We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (750)
Filter reviews
750 results
Traveler rating
178
181
183
112
96
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
181
183
112
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstable tennisfive starspent a week at this hotelbig lobbyhotel is greatindoor poolfresh juicefelt safeanimation teamtaxiscapitalperimeterorange
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 750 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2017

I spent a week at this hotel attending a conference. The hotel is quite grand and I stayed in a room they called a suite but which was like a standard American-size hotel room to me. I liked the fact that the room had an anteroom followed by another door. Closing the two doors blocked out corridor noise, which I wouldn't like. The room's air conditioning was effective and quiet, which I appreciate.

Staff are polite but inefficient. The front desk has several staff but each seems trained to just one task so a guest has to wait for that one person not to be busy to get particular kinds of help while others at the front desk idle their time. One day I arrived for lunch towards the end of the lunch period and couldn't find cutlery. I asked one waiter for cutlery and he got angry because, I think, he was the head waiter. Another waiter brought me cutlery and then the head waiter unpleasantly and firmly put another set of cutlery on top. However, the selection of food is excellent and the flow of customers through the food lines is fairly quick. Another problem was that the hotel seemed to forget to clean my room after three days. I reported the problem and was sent to guest relations who organized to have my room cleaned again after one missed day and one close call of almost missing. Seems to me some housecleaning management improvement is needed.

The hotel pool is quite beautiful and in fact there are two outside plus indoor pools and a great gym and spa. The bar is nice and sitting outside at the pool is excellent. The beach is a short walk away and quite safe. The area around is not as glorious as it should be due to closures of establishments in the area due to the collapse of Tunisia's tourist industry.

I think this hotel is great for meetings. I don't think I would plan to come here for a luxury holiday, which is the market the hotel seems to aim for.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bcsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel El Mourad... G, Directeur général at El Mouradi Gammarth, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2017

Dear Guest,

We regret to know that you were not totally satisfied with your stay in our hotel. We have processed your comment with great importance in order to improve our quality of service.

We would be happy if you give us a chance to welcome you again to discover our changes.

Thank you for your understanding.

Best regards
The Management of the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2017 via mobile

I stayed here in 2009 absolutely loved the country! Hotel is beautifully decorated, and staff were friendly. Mostly French and Arabic speaking so they spoke little or no English. Rooms were extra large but dated, carpet not cleaned. Rooms not as beautiful as the hotel grounds. Food, staff were fabulous. Beach was adjacent to the hotel, felt safe in and out of the hotel. Town was beautiful and traditional. Loved the Tunisian people, so compassionate and warm. Definitely re visit one day!

Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
Thank mon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel El Mourad... G, Directeur général at El Mouradi Gammarth, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2017
Google Translation

Cher client,
Nous sommes très heureux d’apprendre que vous avez passé un agréable séjour dans notre hôtel El Mouradi Gammarth. Vos commentaires seront partagés avec toutes nos équipes et nous feront de notre mieux afin d’améliorer sans cesse nos prestations et nous vous informons qu'une partie des chambres de notre hôtel ont été rénovées. Néanmoins, il reste quelques chambres encore à l'étude pour une rénovation ultérieure
Nous espérons pouvoir vous compter parmi nos clients fidèles.
Sincères salutations.
Hôtel El Mouradi Gammarth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017

The Resort is located in a quiet location near the beach. It is a fairly large complex with sizable swimming pool. The room I stayed reminding me for the days of last century. The television set was still the old big block tube screen must be at least 25-30 years old. The beds and furniture were lack of up keeping. Carpet and curtains were dirty. Fortunately the bathroom wasn't that bad. The only reason I give it a 2 stars instead of 1 was because the buffet breakfast offered fresh brewed good coffee. The quality of food was fine in local Standard.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank xjnlrntx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel El Mourad... G, Directeur général at El Mouradi Gammarth, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2017
Google Translation

Chère cliente,
Nous avons pris connaissance de votre avis posté sur TripAdvisor et nous vous en remercions.
Nous avons lu vos impressions avec la plus grande attention et nous regrettons, sincèrement, d'apprendre votre déception.
Sachez, Chère madame, que nous attachons une grande importance aux remarques de nos hôtes et nous vous informons qu'une partie des chambres de notre hôtel ont été rénovées. Néanmoins, il reste quelques chambres encore à l'étude pour une rénovation ultérieure
.
Nous espérons, vivement, pouvoir regagner votre confiance et vous démontrer, lors d’un prochain séjour, que les prestations et la qualité de notre établissement reflètent bien celles d’un hôtel de notre catégorie.

Sincères Salutations.
La Direction de l'hôtel.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2017

Tunisia tourists are gone.
With the terrorist threats, travelers are looking for elsewhere to go. What is left is large number of empty seaside resorts, Most only charged ridiculous low prices , some even included meals. However, with low prices the service and qualities inevitably slipped. Some became package tours havens, . some simply close for business.
This El Mouradi has an impressive lobby, not unlike a fantasy palace. it face the Mediterranean sea, and it has a huge free style swimming pool. The cost in April is only US 45 for a double room, with buffet breakfast and dinner included!it really look like a bargain, but when you look closely, you realized it is not such a good deal after-all.
The service is slow, and the staffs are not interested to help. The rooms are outdated, the carpet smells. the towels are not clean, and prints fell off from the wall. In the backyard you can see bags of rubbish piled up. The beach was not supervised, the seafood restaurants, sea activities centers are closed.
The food in the buffet is bland . Selection limited. waiters do not collect used plates and every tables there are piles of dirty dishes.
The hotel is quite isolated, and is 1 km to center of Gammarth. walking around is not recommended.
But be fair, with that kind of price, you can only get a small plain room in a backpacker hostel in London. If cost is important to you, this one is not a bad choice.

Room Tip: Get a room near the main lobby and face the swimming pool.
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank raymasterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel El Mourad... G, Directeur général at El Mouradi Gammarth, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2017

Dear Guest,

We regret to know that you were not totally satisfied with your stay in our hotel. We have processed your comment with great importance in order to improve our quality of service.
However, we preferred to be informed of your opinion on real time during your stay to control the critical points and better satisfy you. Your holiday enjoyment and relaxation are very important to us. We would be happy if you give us a chance to welcome you again to prove our good willingness. Thank you for your understanding.
Best regards
The Management of the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2017 via mobile

They are not prepared at all. Reception staff don't know how to check reservations through internet. Rooms are not clean.....,, I booked through Expedia. Waited two hours to be offered room with three beds with broken closet.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
2  Thank Bilal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel El Mourad... G, Directeur général at El Mouradi Gammarth, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

Dear Sir,

We regret to know that you were not satisfied with your stay in our hotel.
Make sure Sir that your satisfaction is a prior matter. Your comments and reviews will be transmitted to the relevant departments to take several actions.

Best regards.
The Management of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews