun beds around the out door pool they now also supply you with beach towels if needed just ask at the pool side for some.As we were leaving they have opened two new restaurants tunisian cuisine we will look forward to trying that out next year.All rooms have now been redone and are more up to date (plug sockets please make sure the travel adapters are the ones that cover Tunisia they usually tell you on the back of the packs what country''s they cover as old ones will no longer fit as all electic sockets are now updated).The dining area has all been redone out looks very modern now.The food they served was very good the freshly cooked naan bread are lovely.They have re-opened the horse riding ,Thanks again to kids club fantastic ladies Laura and Fifi we didn't see much of our children as they never wanted to come out of kids club. We cannot wait to go back and see all our friends.The fixed price shops in Hammamet Yasmine are great to buy all your souviniers as you don't have to bother with all the haggling and they never hassle you for a sale there is one fixed price shop that is 3 floors fantastic gifts at really good prices also the supermarket along the front of carthage land fountain very good prices there too.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank campbellcrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2008

My and my wife spend a week in Les Orangers - the only thing i can say is that was our best holiday for the last 5 five years!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank igan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

Was a fantastic holiday, took us around an hour and a 40minutes to get there but didnt seem that long at all. There is plenty of shops outside the hotel and the staff are really friendly wether you tip them or not. (we didnt tip them and they where all very kind and helpfull)

Im a fussy eater but every day i found plenty of food to eat and plenty of fresh juice. They go a bit made with their vodka there one night i was on vodka and orange and 3/4 of the glass was vodka lol.

My room was 3101 with a fantasic beach/sea veiw only thing i hated about the room was the door because i wanted the door open and the curtains shut and thats not possible. The maid was fantastic everyone got a fresh flower in the bedroom and bathroom everyday and one day we had a flower and petals on the bed. In are room we had more than enough storage space, slippers, dressing gowns, a writing set, desk, TV, fridge and bed side tables.

Your going to get children running around its not the hotels fault

As well as us English there where also Germans and French but we all got on well and it was a laugh trying to communicate with them all.

If ur impatient then dont play bingo as so they include all guests they have to say it in all the languages, but we all just made it fun for are selves tryin to say they numbers in Arabic.

The animation team where great always making sure everyone was happy. I always joined in with the activities everyday great for adults as well as kids.

While we where there they where refurbishing rooms and re doing the pool and outside stage. The gardens, paths and floors where cleaned everyday.

I will be hopefully returning there in a year or to after the manager has finished updating his hotel he plans on re doing the reception next. The manager was always out talking to the guests asking if we was all ok and if we where enjoying are holiday and if not how he could improve the hotel.

We went on 3 trips:
-2 day safari - Was fantastic very tiring but well worth the money. We had a really good guide called abdul
-Zoo and Zulu night.
-Sound and light show - Was a really good night aloud of us got free henna tattos.
They where all great trips and id recomend them to people.

If you want henna tattos there is a large shop just outside the hotel to the left with brown windows she does fantastic ones 5dinar for a small one 20 for a large one.

One really bad thing about the hotel is its not suitable for disabled at all (mainly wheel chair users). the lift is to small for a hweel chair and there is alot of steps there is ramps but they are quite steep. But there is a lot of development happening for example at the moment the restuarant is up alot of stairs, but there is a new restuarant opening down stairs.

Overall it was a brilliant holiday and i cant wait to see it after the manager has made all is planned changes.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank PartyAnimal999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

This is a very pleasant hotel, good sized bedrooms with plenty of storage and the bed was very comfortable all the duvets and pillows you need. The air conditioning worked well and was needed as it was quite cold at night. The public areas were comfortable and the staff were there to ensure your stay was enjoyable. Service was first class and nothing was too much trouble. Obviously, tipping made things just that much better, but that is the culture and you go to Tunisia knowing this. The other facilities offered are a mixed bag. The indoor pool is large and was very clean. The outdoor pool is very large but was not available, more on that later. Both pools have some very deep sections, so parents with young children beware. The gym had good range of equipment but I was told that some of it needed a drop of WD40. The massage and hamman were well worth a visit, whilst the massage was very therapeutic the hamman did not have any attendants as in Turkey, but it did sweat out the toxins (alcohol) very well. The beach is superb with all the sun and shade you need and the sea is clean with a gentle slope into the water.
The restaurants were very clean and the food was good. However the choice was a little limited and the daily offerings were not varied very much. As with every other AI hotel, some food reappeared disguised as a new offering. The food we tried was very tasty and cooked well but it was served lukewarm, in the Tunisian way. There is a microwave available to counter this so all is not lost. The pizzas at the beach bar are a must.
The AI alcohol is interesting, I don't drink lager but plenty did, so it can't be too bad. There are mixers available to make the spirits drinkable, but remember there is only one ratio 50/50 and they don't water it down. For our sins we watched the evening shows, they were dire, with the exception of the band. They are called Zanzanna or something similar and are a very good blues/rock band, ideal for us old fogies. The disco that follows is a mixed bag but gave all ages a tune to dance to.
Overall the hotel is of a good standard and once the season gets under way should be a good holiday destination with plenty going on. It has its shabby bits but there is an ongoing renovation programme.
We booked this as a last minute week away in the sun for the first week in March. Got that wrong, two days of good weather then it was cold and wet. First Choice told me two days before departure that the outdoor pool was closed for re-tiling. As it turned out this was not a problem because of the weather. But they did not mention the other renovation work going on, some of which was quite noisy.
All in all we had a great time, met lots of very friendly people and we will go back next year, but in warmer weather.
For the very brave try a yellow taxi ride it beats Alton Towers every time.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Andy_and_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
2.9 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#2 of 119 in Hammamet
765 reviews
0.2 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#8 of 119 in Hammamet
6,232 reviews
3.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#4 of 119 in Hammamet
2,164 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa
Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa
#21 of 119 in Hammamet
373 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#33 of 119 in Hammamet
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows

Address: BP 7 Rue Nevers, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#11 Family Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: $100 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows 4* ALL IN 24h/24 Certified ISO 9001/ ISO 22000/ISO 14001 & OHSAS 18001 The hotel is located on a superb immaculate beach of golden sand, guarantees all Safety for children and swimmers, overlooking the picturesque Fort Hammamet. Its beautiful setting of 12 ha of orange trees and jasmin flowers offers big space of relaxation and entertainment for both adults and childrens enjoying together unforgettable holidays. The orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows is situated 4 km away from Hammamet centre and at a 5 mins drive from both championship golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orangers Beach Resort And Bungalows
The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows Hotel Hammamet
Orangers Beach Hotel
Orangers Beach Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing