We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still good!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Mouradi Gammarth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Mouradi Gammarth
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Gammarth
witzenhausen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Good location. 15 Min. from the airport carthage - but you don't hear any flights. Rooms are mid- or bigsize. Spa is a few years old - but friendly people, like all over the hotel. You need a car if you are going for some highlights (tunis downtown, sidi bou said, carthago,...) or you take a taxi. They are in front of the hotel all time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    149
    159
    91
    72
See reviews for
103
151
75
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cakovec, Croatia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

The hotel was great. A little bit to big. i Got lost in it 3 times. But when i combine all together, i would choose the same hotel if visiting next time.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Saša V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

Before booking this hotel, i have went through some from the below comments but regret to inform you that most of the below informations was not true & accurate.
Second time to Go to Tunisie, last time i have stayed in Hammamat, and i was looking for another destination and being recommended for Gammarth.
I am working in the hotel industry since 15 years throughout different international chains, and now in Accor, and according to what i felt and being expreinced with in El Mouradi Gammarth, i see that it can be good for maximum 03 stars rating.
Staff are giving wrong information with regards to the hotel services: in door pool was opened for 24hr and reception told me that it's until 18:00pm and upon my depart it was extended to be 22:00pm, no internet in the hotel for 04 days. no one is allowed to go in the street after 20:00pm, so i expected to find any kind of entertainment or internet or night club opened or anything else. but unfortunately i found nothing except to the main restaurant and the bar.
Lobby is nice and huge but furniture colours are all the same. no mix no changing. you can imagine the huge lobby which can accomodate almost 100 pax (setting) with the same style and decoration.
Rooms decoration is very poor, bathroom lighting is very low, bathub in very bad conditions. and by the way i have booked with higher price and the hotel was almost empty (only 10 rooms occupied) but they have allocated my room at the end of the corridor. reaching my room you have to pass through a corridoy of 25 rooms!! (and the hotel was empty).!!!
Food & Beverages: nothing to comment as you have to get the expreience..... and trust me you will take the decision to not return back to Tunis again.
Breakfast items can be less or not, it's not a big issue as at the end it's a Breakfast. we can go with Cheese, egg, Yogourt, etc... it can be fine daily. but trust me you can not eat the same (set menu dinner) daily. same soupe, same 3 main dishes (which you can choice one) and desert can be 03 pieces of mandarine or 04 pieces of mini Gateau. can you eat the same everyday. i was asking what will do the client in case of staying for 07 days or more??? i think he will become like a cat eating the same everyday. even the salad is the same. (main course and other foods without any teste).
Last night i got crazy and asked the restaurant manager to bring me any other kind of foof, even fried egg or cheese platter as i dont like the chef's food as it's without any teste. and when he asked the chef he returned back to me that all the hotel staff and other clients are happy with his food and addore eating it everyday.
Accordingly, i have wrote all my experience and left it to their respective General Manager to know what is going into his hotel.
For People who would like to go to Tunis, i would recommend Concorde le berger (in the lake area) 10mn far from the aeroport but arround to everything such as restautants, shops, etc... (but no beach in the hotel). or to Moevenpick Gammarth very nice hotel also 20 mn far from the airport but you will need a taxi to go to any place (nothing arround).
and there is a wonderful place in Tunisie called (Le cafe des delices) located in Sidi Bou Saidi. you should go there, trust me it's the best view and location that you can dream with having tea or coffee there in your life (but didnt serve alcoholic) but you should go there, also there is a restaurant called Tam Tam (WOOOO). my email is h1789-sl@accor.com if you need any additional information please let me know... wish you a safe & quite trip

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aemam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gammarth hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
129 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2010

I have stayed at El Mouradi Gammarth and frequently have clients stay at this hotel, as it offers a price and a nice seaside location that make it a more reasonably priced hotel than its nearby competitors. The management seems to not see "service" as something that is part of the hotel. While the property itself is beautiful and well located for those who like the Mediterranean location and proximity to Tunis area, the rooms are fine, but calling them "deluxe" is an exaggeration. The staff, particularly the front desk staff, seem to have little regard for service or that trying to please clients is better than not trying! We frequently book clients at the hotel, since the location and price are reasonable, but the management's attitude seems to be that service is not important. Clients frequently complain that there are some rooms that smell. Even when the hotel has many empty rooms, rather than provide clients with a room with a nice view, we frequently find the staff assigns rooms that overlook a dumpster and only after appealing for a room change, will they on occasion, accomodate. These impressions are consistant, not exceptions. All in all, for the price, if one does not have high expectations based on web photos and providing you are not staying more than a couple of nights, it is worth staying...simply don't expect to be staying at a deluxe resort.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryTheRugGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

Carpets in many areas are filthy, surely they can get a carpet cleaning company in!! Internet service is confusing, you can either use WiFi in lobby or cable in room but not both!! Internet 8 Dinar per hour, 20 Dinar 24 hours or 35 Dinars for 48 hours.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

I went to Tunisia to have a plastic surgery and therefore did not chose the hotel. I spent a week from 18 to 26 September.

We arrived around 2pm with my mum and had to wait for about 3h for the room to be ready. They tried to propose a few rooms that were ready, but they very small, dark and filthy. In the end the room we received was nearly worth the wait. On the second floor above the reception facing the pool and sea. It was cleaner that the ones we had seen and very big, very nice bathroom and balcony. Thank God it was not during school holidays, and the weather was not great, otherwise it would have been very noisy with the animation taking place just in front of our windows.

The reception was rude and helpless during all our stay. The cleaning lady could never leave the room having all the towels ready, but that's a detail.

The best part was the restaurant. The buffet was huge, lots of salads, vegetables, meats, couscous, fruits and deserts. Most of it was good regarding the quantity, I even found some of it delicious ! Most of the waiters were very helpful and always kind and polite.

My mother tried the thalasso, but it was kind of a disaster. They were rushing from room to room, she came more stressed than when she walked in there,

Overall the week was OK, but probably because I didn't use most of the facilities due to my surgery and the weather which was not really sunny.

There's not much to do around there except walk on the beach, the hotel was quite lifeless even if it was full. And last thing, internet is not wifi in the room, but only in the lobby, you'll need a wire if you want to use your laptop in your room. And it's quite expensive... I really don't understand why hotels don't offer this service for free !!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tweetybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

Good points : Nice exterior, impressive lobby, good sized rooms. Reasonable sized pool. Main buffet, good variety of food. Service good in the buffet, pool and beach bars.

Bad points : Poor service at the Pizzeria and reception. Once at reception, we were short changed on changing money, intentionally I believe. When we complained to the manager about it, the man behind the desk looked quite sheepish! When you ask for things, you are told 5 minutes, this can mean anything up to hours! One restaurant was apparantley booked up by a party for a month and another was closed. ALL INCLUSIVE MEANS EVERYTING INCLUDED!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GerardGormley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gammarth
0.6 mi away
Carthage Thalasso
Carthage Thalasso
#3 of 13 in Gammarth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Residence Tunis
The Residence Tunis
#1 of 13 in Gammarth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Tunis
Ramada Plaza Tunis
#2 of 13 in Gammarth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis
2.3 mi away
Regency Tunis Hotel
Regency Tunis Hotel
#3 of 7 in La Marsa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mouradi Gammarth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Gammarth

Property: El Mouradi Gammarth
Address: La Marsa | BP 597, Gammarth 2070, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Gammarth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gammarth
#3 Spa Hotel in Gammarth
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gammarth
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gammarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — El Mouradi Gammarth 5*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Mouradi Gammarth is situated alongside a beautiful beach of golden sand facing the forest of Gammarth and close to the town of La Marsa, once a summer resort for the beys (rulers) of Tunisia. It is near to the ruins of Carthage and the village of Sidi Bou Said and is 10 kilometres from Tunis-Carthage international airport and 15 kilometres from the capital Tunis. This new hotel is ideal both for holidays for pleasure and for business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your El Mouradi Gammarth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Gammarth Hotel Gammarth
El Mouradi Gammarth La Marsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing