We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a calm vacation/Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palace Royal Garden
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Djerba Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2014

+ Perfect for a calm vacation at the pool/beach in a tropical climate
+ Very clean rooms, well maintained garden
+ Very, very nice pool area
+ Wide variety kitchen, no "turista"
+ Friendly and helpfull staff, although a lot of tips are given it is not obliged
+ All-in = all-in (even bottles of water which is very good!)

- Although the beach is close, there is not a lot of view on the sea from the hotel premises
- There is not a lot to see in the amenities of the hotel/Djerba (but this was fine for us, we didn't expect it!). Try to book a guided visit to the Sahara with your travel agency, it's well worth visiting the Tunisia main land.

PS: There are a lot of sellers at the beach but luckilly "no" means "no" so they don't bother you any further.

We spoke to a lot of people who where there for the 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th,... time and we can see why.

In general: very good value for money!

From the Djerba Zarzis Aiport: approx. 40 minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ERTMSPRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (897)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Palace Royal Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 899 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

Me and my girlfriend were in need of some good quality relax time, sun, beach, some good books and good food. We almost got everything we wanted....

Just to clarify, the Hotel is very nice, a huge palace with a very nice garden, the rooms are spacious and comfortably, unfortunately, not sure if that was only for our room or also for others, in the early morning an awful smell of sewage was invading my room and we had to close the windows.

The big outdoor swimming pool was the place we spent most of the time, it is beautiful and spacious, i never felt it was too crowded. We don't really like animation so we really didn't care too much about that, good point is they were not too persistent after as no.

That was for us the small paradise corner, sun, relax, swimming, good facilities. Ah...good times!

The beach was really no good, lot of very sharp stones and a very grey/muddy water, we spent no more than half hour before deciding that it was better to completely forget about the sea....too bad because we love the sea and i was hoping to do some snorkling.

The food was abundant but no very good, it was only ok and with good variety, they also have additional internal restaurant, the italian one was ok, the tunisian one was very good and i strongly suggest to try it.

Also, a bad surprise, after the first 3 days inexplicably they shut down the jacuzzi which was a perfect way to end your day before getting back to the room for the dinner. We asked what was the problem to the wellness responsible but he didn't know and he didn't do anything to fix it.

I also found (in the most horrible way) that one of the bottle in the minibar was refilled with tap water....with the consequences of the case.....also not nice.

With a bit more care for the guests and some improvements in the restaurant this place can really become top class but if you want beaches and sea I would not recommend it.

All in all we had a pleasant vacation but with some flaws....

Room Tip: Ask for a room with pool view or you'll get the sewage smell.....
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shimond007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Back yet again for the 2nd time this year, making this our 5th visit in total. So why keep coming back when there are so many other resorts in the world? We feel at home with the friendly staff, "own room" on request, get good value for money with the "All-IN" deal, even have the same place to sit at the pool-side. Many are like us and just keep returning so you will easily meet the same people each time which creates a family atmosphere.

We could venture to another hotel on Djerba since the sun and sea would be the same but then would the rest match the Royal Palace Garden with respect to food, room size, pool and friendly staff. Any ideas anyone?

Wine
The free Tunisian red, white or rose is drinkable but other Tunisian wines are available at extra cost. As with any wine occasionally a bottle will taste "corked" so then don't hesitate to change it even though it is free. The waiter will certainly oblige.

Being regulars at RIU resorts we receive a RIU Class card which enables points to be collected for each visit made. These points are very useful since they can be exchanged for hotel "sundries" including wine and laundry. It's an additional luxury to return home with a suitcase full of clean, ironed clothes!

Tennis
At last efforts have been made to improve the court surface with plenty of red clay and regular watering, and spruce up the surrounds with some paint.

WI-FI
This is now in principle available throughout the hotel but often the reception was poor and unreliable. For many it is a great extra service but very frustrating when it does not work.

No doubt we will be back again, unless Tripadvisor has something better to offer....

Room Tip: Room on far right or far left are quieter
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TennisFanAJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I spend my holiday in this hotel this summer. Already for the 3rd time ! People are sooo nice and friendly. The hotel is very clean, the food is excellent. Everytime it feels like coming home to me !
The beach is amazing. Really - for me - the most beautiful beach to relax or do watersports.
Its the finest place to be ! Try and see for yourself. I bet you go back. This is really what you expect of a 5 star hotel.
I'm going back on the 25th of october. See you there ?
Patricia

Room Tip: Rooms along the side of the hotel and on the side of the golfcours are very quiet. Rooms looking ov...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank patricia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed for a week. Check in at 02:00 am, but fast and a light meal waiting us in the room. Good standard room offered by this type of hotel, quiet and spacious. Very good cleaning service of rooms, but also in the gardens and surroundings. Fantastic breakfast and other meals, despite offering little fruit varied. Staff somewhat dour we have been told that in the month of Ramadan we should be more tolerant. Good indoor pool, Jacuzzi, gym and good supply of spa services at good price. Fantastic beach, with plenty of shades and sunbeds. The sea calm, and warm was delightful. Vendors that pass the beach was invited by security to stay out of the shade zone. So you allways have peace of mind unless you intend to go talk to thode vendors and deal with them. It's your choice.
If you want to relax, a good place with excelent beach, pool, food, etc. it is an excelent choice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are quieter
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afcg60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed for a week last summer and only just getting round to the review.
The arrival via thomsons/first choice was very organised even though several coaches arriving at once. Quick check in with a nice drink welcoming you at the door.
Gorgeous room with views out to the pool and sea, most rooms will have this view due to the shape of the hotel , unless your unlucky enough to get the other side of the corridor.
Pool is very big and plenty of sun beds.
Beach is absolutely gorgeous, crystal blue sea and very peaceful. You can even use the hotel catamarans, pedelos for free on the beach.

Food was delicious and varied. You get assigned your own table for the whole of your stay so no wandering around looking for an empty one, you just walk straight up-to your table in the evening... Lovely touch

No entertainment around the pool and only let down is the hotel entertainment is the typical cheesy rubbish.

Piano bar off the lobby is really nice and actually feels like a bar, unlike some hotel bars.

In whole very quiet island, we took a taxi out for the day and travelled all way round stopping when we wanted and this was cheaper than hiring a car.

Would recommend if you want a quiet holiday on a beautiful beach...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

If you like fun, come here! Loved everything about the hotel. Special thanks to the beautiful, talented Rola, my sweety Aladin; Alex from the hotel shop and Kamel who was professional and made sure I was always happy!

All the staff are wonderful and work hard to give you a great RIU experience. Love to you all and I shall return same time next year!

Nadia

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fivestarBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Djerba Island hotels
4.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba
0.6 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 46 in Midoun
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#3 of 103 in Djerba Island
1,613 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa Djerba
2.4 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Palm Beach Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace Royal Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Royal Garden

Address: Zone Touristique Sidi Akkour P.B.83, Djerba Island 04116, Tunisia (Formerly Hotel Riu Palace Royal Garden)
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Djerba Island
#7 Luxury Hotel in Djerba Island
#7 Spa Hotel in Djerba Island
Price Range: $110 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palace Royal Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the island of Djerba * 3-storey building, oriental style architecture * Surrounded by 20,000 m2 of garden * Opposite the "Djerba" 27-hole golf course * 200 m from the beach * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach * 6 km from downtown Midoun * 18 km from downtown Houmt Souk * 6 km from various shops * 25 km from the Djerba airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palace Royal Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Palace Royal Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing