We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had no expectations”
Review of Hotel Dar Hayet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Dar Hayet
Ranked #105 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We had no expectations”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My friend and I chose this hotel for our vacation because it was among the cheapest ones available, so we didn't expect much and thus were not disappointed.
The place is pretty old and run-down; it probably used to be a fancy hotel twenty or so years ago. We had some problems with hot water, the toilet would keep gurgling for half an hour after use, and the air conditioner was so noisy that we had to keep it off and sleep with our verandah door open.
The cleanliness leaves much to be desired; most of the sheets and towels had stains on them, and the cleaner kept leaving only one set of towels for the two of us, so we had to go and ask for more towels at the reception every single day. Also, the stuff they mop the floors with smells terribly - we once returned to our room just after it was cleaned and had to retreat to the verandah immediately while keeping the door open, even though it meant we had to listen to the drone of the power generator somewhere in the garden.
The breakfast is miserable; we expected there would at least be some fresh fruit available besides watermelons. The bar and the restaurant are ridiculously overpriced.
One good thing about the hotel is that it has its own beach which is kept more or less clean; but there are beach parties on weekend nights, and the sound system they use is terrible - at some distance, it distorts the music to irritating low beats that can be heard everywhere.
Another redeeming quality to this hotel is its location - it's a short walk from the sea-front street in the town center where there are some nice restaurants and cafes that offer good service for relatively modest price.
The receptionists tried to be friendly and helpful - when they were there to be found, which wasn't often; at times, we'd have to wait for twenty minutes for anyone to appear there and give us our room key.
All in all, I cannot recommend this hotel, unless you travel on a very limited budget and prepare to all kinds of inconveniences.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay_Kendzior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    33
    24
    28
    46
See reviews for
27
71
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for a week in August 2013 and wanted to come home. Please be aware that this hotel is also a night club with a sound system playing loud music day and night. The mattresses and sheets had blood and urine stains on them. Clean towels and toilet paper were difficult to get hold of. Bathrooms and rooms were dirty with leaking toilets and plastic shower attachments. Food was barely available and when it was poorly prepared with not enough cutlery and plates for everyone. Air condition did not work for the entire week we were there.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel, it's a disgrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michaela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hammamet hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Redditch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Problems started from day 1. Disco on the beach. No hot water. After the 4th day ran out of food for breakfast. By the 7th day we were moved to another hotel still no hot water. Staff constantly lied to us about fixing the water problem. English expect better quality of service !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was amazed by the view and the service's quality. Spending 3 days with some friends was the best idea we had last month. People were welcoming us and taking care of our comfort, that's what make us feel as at home and let us enjoy even more those short holidays.
And other important point, the restaurant almost in the beach, eating with this view was just perfect. It's true that the unique negative point is that the cleaner woke me up two times around noon, but it's my fault to sleep so much hahaha. For sure I will go back again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahmedbaazie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

we stayed here aug/sept time 2012 just after ramadan.
my 10yr old and I could not get into our usuall favourite as we booked very last minute.
as we had driven past this hotel many times, thought it looked wonderfull in terms of old Tunisian style architecture and decided to stay here.
The Dar hayet is a beautifull and is a Traditional styled building. beautifull marble floors and furnished in similar style also.
The bedroom was very clean and had a great balcony overlooking the pool. The balcony,in my opinion, would not be good for unsupervised small children,as it was broken and looked a little low.
we had a fridge, but must have been fortunate,as not all guests had one in their rooms.
The pool area was run down compaired to photos online,on travel sites. it was also dirty when we initially used it, full of sand and hair from users running up from the beach at regular intervals.
i mentioned this to maintainance and it was cleaned more thoroughly going forward.
no sun loungers and the large bed style loungers had no matress. hugely dissapointing.
staff very courtious and polite at all times. will do anything to assist you.

we stayed b and b as were out and about seeing friends and family often but i found the beachside resteraunt a bit of a dump. very basic and full of sand etc.
the upstairs poolside pizza is great but is perhaps the most expensive we have had in Hammamet at 12 tdn for one neptune which is usually 7 tdn max.

water and wine also very expensive here!

wifi is good service at the hotel but is not free.

this hotel is directly accessed from the beach. great for couples or singles but not if you have kids. i saw some security there but do worry about such issues with a ten year old in tow for obvious reasons.anyone can come up from the beach up back steps if not watched all through night.

you can take this route and walk down to central hammamet,about ten mins walk.
amenities...lots of local shops via beach or road route. local supermarket in hammamet central is magazin general. it sells most things.pharmacy bank etc all local to this area.

warning! do not stay here just after Ramadan. it is wedding time for locals and the venue right next door,just divided by a small alleyway, hosts the wedding parties.....loud music,screaming,all night long,including drumming.
it is also full of honeymoon couples at this time, they occupy the beach also. loud rave type music with unchild friendly lyrics is often played.
please note,i love a good party and am not a prude in any way, shape or form, but its not for families with young kids as it goes on into small hours.

no lift access at all.not good for buggies or disabled people whatsoever.

,

Room Tip: pool view or sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turkishdelight14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

When we booked this hotel, there were not many reviews in English, however the pictures looked great, guide books had good reviews based on location/price etc and we thought we couldnt go wrong being on the beach front with the peak season sun. How wrong were we!?! I would never ever recommend this hotel to anyone and really do not know where to start in regards to explaining what was wrong with it. The location is not the main tourist area of Hammamet, it is in the old town (North Hammamet) about 20min walk to the Medina. I went with my boyfriend at end of August, however there were no bars/restaurants along the beach and no where sold alcohol, unless you were staying in an All Inclusive hotel. We did not see any other tourists in the surrounding area and we seemed to be one of only 2 other couples staying in the hotel. This left us feeling uncomfortable walking around the area and 'main strip' which was a dirty, moggy street packed full of local men hanging about. The breakfast was a joke and by no means can it be classed as breakfast. It consisted of boiled eggs (cold, with flies on) dairylea cheese triangles, pots of banana yog and french sticks. The pool/surrounding area was dirty, tired and in need if TLC - it was so bad that we didnt once sit round it. The room was average and would have been fine for a night or two but not a 2 week 'romantic' holiday. The only plus side was the view from the balcony - we were right on the beach, therefore we could enjoy the sea view (from our falling apart balcony). We made several, 25 min taxi trips, down to Yasmine Hammamet (South), which is a man-made resort and is much more accomodating for tourists. Dar Hayet is used by locals ánd is therefore perfect based on location, but if you want a chilled out beach holiday with places to go/see around you, to feel comfortable and enjoy nice food etc then take this advice and do not book this hotel as you will be very dissappointed!

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all cost (But if you do end up here make sure you have a sea view room).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonSmithy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This hotel is OK and the rooms are OK (although the aircon was fantastic)!
On the Beach had this hotel rated as a 4-star, in my opinion a 2-star rating is more realistic.

My main issue with this hotel is the location, even the airport shuttle couldnt find it!
The hotel is situated in North Hammamet, which is too far out for the average tourist, and the immediate surrounding area is a little run down.. Although, it is easy and cheap enough to grab a taxi into Yasmine Hammamet (the nicer but more touristy area).

We went B&B, and the breakfast wasn't great. If you like bread and cake you will be fine though. We ate in the hotel restaurant once at night, and although it was nice (you could get a similar meal for a third of the cost outside the complex).

The hotel has a "private" beach area which was nice and sandy. We didn't brave the pool, as it looked like it needed a good clean, and with the beach only 15 feet away it wasn't required.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydiaaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.2 mi away
Hamilton Hotel
Hamilton Hotel
#81 of 117 in Hammamet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Khalife
Le Khalife
#92 of 117 in Hammamet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Emira
Hotel Emira
#102 of 117 in Hammamet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Menara
Hotel Menara
#46 of 117 in Hammamet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Hammamet
Residence Hammamet
#59 of 117 in Hammamet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel El Fell
Hotel El Fell
#69 of 117 in Hammamet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dar Hayet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dar Hayet

Property: Hotel Dar Hayet
Address: Rue Akaba BP 78, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dar Hayet 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dar Hayet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Hayet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing