We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel I've ever been”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bousten Long Beach Club
Ranked #110 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Rooms were filthy, food was terrible... The only one thing that was nice was a hotel beach. However, 2 discos around playing herdcore techno all the time ruined everything...Avoid this hotel like hell!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pawel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 112 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

Unbelievably bad hotel, not for British holidaymakers whatsoever. I can only echo other people's negative recent comments and don't want to repeat, but myself and my friend have just wasted alot of money and a week of our lives staying in what can only be described as a 'hell hole'. Rude, abrupt staff just made it even worse, together with revolting food as the hotel now caters for eastern European and Russian guests, same slop every day. We lived on bread and butter, ended up buying pizzas from the pay bar, which weren't much better. Every day they ran out of something, drinks, plates, serviettes, bread, cutlery, the list is endless. Rooms were smelly, damp and not particularly clean, the beds were like sleeping on a wooden board. Nothing was cleaned properly, windows were smeary, gardens were overgrown with litter everywhere. I complained to one of the so-called Directors, he showed me 2 other rooms which were both as bad as the one we were in. I challenged him about the poor standards, cleary he wasn't interested and told me if I wasn't happy to move hotels, not so easy when there is no English rep at the resort. Bad, bad place - avoid at all costs. Only decent thing was the weather.....

Stayed: August 2012
4  Thank Tex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

To start off, the hotel has good location, right by the beach.it also has good facilities (pools and slides) and thats the only plus.
Food terrible and limited, dirty tables and cutlery. Icecream was something like frozen water, disgusting. Waiters rude and ignorant, seemed to be waiting for tips only. Had to buy food outside, thank god there was a restaurant up the road. Never go all inclusive there, waste of money!!!!
As for accommodation it was basic. We stayed in a bungalow-quite small and dark, bit scary must admit. Problems with hot water sometimes and you can still expect some lizards in your room but thats normal. maids friendly and towels were changed daily.

Never go to Tunisia to a 3star hotel, its like 2 in Europe. Always choose 4/5. Remember that african rating is different than european.

Room Tip: Give some dinars/dollars when checkin-in and you may get a"better" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chickens663535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Hotel staff blow hot and cold from attentive to out right rude, we where fully inclusive but you had to go a long way to get a full half pint of beer as sometimes it was half foam. You have to queue outside at a small hatch to get your inclusive drinks whilst a very big inside air-con bar was empty because no one would pay extra for the drinks served there. This was my fourth visit to Hammamet and will be my last, the food was very bland and quality poor except for breakfast which was pastries and eggs. God knows what was in the 'pink' meat which appeared on a regular basis.Thank god we had an outside restaurant up the road. Lots of Czechs, Ukranians, present who seemed to like the food and it may have been slanted towards their taste but glad we only stayed a week. On the plus side, beach location and pool was great, maids friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phidel4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was our fourth stay in Tunisia, our third in the Hammamet area, so we had a pretty good idea of what to expect.

We stayed at the El Bousten from 29th July to 5th August, the same time as recent reviewers. It was a last minute booking and seemed to offer everything that we were looking for, all inclusive, good weather and not too expensive. We arrived at the hotel at 2.30 in the morning with another English couple, Rob and Heather, whose review is below. Checking in was fairly painless, we were given a bottle of water, and a porter took us to our room.......... That's when it started to go downhill. A quick look around the room gave us the impression that it hadn't been cleaned, there was hair on the floor of the bathroom and paint peeling of the ceiling. The aircon was working, but you couldn't adjust the temperature, it was off or on. We decided straightaway that we would change rooms first thing in the morning, we were too tired to do it then and there.

The reception staff didn't seem at all surprised that we wanted to change rooms, in fact we weren't the only ones that morning, it seemed to be a regular occurrence! We were shown a similar room to the first, which we declined, and then a room in one of the larger accommodation blocks, which we accepted. Three days later we changed again because the aircon wasn't working. We ended up in room 51, a more modern room with aircon that worked, and a TV which we didn't bother with, but a view of the pool and the entertainment at night. There was a socket hanging out of the wall, but we could put up with that! Within 5 minutes of occupying the room, there was a knock on the door from a porter, who made it very obvious that if we tipped him, we could get extra towels..... We didn't bother, and that was the last time we saw a clean towel!

We 'dined' in for the first couple of days, I think we thought things can only get better. They didn't. You could always find 'something' to eat, so you wouldn't starve, but the quality was poor. At times they would run out of basics like cutlery, cups, glasses (a recurring theme). We ended up, like a lot of others, eating out......You could tell there were people from our hotel by the wristbands. A local restaurant within 5 minutes walk was always busy. A 5 to 7 dinar taxi ride to Yasmine Hammamet gave you more options....We can recommend the Steakhouse (I believe it's English owned) by the entrance to the Medina.

There were problems with the swimming pool. The filtration worked intermittently, if at all, which meant that the water was murky.....When the lights were switched on at night, all you could see was a fog. We knew they had problems when, at 11.30 at night, 2 men took a sledgehammer to the wall surrounding the pool, and opened up a gap presumably to allow ventilation to the machinery in the plant room! A member of the animation team also confirmed that there were always problems. You could also see waterboatmen, pondlife, swimming about in the water....I counted 20 at the shallow end alone one day.

As mentioned in previous reviews, there is one main all inclusive bar, which got very busy at times. The staff seemed to have a constant battle to provide enough clean glasses, most spirits ran out late at night ("you drink too much during the day!"), and again it was made clear that if you tipped the staff, you would get a better service. To be fair to the staff, they worked hard in very hot conditions (it was also Ramadan, so they couldn't drink themselves.... not that that stopped some!), a lot of their 'customers' didn't bother with a please or a thank you. This might be down to a language barrier, a lot (about 90%) of the guests were Eastern European, with a few French, Dutch, German and very few English. The animation team also worked hard at entertaining the guests and were always friendly. At least they seemed to enjoy their job, unlike a lot of the other staff.

The surrounding area is run down. There were quite a few restaurants, shops and hotels closed down, and there is not a lot to do outside of the hotel My belief is that the new development of hotels, shops, restaurants and marina at Yasmine Hammamet has taken a lot of tourists away from Hammamet, which is dying a slow death. Up to 10 years ago this probably wasn't the case, but like the hotel, the area is looking 'tired' to put it mildly.

There were some positives!! The beach is good, although to get a sunlounger on the front you would have to get up early to put your towels on them, or maybe you just bribe the staff on the beach....I don't know. We just put our towels on the sand. The sea is warm with a gentle slope into it. There were a lot of beach 'vendors' which can be a nuisance, we just ignored them. And the sun shone! It got very hot at times, 40 - 45C, which would probably explain "you drink too much during the day"! A big thank you to Rob and Heather for their company as well, a definite positive!

Would we return to Tunisia? Undoubtedly, but not to this hotel. As I mentioned at the beginning, we have been to Tunisia before, and this fell well below the standards we have come to expect.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Flipnpidge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Where to start the hotel was dirty and well away from any kind of touristy places
The staff were so rude ignorant and arrogant you could get into a brawl every twenty minutes
The restaurant title alone is a joke I have eaten at cleaner burger bars the food was not fit for humans at all same slop served 3 times a day till its all gone then a fresh batch cooked again
Imagine being in the worst place in the darkest recess of your mind then add the movie groundhog day voila a ten day break in Tunisia the rooms are primitive at best with unsafe electrics ie power point faces coming of in your hand
If you have kids they just won't eat any of the meals and you like us will have to keep going of the complex to find real food in spite being all inclusive we probably ate 20 dinars worth for our whole stay the rest of the meals we had to use our spending money to eat off site
As for excursions etc you have 3 real options of which you are tried to be forced into by reps even before you have got your room key they are camel trek quad bike or half a day on a pirate ship with a handful of what I called gay English Morris dancing type pirates who throw in a Barbeque yuk gross food again
I could go on and on to match the four page letter of complaint and photos we sent to the holiday company we booked with but I understand you will get bored and take into much information so in summary the hotel is a filthy place with less than basic accommodation the most unenglish themed place you could ever find the rudest staff you will ever meet and a complete waste of your hard earned English money as a family we would not even set foot back in this place it's he'll under the sun
Before I go I need to mention the beach lovely sand lovely ocean but lots of beggars and sellers all wanting money even to tell you the time and you can only hire a Lilo out the front of the hotel if you wanted to go left or right and stroll the beach no one would let you use a sunlounger please take this review seriously as at the end of the day we went through all the above for real and it was our worst holiday ever so if we can help steer you to a real holiday then all is well
STAY AWAY FROM HERE go anywhere but this place

Room Tip: There are none pick a different hotel or better still country
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Madloz1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Ok we have just got back from staying a week here from 04 -11 aug 2012, at the same times as other reviewers here.

We booked here as a cheapie, having already spent a week in spain. We travelled as myself, my wife, 16 y.o daughter and her friend. I have been to tunisia before, but first time with OH and kids.

Firstly we had low expections due to cost.

We arrived at hotel at 10.30 pm, very tired and hot, on arrival reception checked us in and gave our keys, we had 2 rooms booked, reception very unhelpful gave us no information at all, no AI, dinners times etc.

We had rooms 53, 54, 54 was on ground floor overlooking pool, 53 other side, we found both rooms very clean, tidy, great air conditioning in 54, (not so great in 53). We were all very hungry, but no mention of any food, shop shut.

Rooms - I would recommend requesting 54, it is ground floor very nice (considering price) very clean, bright, all nicely tiled in bathroom, no grime or mould, it was equpped with 2 very firm but comfy single beds, simple furniture, bedside tables, dressing table, warddrobe, suitcase table with drawers, tv table with tv. Clean terrace outside with usual plastic chairs and table. Our daughters room was other side of corridor to us, similar rooms, but no view. During our stay we spoke, to the other english guests, they gave descriptions of their rooms, to be honest we didnt believe them (sorry btw ).?? However, we requested a room for our last day, from 12 noon checkout till our leaving at 5pm for flight, we got charged 50 dinar, and given key to 228.....OMG…walking to it felt like walking through a prison...the smell mad us feel sick, the room itself was discusting..filthy, AC was something aboard the ark, no controls, had we got this room at start, we would have moved hotels.

There seems to be 2 styles of rooms, on the right of hotels our row upon row of two storey blocks , with rooms, however some of these blocks seem to be no further apart than a metre from next block, meaning you could reach across and shake hands. The other rooms type were 'bungalows' these were on left side of hotel, they looked like very dated 'butlins chalets', I believe these were larger with a small kitchen, though we didnt see inside.

Hotel - the drive from the road to hotel was impressive, the main building of hotel was great, all tiled mosaic, carved wood panelling, loads of comfy seating areas to relax, read, watch tv, play pool, work, there is also a nice bar area, massage/spa area, 2 dining rooms, and shasha pipe smoking room, 3 shops. Outside the hotel I feel the grounds our well looked after, grass area watered and maintained, well established large trees giving areas of shade. There is a raised walkway that goes along edge of beach, there is covered seating areas, were it would be nice to chill with a drink and maybe a shisha pipe. The main pay for drinks bar has seating outside, also there is a large tiled area covered in plastic table and chairs, overlooking the stage.

Facilities- outside our 3 pools, the first is a typical rectangle pool, surrounded by tiled area with free plastic loungers, we used this pool for first 2 days, it was clean and warm, however, the filter stopped working and it turned very green, however they cracked on and fixed it and it was all clear again on last day. The second pool is a largish non regular shaped pool, surrounded by a tiled area with lots of free to use loungers, also a large grass area with more loungers and some shaded areas, this is really the main pool is had a couple of water jets, and the two slides, only one slide was in use during our stay, for safety reason it was an attended slide, i.e. hotel staff had to be at top, so it opened for half hour every two hours, daughters have told me it is very fast and that you jump over a big bump, I feel it would have been unsafe to have had both slides in operation. The third pool is a rounds kiddies pool, with small slide.

Near the main pool was a kiddies play area, including a trampoline with net enclosure. The hotel also had tennis courts, crazy golf, pool tables, air hockey, ping pong, gym and spa.

Food - will you go hungry...no, will you look forward to and enjoy meals...now way. Food is on a self services basis. Breakfeast was very poor, two types of cereal, boiled eggs, tomatoes, and whatever left over from night before, maybe potatoes, maybe a spicy tomato tuna dish, and croissants, they did provide fried eggs, but you had to queue in a line for ages to get these. Tea, coffee and weak juice. Lunch and dinner were poor, no real flavour to anything, we sually eat anything as we are not fussy, but we lived off pasta and tomato sauce, mashed potatoes. If you didnt get to dinning rooms when they opened the table cloths would dirty later, however if you went as soon as opened you would be queuing forever for food. Every meal times we would have to ask for knives and forks.

AI snacks - pancakes and nasty icecream at 4pm for half hour and tasteless pizza at 10.30 pm for half hour, AI did not provide any other food or snack and no icecream.

Drinks - AI was from one bar which wasnt actually a real bar, just a hatch, there served tunisian lager, hite, rose and red wine (all usually very warm) local vodka, whisky, gin and boukka, fanta, coke (no tonic for gin, they suggested fanta with it!) Coffee and tean, bottled water. There was also a further bar near pools that opened and served AI drinks. The hotel main bar was open for paid for drinks. There was a bar on beach but we didnt use this and have no idea if AI or not.

Beach - great beach, clean water, showers, loungers (though a charge). Watersports available at fair prices, though more expensive than at busier beaches.

Entertainment/animation - the enertainment was not great, but the staff did a fantastic job, always mixing with guests always friendly, we had one problem with a younger member of the team, however animation manager sorted it, and the daughters felt comfortable again. We felt we made friends with many on animation team...which means they did thier job. Though Aladin owes me 5 dinar! During the day the team offered water polo, ping pong aerobics, darts volley ball etc, evening was bingo, show and dancing.

The team running the kids
Othefirstl staffOther staff - firstly it was mid ramadamramadan so hats off to you guys. we wWe found 99% of staff very friendly always happy to joke and laugh with us, however we did seem them get very angrangry with other guests, we spoke to waiters etc and we know why too, with a hotel of about 300 people only about 8 british, we were told eberyone else does not say please or thank you and could be rude (guessing language barrier) however we treated staff as we would have wanted to be treated and they friendly, all the staff seemed to say hello when you passed them, one old chap used walk up to our terrace, chat with us, empty our ashtray, not really sure he worked there lol.

We had a run in with one bar staff who was a bit creepy with daughter and friend, they told him to go away, he came up to me and told me they said this, I explained they found him creepy and became scared of him, he said sorry and was very pleasant after that.

Queues at the bar were very long and non shade in daytime, whoever, we got friendly with a particular waiter, tipped him well, hebrought drinks to us dduring day, nightg and to our room.

Have to say the staff work very very long ours, in real heat, and many were not eating drinking smoking from sunrise to sunset, I salute you. But, when the guests our not treating you with respecet nor being pleasant... you will snap.

Would I go here again......no.

Which is a shame really, the hotel looks as thougn it was once a fine hotel, however I feel it has to turn itself into. a AI hotel offering cheap accomodation to the growing eastern european markets, this has been its downfall.

My ratings are based on sight of other rooms, ours was clean tidy.

We found the hotel and grounds to be well cleaned, outside of the hotel seems very normal tunisia, though we did see a number of closed down derelict hotels between here and hammamet.

We felt safe leaving valuble stuff in room, but we did use safe for money and ipad.

Room Tip: Book room 54, nice and clean, overlooks pool, can see etertainment, waiter service to terrace, thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank insurancechap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Hammamet
Residence Hammamet
#35 of 119 in Hammamet
119 reviews
4.2 mi away
Marina Palace
Marina Palace
#106 of 119 in Hammamet
303 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Bel Air
Hotel Bel Air
#114 of 119 in Hammamet
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Khalife
Le Khalife
#92 of 119 in Hammamet
93 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Emira
Hotel Emira
#94 of 119 in Hammamet
152 reviews
3.0 mi away
Caribbean World Hammamet Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bousten Long Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bousten Long Beach Club

Address: Avenue de La Paix, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Hotel Class:3 star — Bousten Long Beach Club 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bousten Long Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Bousten Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing