We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didnt expect any better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows
Ranked #8 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed there last May, weather was hot and we loved it. But the hotel itself wasnt that good. Poor service if you dont tip. Thomascook rep wasnt experienced person at all, she was panicing and looking for people who wanted to book somethg. She was useless. Food wasnt bad at all, didnt hear anybody been sick. Animation team was interested in girls groups more then anythg, they were very friendly and paid the most of attension. But we didnt expect any better.
It was the holiday we paid for.

Room Tip: heard the seaview rooms are nicer, but its noisy everywhere.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ievutemmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,011)
There are newer reviews for The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

956 - 962 of 2,011 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was a return visit for some of our party who felt that standards had generally fallen since their last visit earlier in the year.

The major issue was the food on offer. We were frequently faced with empty buffet displays (“is finished”) or meat dishes which were predominantly bone and fat or where only sauce was left. Staff frequently contaminated food by using utensils for raw meat on cooked food (beach and main dining rooms and wok bar) and food was luke-warm (with a defective microwave being of little use) and rather bland.

Despite the beach dining room’s advertised 12 – 6 opening hours, food was not effectively replenished after 2:15 with doors closing 3- 3:30 then re-opening predominantly for desserts. Evening meal displays were cleared 9pm promptly despite dining room opening hours advertised until 9:30pm.

The displayed A La Carte restaurant menu was very limited and remained unchanged. We understand that a “special menu” is available to celebrating guests but were not advised of this at the time. Our regular dining room waiter “Mr Bond” instead decorate our table with petals and a birthday cake with sparklers was delivered to our table by five singing waiter (the cake was the tastiest thing we ate all holiday!). We were also presented with a small bouquet of roses (standard for male or female recipients).

The evening outdoor entertainment was mainly provided by the animation team, was amateur and repeated weekly. The visiting group Zantana were decent but continued (loudly) until midnight and audible in many parts of the hotel.

We upgraded to the sea view block and deluxe accommodation (having a lounge area, safety deposit box and bigger balconies than the superior rooms). From the second reception area there are 3 stairs up to the ground floor corridors and then 2 compact lifts to the 3 further floors meaning that this block is not accessible to guests without some degree of mobility (not wheelchair accessible in common with the beach dining room which has 4 big stairs).

Many rooms within this block have their views restricted by trees, the elevated indoor pool or (ground floor rooms), the rear of the beach dining room and the bungalows. The seating on the balconies is uncomfortable and dangerous (tip forward on sitting or already broken). Potential guests should consider whether the supplements to upgrade to these rooms are justified.

Another consideration must be the £20m redevelopment of the former Fourati site adjacent to the bungalows and sea view block. During our stay we experienced noise and dust (7:45am – 5pm) as a number of buildings were demolished in scenes that clearly highlighted the differences in Health and Safety from the UK! We were advised locally that the site will be redeveloped over the next 2 years before re-launching as Les Oranger Gardens in 2014/15 and that a new block will be constructed parallel to the boundary wall immediately adjacent to the bungalows.

If the purpose of your stay is simply to relax on the beach or in the established gardens then I cannot fault this aspect. The hotel even provide beach towels (without a deposit) which you simply change at the Animation team room when dirty so this could save you on luggage weight and space. This is also a very casual hotel with no dining room dress code (so don’t pack the sparkly evening wear as you’ll look out of place amongst shorts and t-shirts).

Whilst there is free wi-fi within the lobby area of the hotel, we had limited or no service for 9 days of our holiday (unable to connect Sun/Mon/Tues both weeks) and even when connected the speed was similar to the old dial-up service. If you have the option of a holiday add-on to your data package then might be worth considering.

We found that the usual UK 3 to 2 pin adaptors only fitted the socket in the bathroom and not in the hotel rooms or public areas – my 2 pin cable to USB adaptor block was a godsend during this stay as I was able to conveniently charge phones/cameras/kindles.

For visitors wanting to go further afield, taxis are readily available outside of the hotel gates. Fares to Hammamet Yasmine were 5-6 dinar, Hammamet Town 4 – 5 dinar and Nebeul market 12 dinar (less than a fiver) but ensure you agree a set price before travelling or insist on the meter being used.

Tips were greatly appreciated by staff rather than being expected and staff were pleasant and helpful.

This was my 12th visit to Tunisia (13th for some of our party) and we felt that the 4 star rating was not comparable to other hotels of the same rating. Les Oranger's change to all inclusive has resulted in a massive reduction in food quality (which was once highly recommended) and this is perhaps to compensate for the 24hr all inclusive drinks option.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ermintrude73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

To all the staff at orangers for looking after myself and my husband,after he had a heart attack and our stay was longer than anticipated,their kindness and support was outstanding.Also a special thanks to Yasmine our thomas cook rep who went above and beyond her call of duty to help and assist us any way she could,and even made sure that i was eating properly through this difficult time. I would like to thank all the people that we met who gave help and support,i cannot name you all but you know who you are.My husband is on the road to recovery now and hopefully we can return as this is a lovely resort and everyone is friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank derem8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Not the most luxurious hotel of Hammamet but certainly one of the most charming and peacefully situated. If you want to read, rest and just have a feeling of being looked after, then this is the place. The staff is attentive without being invasive, breakfast,lunch and dinner have everything for everyone s taste.

My only bad points concerned accessibility for buggy's and wheelchair to restaurants, bars and hotel rooms. We were on the last floor with a stunning view of the sea. The lift was working but you still had to manage 3 steps to get there. Not a lot but still...

Also the children's swimming pool is unsuitable for children under 5. There are no Baby pool alternative which we found a pity for such a place.

The added value of the place is the professionalism of its staff. We only had a problem of language understanding with the luggage porter who showed us the room on arrival. It was a bit tricky to explain that my toddler needed a baby bed instead of a child bed. I tried French, English, German and Spanish...but sign language was the only way. I think you should always send someone who can explain how everything works in English at least.

Anyway small points. The rest was great.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MCL1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

One week all inc. October 2012. Transfer is about 40mins from Enfidha airport so not too long. Check in was straight forward and Porters took our luggage to the room.
Room - south facing with good sized balcony overlooking the gardens, bungalows and on to the beach. Super Kingsize bed with decent pillows, ample wardrobe space and hangers. Modern tiled bathroom with powerful shower over bath, fluffy towels and nice toilettries. Also had a lounge area and TV with ok channels.
Hotel & Grounds - beautifully maintained by many staff. Lots of various areas to sit or sunbathe - Beach bar was the best as it sat on the lovely sandy beach. All staff very attentive and friendly = could not do enough for you.Close to both the Old town and medina - 5kms and also Yasmine Hammamet which is quite new with great hotels, marina and shops - 7kms
Food - almost 24 hours of food and drink. Lots of choice with fresh omelettes and eggs at breakfast. Salads and hot food for lunch and similar for dinner with superb choice and yummy desserts. Coffee machine gave great Cappucinos!!
Taxis were a plenty and it worked out approx. 1 dinar per km.
The staff work for a very small monthly wage so all tips are greatly appreciated. Thanks to the Animation team who work very hard and Saleim (Slim shady - he's sexy and he knows it ha ha) who kept us in yummy cocktails and was entertaining. Great guy x
Visited the Old Medina in Hammamet and found sellers over pushy and rude and Nabeul market on a Friday is pretty hectic and we only spent less than an hour as it was so crowded but good for bags, ceramics and wooden items.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a great EXPERIENCE! 2nd Time at Les Oranges and the same great service.

This Year we looked at an almost seaview from Room 251. The service was good in all areas and a few dinar to staff goes a long way to help them with their smile and ' can I help?'. No tip does not detract from the excellent service that all staff give.

Yes, safety deposit £20 returnable deposit and 2 dinar a day.

Extras this year, donuts each afternoon in the area near the pool and still cocktails at 5.30pm.

Taxis to Yasmine were 5 dinars each way and well driven!

Superb food in the 'A la Carte' by the beach was also a good time and well worth the booking at the 2nd Reception.

Food was good in all areas from beach panini and burgers to lunch with full hot plate or pizza/wok. At night good selection from hot to cold and show cooking. Sweets were full on and added an ich or two to the waist.

Towels now swopped at booth near pool each AM and late afternoon, better than waiting for the cleaner.

Freddy and team were good at entertaining each night from the Grease and Broadway Show to their comedy and Mr/Ms Oranges.

Go on try this hotel for a good time 24/7!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smilingedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We visited at the beginning of oct '12 and had a fantastic time! The weather was fab and there was little to fault with the hotel.

The hotel is ideally placed, halfway between the old town and new town of hammamet, both within easy reach. It is directly on the beach and there is also a large pool and a smaller one for kids. There is also a small playground.

Travelling with a 1 year old we weren't sure what to expect but the hotel looked after us very well. The staff were v attentive, a high chair (fix to the table sort) was always available, good range of food for him to eat, good cot etc. we had the delux room that had the partition so there was plenty of space. Special mentions to the Thomas cook rep, she was fab and was great with our little boy. The lady at the hotel who did the massages was also great and did a brilliant baby massage.

The beach was great - perfect for kids. Sea lovely and warm, but the best bit was you didn't have to get up at the crack of dawn to get a sun bed!! Likewise at the pool.

As an all inclusive the food was good - plenty of choice. Best was the beach restaurant for lunch and it was the a la carte in the evening - choice of Asian, Italian or Tunisian. Snacks throughout the day too including lovely Tunisian doughnuts. Drinks were good, we liked the cocktails - good service.

Room was nice, clean, freshly done every day. Balcony but agree with previous review chairs are v uncomfortable! Fridge and safe in room. Paid for sea view but could barely see it - bit disappointed.

It is definitely all inclusive - apart from tips very little cash is needed, just for trips. Free pedicure, massage, tasting of Tunisian tea!

Fab time and would recommend. For many of the people we spoke to this was their second visit - great family holiday,

Room Tip: Not sure I would upgrade to the delux. The bungalows looked fab.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank portisheadgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
2.9 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#4 of 118 in Hammamet
705 reviews
3.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
3.9 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 118 in Hammamet
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#1 of 118 in Hammamet
5,971 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet
3.3 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#12 of 118 in Hammamet
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows

Address: BP 7 Rue Nevers, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#12 Family Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: $124 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows 4* ALL IN 24h/24 Certified ISO 9001/ ISO 22000/ISO 14001 & OHSAS 18001 The hotel is located on a superb immaculate beach of golden sand, guarantees all Safety for children and swimmers, overlooking the picturesque Fort Hammamet. Its beautiful setting of 12 ha of orange trees and jasmin flowers offers big space of relaxation and entertainment for both adults and childrens enjoying together unforgettable holidays. The orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows is situated 4 km away from Hammamet centre and at a 5 mins drive from both championship golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orangers Beach Resort And Bungalows
The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows Hotel Hammamet
Orangers Beach Hotel
Orangers Beach Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing