We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas on the beach”
Review of Ramada Plaza Tunis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Tunis
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Gammarth
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

New to trip advisor so bit late with review,,stayed here with 3 friends 2 weeks all inclusive,originaly booked in to another hotel but walk out after about an hour and the Ramadan was a welcoming choice,excellent food,very helpful staff,cleaners who not only cleaned but where very helpful and great to have a chat with,pool was great ,spent Xmas morning on the beach then 3 course dinner with Santa,would Defently spend Xmas here again,,get close to the beach and nice bus ride to the markets

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHRIS m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAMADAPlazaTunis, Responsable relations clients at Ramada Plaza Tunis, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Chris

Thank you for taking a few minutes to write a comment on Trip Advisor.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
All the Staff and Management will be more than happy to welcome you again in the RAMADA Plaza Tunis, your home in Tunisia.
Please feel free to contact us at any time for your future stay. And I’ll be glad to welcome personally in our property for your next visit.

Sincerely

Sami AKROUT
Quality & Environment Responsible

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 424 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

I booked into the Ramada Plaza Tunis for a few days with my wife and young child. The hotel is located a little way back from the beach (it is a semi-private one), but there is an extensive outdoor pool and a small indoor heated pool. We visited in January which meant that it was too cold to swim outdoors but the indoor pool was rarely crowded. We were often the only ones using it.

The staff are very friendly and gave us great service. My wife left her phone in a restaurant in La Marsa (about 15 minutes drive away) and the Ramada concierge Mohamed drove to the restaurant and picked it up for us. We were very grateful.

Hotel food was slightly pricey but there was a good choice. It being the offseason there was only a limited choice (as several restaurants were closed) but the buffet was good and varied enough. Breakfast is also a buffet with hot food, definitely enough to make us forgo lunch a couple of times.

The hotel location is somewhat out of the way, about 20 minutes from central Tunis, but it is relatively close to the suburb of Sidi Bou Said, and about 10 minutes drive from the historical sites at Carthage. We had fun travelling around on our own, and there are taxis waiting outside the hotel on the off chance that a guest might want one. Avoid cab 2086 - that driver likes to take the long routes to charge more. We took an unnecessary round the lake trip on our way to the Bardo museum - nearly 40 minutes.

The facilities are a little tired, but usable and clean. No worries there.

Room Tip: Request rooms overlooking the pool, on the opposite wing to the restaurants. These are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JinWee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

thanks to being part of a chain it is Forced to provide vaguely decent breakfast, except crepe coffee.
rooms good
restaurant fine
pool good
crazy design means some bedrooms you go upstairs from to get lift down, or walk with luggage - tnx architect muppet.
staff pleasant but service v. leisurely

Room Tip: avoid 1st floor like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abelljms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed for a full week on business. The hotel is catering as a business centre given the number of conferences which were held during my stay (one of them I was attending) but the required facilities are not fully in place. One above all, the internet connection in the rooms was of very poor quality and not only in mine since several people complained about it. To add to that, the staff was not very helpful in trying to fix problems as each time I had to call at least 3 times before anything was done. The room was OK, good size and fairly comfortable. Bathroom kind of run down though. Breakfast was average and food quality not very high. Most restaurants were closed due to the season. I did not try the spa but the gym was in rather poor conditions with very old machinery some of which not working. Free shuttle to/from the airport is provided.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariangela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAMADAPlazaTunis, Responsable relations clients at Ramada Plaza Tunis, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Mari Angela,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your stay at the Ramada plaza Tunis.

I would like to apologize for the series of challenges faced during your time here. We take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction however; very unfortunately, on this occasion we did not meet your expectations.

I have addressed all your comments with our colleagues to ensure situations like this do not occur again.

It is indeed our job to ensure all our guest’s leave having had a great stay and am sorry that was not delivered.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Ramada Plaza Tunis . I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again to re-instill your faith in our product and services.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly .

Sincerly

Sami AKROUT
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Mainly business Hotel whilst we were there. Bathroom grouting needs cleaning but very large room with its own seperate roomed loo. Tea/coffee making facilities available but no milk or milk subtitute. 4 home baked macaroons in the room on arrival - yummy. 2 small bottles of water always available in room. My room was opposite the Discoteque Insomnia and Never Sleep, thank goodness never heard a thing, don't know if just quiet or they were shut. Lovely smelling complimentary shampoo, bath oil and moisturiser. Net curtains could do with a good wash. Interesting architecture of corridors to bedrooms. Magnetic card entry was very very poor with many a trip back to reception to get it "re-charged" as our guide called it. Energy saving light bulbs. Close to small private beach. I found the food very tasty.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoshtravellerJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Nice place with comfortable rooms but the advertised facilities were lacking.
Without exaggeration I would think the hotel only has 100 guests (rooms numbered to 3000+), this would explain why only one of the four restaurants was open all week, no snacks for lunch you had to buy a meal from the bar menu. The pool bar opened occasionally (no food/snacks for kids) and the pool and Animation attendant looked after the 'sports'. For the three tennis courts there were only four raquet and five balls. The shooting, archery, gym and pool table were closed. Positively the pool and beach were great but the attendant took away the chair covers at 6pm and left us all on the plastic seats.
Unless your French is good you will struggle, the waiters and reception staff have limited English and the hotel is geared up for French speakers.
You cannot walk anywhere outside the hotel. you need a taxi to town but the fares are cheap and the rides can be hair-raising. This does mean though again your stuck with the one restaurant at the buffet price of roughly £20 per head plus drinks or the Bar menu which is limited but reasonable in price. The food is good though and the drinks are a little cheaper than the UK.
Staff were polite and friendly but oh so slow. average time for a drink ; 10 mins and for a pizza : 30 mins. Note , there is no bar open so you have to order your drinks via the waiters.

Room Tip: Ask for a side room overlooking the pool on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This place is worth every Dinar being conveniently located to the airport, restaurants, scenic places and a relaxing atmosphere. While a little far from the hustle and bustle of Tunis, that could be a good thIng for many people. The reception area is beautiful and the staff are very helpful. The rooms are a bit dated but the view from ones facing the sea are really nice with the breezes from the water. The restaurants were excellent for value, quality, choice and service. We also hosted a reception there and it went extremely well thanks to the management. The property is also close to historic places such as Sidi Bou Said and Carthage

Room Tip: End unit facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTFLORIDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gammarth
0.2 mi away
Carthage Thalasso
Carthage Thalasso
#3 of 12 in Gammarth
379 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Mouradi Gammarth
El Mouradi Gammarth
#4 of 12 in Gammarth
647 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence Tunis
The Residence Tunis
#1 of 12 in Gammarth
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis
2.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis
1.8 mi away
Regency Tunis Hotel
Regency Tunis Hotel
#4 of 6 in La Marsa
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Tunis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Tunis

Address: Les Cotes De Carthage, Gammarth 2070, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Gammarth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gammarth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gammarth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gammarth
Price Range: $79 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramada Plaza Tunis 5*
Number of rooms: 309
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ramada Plaza Tunis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Tunis Hotel Gammarth
Ramada Hotel Plaza Tunis
Ramada Gammarth
Gammarth Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing