We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palace Royal Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Palace Royal Garden
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Djerba Island
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I spend my holiday in this hotel this summer. Already for the 3rd time ! People are sooo nice and friendly. The hotel is very clean, the food is excellent. Everytime it feels like coming home to me !
The beach is amazing. Really - for me - the most beautiful beach to relax or do watersports.
Its the finest place to be ! Try and see for yourself. I bet you go back. This is really what you expect of a 5 star hotel.
I'm going back on the 25th of october. See you there ?
Patricia

Room Tip: Rooms along the side of the hotel and on the side of the golfcours are very quiet. Rooms looking ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank patricia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    297
    90
    21
    11
See reviews for
239
404
44
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed for a week. Check in at 02:00 am, but fast and a light meal waiting us in the room. Good standard room offered by this type of hotel, quiet and spacious. Very good cleaning service of rooms, but also in the gardens and surroundings. Fantastic breakfast and other meals, despite offering little fruit varied. Staff somewhat dour we have been told that in the month of Ramadan we should be more tolerant. Good indoor pool, Jacuzzi, gym and good supply of spa services at good price. Fantastic beach, with plenty of shades and sunbeds. The sea calm, and warm was delightful. Vendors that pass the beach was invited by security to stay out of the shade zone. So you allways have peace of mind unless you intend to go talk to thode vendors and deal with them. It's your choice.
If you want to relax, a good place with excelent beach, pool, food, etc. it is an excelent choice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afcg60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed for a week last summer and only just getting round to the review.
The arrival via thomsons/first choice was very organised even though several coaches arriving at once. Quick check in with a nice drink welcoming you at the door.
Gorgeous room with views out to the pool and sea, most rooms will have this view due to the shape of the hotel , unless your unlucky enough to get the other side of the corridor.
Pool is very big and plenty of sun beds.
Beach is absolutely gorgeous, crystal blue sea and very peaceful. You can even use the hotel catamarans, pedelos for free on the beach.

Food was delicious and varied. You get assigned your own table for the whole of your stay so no wandering around looking for an empty one, you just walk straight up-to your table in the evening... Lovely touch

No entertainment around the pool and only let down is the hotel entertainment is the typical cheesy rubbish.

Piano bar off the lobby is really nice and actually feels like a bar, unlike some hotel bars.

In whole very quiet island, we took a taxi out for the day and travelled all way round stopping when we wanted and this was cheaper than hiring a car.

Would recommend if you want a quiet holiday on a beautiful beach...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

If you like fun, come here! Loved everything about the hotel. Special thanks to the beautiful, talented Rola, my sweety Aladin; Alex from the hotel shop and Kamel who was professional and made sure I was always happy!

All the staff are wonderful and work hard to give you a great RIU experience. Love to you all and I shall return same time next year!

Nadia

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fivestarBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
177 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

There was some biz to go in Tunisia and I´ve decided to stay for a night on the island of Djerba prior heading for the homebase. Arrived in the afternoon by Tunisair Express ex Tunis, there are different points about transfer to the hotel. My mail was quickly and really nice responded, a room on the top floor if ever possible and the taxi should be around 10.00 Euro´s. Other sources showed me fares up to 20.00 Euro´s, so I´ve decided for R.hoppa what was a good idea in the end. 11.00 Euro´s return booked shared shuttle and received personal taxi transfer in and out, perfectly ontime managed by a nice young driver.
No time to wait during check in, done by a nice middle aged agent and the room on the top floor was ready for me. Large, spacious, a separate seating area, the bathroom with an extra toilet, everything clean and well maintained.
The beach was nice, not that much guests around.
Dinner was buffet style, large, show cooking, how I like these mini brik´s!.
Some music was played in the lobby, but nevertheless a well nights sleep for me.
Breakfast is on offer from 07.30 am, also buffet style and also with much more options than I really need in the morning, freshly made pancakes with apricot jam, that´s something for me.
A walk around the large garden with all these trees and flowers in the morning was nice and even the gardener asked if he should tell me something about the plants.
No time to wait for check out and back to the airport the same way like on arrivals pretty early to catch the flight out by Tunisair for Zurich.
Downsides?. One towel only in the room during my arrival, but fixed within minutes after a notice to the front desk. Well done.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FLIEGER67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Martens-Latem, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed one week in all inclusive. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and very clean. Breakfast, lunch and dinner. were very tasty and a big choice of dishes. The swimming pool needs a little renovation and also the parasols are old-dated and needs to be replaced. It is a good standard Riu hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pierre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here for 7 days. The beach was really beautiful, the pool area was well-maintained and the food (we had All-Inclusive) was really tasty and plentiful!

Unfortunately the room was, in my opinion, a bit declined. But overall we had an affordable and comfortable stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xploreworld_sverige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Djerba Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba
1.5 mi away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#2 of 109 in Djerba Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 46 in Midoun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa Djerba
3.1 mi away
Hasdrubal Prestige Thalassa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace Royal Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Royal Garden

Property: Hotel Palace Royal Garden
Address: Zone Touristique Sidi Akkour P.B.83, Djerba Island 04116, Tunisia (Formerly Hotel Riu Palace Royal Garden)
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Djerba Island
#8 Spa Hotel in Djerba Island
#8 Luxury Hotel in Djerba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palace Royal Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the island of Djerba * 3-storey building, oriental style architecture * Surrounded by 20,000 m2 of garden * Opposite the "Djerba" 27-hole golf course * 200 m from the beach * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach * 6 km from downtown Midoun * 18 km from downtown Houmt Souk * 6 km from various shops * 25 km from the Djerba airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Palace Royal Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Palace Royal Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing