We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't all that good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Djerba Haroun
Ranked #63 of 102 Hotels in Djerba Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wasn't all that good”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Animation
Well what can I say other than they cannot break dance and shows not that good. Blacky and Haikel are the worst animation boys I have met they say to you do you like to go disco say no as they make you pay for everything even though they say they would pay if you don't have money. Also they are rude and ignorant and think they are better than everyone. Momo and Fadhel are really nice and are genuine. Beware all animation are looking for one thing in this hotel.

Food
Well we went out most of time across the road due to the fact food was repetitive and meat was raw in the middle.

Bar
No alcohol hardly only wine, whisky, beer. Rubbish staff dont speak english properly.

Reception
Cannot change more than £40 absolutely rubbish if you need to pay for trips.

Hotel isnt that clean floor was dirty and marked and the rooms got flooded out with rain. Hotel needs sorting big time.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feriel E, Responsable commercial at Hotel Djerba Haroun, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Kristina,

Thank you for taking your time to write your review of our hotel, your comments are very much valued.
We appreciate in particular your comments about the animation and the food and beverage departments. Customer Satisfaction is important to us. We would like to satisfy all guests and apologize for not meeting your standards during your stay.
We will look certainly into each of the points you have made and ventilate these problems with those responsible to make sure that our management takes the appropriate steps.

During your stay we had bad weather with exceptional amounts of rainfall, something we are not used to. We are looking for possible solutions to avoid this situation in the future and We have recently changed hotel management are in progress of attracting new employees for our animation and F&B departments and reviewing our procedures to improve the holiday experience of our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Djerba and hope you will give us a second chance to convince you with a better service.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    135
    60
    44
    34
See reviews for
71
132
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We booked this all inclusive late for £311 3*. For the price the staff have been fantastic the hotel has been spotless and the maids make the room look nice everyday arranging towels and bedding into swans and flowers! Everyone is very friendly sometimes a little too friendly at times. The entertainers are brilliant and full of fun and keep you active playing pool volley ball, darts etc. And provide energetic entertainment every night. Downsides are that it's basically in the middle of nowhere and a taxi to get anywhere! One grumpy bar man who seemed to grudge getting ice. Easy to change money and lots of day trips if that's what your after.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kazooie12371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melleka0402, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Djerba Haroun, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Hello,

We would like to thank you very much for your nice review about your last staying in our hotel.
Please note that this review is a fantastic encouragement for our staff and we that we keep looking for improving our service and facilities' quality.

Looking forward to welcoming you very soon,

Bst Regards,

The Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here for a week could not have been treated any better the people where so friendly and could not do enough for you, the food you pay for what you get i suppose. The place was spotless and people always cleaning! The animation team where amazing and kept us entertained day and night with fun activities for all ages especially Khmoussi Blacky and Haykel Hyabzouza.

Room Tip: clean friendly basic food but great entertainment fun and family friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melleka0402, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Djerba Haroun, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you very much for your nice review about your last staying in our

hotel.

Please note that this review is a fantastic encouragement for our staff and be sure that we

keep looking for improving our service and facilities' quality.

Looking forward to welcoming you again very soon,

Best Regards,

The Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

spent short stay, many bad ratings from last year but hotel seems totally renewed in a kind of trendy, design style, called Smartline?
good food, friendly people, extra: there is a private beach! which was not in the description...
for the price paid, excellent value!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank teejay1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melleka0402, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Djerba Haroun, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you very much for your nice review about your last staying in our

hotel.

Please note that this review is a fantastic encouragement for our staff and be sure that we

keep looking for improving our service and facilities' quality.

Looking forward to welcoming you again very soon,

Best Regards,

The Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed from the 3 /04 for 10 days
The just re-opend on the first off April.
The room was verry clean,we stayed on the swimming-pool side ,
The food was daily different,nice cooked,and frech.
The staf is verry helpful and verry nice.
We had a nice stay ,and we go back.Thanks to all for the nice holliday.
Gr Tanja & Pascal

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TVD2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melleka0402, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Djerba Haroun, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you very much for your nice review about your last staying in our

hotel.

Please note that this review is a fantastic encouragement for our staff and be sure that we

keep looking for improving our service and facilities' quality.

Looking forward to welcoming you again very soon,

Best Regards,

The Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed as family with 3 kids 2 adults in a quad room on full board. We paid almost £500 and were disappointed. All the staff were helpful and hardworking. We have visited this country four times before and are very open minded family. The room had wardrobe doors missing. None of the guest telephone worked.no sound insulation so music until 11pm was hard for my kids as very loud even with all windows shut. Out of the 7 light switches for the room only 3 worked, so we barely got by. We were only offered 2 bath towels. New towels were provided at the end of day, I suspect old ones laundered and then delivered, this was pathetic and very I'll equipped to say the least. Flat screen tv did not have aerial connection that stayed put so picture was very poor. Toilet door did not close if being used and it hit you knees whilst being closed! Imagine! Breakfast poor in terms of quantity and variety. Omelettes made as you like, plenty bread, re used hard stale crossiants let them done. Yoghurt, honey depleted quickly and was never re filled. Poor poor poor. Lunch not much better. Only 2 main dishes cooked, boiled veg, no attempt at presentation made. Bread, bread, salads un inspiring but better then the Cooke options. This was not as Tunisian food is no good- it is lovely. But the cost per head the chef was stuck with could only result in this. Depressing. I don't need to describe dinner! Nothing really outside hotel in walking distance, small supermarket, that's all. I feel guilty to have to leave my first 'terrible rating' review but it is what it is. Hopefully manager will take some notice or just sell up.

Room Tip: Please don't stay here, told the Isis nearby is cheaper and better thought of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank londonrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melleka0402, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Djerba Haroun, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
Dear Guests,

The General Management of the Smartline Haroun Hotel thank you very moch for your kind review posted on TripAdvisor.

Please note that the Haroun Hotel Djerba became "Smartline Haroun Djerba" (a brand of Thomas Cook©)in 2014. The Hotel has been totally repainted, refurbished, the service has been hugely impoved to match the most required international hotel standards.

May we kindly suggest you to have a look to the hotel's new photos and more recent comments.

Kindly Yours,

Smartline Haroun Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Djerba Island hotels

Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2007

Ít is a nice and cozy hotel but you cannot ask too much of it or its staff.
As a tunisian hotel every things gets to be argued about the price (we got there very late on the 1st night and were told at the reception that we had a free meal at the Bistro. Well after some time on the check off day, we convinced the receptionist that this was what had been told and only paid the water...
If one is not expecting for a clean room every day nor for a lot it is an "ok hotel" to stay in
cristina, portugal

  • Liked — location to the beach
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sojacream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melleka0402, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Djerba Haroun, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
The General Management of the Smartline Haroun Hotel thank you very moch for your kind review posted on TripAdvisor.

Please note that the Haroun Hotel Djerba became "Smartline Haroun Djerba" (a brand of Thomas Cook©)in 2014. The Hotel has been totally repainted, refurbished, the service has been hugely impoved to match the most required international hotel standards.

May we kindly suggest you to have a look to the hotel's new photos and more recent comments.

Kindly Yours,

Smartline Haroun Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Djerba Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Les jardins de Toumana
Les jardins de Toumana
#18 of 44 in Midoun
120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Isis Hotel Thalasso and Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dar El Bhar
Hotel Dar El Bhar
#3 of 3 in Playa Sidi Mehrez
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Green Palm
Green Palm
#15 of 44 in Midoun
625 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Djerba Les Dunes
Hotel Djerba Les Dunes
#6 of 10 in Houmt Souk
707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les Sirenes
Les Sirenes
#85 of 102 in Djerba Island
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Djerba Haroun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Djerba Haroun

Property: Hotel Djerba Haroun
Address: Zone Touristique | Route Sidi Zekri, Djerba Island 4180, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Djerba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Djerba Haroun 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This year Smartline Haroun Djerba has undergone extensive refurbishing. The commons have been totally rethought in terms of decoration and services. We brought in a modern touch without giving away the typical and "local flavor" characteristic of the unit. The food and beverage areas have also been totally changed with a new buffet concept, a new offer at the pool restaurant and even the beach has totally been refurbished. The rooms are completely renewed with a new look to them bringing more comfort at the same time. We would be honored to have you as guests of the newly refurbished Smartline Haroun Great future holidays with us. The management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Djerba Haroun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haroun Hotel Djerba
Djerba Haroun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing