We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Mouradi Hammamet
Ranked #67 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My daughter wanted a holiday and asked if I wanted to join her, so we booked this hotel as I usually visit Chich Khan.

I expected this hotel to exceed as it is an official 5 star - trust me its not.

Good points - pool temp, deep cushions on sunbeds, nice pool man who gets beds - Pizza
restaurant - staff in the Iris bar.
Wi-Fi available everywhere.

Bad points - FOOD in the main restauarant - just a complete mishmash
FOOD in the Tunisian al la carte (so bad we didn't bother going to the Turkish)
Enertainment - lots of 'dance shows'
My daughter being constantly hassled by the animation team and staff members.
Beach - near, but again we were both constantly hassled.
SPA - you can't just make an enquiry without being dragged round and shown
everything in a hard sell attempt.
TV - no English channels and the ones that were on were fuzzy (this was reported
but nothing was done)
No newspapers in the shop, when it clearly states they are available.

It was nice to have an unexpected break, but we both wished we'd gone back to Chich Khan.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karaokekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (886)
There are newer reviews for El Mouradi Hammamet
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 886 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel bedrooms were more like a 3 star than a 5 star. Nothing wrong with them though: large rooms, well equipped, and huge bathroom. We slept very well. Just a bit of a passe decor. Redecorating and updating wouldn't go amiss. No doubt El Mouradi was 5 stars a while ago. The lobby is quite spectacular. The food was good, not amazing, but we ate very well. Staff were fine, a little bureaucratic at times, but fine except in one of the restaurants, where they were a bit inflexible. We enjoyed the spa. We had a fantastic ayurvedic massage, which was well worth paying for. The beach in front of the hotel was good. There were a lot of water sports and we had a ball at trying everything, from parachuting to some sort of jet-buoys which were great fun. The disco was terrible. Apparently there was some karaoke, but I didn't go. On the whole, a good experience, although if you want a hotel that's new and sparkling, don't go there. But if you don't mind, I think El Mouradi is good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Veronique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Place: resort/ghetto. Nothing special, nothing to see, no fun, dirty, smelly streets. Strenuous, offensive, boring street sellers. Nothing on boardwalk Hotel: nice building, nice lobby. No fun, boring old-fashioned evening pool entertainment program. You dont have anything to do in the evening. All you can do is drink three sort of cocktails, non alcoholic beer and other drinks or vine in plastic glass in the pool bar which dont have place to sit, or you can sit in little "caffe" in lobby and smoke narghila and drink turkish coffe. "Disco" is empty. Main hotel bar terrace with only ten wooden tables and few plastic ones for about 500 guests. Rooms: ok, but old-fashioned, 70s style (holet was builded in 2000), clean, spatious, spatious bathroom, beds are ok, nice balcony with old plastic chairs and rusty table. Main restaurant is ok, food is ok, diverse food, something for everybody, but nothing special. Pool: nice pool with not enough lounge chairs. Morning mission is to win lounge chairs. One morning i woke up at 5.30 am and take chair but despite that somebody took my place (they gave tip to the pool guy). Pool guys are putting their towels so later you have to bribe him to get a place, for that you need at least 5 dinars. Pool waiters serve you better if you pay him, otherwise you have to wait them and remind him for order, and then you get plastic glass. Decorated glass cup only if you pay him. Pool snack bar: very poor, only "pizza". One day i order hamburger, guy toldy me "no, pizza", and later he brought hamburgers to two tables next to me. Beach: nice beach, see is great if there are no plastic bags in it. Situations with chairs are similar like on pool, but better, at least beach guy doesnt take places with their own towels. So, beach is ok if there were no offensive sellers of all kind off things, every five minutes somebody is approaching to you and trying to sell you something that you dont want, after two days on beach only you have to do is move your head - dont speek with them and dont look them, because they are waiting any oportunity to start a conversation and selling, they are your best friend at that moment, they are so boring (man i want to rest work) Beach bar: terrace without tables. Staff: my english is not so good, but they dont spek english at all, thay know only few words, they are not so kind, they look like on forced labour, only if you give them good tip continuosly they will serve you for something you already paid. At the end i have to say that first day i changed my room, because i had mysterious door :) in room - that was entrance in the other room, and they were not even locked, other guys were in it (i was on the third floor, only few rooms on third floor are not connected with those doors), and air condtion and safe box were out of function. This was not 5* hotel, and this was not all inclusive, because you have to give tips for everything. This vacation was poor, i dont recommend to go there, and is not safe, as we see now.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stjepan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

big expectations but poor performance :( first room we got was dirty, with mold in the bathroom. with extra large tip we managed to change it the day we arrived. tips are obligatory or your all inclusive won't mind a bit. tip if you wanna place by the pool cause it's all reserved by the stuff, not the costumers. set tables only after tipping, clean towels and toilet paper guaranteed only after sufficient tip ( 1dinar for two, bigger number of room inhabitants request more). food at the restaurant based mainly on local cuisine- even plain chicken full of curry and rosemary, had enough of marmalade for a lifetime but it kept me going... the sea- prepare to be covered with plastic bags, feathers and grass when entering.wanted to leave on day 1!!! and the local agents going around the pool try to sell you packages in tunisian dinars but once you agree to it the price changes to euros and once you decline they start to order you awakening calls in revenge.and the animators at the pool are really annoying- with their twice daily aqua aerobics and same games all over again...

Room Tip: request a room on the sea side of the hotel, definitelly not on the pool side. If still unhappy with...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

First time here.
Hotel is very tired, more a 3 star than a 5. Ok holiday, nice location, lovely beach. But I was was left with a bitter taste. I have never before had to tip to reserve a lounger!! Its the pool staff who reserve the beds to extort money from customers!!
Similar in room service, apparently they want a tip everyday! only then you get water!!

This is the tip of the extortion iceberg.

Shame on you, staff of El Mouradi

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hq1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Lovely weather, excellent junior suite with stunning sea view, good range of in house activities for adult and children and lastly good house keeping. But........... there are a few things that cause concern.

5 star rating in this hotel is marred by the money business orientated mentality. The misinterpretation of tipping is certainly an issue. Staff especially the waiters will serve customers well the first day, then familiarity bridge contempt. They will ask common questions such as what is your background, where are you from, how much a certain well-known products cost from where you live and etc. If you are from a country which they think is rich e.g.UK, they will be all around you like flies. As soon as they realise tip is not offered they will try it on someone else. Good service begins to decline from here. They will reserve tables for anyone that has tipped them, serve them first and reluctantly serve others whom have not tipped them or tipped them well. How much each person tip dictates the level of service is provided. The staff quickly work out whom they can take advantage off and what so embarrassing and more shocking is with their selective eyes they will guide customers whom have tipped them previously to areas of their designation expecting more tip, almost like each waiter know where each other turf is. One time we asked for some drink in the food hall, two waiters argued over who should serve us. What is more worst than someone has a cheek to ask you for a tip or more tip especially when a generous tip is given. Been to other 5 stars hotel in Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai (Thailand) and also Kalong redang resort in Malaysia. They seem to understand how to maintained a 5 stars status with pride and dignity.Tipping is practised there but in a sensible way not it such a despicable way in El Mouradi Hammamet. What a disgrace!!!

This mentality is also seen in the pool staff. Don't bother getting up early to find a sun lounger. Why? Let me enlightened you.

On our first day we were told the sun loungers are available on the first come first service which none will be available if you get to the pool after 8am. We could not get hold of any then as we got to the pool after lunch time. So we decided to be at the pool just after 8am the next day, yes we managed to get the sun loungers x2 but not many left, less that 10 sun loungers were kept by the cabin where towels can be obtained. Surprisingly all others sun loungers had towels over them but there were no sign of people. Through our observation when people began appearing at different timing, those that tipped the staff the day before, seats were reserved because the staff were expecting tip to be given from the same customers. We were disgusted by some staff that removed other customers' towels (customers who woke up early to reserve the seats without tipping the staff) and put them on the floor so that they can offer the sun loungers to other customers who turn up later with money on hand . Money certainly rules!!!!!!

Also please beware of scam!!!!!! We were offered by one of the staff in the hotel a camel ride for 30 dinar per person. When he issued the receipt and took 40 dinar deposit, he then told us we need to pay 30 Euro which equivalent to 100 dinar. So we owe him 60 dinar on the day of travel. He was very cunning. He speak not bad English and made up the excuse that it was language barrier, exactly what he said ' Language barrier!!' . Earlier he explained perfectly clear to us about the price which I repeated back the price '30 dinar per person and 60 for two' twice back to him. Not once he mentioned about Euro. We stood our ground and demanded for our deposit back. He said once the receipt is issued it is as good as a binding agreement. As were arguing in a public area, he was compelled to give the deposit back to us.

Good range of food, tasty but we had diarrhoea the last four days out of 7 days. We only drank mineral water and ate the food in the hotel.

Everything out side the inclusive package of this trip, is over priced. The jet ski (15min ride) and parachute (3-4min) £20 per person are certainly a rip of.

We will not go to this part of the world ever again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Survived one week of bad food (everything tastes the same and it was really not a fresh taste). Got food poisned the first day by the late buffé. The drinks are barely drinks, it tastes of concentrate and sugar only. Service is okay apart from unfriendly bartenders and to friendly sales people that does not leave you alone by the pool area trying to sell you a trip to Sahara or some pirate ship. The personnel tries to answer your questions but has trouble communicating in english. There is an odd odour in the food area that spreads to the rest of the building. Everything is slightly shabby and old. Five stars? Maybe three stars would been enough. At least the pool area is nice and its close to the beach. Around the hotel is other hotels and turistshops, nothing much to see.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlieeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marouen K, Sous directeur at El Mouradi Hammamet, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Charlie,

Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to write these comments.
We took note of some of your comments and in the mean time we would like to mention our big variety of choice of food during the breakfast, lunch and dinner. We mention also that our hotel offer a varied list of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks in the bars.
We thank you again to share this comments and looking to see you again in El Mouradi Hammamet.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.1 mi away
El Mouradi El Menzah
El Mouradi El Menzah
#59 of 118 in Hammamet
648 reviews
7.9 mi away
El Mouradi Beach
El Mouradi Beach
#88 of 118 in Hammamet
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#19 of 118 in Hammamet
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
#55 of 118 in Hammamet
447 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
#30 of 118 in Hammamet
776 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vincci Flora Park
Vincci Flora Park
#26 of 118 in Hammamet
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mouradi Hammamet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Hammamet

Address: Zone touristique Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#51 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: $63 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — El Mouradi Hammamet 5*
Number of rooms: 377
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Mouradi Hammamet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Hammamet Hotel Hammamet
El Mouradi Hotel Hammamet
Hotel El Mouradi Hammamet
Hammamet El Mouradi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing