We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, lovely food and great service”
Review of SENTIDO Le Sultan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SENTIDO Le Sultan
Ranked #5 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Fantastic hotel, lovely food and great service”
Reviewed October 1, 2009

I was very impressed with the interior of this hotel, very modern, clean and comfortable. From the moment we arrived, the service was very good and friendly.

The rooms were a good size, and everything was clean, modern and worked as it should. The double beds are however, two doubles pushed together.

The food was probably the best part of our stay – we were half board. It was a buffet style restaurant with a wide variety of well cooked and well presented food.

The hotel has great facilities, the pool area was lovely, but the beach was a little small and overcrowded. A massage in the spa was a very relaxing treat and reasonably priced.

The only downside to the hotel was that it was in a very quiet area in Hammamet Nord, there was not much to do near the hotel and we found we were getting taxis every time we left the hotel – although taxis are very cheap, so we didn’t mind too much. Also, its a good idea to brush up on your French before you go as this widely spoken among staff and many of the other guests are French.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would happily return again someday.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,101
    644
    144
    49
    28
See reviews for
764
675
85
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Once again, this hotel confirmed its reputation as the best cocoon to enjoy a hot summer in Hammamet. Beyond the unique set-up and the modern amenities, and even fully booked, you could still enjoy your space and intimacy. The personnel also managed to keep a personalized service thanks to the exclusive access to the hotel put in place by the management.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iiilooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

If you're a french speaking smoker, you'll love it here. If not, AVOID! Everywhere inside, at food, it's disgusting. The bar area in the evening where the 'entertainment' is held, you can hardly see 3ft in front of you through the smoke. Buffet food was a free for all, and very hit and miss.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chr1sLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
587 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We have seen North East of Tunisia including Kairouan, Hammamet, Tunisia and Sidi Bou Said. I would recommend everybody to see three of these four cities (Kairouan is a big lie) and use Hammamet as a point to rich those areas. Hotel le Sultan in Hammamet is a nice and big hotel. Its rooms, restaurants and pools were really clean. But unfortunately there was too much flies in the garden which really make you sick. I killed at least 20 a day.
Food, service and spa was very good for the price. They have a nice mini golf area in the hotel
Riding ranche is something you should skip. They are really far from being professional.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crownvict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Fairly large & clean with polite service all round although I didn't get a high floor & double bed as previously requested. It attracts mostly French clientele & consequently the entertainment mostly catered for them, although most staff speak English. Swimming pools for kids & adults were great with spacious grassed surroundings so you didn't feel cramped. Restaurant changed theme often & was of a good standard (things were relatively organised and civil, although it's hard to avoid the stampede in any self service facility). Cultural excursion & trip to medinas were interesting. Close to convenience store. The down sides were only one English TV channel (business news) but more annoying was the theft of two personal beach towels and a pair of kid's sun shades from our room - I guess some people will always stoop to pitiful lows where ever you go. It took a slight shine off our experience but over all we left relaxed and with some fantastic memories.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2009

We spent a week at the Sultan in January 2008. It cost £250 for half board for both of us.

The hotel is impeccably clean and well presented. The staff were very helpful - for example when I needed to see a doctor, they called one for me. Being able to speak French probably helped us in communicating with the staff, but most of them did also speak some English.

The food was an excellent and interesting array of regional specialities and European options, allowing us to try dishes we hadn't seen before. Buffets for breakfast and dinner allowed us to stuff ourselves well at both meals (and to do the traditional british thing of saving some to eat at lunch!).

The room was clean and we paid (though not much!) for the sea view which was worth it for the sunsets and mornings we spent sitting on the balcony.

The spa is fantastic - with a lovely indoor pool (it was too cold for the outdoor one) and a jacuzzi which was nearly always empty. We enjoyed excellent massages and a visit to the hammam at very reasonable costs.

The hotel is right on the beach which was almost deserted. We enjoyed unseasonally high temperatures (about 20C) and as the only Brits in the hotel (or anywhere else that we saw) provided great entertainment in our swimming costumes to the French guests who were wrapped in coats and scarves.

There was some entertainment available in the evenings, but it was aimed at a French audience so we didn't watch it - apart from the final night when I got the chance to stand on an entertainer's head while he put his face in crushed glass - odd but interesting!

There's also a traditional style sheesha smoking cabin outside where you can try different types of tobacco and liqueurs.

We loved our stay at the Sultan. It was very quiet as it was January so perhaps in other months you wouldn't get to enjoy the facilities in the same exclusive way that we did. Even so it offers value for money luxury and a different experience to the typical British tour-operator hotels.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HazedTaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2009

My wife and I wanted a fairly cheep quick "credit crunching" week where we could lay in the sun, eat well play some golf and relax....
We got all of this at this hotel !!

In the past we have been lucky enough to have experienced a few hotels that are world class such as the Burg Al Arab in Dubai , so we know what to expect at £500 a night and accept that if you are paying £500 per week (Full Board) in AFRICA there are going to be some regional differences.

The hotel is clean the food is all fresh and local dishes were very nice...
The staff are very efficient and respectful to those who are respectful to them..
They all dress very smartly and work hard....

If you want burgers, hotdogs, chips and spag bol every night you may go hungry the odd night but they cater for all tastes pretty well....
You will enjoy regional fresh salads fresh veg / meats / fish / Soups ect
Breakfast is also a fairly wide choice with good cooked and continental options....
Resteraunts are all non smoking...

The wine is great value and our drinks for 2 people only came to £120 for a week which considering we drank quite a bit !!! provides excellent value compared to the UK & Europe !! where a beer is £5 or more in some places (House wine £6 a bottle , local Beer £1.80 and both easy drinking )

Also big plus for us was that this hotel is not really on the map as far as the main UK tour operators go, so if you want to be with loads of other brits dancing till dark then i would advise to go somewhere else possibly even another resort !!
We are very social people but find being together and not having to talk to everyone part of how we relax on holiday.

We found that the majority of people staying were French who we find always seem to behave better than the British groups we saw landing at the Airport !
Although many french seem to smoke so you were ocasionally reminded what a good a thing the smoking ban is in the UK ! ( however it wasnt a major problem )

The facilities are not 5* Luxary on an international standard and from reading reviews people really need to realise this is Tunisia not "Monaco" and also consider the price.
True Luxary 5* star holidays start at £2500 for 2 people for a week being realistic so having paid £1000.00 all in for our week we felt it was the best value holiday we had ever had and will return !!

Special mention goes to Mehdi Allani who was very kind to us when loosing Golf Clubs at the airport. I promised him a good review on trip Advisor !

Thanks again !

Daniel

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
1.0 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#1 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
4.1 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#2 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#23 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
7.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
6.9 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#18 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Le Sultan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Le Sultan

Property: SENTIDO Le Sultan
Address: BP 11 Route Touristique, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#5 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#8 Business Hotel in Hammamet
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Le Sultan 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overhanging a magnificent beacht of golden sand, the hotel is situated in front of the sea and takes advantage of a splendid 5 hectare garden. Completely renovated in 2014, the atmosphere is sober and cozy and the sea view is juste breathtaking. 263 rooms & 8 suites, soundproofed and elegantly decorated. All our rooms are equipped with bathrooms and hair-dryers, Sat-TV, air-conditioning and heating, telephone with a direct-line and minibar. A 24h room service is also at your disposal. Internet-connexion is available everywhere for free. Restaurant SAKURA with its asian menu card. Buffet-Restaurant LE SERAIL with its variety of local & international cuisine. Restaurant LE PIRATE with its mediterran barbecue cuisine next to the pool and just in front of the sea. Bar LE KALIFE with its panoramic glass partition on the pool and the sea. Bar SHEHERAZADE invites you to take an apetizer while enjoying the live music from our pianist. Openair CLIPPER BAR for memorable summer nights and live concerts 1 outdoor swimming pool and 1 warmed indoor swimming pool, wellness centre "Five senses Spa by Themae". 3 tennis courts, famous horseriding school, PADI scuba diving. Animations for adults and children, casino and golf near. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your SENTIDO Le Sultan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Sultan Hotel
Le Sultan Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing