We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Djerba Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Flamingo Beach
Ranked #72 of 104 Hotels in Djerba Island
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We do anything to avoid the new “stack ‘em-high approach to modern sardine holidays, (your holiday pics may have been taken anywhere in the world!) This little gem emerged when seeking to avoid the above. We were met and welcomed by Nabil and Hela Bouabid who with their fantastic staff hosted us for two memorable weeks treating us like royalty.

A fine breakfast, followed by a quiet spot of sunbathing, book reading, siestas, and an occasional dip in the pool (still a little nippy in May, with Arched in constant attendance to satisfy our every wish, (and don’t miss out on the “snack lunches). And finally. Dinner. With Mahomet, the best chef in Djerba (the prawns are to die for!) and a choice of excellent wines recommended by Racheed, I cannot imagine that even Mr Winner (of UK Sunday Times fame) would do anything other than enthouse!
Alas, the situation in Libya has had a dramatic effect on bookings, so we were the only residents. It really was as if we were staying with friends in their luxury villa! We paid no attention to warnings from friends, and indeed found the lack of tourism an added bonus. WE encountered no evidence of any unrest anywhere on the island; only enquiries from locals as to why there were so few benefitting from their beautiful climate and friendly hospitality.
Undoubtedly we will be going back!

Room Tip: Overlooking the sea / pool?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank AudnAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 96 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2010

Spent a few days at the Flamingo Beach hotel. We arrived at around 1am and the staff on reception couldn't have been more helpful. When I mentioned I was feeling hungry they went off to the kitchen to see what they could find and brought back a snack. The staff are lovely and they will go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The hotel is small and friendly and the decor is simple but charming and tasteful. If you are looking for poolside cocktails, luxurious sunloungers and big fluffy towels and bathrobes , then this isn't the place you; there are plenty of hotels in the area which can off you that but they can't offer the personal, friendly service which Nabil and Hela and their staff can offer. They made our stay comfortable and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shazzasdelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

My partner and stayed at the Flamingo beach and absolutely loved our stay. It is quiet classy, simple, with attention on the little things that make a holiday memorable. The service is comparable with staying with family. So nice, so kind, so helpful. I will definately recommend this above all other hotels in the area. You pay little you get soooo much more.

All the best regards to Nabil and his exceptional team. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yaserali1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

We wanted a human size hotel in Djerba. The service was personal and first quality. We made good use of the pools on the back as well of the beach in front mostly used by local family. The kindness of the owners and the staff made our stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cobroleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

My thoughts are this:
If you're looking for a good, sea view kind of place, You have found a perfect spot.
The service is very flexible, a very top notch 3 star hotel that I would move up to 4!
Great for families, couples, anyone.
Their lunch and diner restaurant is rather expensive, $15-20 in price for a main course.
It comes with breakfast, a very nice, light meal with yogurt, bread, croissants, and cheeses and butter. For kids they also have hot chocolate.
Their small pool is fun but a little cold during spring.
For especially little ones, they even have a baby pool!
Across the street there is a beach with banana boating, kitesurfing, jet ski, parachute, and many others.
Truly one of my favorite hotels.
In short: Great small intimate family-run hotel. Wonderful service, closest you can get to the water. Hear the waves in your room.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cooldude10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

If you like the big hotels with all the trimmings and packed with groups the Flamingo Hotel is not for you. After driving around Southern Tunisia for over a week we ended up in Djerba and decided to have a look at the Zona Touristic. Not overly impressed so started to head back to Houmt Souk when we noticed the Flamingo. The staff were more than helpful and offered a good rate for a double room with sea view and overlooking the pool... beach 30 steps away. Having its own alacarte restaurant sold us and the food was excellent at reasonable cost. All staff were friendly and helpful and the owner Nabil Bouabid always seemed to be around and asking if every thing was ok. A comfortable quiet gem.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank QueenslandDavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We were disappointed with our stay at the Flamingo Beach Hotel. After two weeks' backpacking we booked in here for a little luxury and were spending easily three times more than we'd paid for any other hotel in Tunisia (approx. £120 pn for a double room - more than the price on the hotel's own website).

Don't be fooled; this hotel's nowhere near the same standard as the all-inclusive resort hotels nearby, and it doesn't have its own beach so you have to use the thin public beach opposite.

The double room was nice, with an acutal double bed and a balcony overlooking the small hotel pool. Little flowers adorned our bed on arrival. But the towels were old and thin, and the shower didn't run hot. (Both my partner and I took showers at 3pm and 11am and despite running the water for at least 10mins the water was lukewarm at best.) The shower itself was rusty and wouldn't stay up. Some of the furniture was also worse-for-wear.

We ate dinner in the hotel - the food was fine (large portions) and the wine was reasonably priced. Breakfast was the usual bread and jam.

At first the staff seemed friendly and couldn't do enough for us. But on our early departure we raised the hot water with the landlady, who tested the water in the room. When the water ran hot she implied we had made up our concerns to get a discount.

For this price we expected hot water - and certainly didn't expect to be accused of lying.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamnMaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Djerba Island hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Dar El Bhar
Hotel Dar El Bhar
#2 of 3 in Playa Sidi Mehrez
167 reviews
0 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Les jardins de Toumana
Les jardins de Toumana
#17 of 46 in Midoun
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 46 in Midoun
2,291 reviews
0 mi away
TUI MAGIC LIFE Penelope Beach
0 mi away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#2 of 104 in Djerba Island
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flamingo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flamingo Beach

Address: Plage Sidi Mahrez, Djerba Island 4179, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Djerba Island
Price Range: $29 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel
Flamingo Beach Djerba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing