We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smooth, polished, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Mouradi Gammarth
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Gammarth
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Smooth, polished, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I flew out to Tunis 3 days after the assassination of the main Opposition leader, so wasn't sure what to expect. In fact, things were fine, stable, and steady, if politically a little fragile. The hotel makes an immediate impression - the building is white and large and has a monitored entrance, which ensures touts and taxi drivers are kept at a distance. (The taxis are the other side of the road, if you need them, the drivers friendly, speak limited English, and clearly have an easy relationship with the guy on the gate).

The foyer is magnificent, a huge marble area, with Reception at one side. The staff here were efficient and helpful, all through my stay, understood and spoke good English.

The rooms encircle the main central outdoor pool (unused when I went in February, but still filled and enticing). As a spa hotel, it also has a beautiful largeish heated indoor pool, which I used every evening I was there.

The spa facilities I didn't use, but the gym is next to the indoor pool, and nicely proportioned, with the usual machines and a few free weights.

The dining room is extensive, and filled with foods of all kinds. You can order from the chef if you really want full English, but I was quite happy to explore the buffet provided - fresh fruit, breads and croissants, local jams and honey, scrambled egg, cooked veg, cereals - and in the evening, loads of meats and fish. Vegetarians are catered for, but non-animal protein is hard to come by unless it's eggs or cheese!

Tunisia is a fairly secular Muslim country, like Turkey, so there is also a small bar, next to the smaller second restaurant, all facing out to the pool/patio area.

The rooms are extensive, as are the corridors! But all en suite, perfectly decently decorated and well looked after by the extensive cleaning staff. No tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms, but then you don't really need them, as you can order room service, or visit the dining-room across the patio area. The bathroom was clean, soap, shampoo, etc. supplied, towels changed daily. The wi-fi reaches everywhere, which for me as a business traveller was a real boon.

There is a children's play room and staff, apparently, just for that, though in February it seemed closed. The beach is literally behind the hotel, 2 minutes walk, but also mostly deserted when I was there, apart from locals passing through.

Even though it rained a lot and was chilly (14'C) for the three days I was there, as I was out working during the day, so that didn't matter. In the evening, and morning, quite a lot of people used the hotel facilities, local and visitors ( a lot of Japanese!), so it never felt empty or unwelcoming.

I would recommend it, and certainly go back there. For 60 euros a night B&B, all that 5-star comfort on tap is a definite bargain.

Room Tip: The closer you are to the main lobby and dining room, the less you have to walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spiralx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel El Mourad... G, Directeur général at El Mouradi Gammarth, responded to this review, May 19, 2015
Dear Spiralx,
Thank you for taking the time to file on Trip Advisor your positive feedback on the performance and quality of our services. We will not fail to convey your appreciation to hotel staff for the effort and quality of their work. We hope to count you among our faithful customers.
Best Regards.
The Management of the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    152
    162
    92
    73
See reviews for
106
153
77
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in 3 different rooms over a two week period in November 2012 during a Voyages Jules Verne Tunisia tour. The staff were faultless, but there the story ends. Rooms are getting shabby with things like rails falling off bathroom walls, stained carpets, brown dirty tile grouting etc. In none of the rooms did the air conditioning work (we were told it wasn't summer any more and they turn off the A/C at some arbitrary date). This didn't help during an unexpected heat wave. 4 very sweaty sticky stuffy sleepless nights. The one night we slept with the balcony door open my wife got eaten by mozzies. Each room had a fridge...none of them worked. Restaurant food lacking variety unless you like pasta and pizza. All beef dishes undercooked and meat tough. Most turkey dishes overcooked and tough. Lamb chops suitable for re-soling shoes. Chicken dishes the best but check they are properly cooked through (had some bloody legs). One dish described as roast leg of lamb was a mush filled with floating ribs of some indeterminate origin. No pork in Tunisia but this is expected. Could go on about the food but you get the gist of our experience. Perhaps some of the problems were because we were there 'out of season' and the place was about 1/4 full at a generous estimate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fairman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gammarth hotels

Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I only stayed one night but did not enjoy it that much. The facility is run down and getting old. The room I was assigned had old and shabby carpet, an old bed cover and was not at all cosy. Size was good though. And internet worked well. Overall, it might be a good option given the price but if I can I will avoid it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariangela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent a couple of nights here as part of a tour of Tunisia. The public areas of the hotel are fine. Reception is light and airy, the main buffet restaurant is sizeable and quite pleasant and the swimming pool area is also pleasant. We thought the food in the buffet restaurant was reasonably good - we had breakfast and dinner here. There was quite a lot of choice - although vegetarians need to be aware that the concept of not eating meat and fish simply doesn't exist in Tunisia - you will need to check salads carefully for the addition of tuna or meat - and even if a chef tells you something is vegetarian it may not be. A willing tasting companion is handy. The big let down was the room itself - ours could have benefited from a hoover and the bathroom fixtures and fittings were very tired and shabby. Our ground floor room overlooked a rather neglected overgrown garden. Other room face onto the swimming pool area which would have been more pleasant. A number of members of our party, including ourselves found that when changing money up at reception unless you checked everything carefully you were likely to be under changed by a few dinar. Overall this hotel was just about OK to eat and sleep in while visiting sites nearby around Tunis but I wouldn't want to use it for any other purpose or stay any longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixie_dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The reception area is very impressive fast check in. Room ok clean and comfortable with free wifi. The beds were comfortable and spare pillows were available in the wardrobe. There was an old style TV not that we had time to use it. Bathroom clean and basic toiletries supplied. Clean soft fluffy white towels. Our room was clean and did not smell.

Very large swimming pool which is in the central courtyard of the hotel with rooms around the perimeter. We only stayed for the one night and found it to be very comfortable. The restaurant for dinner was very good having arrived quite late they stayed open for us. Breakfast was super, a decent selection and plenty of variety.

Tunisian wine at dinner was excellent.

The bar staff were far from efficient being served by one person who disappeared and someone else finished the order. Did not offer any change. Some of the waiting staff also conveniently forgot to give change. Keep an eye on your money when handing over cash as any change is forgotten. If paying in the restaurant make sure you keep your bill as you Will also be charged when you check out. Disappointed at the lack of honesty of the waiting and bar staff.
We found the hotel really clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazza6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
witzenhausen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Look for a room with Pool view. Demi pension is enough for your stomach if you dont want to add .eight kilos a week. Everythink is voran in the Hotel. Indoor and outdoor Pool,nice. Spa in souterrain.Reception English-speaking, understand german and french and arabic.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I've been a frequent guest since May 2012.
Main hall has great looks.
While redecorated rooms are more numerous by the day, most rooms are smelly and dirty. Redecoration doesn't include bath facilities. Equipment is at best random, missing towels, soap...
Your room may also be located near the disco, reception rooms, or the nearby noisy bar restaurant.
The swimming pool opening hours are stretched, and the pool is slimy.
Service is really poor. Just you try and wait for towels when they're missing in the room.
The restaurant is average, choice and tastes are OK. Themes repeat from one week to another. Beverages are sometimes served at the end of your meal. Spoons and glasses are frequently missing from the tables as well as smiles from the staff faces.
Really take time checking your bills, you may end up with 2 meals for the same night, or counterless bottles taken at the bar.
One last disappointment : I would have expected more politness. Just the other night I was back from work with my colleague and security tried to prevent us from coming in.
He asked :" Are you a resident?
-well, yes, off course.
-I don't believe you. I've never seen you.
-We each have a room.
- I really doubt it. I would know you."
As he saw me searching in my bag for my key, he reacted : "You really have a key? OK" and he litterally fled without proper excuses (or even looking at the key). I was really chocked. I thought he mistook us for prostitutes or party girls (with computers and business casual suits??!).
You will need change to get an internet cable from the reception desk. I advice you should take your own.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large. Rooms on the pool side are quieter. Redecorated rooms are near the recepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gammarth
0.8 mi away
The Residence Tunis
The Residence Tunis
#1 of 12 in Gammarth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
2.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis
0.6 mi away
Carthage Thalasso
Carthage Thalasso
#3 of 12 in Gammarth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Tunis
Ramada Plaza Tunis
#2 of 12 in Gammarth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
2.3 mi away
Regency Tunis Hotel
Regency Tunis Hotel
#4 of 6 in La Marsa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mouradi Gammarth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Gammarth

Property: El Mouradi Gammarth
Address: La Marsa | BP 597, Gammarth 2070, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Gammarth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Gammarth
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gammarth
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gammarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — El Mouradi Gammarth 5*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Mouradi Gammarth is situated alongside a beautiful beach of golden sand facing the forest of Gammarth and close to the town of La Marsa, once a summer resort for the beys (rulers) of Tunisia. It is near to the ruins of Carthage and the village of Sidi Bou Said and is 10 kilometres from Tunis-Carthage international airport and 15 kilometres from the capital Tunis. This new hotel is ideal both for holidays for pleasure and for business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Mouradi Gammarth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Gammarth Hotel Gammarth
El Mouradi Gammarth La Marsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing