We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palace Royal Garden
Ranked #8 of 103 Hotels in Djerba Island
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

This is an all-inclusive resort. It is in a beautiful setting with pools and right on the beach. The food is very good. The one thing I would fix is the internet policy: it's rather expensive and difficult to get. This is something common to all Riu resorts, so I don't expect that to change soon. In general, it is highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    299
    90
    21
    11
See reviews for
243
405
45
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

This was first time we booked via tour operator Jetair in Belgium. Hotel 5* All inclusive. From the moment we arrived around 10 am, we had a welcome drink while check in was done by hotel staff.
We stayed for 1 week, and I can say that it was for me the Hotel n°1 for service and friendly and helpful staff.
All in means ALL IN, all drinks, alcohol or coffee,tea, water, (local) liquars, cocktails, soft drinks, without any limitation in restaurant, pool bar/resto, other bars, typical restaurant, thea house.
The only money we spent were tips we gave sometimes to the waiters (they didn't ask for it) but they made me feel really VIP, as well to the other guests.
Some guest we talked to, came again after several stays there over the years.
We stayed in December (low season) and we will certainly go back.
For departures for excursion or leaving before thhe usual breakfast time (7 am) was small buffet breakfast ready as from 4 am.
The rate we paid (Jetair) was VERY reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank globalphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

First impression was not good since we had a late check-in at about 21.30 arriving in darkness, not recommended if avoidable, so there was limited opportunity to pre-view the room. We had to be rushed into the restaurant to be in time for the 2nd sitting dinner and since the arrangement was "All In" we were amused to be braceleted with a plastic band as proof of such, to remain continuously in place until departure.

We were allocated a sea-view room as booked but this was spoilt by a large concrete shelf immediately in front of the balcony. Some late evening discussion part in French, the main language here, resulted in the promise of a move the next day, and indeed on day two the desk manager was most obliging in arranging the room change. The problem was solved by moving a few rooms along the corridor from 4215 to 4203 and we had a pleasant view over gardens, pool towards the sea.

By the way the brochure specifies "200m to the beach", but this must have been measured from the outer edge of the hotel grounds, and it is more like 500m from hotel reception to the sea. The hotel is also "just opposite the golf course" but the entrance is in fact a 15 minute walk along the main road, or one dinah taxi ride.

Guest rooms
Good size and big enough to fit in two spare beds, TV old box style with small picture and limited channels

Cuisine
Buffet style, plentiful but generally bland. Tunisian wine is included in the All In but varies in quality according to what is currently in stock. An extra tip for the waiter will sometimes get you your preferred brand. The Tunisian Restaurant is open two evenings per week and is worth a try, more exclusive service and local style at no extra cost. The Italian restaurant is open just one evening per week and also worth trying.

Cocktails are included in the All In and available throughout the day if so desired. Spirits used, rum, gin, whisky, vodka are mainly unknown local brands but not bad in mixes. There is a plentiful supply of bottled water both in the guest rooms and elsewhere.

Guests
Mainly German, French and Belgium, and few English, so the staff speak predominantly French, always very helpful and friendly.

Swimming
Outside pool is massive, fresh clean water, naturally heated so a bit chilly for some. Inside pool and spa are excellent. Sea was warm about 22 deg C

Tennis
Four red clay courts with potential but poorly maintained. I was disappointed that there was nothing organised, no tournaments, no coaching, little effort to find partners, so a person on their own has a problem. Recommend to bring your own racket since those provided by the hotel are poor.

Entertainment
In the evening the Recreation Team try hard to put on a show and it is entertaining. The disco evenings are spiced up by the Tunisian guys inviting the ladies to dance and there is one Tunisian lady willing to give the old guys a swing! All good innocent fun.

When the sun is shining as it usually is this is a great place to be. It is relaxing with plentiful comfortable loungers and parasols around the pool areas. Paddling in the sea is great, walking along the beach with possibility for horse and camel rides is splendid.

The All In works well with no worries of what the next drink will cost. Upon check-out I felt a bit sorry that my plastic bracelet was finally removed and I returned to the outside world to open my wallet again!

Room Tip: Sea/Pool facing north side are worth the extra since rooms at the back although sunnier overlook out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TennisFanAJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We only had a three night stay here but were made to feel really welcome.

The service from everyone was fantastic.

Waiter service was great. They would bring you a drink even before you had finished your last.

The restuarant also was superb. Great food and again great service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve360791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Beautifully kept - probably on the best part of Djerba Beach ... Lovely clean part and the sea very clear .. Service fantastic - restaurant lovely and again great service - didn't try the A La Carte .. Beautiful cocktails and lovely drinks ( Unlike some other hotels we have stayed in Djerba) Very relaxing holiday - probably best suited to couples or families with little ones ... or those not too worried about evening entertainment ... There is Boules and Archery Aqua aerobic volleyball etc during the day should you wish to join in. The pool area is massive - and you never have to worry about getting a sunbed. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank The_But2ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

If your looking for a holiday where you do nothing but lie at the pool or on the beach then this is the place for you. Because of the recent unrest in Tunisia, tourism has suffered. The upside of this is that there was never any trouble getting a sunbed but the downside is that the place lacked a bit of atmosphere in the bars at night. The standard of the food in the buffet was superb with lots of variety. The grounds are immaculate and the rooms are well maintained and clean with the toilet separate from the bathroom. Most of the guests are foreign (predominately French speaking) but many of the hotel staff speak reasonable English (we never had a problem with the language and I was able to remember some basic French phrases). I think there were no more than 20 Brits while we were there and we were the only Scots. The staff and the animation team are friendly and helpful and the two top managers always took time to talk to us. The hotel is a bit isolated and there is nothing much of interest within walking distant but it is very cheap to get a taxi to the nearest town although I didn't see anything in the town to tempt me from the hotel. I had to go to a pharamcy and the taxi driver took me and waited to take me back and it only cost 5 dinar (about £2.40). If I ever go back to Djerba then I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DM2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

Came back 2 weeks ago from the RIU Roayal Palace Garden and should have reviewed earlier, anyway... went with First Choice (who I think only go there). We have been to Riu's in Dominican/Morocco/Tunisia before and booked this as we tried a few years back and it was cancelled, although the main reason was that it was a "Palace" and knowing that it was older we wanted to see if it was any different to a normal RIU.
The flight was just the usual and he airport and transfer were quite acceptable.
We were booked in altogether with the manager in a seperate room, there only being about 14 off the coach. The hotel as other reviewers have said is mainly French/Belgium/Dutch, however we found no problem in asking/ordering and indeed the staff (who are excellent) were keen on learning or understanding us brits !
The room was very clean with a seperate loo, and very large. The only moan could be the view which in ours was "out the back" but as we do not sit on the balcony was ok. The tv was getting on a bit but you could get BBC world news and as we don't watch tele on holidays that was ok.
The pool and areas were well kept and although early risers there appeared to be no problem with sunbeds or shades.
For the beach you have to walk a few hundred yards where there is a small bar with help yourself soft drinks, although we stayed at the main pool.
As previous reviews have said it is self seating at breakfast and lunch in the main restaurant and you are allocated a table for your stay, whether you choose early or late sitting for dinner. On our first night, you arrive in the hotel about 6.00pm, the headman showed us a table and we politetly requested one by the window and there was a choice so no problem whatsoever.
As for the food.... this is the usual RIU standard, only a few dissapointments... Omlettes not available everyday at breakafast, not a vast selection of rolls, the theme nights basically only having one item that was Chinese or Italian, however there was always something that found your liking.
One nice touch was at lunchtimes and evenings if you had wine then this was produced in an ice bucket, if you like wine then ask for a "grandee" and you get a bottle as opposed to half a bottle, but then the staff soon get to know you.!
There are 3 a'lacarts, however these are only open about 3 days a week, and I think the fish (which is on the beach) is only open on Fridays.As we were there a week and arrived on the Thursday we missed out on this one. You can book with the headwaiter in reception from 6.00 pm and we booked both the others in advance with no problem.
The Tunisian had a mezzi of starters and then Targine, which was quite agreeable, we also tried the Italian and again this was nice for a change. One thing which was good with these 2 was that you had the booking for the evening so you could arrive what time you wanted and did not have to worry about getting out. Also there was no hard sell on alcohol so there were quite happy to serve you the house drinks.
As we had been to Tunisia before and were there for only a week we did not venture out.
All in all, a nice weeks break but slightly let down by being billed as a Palace when maybe being picky we expected something different.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BILLIENOMATES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Djerba Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba
1.5 mi away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#2 of 103 in Djerba Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Palm Beach Palace
2.1 mi away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 45 in Midoun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa Djerba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace Royal Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Royal Garden

Property: Hotel Palace Royal Garden
Address: Zone Touristique Sidi Akkour P.B.83, Djerba Island 04116, Tunisia (Formerly Hotel Riu Palace Royal Garden)
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Djerba Island
#8 Luxury Hotel in Djerba Island
#8 Spa Hotel in Djerba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palace Royal Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the island of Djerba * 3-storey building, oriental style architecture * Surrounded by 20,000 m2 of garden * Opposite the "Djerba" 27-hole golf course * 200 m from the beach * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach * 6 km from downtown Midoun * 18 km from downtown Houmt Souk * 6 km from various shops * 25 km from the Djerba airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palace Royal Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Palace Royal Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing