We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“really nice hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa
Ranked #18 of 123 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“really nice hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2007

Me and my husband visited Tunisia for our honeymoon. We stayed for 2 weeks, and loved it. if we were to visit hammamet again, we would definately stay at this hotel. we booked the holiday with going places, and it was part of a prestige package. when we arrived at the airport we were greeted by an airtours rep who showed us to our transport to the hotel. we travelled to the hotel in a nice 4 x 4. when we arrived at the hotel we were shown to the seating area. we were then given a citrus drink, and a red rose was given to me. as it was our honeymoon, we were upgraded to the prestige suite, which was really nice. on our way to the room, i was given a small jasmine bouquet which smelt really nice. in the rrom we were given a vase of roses, which were replaced each day. rose petals were laid out on the pillows, on the hand towels, and even in the toilet each day. we were given a bowl of fruit and a bottle of wine. the view from our balconys were pretty good too.

there were many places to eat at the hotel, but the food wasnt to our personal preference. the prices were more than we expected too.

the resort was really nice, and the shopping medinas are good if you like haggling. some advice, never accept the first price. u can usually get it down by at least 40%. i would reccomend going on the tours which are arranged by travel reps.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank jen-hasdrubal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    52
    9
    2
    7
See reviews for
81
125
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchestet
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

We have just returned from two weeks at the hotel. A great holiday but there are two points I would like to make. The first is that the young gentleman who worked on the Exchange Bureau was extremely rude to me (as a woman) and queried my signature on Barclays Bank VISA Sterling travellers cheque. I was very annoyed at his ignorance and curt manner. The second is the trips you take out to the dessert and to Hammamet as you will ultimately end up at "government shops" that sell carpets before you even know where you are at. It is a sleek operation, be careful.... we ended up buying two rugs and are hoping that the larger and more expensive of the two does actually get delivered to our home in the UK.

We did get fed up with tipping people and also the food at the hotel became boring after the first week. The hotel could do with providing snacks on a lunchtime.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank callabya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2007

We stayed at the Hasdrubal with my husband in June 2006 and it was quite a good experience. It's a large resort and has lots of good facilities, so the five days we spent there were no drag at all. We enjoyed the food and the people, although we were a little displeased with the front desk who did not help us adequately on our second evening with a reservation, but otherwise their staff are very efficient. Our room was nothing spectacular, but well-appointed and functional. We did go to the spa a few times, but I thought it was a little too public and a litlle too "clinical" in some ways. We wanted more of the orient and this was not it. Overall, I think they deserve a 4/5 rating but they will need to lower their prices if they are to be truly value for money.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank meandrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2006

The Hasdrubal has an attractive layout. The beach is lovely and the aforementioned seaweed is no problem. The pool area, although not as big as it looks on the website, is equally attractive. All the public areas are spacious and the gardens are lovely with an effective use of water. The rooms are spacious with decent outside space. The decor is Tunisian and the furniture a bit naff for a luxury hotel but the bed is huge and overall I liked the room. The outdoor setting for breakfast is great and the food, although not brilliant, is as good as most places locally. The resort of Yasmine Hammamet is not really to my taste but it was better thasn I expected ..the area by the marina is nice and the Matelot restaurant there had lovely service and reasonable food. Taxis are plentiful and Tunisia is good value.The weather was glorious in late JUne.

I would definitley recommend this hotel for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Veryfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
89 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2006

As other reviewers have said about Tunisia, a 5-star property here is more like a 4-star in other more developed locations. The same can be said about the Hasdrubal resort in Hammamet. And please note that this is supposed to be the best hotel in all of Hammamet. Hasdrubal was built about 8 years ago in the newly developed area of Yasmine. The hotel itself is big as are the rooms (all suites). We were not impressed with the room or its furnishings, which are standard if not mediocre. If you don't like to walk, be aware of the fact that the reception (near the restaurants) is on one end and the spa on the other, so it only makes sense to have your room on the end of the spa if you plan on using the facilities daily. The breakfast buffet is decent but not spectacular. We stayed for 5 nights and noticed that when it got busy, it was hard to find a table and you had to stand in a long queque to order an omelet, but the staff did try its best to help.

Since we went to the hotel specifically for the spa, we were pleased with the quality of the treatments. The spa offers packages for 4 days, 7 days, etc. at about 120 euro a day; expensive for Tunisia but reasonable considering it's much more pricey in Europe. Since the packages don't necessarily offer a discount off the rates, before signing up for them, I suggest that you first try out the different treatments to know which you like the best.

A comment about Yasmine: the developers basically put up huge concrete buildings (albeit in the North African style) in the desert, so when you enter Yasmine, you will drive down long stretches of the boulevard lined with hotels. There can be little said about ambience unless you like big concrete buildings along a boulevard! The one nice thing is the "Medina" they built, which is a replica of the traditional Medina with souks. There are some fun shops and cafes inside. For quality sight seeing you're better off going to Carthage (about an hour's drive away), where there are many Roman ruins and a gorgeous little blue and white village called Sidi Bou Said. We had dinner at "Le Resto" in Villa Didon, which was excellent.

One last thing: if you drive from Tunis to Hammamet, you have to pay a toll (péage in French)and please remember it's 1.2 Dinars (less than an Euro). We passed the station a few times and each time they tried to charge us a different price and/or give us the wrong change.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Family-C-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2006

We booked a girls' weekend to Tunisia and looked for a hotel with a spa. Hence, the Hotel Hastrubal Yasmine Hammamet. (Locals seemed to call it simply "Hasdrubal.") We paid about 370 TND for the hotel car to pick us up at the airport (roundtrip), which was pricey but worth it for the 60 minute ride to the hotel.

Hasdrubal is located in Yasmine, which is about a 10 minute ride outside of the center of town where the "real" Medina is. (The medina in Yasmine is also known as Carthage Land, or the "new" medina. It's very new--and has an element of Disney to it.) So location-wise, the hotel is not so convenient to everything--in fact, you're the last hotel on the beach. (Looks like they have condos opening up next door in 2007, but they haven't broken ground yet.)

We were off to a good start upon check-in--they greated all three of us with a pink rose and a fresh glass of OJ--which was SUPER delicious. Then they showed us to our room--a triple, which was quite nice, but a bit dated. Lots of marble in the bathroom, and cute little "conversation pit" overlooking the ocean. The views were fantastic. No coffee/tea facilities in the room. Robes and towels were a bit "weathered." One of two TVs had no reception.

The next day, we figured out that they must have had a pipe burst in our room because the carpet was very damp, and you could tell that it had been ripped up in places because of the damage. Also, there were water stains on the bottom of the bathroom door. And my mold and mildew allergies gave me a sore through every night. We should have said something about it, but we didn't. In hindsight, I'm upset we didn't, but I'm also upset they put us in that room. When we left, I picked up my trainers--which hadn't moved in four days--and they were all wet and green on the bottom. Yuk! However, the rest of the rooms didn't seem to be affected.

The beach was lovely, and the vast majority of the restaurant and bar staff were really nice and friendly and sometimes quite funny. But...the front desk staff told me on too separate occassions that they were "too busy" to deal with me, which I'm going to chalk up to a language barrier. Check out was very odd--the gentleman didn't ask us how our stay was or anything really--despite our very large tab. My point is that for 5-star prices and Leading Hotel of the World membership, I was disappointed.

We did the "Beaute Plentitude" treatments one day and had facials, cellulite massages, algae wraps, and thermal baths. It was nice, although I'd say the service was more clinical than "relax you're in a spa"-esque. My eyebrows look better than they ever have after an eyebrow taming session with one of the therapists.

We had dinner at a place called Sidi Slim close to the old Medina (a long walk), per the concierge's suggestion, and it was pretty tasty and had a good local crowd. It seems like 9 p.m. is dinner time--if you go early, you may be dining alone. We also ate at Il Pomodoro in the Marina (very short cab ride from hotel, but again, long walk) and it was excellent. I had moro cooked with lemon butter sauce and capers and it was very very good.

The Medina was fun to explore, but a pain to negotiate, price-wise. Even if you use the 20% rule, you'll often find yourself paying an arm and a leg for stuff you can get for the same price or less at home. For example, I bought a pretty serving dish for 10 TND--or about 5 gbp (or well, $8.75 USD). Probably could have bought the dish at The Pier/Pier 1 for the same. It's fun to watch the negotiation tactics though!

Every meal we had at the hotel was delicious. Breakfast buffet is expansive. Also, we fell in love with the Saint Augustine White wine. A nice drier white. Lovely.

All in all, a good stay. There were many wonderful elements, but for the price, they need to work on customer service, making the spa and the therapists more relaxing, and giving the hotel rooms a mini-makeover to bring it up to speed.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Krista N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2005

If you are looking for a luxurious, quiet and relaxing holiday - this is the place! large, spacious rooms and very clean. the pool was great and so was the beach (agree with the seaweed comment in previous review) but great sand and very comfy on beach and if you weren't happy there you could head to the pool which was great. We didn't go to the spa - but heard it was excellent. We were there with our 22 month old daughter and she had a great time too. I guess the only negative was slow service in the restaurant at nights (especially the Tunisian one); sometimes they ran out of towels at the poolside for a brief period. But I consider these minor compared to all the many plusses. I definitely recommend this hotel and destination and I would definitely return.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
29 Thank CarlaLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
6.5 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#1 of 123 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#19 of 123 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
7.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 123 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 stars 1,711 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Club President
Hotel Club President
#25 of 123 in Hammamet
4.0 of 5 stars 1,434 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa

Property: Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa
Address: Avenue Medina - BP4 | Station Touristique Yasmine, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#7 Business Hotel in Hammamet
#14 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Prestigia and Booking.com so you can book your Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hasdrubal Thalassa And Spa
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel Hammamet
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing