We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIDN'T WANT TO GO HOME”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“DIDN'T WANT TO GO HOME”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have just returned from our third holiday at the Taj Sultan, Hoping to return again Sept. The overall experiance was fantastic. The Staff on the Reception went out of there way to help in anyway they could.
The Bar and Waiting staff made you feel so special remembering our names and drinks that we had asked for. The Animation Team kept us entertained thoughout out the holidays.
The only one thing was Missing from the Holiday was the POOL BAR was not there this time. It was the Heart of our holiday, meeting and making great friends with regular music, games and laughter. Security on beach was great too. if anybody did approach you to sell you goods they were asked to go away by security/Lifeguards. Day trips ie Quad Bikes, Pirate Ship,ask for HABEB (very good man) at the hotel The SUNRISE AND SUNSET are STUNNING its a must see. Marianne and THE BOSS(Jamie)

Room Tip: always ask for pool view and second floor for best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianneandtheboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciTajSultan, Public Relations Manager at Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Marianne

Thank you sharing your holiday feedback with us on TripAdvisor , we would be more than pleased welcoming you back in september and we are delighted to know you enjoyed your holiday with us.
we will try to extend our improvements to exceed your expectations during your
next stay!

Sincerely
Asma MHEDBI
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    253
    127
    57
    43
See reviews for
368
268
62
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This could be an excellent hotel. It's in a great location, the hotel itself is stunning, with very good facilities and large spacious rooms. It has a huge pool and never feels crowded, with plenty of sunbeds available round the pool and on the beach, which was cleaned every night. The food is not as bad as many of the reviews have made out. Yes, the cuisine is very international and will not always be aimed at the UK tastes, but myself and my partner never had any difficulty in finding anything to eat, though admittedly quality was variable from day to day The Waiters were very hard working and we never had to wait too long to get seated or served in the main restuarant, which was usually very busy.
But from our experience a little more organization is required to make people's stay a little more pleasureable. We arrived at 10am and were simply told to take a seat in the lobby. After waiting 30 minutes and being told nothing, we went back to the desk and were told that our room would be ready at mid-day. After getting up at 1am to travel,we didn't really think it was appropriate to be left sitting in the lobby for 2 hours waiting for a room without being told that that was what we were expected to do, so we asked at least if we could get our writsbands and explore the hotel, get some refreshments etc. Some forward planning by the staff to make allowance for people who arrive early would be nice.
Once in our room were were told that our Safe could not be re-set for use until 3pm, which meant waiting round for a further couple of hours before we were able to start the holiday proper. Though after pressing by my partner, a Manager was sent up early to sort this out.
There was no information offered to us as to what times the various bars, snack bars and restuarants were open, other than on a TV screen behind reception, which changed so fast it was hard to read. This is something that is usually provided either in reception or in the room. There appeared to be no leaflets or paperwork this information anywhere in the hotel.
Whilst we didn't spend much time in the room, there was a TV and so it's nice to flick through this whilst getting changed etc, however we had no remote control with which to operate it. We got one from Reception but it didn't work. Neither did it's replacement. A Technician was sent, who replaced the battery.
Then when we used the shower, the integral plug was stuck so the bath filled up, so I had to pull the plug out, luckily not causing any damage. Then the screen was not very effiecient and so every time the shower was used the water would leak all over the bathroom floor. We remedied this with use of towels and in fairness, the maids (who came to clamn the room daily)must have noted this as after a couple of days we came back to the room to see the seals round the screen had been fixed.
Then later the room key failed to open the door and had to be replaced
Some of the above niggles may seem, and indeed probably are, minor. But when they all come at once, one after the other they do build into one big issue with the general satisfaction of the hotel. This could be a great hotel, but until a little more care is put into the smaller details, it will just be an OK hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VincefromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My opinions on this hotel are very mixed, and as follows

Location: the hotel has an area of beach with plenty of sunbeds (only once we couldn't find any for us) and a beach bar that is open until 5pm. The beach is reasonably clean but there is a constant stream of people trying to sell you fruit, sarongs, live turtles (which I found very disturbing) and horse/camel rides. Usually the security guards prevent these people from coming up to you in your sunbeds, but often they still try. Even still, the beach and beautiful view of the sea was my favourite part of the holiday.
Outside of the hotel, the smell will hit you. On our first attempt we got 30ft down the road and had to come back. On our secon attempt, however, we discovered that the smell does get better and only hits you occasionally. There are plenty of shops and the streets are reasonably clean. Every shop you go past will have a man trying to get you to go in, which became very irritating.
In all, from what we saw of other hotels, the Vincci Taj Sultan seems to be in one of the better Hammamet locations.

Rooms: the rooms themselves definitely aren't as impressive as the reaction lobby, but are perfectly adequate. We were given a room with a balcony that allowed a partial view of the sea, and spent many evenings playing cards there, trying to avoid the 'entertainment'. We had a toilet, shower/bath, two single beds pushed together and plenty of mirrors. There was also a tv on the wall with 2 or 3 English channels.
On one evening we had a problem with bugs, in that they all seemed to be coming out of a hole in the wall. We informed reception and they promised to send someone up, but noone came. We ended up having to kill the bugs ourselves, which resulted in me being bitten all over my legs, feet and arms.
Whilst the maids did make our beds and provide us with fresh towels every day, they ignored the wall covered with dead bugs and we were left with the sight for the entire week.

Service: although the maids and reception let us down, the waiters and bar men were friendly and helpful. We became friendly with a particular waiter (probably due to tipping, which is a must) and he found us a table every lunch and dinner.
Unfortunately, even in the hotel we were hassled. There was a woman who would come round every day and ask if you wanted a henna tattoo. When people said no, she would still stand there and make you look through the entire book of pictures. When you still said no, she would say 'maybe tomorrow' and then repeat the process the next day.
There were also men who seemed to work for the hotel who tried selling you trips independently to the trips offered by your holiday provider. These trips are without insurance and overpriced, so naturally we said no. That didn't stop them trying it every day.

Food: the buffet always offered several different dishes in addition to the salad bar. There was also another station at which your food was cooked in front of you. In the mornings this was pancakes and omelettes, in the evenings usually pasta in tomato sauce and a meat option that changed regularly. Whilst we were there we were offered steak, beef off cuts, squid and chicken. The buffet food large consisted of rice, potatoes and meat. As a vegetarian I found the food to be repetitive, but I was able to eat at every meal.
With your stay you are offered a visit to either the tunisian or Italian restaurant. We went for Italian in the hope that we would be able to have pizza or something similar. However, as we sat down we discovered it was a set menu, not catering for vegetarians. I informed the waiter of my needs and he said I could have a pizza or something, as that night they were making them in the buffet. We had minestrone soup followed by a small plate of spaghetti. Then the meat eaters were presented with a minuscule portion of veg and a slab of fried chicken. Not what anyone was expecting. Myself and the other vegetarian eating that evening were given not pizza but a sort of square flan and some mushed vegetables. After the disastrous main course, myself and my partner were looking forward to desert, which was advertised as tiramisu. When we were presented with a frozen block or something that had the vague taste of coffee, everyone in the restaurant began looking round at each other in disappointment.
I don't know what the tunisian restaurant was like, but I'd certainly advise against trying the Italian.

Entertainment: every evening the entertainment for children was exactly the same. The animation team would put on music that sounded like a foreign hokey-kokey, and dance with the kids. Then the adult entertainment followed. As I have previously said, we tried avoiding this. Although other people seemed to be enjoying it, I don't really understand what is so entertaining about two men dressing up as women and acting out some sort of love scene, but that's what we were treated to.

Trips: we went on one of the Thomas Cook trips, and unfortunately picked the wrong one. The rep sold it as a trip that would allow you to sit in a cafe, overlooking the med. We went to a set of ruins in Carthage which we enjoyed, followed by the cafe. The cafe overlooked a market, which you had to walk through to get to the view. This involved a lot of 'please come into my shop' and wading through poor stray cats. Lunch followed, 30 minutes drive away, and again a set menu. my partner couldnt eat his chicken because it was very undercooked. We then went to a mosaic museum which was interesting but repetitive. For the last part of the trip we went to the medina in Tunis, and we hated it. Constant badgering. People in our group were actually being chased down the street by shopkeepers. We were very glad when we finally got back to the hotel.

Ultimately, the hotel would be altogether more pleasant if people were prevented from coming in to bother the customers. Apart from the Italian disaster, we had no problem with the food and in fact both put on half a stone! The drinks were good, the beach was good and the weather was good. The country itself, however, just isn't for us. The roads and a lot of the streets are covered in car parts and plastic bottles, the majority of the houses you will see on your travels are half finished, and the constant harassment led to a less than relaxing holiday.
If we did every go back, which is doubtful, it would be to the Vincci Taj Sultan and we wouldn't leave the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abylorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

myself and my daughter have just returned after a weeks stay here and have a few grumbles but a lot of positive things to say
the hotel is impressive, situated on the beach, excellent pool and the grounds are well kept always clean and tidy.
our room was average, a dodgy mini fridge in room and a tv with no english channels(not really a problem, but nice to listen to when getting changed in the evening)
cleaning was ok, clean towels daily etc normal hotel stuff
the animation team were friendly and encouraged everyone to join in daily activities such as Aqua gym, volleyball, football, archery, morning stretching.some times they were tooo eager to get you involved, Ghost was a complete pain but a very funny one at that. he really led his team well. their evening entertainment was a bit hit or miss but they try to please all nationalities i guess.
the food..... lots of choice daily , breakfast brilliant, lunch and dinner ... salad bar, hot dishes, cooked pasta to how you want it and fresh cooked pizza if you are lucky to get some.
our week we felt like you had to get in early to get choice .and fruit or cake for dessert
one evening i noticed a table with a lot of fresh melon(not water melon) and within half hour ......
opens at 7o/c..... all gone, i asked a waiter if anymore once we had, had our main meal and was told to go find the head chef myself to ask... to be told they only get rationed so much so all gone!!!! so i don't know what else we missed other nights
i therefore understand why others complain about food options!!! looks good but very much the same every night

i felt a little let down over the management side of the hotel regarding the restaurant/self service and the options of the other 2 restaurants on site. we booked the tunisian restaurant one evening with reception only to be told on the night(our last night) we had no table!! no apology either.
these small things have a large impact on a weeks holiday

we also went shopping at the medina but found that the large shop near it sells everything at the prices we haggled down to, so people could get ripped off at the medina.
we had a lovely holiday but i wouldn't return to this hotel. what made our trip was the people we met and the the fact that it was too busy that you had to fight for a sun bed. it was lovely having a waiter bring you a drink by the pool and i did tip him so he did look after us daily

Room Tip: best to ask for a pool view, sea view's can be at the back/side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciTajSultan, Public Relations Manager at Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear customer
We would like first to thank you for choosing your stay at the Hotel VINCCI TAJ SULTAN and also for your observation. It helps us to continue with the daily improvement of our establishment in order to offer the best service to our clients.
We have taken note of your comments and we are sorry for the overbooking that we had in the restaurant
We look forward to welcome you again to our establishment if any opportunity comes up. In the meantime,

Best regards
Asma MHEDBI
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Well if I had read all the reviews about this hotel before booking we would have never have gone.
HOW WRONG ARE THE PEOPLE!!
lovely hotel, went to welcome meeting and met all the management from each department, this was great, I love watermelon and 1 lunch they didn't have any so we asked the head chef and it wasn't a issue at all. We got to know our waiter very well he even did our table with rose petals and had our wine and coca cola light ready for us.
sick of hearing food rubbish, there was something for everyone to eat, and the snack bar war great.
went for turkish bath and massage this was fab, only thing we had as a downfall was we had to wait on the arrival of a new safe, but they did offer us to use the safe at reception.

pool area was immaculate, waiters around if you want drinks.

I would rate it as a 4* plus not 5* , they are still in the process of updating the complex, they have new furniture around show bar and outside of it.

staff are so friendly and animation team were fantastic with everyone, had time for everyone. you could do volleyball, archery, darts, tennis, water aerobics. UR HOLIDAY IS WHAT YOU MAKE OF IT.

Got professional photos done on site this was a wonderful thing to have done, having a lovely memory of your holiday.

Haggle at least 1/2 what the denar what they ask for. didn't like the hassle at the medina to get you into the shops, they will say they are your cook at your hotel, so turn your band round to the white side and you wont get that.

The beach has lots of people trying to sell you anything but the security move them, also they have a lifeguard on the beach with a bar at it also.

advised not to do activites on the beach if you have a accident your insurance will not cover you.

we will be back and more people should put good things on and not just the bad.

also people that left the doors or windows open in the night got mosquito bites, don't know of anyone that was bitten during the day.

Hope this helps you, I was also told that this hotel was under new management.

Hope my review helps you.

Room Tip: we had room 2153, amazing 2 bathrooms, 2 showers 4 can sleep in the room, fridge, safe, huge storage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciTajSultan, Public Relations Manager at Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacations and thank you for taking your time to express your opinion about your stay.
Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones

We would love to see you again soon in one of our hotels of VINCCI in Tunisia.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The main hotel was an easy 4/5 star. I have stayed in hundreds of so called 5 stars that were worse. The apartments were tired but it was early in the season and they were painting like mad. Food was good but nothing special, the pushy greedy guests demanded plate fulls so there was non left. The Tunisian people were nicer and less pushy than most north African resorts. Price was good. Transfers longer than quoted. Great beach.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilberts N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciTajSultan, Public Relations Manager at Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Customer

We would like first to thank you for choosing your stay at the Hotel VINCCI TAJ SULTAN and also for your observation. It helps us to continue with the daily improvement of our establishment in order to offer the best service to our clients.
We look forward to welcome you again to our establishment if any opportunity comes up. In the meantime, I would also like to repeat our most sincere apologies.
Best regards
Asma MHEDBI
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Have come on holiday to Tunisia for the first time and decided on the Vincci Taj Hotel as it had its own pool but was right on the beach. The hotel was very accommodating. The service and cleanness was as expected!! The open restaurant as we went all inclusive was good. A good variations of European food and traditional food. The pools are great. In door and out door. Also the beach is right on your door step where we experienced a very nice and long camel ride. There's lots to do, pirate ship tours, zoo visits and the local bazaars. It is quieter than other places but still a lovely place. Kids have loved and we have had a great time along with a lovely tan!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fudge20_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciTajSultan, Public Relations Manager at Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you for having chosen our Hotel VINCCI TAJ SULTAN for your holiday and have taken some of your valuable time to send us these comments.
We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for your confidence. . we look forward to see you soon in one of our hotels in Tunisia.
Sincerely,

Asma MHEDBI
Image and Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
7.2 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 117 in Hammamet
1,981 reviews
6.1 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#2 of 117 in Hammamet
593 reviews
6.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#20 of 117 in Hammamet
1,214 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Club President
Hotel Club President
#23 of 117 in Hammamet
1,538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
#31 of 117 in Hammamet
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort

Property: Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
Address: Zone touristique Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia (Formerly Vincci Taj Sultan)
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hammamet
#14 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#23 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by stunning points of interest, The Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort brings the essence of modern Five-Star luxury to the touristic area Yasmine Hammamet. With a private beach, gourmet fusion restaurants and an exotic day spa, we offer a taste of Tunisian serenity in Hammamet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Taj Sultan Hotel Hammamet
Vincci Hotel Hammamet
Vincci Hotel Taj Sultan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing